We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

211 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Showing 194: English reviews
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 1 April 2015

The Hotel is designed quite well and grand but it badly needs refurbishment, especially the rooms in order to restore it to a 5 star standard. The furniture & carpets are old and worn out + the lighting is not bright.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 8asia
mphskuching, Marketing & Communications Manager at Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. Input and the feedback from all of our guests are vitally important to us and we always want guest expectations to be met upon arrival. Good news is that we are in the midst of doing some refurbishments, do expect better rooms to come in near future. If...

Kuching, Malaysia
Reviewed 26 March 2015

Good business class hotel with classy designed. Recommended for travel agents & business travelers. It has the best Italian Restaurant in town equipped with wooden oven which and will ensure authenticity of Italian Foods to be served to the guests.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NNikman2
mphskuching, Marketing & Communications Manager at Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property by providing us with a positive rating and great tips to help other travelers. We are glad that you are happy with your stay. Input and the feedback from all of our guests are vitally important to us and we always want guest expectations to be met upon...

Rome, Lazio, Italy
Reviewed 18 March 2015

No free WiFi in the hotel. Better to go to the near Starbucks where to have coffee and free connection. Rooms are old and the bathroom is not very clean. We got a room for 2 nights. I have asked to be advised at 9am about any possible arrangement for 2 extra nights. The only person able to take the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Muzio M
mphskuching, Marketing & Communications Manager at Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

We would like to offer our sincerest apologies for the problems you encountered during your stay at the Hotel. We also thank you in appreciation of your time in writing down the unpleasant incident which you’ve encountered and was brought to the management attention. We regret that we were not able to offer you two more nights due to the...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 23 February 2015

I spent 3 nights in the family suite here. Upon arrival, the entrance and lobby are quite impressive. Unfortunately the room itself doesn't have the standard.The carpet looks old and dirty. The wall papers are falling off. One of the power points in the master bedroom is broken, exposing the wires (luckily we don't have any lil kids). The doors...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank twigikit
mphskuching, Marketing & Communications Manager at Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. We empathize with the points you mentioned in your review, especially on the room conditions and breakfast issue. Whilst an apology will regrettably not alter the outcomes of your experience on this occasion, we do extend it with all sincerity. We will address the issues with the concerned...

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 30 January 2015

The hotel is not bad but impressive either. The ambiance exudes a nostalgic pre-independence feel. The room is not very spacious and a little too old for my liking. The positive is, there is a new shopping mall a stone throw away. Not very convenient to most landmarks, albeit still within walking distance.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HYJ10
mphskuching, Marketing & Communications Manager at Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. We hope your stay was a pleasant one. Regarding your concerns, we have various room categories and sizes available. Also, we will have something new coming up in near future. Your input and the feedback from all of our guests is vitally important to us and we always...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 22 January 2015

Was here on a business trip in mid 2014. Never in mind would I expect a hotel of such standards in small town Kuching. The colonial setup of the place gives the impression of a grand palace, which definitely is. Privacy is assured and service is top notch. Definitely on par with all the 5-star global brands. Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chooyaochuen1
mphskuching, Marketing & Communications Manager at Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property and providing us with a positive rating. We are glad that you are happy with your stay. Your praises will be extended to the relevant department for the great job they had done to make your experience a pleasant one. Your input, and the feedback from all of...

Sarawak, Malaysia
Reviewed 15 January 2015

i was expecting equal for what star she has...i was request drinking water..what i got reply h/keeping.. "sorry sir out of stock"..poor selection of tv channel as well, not to mentioned poor display quality..the best think i guess...VA just a foot away..

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank aziz_suhanah
mphskuching, Marketing & Communications Manager at Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. We were disappointed to read of your experience during your stay with us. Whilst an apology will regrettably not alter the outcomes of your experience on this occasion, we do extend it with all sincerity. We empathize with the points you mentioned in your review, especially issues with...

Reviewed 17 December 2014

I spent 4 days 3 nights at Kuching Merdeka Palace. The staffs are friendly and the breakfast is satisfactory. We had a 2 bedroom apartment and it accommodates the 4 of us. It is essential to have data plan in overseas as you do not know when it will become helpful! I spent RM21 on a DIGI card bought in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy K
mphskuching, Marketing & Communications Manager at Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property and providing us with a positive rating. We are glad that you are happy with your stay. The tips provided are certainly helpful for potential guests. Your input, and the feedback from all of our guests is vitally important to us and we always want guest expectations to...

Kuching, Sarawak, Malaysia
Reviewed 23 November 2014

The services and facilities available makes good choice for seminars and business meetings. Plus, the hotel is situated within walking distance to some of the best attractions Kuching has to offer: shopping at Plaza Merdeka, India Street and Main Bazaar, dining al-fresco and sunset view at the waterfront, museums and historical places and buildings. Highly recommended as business and leisure...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alteredego86
mphskuching, Marketing & Communications Manager at Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property and providing us with a positive rating. We are glad that you are happy with your stay. The tips provided are certainly helpful for potential guests. Your input, and the feedback from all of our guests is vitally important to us and we always want guest expectations to...

Kuching
Reviewed 10 November 2014 via mobile

Hi.. i was at Merdeka Palace Hotel and Suites for a company seminar. So far i love the view from my room (facing the Padang Merdeka). The room was nice, no bad smell. Found extra pillow in the closet as the provided was not enough for me. The breakfast buffet was ok, both two days are same selection, very local...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank adyummer
mphskuching, Marketing & Communications Manager at Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property and providing us with a positive rating. We are glad that the seminar that you attended went well and you are happy with the services provided. The tips provided are certainly helpful for potential guests. Your praises will be extended to the relevant department for the great job...

138 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (137)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
1.0 km away
Ariva Gateway Kuching
Ariva Gateway Kuching
#25 of 55 in Kuching
249 reviews
2.7 km away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
0.5 km away
Harbour View Hotel
Harbour View Hotel
#18 of 55 in Kuching
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kuching
519 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Grand Continental Kuching
1.4 km away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Airport Transportation
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With an advantageous strategic location, only 15 minutes from the airport, the regal Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites gives guests privilege across to some of Kuching city's historical jewels such as the Sarawak Museum and one of Kuching's landmarks, Padang Merdeka. Nearby are the Textile Museum, Chinese History Museum and Islamic Museum. The Hotel is just a short walk to the newly-built shopping mall, Plaza Merdeka, and is a 5-minute walk to the Waterfront and Main Bazaar. Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites is home to 213 rooms inclusive of apartment suites. The Hotel offers comprehensive facilities including Wi-Fi access, health centre, gym, swimming pool and sauna, all of which ensures a pleasurable stay for guests. The Hotel has six international standard food and beverage outlets: Ristorante Beccari, the award-winning Italian restaurant; Aurora Court, the all-day dining restaurant; Victoria Arms, the English pub; Yn Cellar; La Habana Cigar Divan; and its cafe bistro, Seattle Coffee & Tea. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites

Address: Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Jalan Tun Abang Haji Openg, Kuching 93000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Price Range: RM125 - RM236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merdeka Palace Kuching
Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching, Sarawak
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Taipei, Taiwan

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose rooms facing Plaza and avoid Parking view rooms”
 of 5 bubbles deepaksaxena88, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Choose suite”
 of 5 bubbles Amyyfathmie, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Try 16th floor and choose the corner suites which are larger and have a better view od the Sarawak River.”
 of 5 bubbles zackJB09, 18 May 2016 | Read review
“be careful with the kitchen and smoking rooms. Odours are pretty frequent.”
 of 5 bubbles DaniVarela89, 3 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Room facing "padang merdeka" (the field in the middle of roundabout) would be interesting.”
 of 5 bubbles kamaluddinz, 6 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5