Royale Chulan Damansara

Royale Chulan Damansara

2, Jalan PJU 7/3, Mutiara Damansara, Petaling Jaya 47810 Malaysia
Traveller (554)
Panorama at The Royale Chulan Damansara
360
Panoramas (13)
Premier Room
Room & Suite (216)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#8 of 52 hotels in Petaling Jaya
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
Set in the heart of the Golden Triangle of Petaling Jaya, Royale Chulan Damansara (formerly known as The Royale Bintang Damansara) has all that you need and more for a truly luxurious holiday.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Infinity pool
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
24-hour security
Concierge
Doorperson
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Bottled water
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
Malay

Location

2, Jalan PJU 7/3, Mutiara Damansara, Petaling Jaya 47810 Malaysia
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 81 out of 100
81
Kuala Lumpur Intl Airport
47.7 km
See all flights
Sultan Abdul Aziz Shah Airport
634Reviews18Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 153
  • 257
  • 137
  • 41
  • 46
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Taufiq Affendi wrote a review Sept 2020
Chemor, Malaysia24 contributions15 helpful votes
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The toilet floor was not level. Water will flow out of the toilet to the room. It seems the problem is already there for long time. The tv was not hanging to the wall as promoted. It was on a yellowish-birch coloured desk that not even matching the room furnitures colour/theme and wire hanging exposed.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tony Lim, General Manager at Royale Chulan Damansara
Responded 15 Sept 2020
Dear Taufiq Affendi, We regret to hear about your experience and more so, the room condition in which you have described. Your feedback is much appreciated and our team will immediately take action to improve on all that you have brought up in your review. Warm regards, Tony Lim General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sally wrote a review Oct 2021
Seremban District, Malaysia149 contributions43 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I always stay at Royale Chulan Damansara because the hotel was an easy access to shopping complex. But sadly the shopping mall attached to the hotel closed due to pandemic. The lively place was gone. The hotel too seem like a lonely place. For my stay I enjoy the breakfast it was very delicious for me. The pool was great. All the staff from reception, room service, housekeeping, coffee house was very friendly and helpful as usual. I hope someday the place will be lively as before. Will love to come again someday.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Because the shopping mall attach to hotel was closed, You still can go to the curve or ikea. Just...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Faizi Khalid, Other at Royale Chulan Damansara
Responded 1 Nov 2021
Dear Sally, Thank you for your kind feedback and for visiting us again. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast, pool and the friendly service from our staff. Although it is unfortunate that the pandemic has taken a toll on many leisure activities including shopping malls, we hope that the industry bounces back with better things to come. We’d also like to inform you that we have other malls within walking distance from the hotel such as The Curve, Ikano and Ikea besides the e-Curve Mall which has recently closed down. We are also currently constructing a walkway which will lead straight to these malls and this will serve as a convenient feature to all of our guests. We hope to hear from you soon for future bookings, kindly email to feedbacks.rcd@royalechulan.com or text to our “Royale Text Action” at 016 9209 631 Warm regards, Faizi Khalid Executive Assistant Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Monica S wrote a review Jan 2022
8 contributions10 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at Royal Chulan Damansara for 13 days. The location is good, close to the mall like the Curve, IPC and IKEA. The room is big and spacious. When I checked in I asked for a higher level unfortunately they said they don’t have any. And I have to move 3 times before settling in as most of safe deposit box in the room didn’t work. I have to wait for the manager to come as no one else can help me. The annoying thing is they move me to a different room without checking if the safe deposit box worked. For five stars hotel, I think Royal Chulan need to improve the room and condition of the hotel. In my room some of the wall paper chipped, the bathroom a lot of black mold in the corner. It’s outdated. Also it was hard to call Reception or Room Service, had to try several times. Cleaning Service daily sometimes they vacuumed the room sometimes they didn’t. When I came back to the room I could see hairs and tissues in the toilet area.
Breakfast at coffeehouse every morning was okay as the menu is always the same, unfortunately no one monitoring the breakfast area as no social distancing when getting food. Overall it’s okay but for five star hotel it could be better.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Faizi Khalid, Other at Royale Chulan Damansara
Responded 3 Feb 2022
Dear Monica S, We truly appreciate that you have chosen our hotel for your long stay getaway and we hope that you will accept our sincere apologies over the safe deposit box where we regret that you were moved three times before you could settle in and also for the rest of the dissatisfaction's that you have brought up here. The heads of the relevant departments have been notified and actions will be taken to improve and to ensure better guest comfort in the future. We value your support and rest assured this will not happen again. For future inquiries, kindly email to feedbacks.rcd@royalechulan.com or text to our Royale Text Action at +6 016 9209 631 Warm regards, Faizi Khalid Resident Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Elena S wrote a review Dec 2022
416 contributions55 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I was disappointed when i found there’s no face nor hand towels in the room. Only bath towels are available. When I called for housekeeping if i could kindly get a hand towel or face towel, they sent another bath towel. The next day they gave an extra bath towel, and they noticed i have a little one that loves to draw and used up all the papers for drawing. They gave us more papers. There wasnt any tissue paper at the work table when we just checked in. Knowing i have a little one I think they gave us another box of tissue paper. Very thoughtful gesture. Thank you very much
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Going to kidzania require very clear directions. It’s difficult to reach if one is not given the...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Faizal Hussain, Other at Royale Chulan Damansara
Responded 4 Jan 2023
Dear Elena S, We appreciate your kind review and would like to apologize for not being able to provide the face and handtowels. The head of department involved has been informed and rest assured it will be better next time. Warm regards, Faizal Hussain Executive Assistant Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kavitha wrote a review Jan 2022
Brisbane, Australia5 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My main concern is the cleanliness. Stayed for 4 nights and we have to request for the room to be cleaned daily ( and tell them what to do as well). 🤦🏽‍♀️ the cleaner comes, takes away the rubbish and leaves. We have to call them again to do other stuff. Vacuum, wash the toilet, replenish water etc. The shower was left with thick dark layer and I had to ask them to clean that too.

The food in cafe is moderate and very limited choice. For a so called big hotel like this, I expect better food.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Faizi Khalid, Other at Royale Chulan Damansara
Responded 19 Jan 2022
Dear Kavitha, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. Firstly, please accept our most sincere apologies on the experience that you’ve had throughout your stay. All of the issues that you have mentioned here were brought up to the relevant heads immediately for improvements to be made. The management will also be monitoring these areas constantly as we have a certain standard of service to meet. We hope that you will give us another chance on your next trip where we will be better. Warm regards, Faizi Khalid Resident Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
James O wrote a review Jan 2023
10 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at this hotel 5 -6 years ago. It seems this hotel not even upgrades their facilities at all. Rusted door knobs, dirty stains marks on water basin and dirty carpets at room etc.

The food served at the cafe for breakfast is really disappointing. I don’t take beef , this made me annoyed as they don’t even labelled the dish at ‘rendang daging’ section. The chef expected we knew the dish served was ‘Rendang daging’
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Faizal Hussain, Other at Royale Chulan Damansara
Responded 1 Feb 2023
Dear James O, Please accept our sincere apologies on the experience you had on your recent stay. We have taken note of all these shortcomings and our personnel in charge have been briefed to take immediate action for improvements. We are always striving to do the best we can to cater to all our guests needs and hope to have you back again on your next visit. Warm regards, Faizal Hussain Executive Assistant Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
khchong81 wrote a review Nov 2022
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia11 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Having meeting here for 2 days. First day, the staff validate my card and give me free parking. Second day encounter a super rude duty manager name Bismir. He claim that I have to pay flat rate RM8 but I question why previous day I got it free. When I was talking to my team, I say this is crazy, 1 day free 1 day need pay RM8 and he accuse me that I say him crazy. Basically I got bank statement show that yesterday charges was RM0.00 and he arrogantly said I can’t even afford RM8. This is not matter of RM8 or not, it’s unfair charges between 2 days. I got 6 colleagues that can be witness on this Bismir rudeness.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Faizal Hussain, Other at Royale Chulan Damansara
Responded 3 Nov 2022
Dear khchong81, Kindly accept our most sincere apologies on your recent experience. Please know that we are taking appropriate measures to address this issue and to make improvements. It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you better in the future. Warm regards, Faizal Hussain Executive Assistant Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Iskandar wrote a review Jul 2020
Johor Bahru, Malaysia74 contributions66 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stay for 1 night for business trip. One thing good about the hotel is the strategic location, close to the mall and MRT station.

Beyond that it really need some major refurbishment. You can see the facilities have seen better days and as a 5 star premise they need to update very soon.

My only complaint is the lack of soundproofing of the room. You can clearly hear the conversation from the next room and the steps from the room above.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tony Lim, General Manager at Royale Chulan Damansara
Responded 3 Jul 2020
Dear Andai, Firstly, thank you for choosing our hotel and also for putting in a good mention of our location in your feedback. On the other hand, please accept our most sincere apologies on the soundproofing. The hotel will look into it in on our next extensive refurbishment plan. Warmest regards, Tony Lim General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Patrick Y wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Despite having the moniker Royal on its name, there was nothing Royal about this hotel at all. Entering the hotel from the back entrance of which is conveniently connected to the MRT, I was taken aback by the dark ambience of the hotel interior. It felt like walking into a haunted mansion. I passed by unfriendly staffs at the hotel restaurant/cafe on the way to the lift. Walking out the lift towards the hotel lobby, I was shocked to see the carpets mouldy and wall paint flaking off. I noticed one of the lobby sofa's leather was torn at the seat. They definitely have seen better days. Surely not a sight to behold for the hotel guest though.

Regardless, I checked in. Room 9XX I was given. The room was big and spacious, and has an old austere feel to it. I unpacked while the missus goes to shower. Suddenly, the door opened and to my surprise a stranger gentleman walked in but not before exclaiming in surprise himself. Apparently, he too was given the same room despite checking in later than us by an hour. How the receptionist could have made this mistake is beyond me. He left rather unceremoniously but not before startling my wife when she walked out of the shower, half naked only to see a stranger in the room.

Unfazed, we decided to enjoy the city. Upon returning, we found that our access card isn't functioning. Off to the lobby we went to get a new set of cards. This unfortunate incident repeated itself once a day for 3 days.

Breakfast was basic and mediocre. It felt like a 3 star hotel buffet instead of a 5 star one. Surely, the Royal Chulan could have served better selections.

The only plus point is that its conveniently connected to the MRT so travelling within KL was made easy.

I would be avoiding this hotel and the rest of the Royal Chulans in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Avoid this hotel. Period.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Faizi Khalid, Other at Royale Chulan Damansara
Responded 14 Jun 2022
Dear Patrick Y, Please accept our most sincere apology on all the incidences that had left you with an unpleasant experience during your stay. Please know that we are taking appropriate measures to address all these issues and also to make improvements. It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future. Warm regards, Faizi Khalid Resident Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alvin S wrote a review Feb 2020
Viti Levu, Fiji1,387 contribution127 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a grand hotel though the structure appears old. The hotel is a true value of money and is right next to the e-curve a major shopping mall. The hotel staffs are good and the food was very good. My stay was very comfortable.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Andrew Lim, General Manager at Royale Chulan Damansara
Responded 26 Feb 2020
Dear Alvin S, Thank you for your kind feedback. Truly glad to hear that your stay was comfortable and that you enjoyed our food. We look forward to your next stay and if you have any inquiries, do drop us a mail at feedbacks.rcd@.royalechulan.com or send a text to our “Royale Text Action” number +6 016 9209 631 for fast response Warmest regards, Andrew Lim General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Petaling Jaya area.
PRICE RANGE
RM 193 - RM 241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Royale Bintang Damansara
LOCATION
MalaysiaSelangorPetaling DistrictPetaling Jaya
NUMBER OF ROOMS
380
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ROYALE CHULAN DAMANSARA (R̶M̶ ̶2̶4̶4̶) RM 183: UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews, Price Comparison and 973 Photos (Petaling Jaya) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Royale Chulan Damansara
Which popular attractions are close to Royale Chulan Damansara?
Nearby attractions include The Curve (0.3 km), Breakout Spy Game (0.4 km), and IPC Shopping Centre (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Royale Chulan Damansara?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Royale Chulan Damansara?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Royale Chulan Damansara?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Royale Chulan Damansara?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Royale Chulan Damansara?
Conveniently located restaurants include Dip n Dip, TGI Fridays Sunway Pyramid, and IKEA Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Royale Chulan Damansara?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Royale Chulan Damansara have airport transportation?
Yes, Royale Chulan Damansara offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Royale Chulan Damansara?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Royale Chulan Damansara offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Royale Chulan Damansara?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Istana Negara (6.2 km).
All Petaling Jaya HotelsPetaling Jaya Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Petaling JayaHotels near Royale Chulan Damansara
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire