The Ranee Boutique Suites

The Ranee Boutique Suites

Traveller (348)
Panorama at The Ranee Boutique Suites
360
Panoramas (9)
Ranee Suite
Room & Suite (361)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#2 of 71 hotels in Kuching
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Ranee is an exclusive 24-room boutique hotel strategically located in the heart of Kuching's picturesque Old Town (14km from Kuching International Airport). Stylishly rebuilt from two traditional 19th century shophouses and ingeniously adapted to modern standards of plush comfort, The Ranee is unique in that every spacious room/suite is different - designed to express its own individuality, charm and character. Step into The Ranee and you will be enchanted by the magic of old and new - a fusion style inspired by Sarawak's rich colonial heritage and mysterious ethnic cultures. In catering to the discerning traveller, The Ranee boasts an all-day dining/bar serving local and international cuisine, a cafe offering freshly baked delicacies, an in-house tour desk, and even a business meeting room. The Ranee is capable of hosting intimate cocktail receptions for functions up to 40pax (product launches, team building, informal business gatherings, private dinner parties, etc). At The Ranee we'll take you on a journey that celebrates the charm and romance of a bygone era.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Taxi service
Concierge
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Safe
Bottled water
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Boutique
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, Malay

Location

No 6 & 7 Main Bazaar, Kuching 93000 Malaysia
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 99 out of 100
99
Kuching Airport
685Reviews17Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 416
  • 191
  • 46
  • 16
  • 16
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Wilsons_24 wrote a review Feb 2020
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Very comfortable hotel, breakfast team were great, nothing was too much trouble for them. Just a short walk to the main sights and close
to local bars, restaurants and Chinese tea shops. Rooms are replenished with 2 fresh bottles of water every day, tea and coffee too. We were given complimentary yummy cocktails when, due to a fault, the fire alarm was briefly activated in error .... a nice touch which was really appreciated.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ann Chua, Other at The Ranee Boutique Suites
Responded 10 Mar 2020
Dear Wilsons_24, Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back , should your travel adventures bring you back to Borneo. Terima Kasih from all of us at The Ranee. :-) Kind Regards, Ann
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
simsu66 wrote a review Sept 2022
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for 3 nights at the start of our holiday in Borneo.

We were very tired after our flights from London and my initial thoughts were that the reception area was fairly plain. Once we had woken up the next morning we could see that the reception and breakfast area is very nicely decorated with a warm and cozy feeling to it.

The reception staff were very helpful in booking us in and when we entered our room (deluxe suite 208) we were very pleasantly surprised. The room was a good size and beautifully decorated. The bathroom was also very large and nicely decorated.

Breakfast is pre-ordered the day before and for the first morning I went for an omelette. After that I decided to try the local option and had a very tasty (and spicy) Laksa and for the last morning the best breakfast I had in Borneo - a delicious dhal with freshly made roti bread.

The location is great being very close to the waterfront, which is great to walk along in the evening, We also had our best meal in Kuching in one of the street stalls along the waterfront.

The Ranee is a great boutique hotel which I would highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
kalazuri wrote a review Aug 2022
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is within walking distance to the waterfront, Merdeka Plaza shopping centre and tons of amazing local eateries located in Old Bazaar.

Breakfast is to be ordered the day prior, ala carte menu taste good. Basic cereals , toast, tea and coffee is also provided.

Despite the hotel is converted from old shophouses , the room is clean , beautifully decorated ,no musty odor and the bathroom is squeaky clean.

Downside : (Checked in 06 Aug 2022) There is a malfunction of the air-conditioning system at the 1st floor and all rooms are affected. Understand that they are fully booked that night and there are no other rooms for us to relocate. We had to sleep without air-conditioning for the whole night. The room became a little bit stuffy during midnight, hence it was not a very pleasant stay for me. The receptionist informed that he had spoken to room service manager and he is unable to provide any solution to this issue, all he can do is just tell us "sorry for the inconvenience caused". I felt this can be handled better , I cannot feel the sincerity of the hotel on resolving the issue. The staff's reaction on this gave me feeling of "well there is nothing we can do , so you need to live with it".

Initially I told my husband I will be back for the superb location and the cleanliness of the property. But the hospitality made me think twice.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Standard Suite with facing the waterfront will be a bit noisy but I love the sunshine and view.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anna D wrote a review Mar 2023
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Great location on the waterfront and lovely big rooms with nice fan and air conditioning.

Breakfast was nice but only eggs, French toast or local option available alongside bread, 2 types of cereal and tea,coffee and orange juice. This got a little samey after a couple of days. It also took a really long time to arrive.

The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable, the room was extremely quiet but we were located at the back of the hotel - this meant a small balcony with 2 chairs and no view but worth it for a good nights sleep!

The room amenities seemed basic, the shower gel felt cheap and there were no luxury toiletries, everything was wrapped in plastic.

We had a wonderful stay at the Ranee, after hiking all day it was nice to put your feet up wrapped in a robe and relax.

The only down point was at check out, we were charged RM85 (£15.50) + Tax! for accidentally breaking a small shower gel holder (which slipped out of my partners hand!) - this was a real shame because it was replaced on the same day (so they clearly have spares) and for that price in Malaysia seemed very steep indeed.

It was a good price for what you get across the world however I would search around a little more if you are looking for a higher end hotel. It did have a lovely feel to it but improvements need to be made to enhance the experience.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dewit197 wrote a review Feb 2020
Sydney, Australia
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This is not a review, but I felt this should be shared. I had made a reservation at this hotel , paying upfront to take advantage of the cheaper rate. Due to the caronavirus our conference in KL and therefore our trip cancelled. Every other reservation- flights hotels transfers day excursions , have refunded our money. The Ranee has not. I personally would not have cancelled this trip , it’s was out of my control. I understand that business is doing it tough, but to not even come to some compromise says a lot about this hotel. Lesson learnt. Their will always be someone taking advantage of a situation.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TheRaneeHM, General Manager at The Ranee Boutique Suites
Responded 13 Feb 2020
Dear Dewit 197 We note your review on Trip Advisor. It is not our hotel practice or policy to disclose guests reservation but as you had mentioned publicly that we "do not even come to some compromise" and that "there will always be someone taking advantage of the situation" , we would like to clarify these statements by giving a brief chronology of your reservation 21 Oct 2019 You made a reservation on our website. It was a 40% discount promotion with a T&C stating that the reservation is Non-Refundable and the dates cannot be changed. 12th Feb 2020 We received an email from you with just an attachment of a Statement from a conference you are attending somewhere in Malaysia, stating that the conference has been postponed. In another email, you wrote that there are travel restrictions for travel from Singapore. 13th Feb 2020 We replied to your emails informing that the travel restrictions have been lifted. We even sent you the link that says there is no longer any restrictions for travellers coming in from Singapore. We also informed you that refunds were given to travellers from Singapore when the Travel Restriction was in effect. However, when the Travel Restrictions were lifted, we stopped receiving cancellations from travellers via Singapore. We informed you in the email that unless you are arriving from China or unless you had been in China in the last 14 days, the amount cannot be refunded. You then sent us a reply saying that we are "double dipping", because you wanted to re-book the same suite for the same dates but could not as it was not available. We are puzzled why you wanted to re-book the same suite for the same dates. We replied to your email again. We informed you that if we were "double dipping", the suite that you had booked would be available for booking. For your information, we are a reputable hotel and we do not have undesirable or damaging practice like "double dipping" as alleged. The suite is not available for booking because it was still held under your name for your stay period as you had fully paid for it. We tried to compromise by asking you to send us your Travel Itinerary so that we could forward it to the Hotel's Management for reconsideration of a refund. Unfortunately, you never replied our email nor sent us your Travel Itinerary. But Instead, you chose to review us on Trip Advisor with less than factual information. We trust the above clarifies. Yours sincerely, Mary Chan General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mbgandco wrote a review Aug 2023
London
2.0 of 5 bubbles
There are issues with what is otherwise an interesting and well positioned boutique hotel.
The first issue is poor staff. Room cleaning did not take place until after we asked because they said they were short of staff.
Breakfast is limited a few choice for cooked breakfast which must be selected the day before and very little choice in the "buffet".
The lift can only be accessed by going upstairs and the top floor suites are up another flight of stairs.
The suite itself was nice but not soundproof at all which was an issue with the call to prayer starting at 05.30.
Despite the position, I would try and find another option
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
nzbear wrote a review Jan 2024
Auckland, New Zealand
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely place with a small number of rooms. Our suite was large with a separate living room-type space. Large bathroom included both a bath and a large shower. Separate air con in the bedroom area.
Even though our room was on the street frontage, the bedroom was set back and the noise from outside was minimal.
Breakfast consisted of a small buffet and a selection of five items would would be cooked for you.
Staff are lovely and very helpful.
The hotel is opposite the river, and only a short walk to Plaza Merdeka.
Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The 'executive suite' is large with good-sized living room area, but all rooms seem quite spacious.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wrinkliewanderers wrote a review Mar 2023
France Lynch, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is the second time we have enjoyed the good fortune to stay, enjoying a suite overlooking the amazing modern architecture of the State Government Building balanced with the late19th century Sarawak Steamship Building. The latter now housing the Sarawak Craft Council where genuine local crafts can be bought. These two buildings give a true indication of what to experience in Kuching. The nightly music, laser light and water fountain show provides a spectacle better than that of Hong Kong, from the comfort of your own room.
When you stay here you know you are in a converted waterfront shophouse in Kuching, not a concrete and glass hotel that could be anywhere.
Enjoying the Waterfront, Main Bazar and Carpenter street with its many views, intriguing emporiums and choice of eating places all a simple stroll from your front door. If you want to experience the flavour of living in the city of the “White Rajah’s” there is no better place to stay in true comfort.

The staff are attentive, supportive and above all delightful to chat to. The breakfast is fresh and beautifully prepared including both local and western dishes. Simple local lunches, freshly prepared are a further delight whilst evening meals are available from a myriad of restaurants within an easy stroll.

We look forward to an opportunity of staying again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Moshidog wrote a review Feb 2023
Portland, Oregon
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We chose Ranee for its prime location along the Kuching waterfront, and glad we did. We had views of ornate Sarawak state government buildings from our rooms. We found the breakfast, included with the room, to be quite tasty. Each evening one selects from several Western or Malaysian dishes for your breakfast the next day. Ranee bills itself as a quiet and romantic getaway, and the staff take this seriously: in addition to statements on their emails, from Booking.com, that children under 12 year-old aren’t allowed as guests. I saw reception staff politely checking the passport of my youngish-looking12 year-old kid, to enforce this.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Travelbug1155 wrote a review Apr 2023
San Francisco, California
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here on and off for four out of nine days that we were in the Kuching area. It’s a very nice hotel and I’m sure it was really a fantastic place when it opened but currently is suffering from a Covid hangover , when I mentioned this to the person at the desk they told us they were closing for a month or more for a major overhaul. I would expect things to be vastly improved after May 2023.
it had a number of pretty major issues such as poor water pressure. Poorly maintained wall surfaces on the interior some lighting issues , temperature issues as well. I’m assuming that this will be remedied.
On the positive side, the interior design and decorative elements are traditional and really beautiful. The people working there are extremely friendly and helpful. The beds were very comfortable. Bath was modern and worked well except the lighting and water pressure.
The lighting options were excellent, except in the bathroom where it was nearly impossible to see your self in the mirror with the dim lighting.
Breakfast there was a varied and quite good not a huge buffet, but plenty to fill you up in the morning. The location is probably the best part , it is right in the center of town across from the main Riverwalk attractions.
Every evening at 8:30 and 930 you get a massive LED light show right over the river where people gather and hang out to watch the lighting synchronize with strange music selections.
It is one block away from the traditional old town walking street
you can get easily to the excellent cultural museum, the Buddhist temples and many downtown attractions are within 10 to 15 minutes walking.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ndrewsimon asked a question Oct 2019
1 contribution
Hello do you have any marriage proposal package?
Kuching, Malaysia
Hello. Thank you for the message. Yes , we do. Please do email us direct. We look forward to hearing from you. Kind Regards Ann
Kuching, Malaysia
Hi Rebecca, Yes, you can leave your bags here in between stays. We will keep the bags in our luggage storage room. See you soon! :-) Kind Regards, Ann - Hotel Manager
Richard C asked a question Feb 2018
Aberdeen, United Kingdom37 contributions10 helpful votes
Ive booked an executive suite...just wondered if anyone has stayed in the room, and whats it like
Answer from Krystyna F
Whanganui, New Zealand138 contributions63 helpful votes
We stayed in the Elizabeth Suite. It was a lovely and spacious room. The only gripe would be lack of electric plug sockets to charge up all our electrical bits. The room didn’t really have a view to look out on either but it wasn’t really an issue. Overall it was a lovely space and I would certainly stay there again.
John M asked a question Oct 2017
Geelong, Australia60 contributions37 helpful votes
Hi. Does the Ranee hotel have a pool?
Answer from Mrs C
Brough, United Kingdom88 contributions11 helpful votes
Hi, no pool at the Ranee, it’s a small boutique hotel so no room for a pool. Hope this helps.
Kuching, Malaysia
Hello WeiHanLai, Thank you for your message. We do not accept children below 12 yrs of age because of the design of the rooms and the public areas. However, sometimes we have guests who have made reservations online and who show up with children. When that happens, guests will be required to sign an Indemnity Form. We do not have baby cots and extra beds. The Ranee has 24 suites, 21 of which come with 1 king sized bed each (maximum 2 persons per suite). 2 other rooms come with 2 single beds each (maximum 2 persons per suite) and the last one is a Deluxe Family Suite which comes with 1 king sized bed + 1 queen sized bed (maximum 3 persons in the suite). We hope the above explanation is satisfactory. Please do not hesitate to let us know should you require further clarification. Kind Regards Ann Chua Hotel Manager We hope the
Gary D wrote a tip Jan 2024
Busselton, Australia595 contributions188 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"No pool, not really kid friendly...but a "cracking good" boutique hotel!!"
Read full review
nzbear wrote a tip Jan 2024
Auckland, New Zealand217 contributions158 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The 'executive suite' is large with good-sized living room area, but all rooms seem quite spacious."
Read full review
HsydE wrote a tip Sept 2023
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam45 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid busy times when "e-hailing" grabs and taxis. Consult reception if you bring your own vehicle"
Read full review
Diane B wrote a tip Jun 2023
Toronto, Canada172 contributions140 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you decide to stay don’t have a room facing the road"
Read full review
RJCF1 wrote a tip May 2023
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia92 contributions31 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try to request a suite at the front of the hotel, if you do not mind climbing steps "Sylvia suite" is great."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kuching area.
PRICE RANGE
RM 339 - RM 462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
MalaysiaSarawakKuching
NUMBER OF ROOMS
24
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE RANEE BOUTIQUE SUITES (R̶M̶ ̶4̶7̶2̶) RM 345: UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews, Price Comparison and 719 Photos (Kuching) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Ranee Boutique Suites
Which popular attractions are close to The Ranee Boutique Suites?
Nearby attractions include The Brooke Gallery (0.4 km), Chinese Museum (0.4 km), and Darul Hana Bridge (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Ranee Boutique Suites?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Ranee Boutique Suites?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Ranee Boutique Suites?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Ranee Boutique Suites?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Ranee Boutique Suites?
Conveniently located restaurants include Indah House Kuching, Black Bean, and Balkanico.
Does The Ranee Boutique Suites have airport transportation?
Yes, The Ranee Boutique Suites offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Ranee Boutique Suites?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Ranee Boutique Suites?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Chinese, and Malay.
Are there any historical sites close to The Ranee Boutique Suites?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Hong San Si Temple (0.3 km).
Does The Ranee Boutique Suites have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.
All Kuching HotelsKuching Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in KuchingHotels near The Ranee Boutique Suites
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire