We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Waterfront Hotel

68, Jalan Tun Abang Haji Openg, Kuching 93000 Malaysia
Traveller (634)
Room & Suite (145)
Dining (52)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#5 of 71 hotels in Kuching
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
In The Heart of Kuching's Legacy Historic District The Waterfront Hotel is a brand new 5 star boutique hotel located in the heart of the Legacy Square historic district of Kuching. Situated above the Plaza Merdeka Shopping Center and surrounded by many historical architectural landmarks, it serves as an anchor in the neighbourhood. The hotel also has a commanding view of the iconic State Legislative building (DUN) and the Governors Palace (Astana) to the North an the Merdeka field (Padang) and the historic Sarawak Museum (built in 1874) to the South. The Artrageous feature of the hotel is the mission to promote local artists, be it music to handicrafts to art. The hotel supports them by acquiring their art for its own collection, showcasing and selling their art pieces, promoting the artists online and in select cases naming select suites in honour. The Waterfront Hotel's friendly, personal service, accompanying thoughtful amenities and Artrageous theme will leave guests with a unique and luxuries experience.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Wifi
Infinity pool
Indoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Shuttle bus service
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, Malay
479Reviews19Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 180
  • 223
  • 54
  • 11
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Mayank wrote a review 2 Apr
London, United Kingdom160 contributions81 helpful votes
Ideally located opposite the waterfront, this hotel is attached to a mall. The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. The breakfast at the hotel was one of the best ones we have had in Malaysia. Views from the pool were worth booking this hotel !
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Brett M wrote a review Mar 2024
11 contributions
A husband and wife couple stayed here for 2 nights and enjoyed a great room that had bath and shower .the hotel has nice views over the tow and has a 5 floors of mall connected to it just next door . Really good service , meals are great with a good selection for breakfast and a good choice for dinner . A nice pi area on the 4th floor .
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Nothing really ... place has all the usuals
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Zsuzsa.Guide wrote a review Mar 2024
Targu Secuiesc, Romania245 contributions49 helpful votes
+1
The best things are the location, the view from the pool and the rooftop bar. Rooms are big and clean, the variety of food is excellent. Decorations are nice. At night you can admire the laser show and the fountain. Shops are nearby. And the hotel has a cat!!!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Choose this hotel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Stewart F wrote a review Feb 2024
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom19 contributions20 helpful votes
his hotel was exceptional. We stayed 4 nights to mainly go and see the Orangutan Reserve but is also a great base for some of the other popular attractions. We booked a club room with river view and with lounge access. The view was stunning both day or night. The hotel forms one part of a big shopping mall. The shopping mall is well worth a visit if that’s your thing. The food court on the top floor of the mall is definitely worth a visit. The breakfast at the hotel is probably one of the best we have had. We had breakfast in the main restaurant instead of the lounge. In the lounge they serve afternoon tea and between 5-7 snacks are served which were really tasty. Here you can also get alcoholic drinks (beer, wine, etc) between those times too. The only complaint we would have with the lounge was the drinks service was really slow and red wine was served cold!! and sometimes the heaters under the food platters either weren’t lit or went out so sometimes the food was cold. We would definitely stay here again and thoroughly recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Book a river view room. Views exceptional day or night
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Waterfront Hotel Sam, Guest Services / Front Office at The Waterfront Hotel
Responded 3 Mar 2024
Dear StewartF894, Thank you very much for your visit to The Waterfront Hotel and for having taken the time to share about your experience with us. We are grateful for your patronage in addition to the compliments extended. We are more than pleased to know that you had a wonderful stay and that you enjoyed the convenient location, we do take pride in our location and the convenience it offers to our guests. Our team will be delighted to read your compliments on their hospitality. We are sorry to hear about the issues you faced while staying with us especially with regards to the guest service experience; what you have experienced is not in our normal practice and we apologize for the less than satisfactory experience you had. All your feedback will be taken into consideration for improvement, especially those concerning your customer service experience with us. Receiving feedback from our guests is essential for us to identify where we should do better and as such, we appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts with us regarding your stay. Our team will do our best to showcase the improvement we have made in the meantime and looking forward for another opportunity to better serve you. Kind regards, Serene MarCom Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Tour35392400150 wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
Recently visited Kuching and stayed at the Waterfront hotel for 3 days and really enjoyed my stay. The hotel is located right near the waterfront, next to some amazing eateries. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They also helped us get in touch with our cab driver for the trip Ric Gob (+60168899345). Special shoutout to Ric, who made our trip so much more comfortable. His vibrant and fun demeanour made it so easy to talk to him and connect with him. He showed us around with history and details about almost every place, suggested beautiful options and made the whole journey fun. He even showed us some hidden gems and made us try the best durian and pandan coconuts. Would definitely recommend reaching out to Ric if you happen to visit Kuching, you'll definitely leave the city with a friend in it. Overall, Kuching is a beautiful, must-visit place and the hotel added to our comfort and luxury. Loved the experience !
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Waterfront Hotel Sam, Guest Services / Front Office at The Waterfront Hotel
Responded 21 Jan 2024
Dear Tour35392400150, Thank you very much for your visit to The Waterfront Hotel and for having taken the time to share about your experience with us. We are grateful for your patronage in addition to the very nice compliments extended. We could not be more pleased to know that you had a wonderful stay and loved the attention to details and personal gesture extended by our professional team. We are glad that you enjoyed the convenient location and that the services met your expectations. We do take pride in our location and the convenience it offers to our guests. We truly appreciate your kind post and compliments! We are all humbled by your praise which helps to motivate us in giving our best on a daily basis. Most reassuring indeed to know you will return if your travel brings you back to beautiful Kuching. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Waterfront Hotel in the near future. Kind regards, Serene MarCom Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
pennytess2014 wrote a review Jan 2024
Tasmania, Australia25 contributions14 helpful votes
Our first time in Kuching, our river view room on the 10th floor had magnificent views. Very good value. Good size room, excellent breakfast, convenient location. We ate in the poolside bar restaurant several times, nice food. Staff very helpful, assisted us with booking Grabs and taxis.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Waterfront Hotel Sam, Guest Services / Front Office at The Waterfront Hotel
Responded 21 Jan 2024
Dear pennytess2014, Thank you very much for your recent visit to The Waterfront Hotel and for having taken the time to share about your experience with us. We are grateful for your patronage in addition to the very nice compliments extended. We are more than pleased to know that you had a wonderful stay and loved the attention to details by our professional team. At the same time, we are glad that you enjoyed the convenient location and that the services met your expectations. We truly appreciate your kind post and compliments! We are all humbled by your praise which helps to motivate us in giving our best on a daily basis. Looking forward to have you back with us again, see you soon! Kind regards, Serene MarCom Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sata W wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
This is the best location to tour the main city of Kuching by walk, and the best view with higher level River view room. I am sure that I would like to stay in this hotel for my next trip to Kuching.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Waterfront Hotel Sam, Guest Services / Front Office at The Waterfront Hotel
Responded 21 Jan 2024
Dear sataw2023, Thank you very much for your recent visit to The Waterfront Hotel and for having taken the time to share about your experience with us. We are pleased to know that you had a wonderful stay and loved the services extended by our team. We are more than grateful that our location offers you with the convenience to a few of Kuching’s top tourist spots. We truly appreciate your kind post and compliments! We are all humbled by your praise which helps to motivate us in giving our best on a daily basis. Most reassuring indeed to know you will return if your travel brings you back to beautiful Kuching. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Waterfront Hotel in the near future. Kind regards, Serene MarCom Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jessie T wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution
We arrived on the 23 November from the time we arrived and left on the 27 November we had a fantastic time it was our second stay there.We went with some friends ,all the hotel staff was so friendly especially Sebastian.I must congratulate the hotel all the staff was so friendly ,breakfast was great ,it’s a beautiful place to stay.Well done “Waterfront ‘’ We will be back..A special thank you to Sebastian and the pastry Chef .Well done
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Waterfront Hotel Sam, Guest Services / Front Office at The Waterfront Hotel
Responded 19 Dec 2023
Dear Jessie T, Thank you very much for your recent visit to The Waterfront Hotel and for having taken the time to share about your experience with us. We are grateful for your patronage in addition to the very nice compliments extended. We are more than pleased to know that you had a wonderful stay and found yourself staying comfortably in our room. It is always heartwarming to know that our hospitality met your expectation! At the same time, we are grateful that you enjoyed our convenient location. We do take pride in our location and the convenience it offers to our guests. We truly appreciate your kind post and compliments! We are all humbled by your praise which helps to motivate us in giving our best on a daily basis. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Waterfront Hotel in the near future. Kind regards, Serene MarCom Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
lzevud wrote a review Dec 2023
Perth, Australia350 contributions167 helpful votes
+1
This establishment holds a special place in my heart. The rooms are spacious and clean, not to mention that the hotel is situated in the heart of Kuching town centre, and is directly adjacent to a shopping mall, making it very comfortable and easy for patrons. Staffs are generally friendly and professional as well. Overall a great stay, will be back again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Waterfront Hotel Sam, Guest Services / Front Office at The Waterfront Hotel
Responded 19 Dec 2023
Dear lz4ev, Thank you very much for your recent visit to The Waterfront Hotel and for having taken the time to share about your experience with us. We are pleased to know that you had a wonderful stay and loved the services extended by our team. We are more than grateful that our location offers you with the convenience to a few of Kuching’s top tourist spots. We truly appreciate your kind post and compliments! We are all humbled by your praise which helps to motivate us in giving our best on a daily basis. Most reassuring indeed to know you will return if your travel brings you back to beautiful Kuching. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Waterfront Hotel in the near future. Kind regards, Serene MarCom Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Mobile67769720076 wrote a review Nov 2023
1 contribution
I enjoyed my stay at The Waterfront Hotel mainly because of the strategic location, attention to details and room with nice view. The location is at the heart of tourist spot, walking distance to nearby attractions. I love how the hotel exhibit the artageous details; music outside room alleyways, cultural performance at restaurant during breakfast time and there’s a cute in house cat greeting at the lobby. To top it all, my room view was magnificent facing the bridge, astana and Sarawak river view.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: The hotel is attached to shopping mall. Convenience
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Waterfront Hotel Sam, Guest Services / Front Office at The Waterfront Hotel
Responded 16 Nov 2023
Dear Mobile67769720076, Thank you very much for your recent visit to The Waterfront Hotel and for having taken the time to share about your experience with us. We could not be more pleased to know that you had a wonderful stay and loved the services extended by our team. We constantly strive to give our guests the best experience while staying with us! At the same time, we are glad that you enjoyed the convenient location. Most reassuring indeed to know you will recommend us and return if your travel brings you back to beautiful Kuching! Kind regards, Serene MarCom Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kuching area.
PRICE RANGE
RM 331 - RM 431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
MalaysiaSarawakKuching
NUMBER OF ROOMS
208
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE WATERFRONT HOTEL (R̶M̶ ̶3̶7̶4̶) RM 268: UPDATED 2024 Reviews, Price Comparison and 664 Photos (Kuching) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Waterfront Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Waterfront Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Kuching Waterfront (0.2 km), Darul Hana Bridge (0.3 km), and Sarawak Museum (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Waterfront Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
What food & drink options are available at The Waterfront Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Waterfront Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Waterfront Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Indah House Kuching - Cafe,.Art & Event Space. Homestay, Black Bean, and Balkanico.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Waterfront Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does The Waterfront Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, The Waterfront Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Waterfront Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Waterfront Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Waterfront Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Chinese, and Malay.
Are there any historical sites close to The Waterfront Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Hong San Si Temple (0.4 km).