We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ming Garden Hotel & Residences

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

412 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ming Garden Hotel & Residences
See the most recent reviews
Showing 331: English reviews
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewed 28 August 2016

It is rated as 4 stars hotel, but i really don't think so. The toilet amenities are very minimalistic. The housekeeping did not change my wet towels, but they just take it out, and did not give the new one. I had to call the housekeeping for having the towel back. At the first day, they provide 2 glasses and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MartinLeman
MGHR_Management, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review

Dear MartinLeman, Warmest greetings from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences! Allow me to apologize with regards to your experience during your stay with us. As a 4-Star establishment with numerous Tourism awards under our belt, we are disappointed to hear about your experiences but still extremely appreciative of your feedback, rest assured we will take necessary action for improvement. We...

Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

Having a great stay here.front desk need to be more alert on guest who approached the counter.check in was smooth.concierge need more improve in helping guess.they should offer help whenever seeing a guest with a luggage not standing and hiding at the counter doing nothing.also need to improve more in their general knowledge. Breakfast was great.F&B stay are friendly.Swimming pool...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bob R
MGHR_Management, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review

Dear Bob R, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback. Moreover, we appreciate you taking the time to highlight our areas for improvement which I will certainly look into to ensure that your experience does not reproduce itself. After all it is only through guest feedback that we are able...

Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

There was air conditioner and wifi (but quite low signal😔) . Clean. Bathroom was a little bit small but comfortable and clean. Restaurant was not very nice, especially for breakfast. Dinner was so so. Everyone was very kind so we could enjoy our trip.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EunKyo K
MGHR_Management, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review

Dear EunKyo K, Greetings from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences! We are delighted to read your review regarding your stay with us, it gives us great pleasure to know you enjoyed your stay with generally positive reviews of our services provided by our team of dedicated members. We would love to see you again in your next visit to Kota...

Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

This is a large hotel, in the low to mid end of $. It is right on 3 star, which was all I was after. Clean, easy to airport and to walk to town. Would stay again if the need occurred. Staff helpful with my lost baggage from airline. There are other places in town where you get less for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EmPryAu1
MGHR_Management, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review

Dear EmPryAu1, Warmest greetings from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent visit to Ming Garden Hotel & Residences. I am thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were happy with the facilities and services provided at the hotel during your...

Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile

Its a 4 stars hotel. Stay there for a night with friend.. Room is well equipped with basic facilities but interior design was poor. My room was quite far from the lift area need to walk a bit far. Otherwise, hotel staff were nice and friendly. Easy to park my car as well. Overall,its just a nice place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nurul A
MGHR_Management, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review

Dear Nurul A, Greetings from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, KK! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent visit to Ming Garden Hotel & Residences. I am happy to know that you enjoyed your visit with us and that you were satisfied with the facilities and services provided at the hotel during...

Singapore
Reviewed 11 August 2016

Been patronising this hotel for a couple of my business trips and i would say there is nothing much i need to complain about. The room is spacious and it is clean. To me the location is just a little bit off, coz the shopping centre Imago is just opposite with a very busy road separating them apart. This is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank calvinong71
MGHR_Management, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review

Dear calvinong71, Greetings from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, Kota Kinabalu! It was a pleasure having you with us and thank you for being one of Ming Garden Hotel & Residences loyal patrons. We are happy to know that you had a relatively great stay with us and that you were pleased with your room, and location of the hotel....

Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

I took a superior delux room which provides 1 king size bed. The room is very clean and comfortable. The size is quite large for a family stay as well. This hotel is nearby to Kota Kinabalu town as well. The room rate is quite reasonable for a 4 stars hotel. In general, i love to stay at this hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ahmad Fahman I
MGHR_Management, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review

Dear Ahmad Fahman I, It was a pleasure having you with us and thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our facilities, as well as the services provided by our dedicated team members. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

Two night stay for two people. We got it at a discount on booking.com(if I'm not wrong). Got a free upgrade which is every traveller's dream and they've an excellent tv selection(were too tired to go out for the night)! Despite it being just across the new mall(name just slipped my mind), you can't actually walk there, without crossing barricades,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leona T
MGHR_Management, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review

Dear leona t, Warm greetings from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences! Thank you for dropping your concern about the walk to Imago Mall from our hotel. We couldn't agree more that this is a dangerous method, to cross the main highway and climbing the concrete walls barricade to get into the mall. For our guests' safety, we are in the...

Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile

The room is clean. Tea/coffee making facilities available. Toiletries provided.staff are very nice. Very near to eateries and imago. The only setback is the horrendous wifi which is non existent and the internet cable which is also not working. If not for this it would be my hotel of choice for all my trips

 Report
Helpful?
Thank susannabasn
MGHR_Management, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review

Dear susannabasn, Warmest greetings from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, KK! Your feedback is important to ensure that we continually deliver the service at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences is renowned for and exceed your expectations for future visits. I was therefore concerned to understand that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations. Please accept my sincere apologies...

Reviewed 8 August 2016

Ming Garden Hotel & Residences is located 10 min from the airport with taxi (7.50 $) and just next to the bus terminal Wawasan. It's a big business type hotel with friendly staff but not much ambiance. The hotel is a bit isolated, with not even a convenience store close and a 20 min walk to the very city centre....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dan O
MGHR_Management, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review

Dear Dan O, Greetings from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, KK! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent visit to Ming Garden Hotel & Residences. The location of our hotel is a main concern to most of our guests and we apologize sincerely should this caused you inconvenience during your stay. To...

231 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (212)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (85)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.5 km away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
1.7 km away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,978 reviews
2.3 km away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,146 reviews
1.0 km away
Promenade Hotel
Promenade Hotel
#15 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
557 reviews
2.5 km away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences welcomes you with warm Sabahan hospitality. Situated near the junction of several thoroughfares, our strategic location along the Coastal Highway allows fast access to Kota Kinabalu's central business, commercial and places of interest. Located within minutes from the airport, main bus terminal and jetty, this hotel is indeed the ideal choice of accommodation for business and leisure. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ming Garden Hotel & Residences

Address: Lorong Ming | Jalan Costal, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: RM221 - RM399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ming Garden Hotel & Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ming Garden Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences Kota Kinabalu, Sabah
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for 7th floor for direct access to the pool”
 of 5 bubbles bobot2002, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Higher floor to see the view surrounding hotel Check some website before book, different website has different promo (Traveloka, Agoda, etc)”
 of 5 bubbles 134evatan, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Premier experience highly recommended”
 of 5 bubbles 205ar, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Junior suite is a better size.”
 of 5 bubbles debwhatley, 16 Jul 2016 | Read review
“We stayed on the 10th floor, which is the club floor and it was worth the extra few dollars.”
 of 5 bubbles Richie1010, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5