Borneo Beach Villas

Borneo Beach Villas

Jalan Sepanggar Bay Pool Villa 161, Precinct Dillenia Karambunai, Locked Bag 100, Kota Kinabalu 88993 Malaysia
BackYard
Traveller (486)
Room & Suite (114)
Dirty Pool in villa not cleaned even after 2 reminders
Pool & Beach (94)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

3.5
#1 of 3 villas in Kota Kinabalu
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Comprising Spa Suites and Pool Villas, Borneo Beach Villas features sea views and white sandy beaches at your doorstep. The property operates a 24-hour front desk and a sea view restaurant. Free WiFi is provided at the resort's lobby and at the cafe. Guests can enjoy a private steam bath and hot tub in each Spa Suite. The Pool Villas come with a private lap pool. Beautiful sunsets can be enjoyed in every room. A satellite TV with Chinese and international channels, and DVD player, are also provided. Ideal for self-catering, guests can shop for groceries at adjacent stores. En suite bathrooms come with free toiletries. Friendly staff are fluent in English and Chinese. Scheduled shuttle services to the city and shopping malls are available at a surcharge. Nearby local seafood restaurants serve fresh seafood. The resort is a 30-minute drive from Kota Kinabalu town and a 45-minute drive from Kota Kinabalu International Airport. We speak your language!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Restaurant
Beach
Bicycle rental
Kids pool
Pushchairs
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Shallow end in pool
Breakfast available
Wine / champagne
Canoeing
Fishing
Water park offsite
Board games / puzzles
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Spa
BBQ facilities
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Housekeeping
Room service
Bottled water
Kitchenette
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Refrigerator
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, Malay
265Reviews9Q+A43Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 95
  • 83
  • 38
  • 20
  • 29
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Lesley wrote a review Dec 2021
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked from the accommodation application and there’s choices of suite or villa. We spent for New Year Eve. The kitchen was pretty amazing and their bathroom (We do amazed on jacuzzi typed bathtub) All toilettes and utensils are included in these suite.
The only things to mention about the maintenance of facilities in especially the curtain and window glasses, some paint stains on the curtain are quite a little bit unpleasant for tourists in future.
About the café, we do enjoy with glasses of red wine for dinner sessions. The beach was breezy, only thing that we could spent time of picking up littering issuesat the beach area.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Booking in accommodation application might exclude breakfast. To those who like private pool,...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bella beyya, Guest Services / Front Office at Borneo Beach Villas
Responded 17 Jan 2022
Dear Valued Guests , thank you for your the time to leave a review for us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here at Borneo Beach Villas and your honest feedback about the inconvenience caused to you. We will take this feedback seriously to improve our facilities and services. We hope to see you again soon!!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mervyn T wrote a review Feb 2022
4.0 of 5 bubbles
It lived up to its reputation of being a fine resort The views from the ocean front room were gorgeous, loved having a roomy balcony in which to wind down after a day of golf, walking on the beach or relaxing by the gorgeous pool. The  villa was ample size and a nice design.  Villa rates were very, very reasonable. Played a round of golf at one of the nearby course . Looking so forward to going back, it is the perfect half way stop on our way to Sandakan
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Reservations Department, Marketing at Borneo Beach Villas
Responded 19 Feb 2022
Dear Mervyn, thank you for your the time to leave a good review for us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here at Borneo Beach Villas Hope to see you again soon!!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Leisadear wrote a review Jul 2023
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
It was my first time staying in a resort therefore I cannot compare with any other experiences.

Price wise, what I paid for was worth it in my opinion.

For me, a short gateway from the city was what I need and BBV did not disappoint! If you're bringing work from home, wifi isn't provided. If they did, I didn't ask but that's not a big issue for me.

The price that I booked was not including breakfast. We did not walk in for breakfast BUT we did order room service for dinner. Order fish and chips and husband ordered Beef Rendang. His only comments was that the kuah for his order was runny. My fish and chips was okay. Kudos to the service girl who delivered our meals.

The pool was fun although I cannot swim. The weather was on out favour as we were able to have a wonderful sunset.

The front office team were nice enough to give us a courtesy check. Communication wise is 100% on whatsapp therefore you may ask everything there is that you need to know throughout your stay.

The only thing wished was provided was inhse or disposable slippers. Hopefully they can provide it for the future.

Will I come here again? Yes. The next time will be with our families.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Tipping is encouraged :D hoteliers are not handsomely paid but a little can make a difference.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Borneo Beach Villas, Owner at Borneo Beach Villas
Responded 18 Jul 2023
Dear Leisa, Thank you for taking the time to review our property, your comments are very much valued. We appreciate your comments regarding our customer service and ongoing upgrades. Our staff is trained to provide only the best in customer service, and we are pleased that you found value and hospitality during your stay. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Borneo Beach Villas!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CMSoon wrote a review May 2022
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked for 3 nights with family for a seaview private villa with swimming pool. Understand because of covid some facilities like gym and SPA are closed.
What is good:
1) Unit is spacious for a family of 4 adults with basic facilities and toiletries.
2) The reception staffs are very accomodating and helpful with fast action.
3) Quiet and less crowded.
4) Design of unit is beautiful.
What is negative and needed serious improvement:
1) Unit is very run down.
2) refrigerator leaking,
3) folding doors cannot closed after openning with worn out rails,
4) masterbed old with squeeky sound,
5) toilet shower plug missing.
6) swimming pool extremely small can only have one person to swim.
7) TV channels limited to only a few
8) No Free WIFI in the unit. Need to pay to loan a portable WIFI for unit use.
9) A lot of flies sharing your breafast meal at their cafe area.
10) Limited choice of continental breafast and fried chicken is cold.
11) Need a car because nearest restaurant is about 20 minutes drive away.

Takes about 60-90 minutes drive from airport to the unit depending on traffic. Avoid the 5-6pm with heavy traffic if possible. Not worth value for money. Would not recommend this resort.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Borneo Beach Villas, Owner at Borneo Beach Villas
Responded 16 May 2022
Dear Mr. Chee Meng Soon, Greetings from Borneo Beach Villas! Thank you for your review and compliments towards our receptionist staff. We deeply apologize that our service did not satisfy your expectations. 1) Courtesy call is done every evening after guest check-in and if there is any problem with the guest’s stay, our reception will try to solve it. We apologize for your inconvenience, and sure action will be taken by our team to improve ourselves! 2)For your information, we do provide unlimited WiFi at our BBV Café, while wifi rental is available upon request at a fee. 3) apologies for the breakfast service. We have forward this matter to our head chef for improvements and to add more variety of food in the future. 4) Our spa and gym facilities are temporarily closed but we hope to open as soon as possible! 5) We do provide housekeeping make-up for a room upon request, we do believe its have been explained to you during check-in time. Thank you!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Fergus G wrote a review Feb 2022
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked online via their website, and the whole booking process was very easy, and had no hidden fees.

Stayed for 1 night, booked 2 villas, and requested the villas to be adjacent to each other [and they fulfilled my request!].

My whole reason for the stay was to actually let the kids play endlessly in the private pool attached with the villas, and they sure did, tirelessly! The 2 villas were clean, and comfortable. Both villas' had fully functioning airconditioners [as with my previous stay with SABAH BEACH VILLA - the airconditioner was not functioning]. Both villas' were fully equipped with more than enough towels. We did not book the breakfast, as we cooked ourselves for our breakfast. Dinner was a self BBQ - and the whole environment was pleasant and cosy.

Will be back again here again.

Keep up the good work!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Reservations Department, Marketing at Borneo Beach Villas
Responded 26 Feb 2022
Dear Piringus, thank you for your the time to leave a good review for us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here at Borneo Beach Villas Hope to see you again soon!!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Faizal Razak wrote a review Dec 2022
Singapore, Singapore
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It took about 40 mins drive from KK airport to this isolated and peaceful area. We stayed at a beach front villa, which had a stunning view of the open sea and the constant mesmerising sound of crashing waves. Rooms are spacious and adequately furnished. Despite the lack of reliable WIFI coverage and a few defective electrical fittings, we truly enjoyed the stay. Staff are warm and friendly, and the service is prompt. The management was even kind to offer us an extended day stay for free. Highly recommended that you drive as the nearest mall is quite a distance away, and there aren't many food outlets nearby. The perfect place to have quiet walks on the clean sandy beach and soaking in the sunset. It's definitely worth a return visit.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Lack of in-house amenities and activities, so get creative with the time in your hands. Stock up...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bella beyya, Guest Services / Front Office at Borneo Beach Villas
Responded 8 Jan 2023
Dear , We are glad to hear that you're enjoying and having a pleasant stay with us. Also, thank you for the review. We hope to see you again and give you a more enjoyable stay with us. Take care !!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Preet G wrote a review Sept 2023
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked 4 nights at Borneo beach villas for my family of 5 with the expectation of an idyllic retreat on the beach after we’d spent 2 weeks travelling round Borneo. I booked a 3 bed villa with beach view expecting this to be on the beach but it was actually more of a garden view with the beach in the distance and to get to the beach was a 10 min walk. Unfortunately the villa was very tired looking and in serious need of updating. We arrived late so it was too dark to see the surroundings but in the morning when we walked to the beach we discovered there were no sun loungers provided, no shady areas, we were completely covered in red ants and sand flies. The pool area within the vicinity had no where to actually sit, again no facilities or sun loungers at all… very bizarre. Breakfast was awful, guests were eating in a dirty makeshift marquee outside. No ac, just 2 or 3 fans that did not suffice. Flies everywhere, all over my breakfast. Then I was notified there would be no running water from our villa for the day (from 10am to 4pm) as there was some maintenance due. We ended up leaving that morning and luckily I was refunded for the remaining 3 nights stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: The beach itself looks beautiful so perhaps try another hotel nearby.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Borneo Beach Villas, Owner at Borneo Beach Villas
Responded 14 Oct 2023
Dear Preet G, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at Borneo Beach Villas. We sincerely apologize for the issues you encountered during your visit. We take your comments seriously, and your feedback is invaluable in helping us improve our services and accommodations. We understand that the villa did not meet your expectations in terms of the beach view, and we apologize for any confusion in our description. We'll make sure to review our listings and update the information accordingly to provide a more accurate representation. Your concerns about the condition of the villa and the lack of beach amenities are noted. We are committed to enhancing our facilities and ensuring that our guests have a more enjoyable experience. Your comments about the pool area and breakfast are also being addressed to prevent similar issues in the future. We regret the inconvenience caused by the water maintenance situation. Such situations are unfortunate but necessary for maintaining our infrastructure. We will work on better communication with our guests in such cases. We appreciate your understanding in leaving the property early, and we are pleased that you received a refund for the remaining nights. Your satisfaction is our top priority, and we are taking steps to prevent these issues from recurring. Your feedback is crucial in helping us improve, and we hope you will consider giving us another opportunity to serve you better in the future. Please feel free to reach out directly to our management team if you decide to return. We value your feedback, and we're committed to making the necessary changes to enhance your experience. Thank you for choosing Borneo Beach Villas, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a more enjoyable stay.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
hzq wrote a review Jan 2024
Kota Kinabalu District, Malaysia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Shoutout to Haikal, the real MVP at Borneo Beach Villa! Amidst the quirks, his helpfulness stands out. Whether it's navigating the unique rooms or offering assistance on the beach adventure, Haikal adds a touch of warmth to the experience. A helpful staff member can make all the difference, making your stay at Borneo Beach Villa even more enjoyable for friends and family.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Farah Aziela wrote a review Jun 2023
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked two units for 3 bedroom villas for 2 nights at Borneo Beach Villas. Clean, complete facilities, and very helpful staff. Check in process was very fast and easy. Easy access to the beach and private pool is convenient for kids to swim comfortably. Tip top customer service as they texted pre check in to inform in advance of the requirements needed for the check in process. Special mention to Haikal from receptionist who was very helpful with any enquiries and updates. Overall, it is a great place to take kids for a weekend getaway to just unwind and have fun
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Borneo Beach Villas, Owner at Borneo Beach Villas
Responded 18 Jul 2023
Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you for your wonderful feedback! We are thrilled to know that you found our hotel beautiful and our team members are incredible and friendly. Your kind words are greatly appreciated. We strive to provide exceptional service and a welcoming atmosphere to all our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable experience in the future. Kind regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andrea C wrote a review Feb 2022
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Nothing good but bleak from the moment we open our room, smells like dead rat, air conditioning not cold and no one help us to clean, sofa really dirty and how could they allow condition for us to stay.. so dirty, bed bugs OMG. Our kids had to sleep with us instead their room just not acceptable, pool NOT SAFE for the kids every spot with missing and broken tiles lucky was a minor cut from the sharp edges.

Wasted our money and it is not cheap for us as local why label themself 4 star really disappointed only good point is the beaches otherwise nothing to compliment about but let down
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Reservations Department, Marketing at Borneo Beach Villas
Responded 3 Mar 2022
Dear valued guest, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry your experience had fallen below your expectation and also our usual standard of cleanliness and condition. We would be grateful to find out the unit number you have stayed in, and the check-in and check-out date. This will help us to undergo unit investigation and we can take immediate action to solve the issues. Looking forward to your reply or kindly reach us at 016-8329340 via Whatsapp. It would be our pleasure to solve this matter and welcome you again to our best state. Kind regards, Bella Duty manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Jani E
Vantaa, Finland53 contributions13 helpful votes
It will take no more than 45min w/ good roads (only last 2km is bumpy) and the traffic is very smooth during night time.
Answer from Abthom36
Melbourne, Australia24 contributions6 helpful votes
There are no shops nearby, but you can get a few things from the shop at the Nexus resort, such as drinks and snacks. We did our shopping in town before we headed out to the beach.
Answer from Reservations D
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia7 contributions
shuttle bus to nexus resort is free
motherrnature asked a question Jun 2017
bournemouth13 contributions26 helpful votes
Do they serve alcohol in the cafe
Answer from ExpatDaze
Bangkok, Thailand717 contributions292 helpful votes
Yes, they serve cold beer.
Answer from fizmie
Singapore, Singapore254 contributions29 helpful votes
The villa we stayed is a 2 bedroom. The master with king size & the other bedroom comes with a single twin. There's 5 of us... & we didnt pay any extra for 1 person since the villa sleeps 4. We didnt ask for extra bed as well.
kerry h wrote a tip Sept 2023
20 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure you bring any food and drink as the hotel is isolated. We shopped at the store before getting a taxi there, which the hotel organi"
Read full review
Preet G wrote a tip Sept 2023
2 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"The beach itself looks beautiful so perhaps try another hotel nearby."
Read full review
Nick wrote a tip Aug 2023
Amsterdam, The Netherlands70 contributions13 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay elsewhere"
Read full review
Leisadear wrote a tip Jul 2023
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia13 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Tipping is encouraged :D hoteliers are not handsomely paid but a little can make a difference. "
Read full review
Kai Menyukai wrote a tip May 2023
6 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Sport activities organize by the resort"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kota Kinabalu area.
PRICE RANGE
RM 178 - RM 262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
MalaysiaSabahWest Coast DivisionKota Kinabalu DistrictKota Kinabalu
NUMBER OF ROOMS
140
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BORNEO BEACH VILLAS (R̶M̶ ̶2̶7̶3̶) RM 207: UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews, Price Comparison and 514 Photos (Kota Kinabalu) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Borneo Beach Villas
Which popular attractions are close to Borneo Beach Villas?
Nearby attractions include Rasa Ria Reserve by Shangri-La (4.1 km), Sepanggar Tunnel (6.1 km), and Fun Splash (5.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Borneo Beach Villas?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Borneo Beach Villas?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Borneo Beach Villas?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, breakfast, and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Borneo Beach Villas?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Borneo Beach Villas?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tepi Laut Shangri-La Rasa Ria, Kozan Teppan-yaki, and Oceano Modern Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Borneo Beach Villas?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Borneo Beach Villas?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Chinese, and Malay.
Does Borneo Beach Villas have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Borneo Beach Villas accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Kota Kinabalu HotelsKota Kinabalu Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Kota KinabaluHotels near Borneo Beach Villas
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire