We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
217 Jalan Sultan Zainal Abidin, Kuala Terengganu 20000 Malaysia
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Priceline
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (25)
Room & Suite (35)
Dining (1)

About

#5 of 59 hotels in Kuala Terengganu
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Ming Star Hotel is perfect either for a business or family trip to Kuala Terengganu. We ensure your stay with us is a memorable one, right from the moment when you step into the hotel. It strategically located, highly accessible and conveniently surrounded by various well-known landmarks, restaurants, and places of interest, Ming Star Hotel is perfect either for a business or family trip to Kuala Terengganu. We ensure your stay with us is a memorable one, right from the moment when you step into the hotel. We strike our best to provide everything just for your comfort as every our customers are privileged. You don't only stay here, but you enjoy your stay with us.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Restaurant
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Parking
Wifi
Breakfast available
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Telephone
Minibar
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Bottled water
Iron
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Malay
45Reviews0Q+A5Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 6
  • 17
  • 12
  • 9
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
fyda_my wrote a review Oct 2019
Bentong, Malaysia3 contributions
It was a short visit to kuala terengganu.the hotel located at the heart of the city.it is surrounded by mutliple restaurants.very close to pantai batu burok. Every attractions are like less than an hour drive. Hotel room is comfortable. Air cond and shower functioning well.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mingstar-hotel, Front Office Manager at Hotel Ming Star
Responded 22 Jan 2020
Dear valued guest . Warmest greeting from Ming Star Hotel ! Thank you for your kind review , we are glad know that you are satisfied with the service that our hotel provide. We hope you can stay again at our hotel on your next trip to Kuala Terengganu . Warm Regards Ming Star Hotel And Team.
Read more
gfiona wrote a review Dec 2018
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia68 contributions46 helpful votes
Apart from its location being pretty central and surrounded by good restaurants, the hotel itself wasn't one to be excited about. The cleanliness was unfortunately below average which made our stay pretty unpleasant. Stains on the dtessing table and the toilets, no tissues provided (only toilet paper), soap and shampoo had an odd smell, towels had stains. Also not too keen on the idea of being provided with the drinking water dispenser instead of bottled water as we're unsure how clean/long it has been in there. Not a very pleasant experience.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Mingstar-hotel, Front Office Manager at Hotel Ming Star
Responded 4 Mar 2019
Dear, Thank You for choosing our hotel for stay during your travel at Kuala Terengganu. First of all we glad that you find our hotel location is strategic at center of the town. however, please allow to personally apologize you for the unpleasant experience that you had during your stay at our hotel, we will take a serious action with this matter. Regarding about the drinking water that we provide each of the room , for your information we always change that drinking water regularly and always make sure that water dispenser is clean to use. Thanks so much and we do look forward to welcoming you back . Warm Regards, Ming Star Hotel And Team.
Read more
DaveChoong wrote a review Sep 2018
Penang Island, Malaysia175 contributions80 helpful votes
Positive site- Frankly can't think of any except the room comes with drinking water dispenser rather than bottle water given. Need for improvement- Room condition can see have been run down sometimes. Poor wifi that appear to be no network intermittently. the cup with the saucer appear do not clean properly. Receptionist not informative enough. The hotel is pretty distance away from Chinatown and Duyong Island. But walking distance to the beach area.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Mingstar-hotel, Front Office Manager at Hotel Ming Star
Responded 26 Sep 2018
Dear Mr. DaveChoong, First of all, thank you for choosing to stayed with us during your traveled. We are very appreciated of your comments and for your information, we are on our way to refurbish hotel rooms from time to time. Unfortunately, we can't refurbish all of our rooms at the same time. If we do so, we don't have a business and can't earn income to maintain our rooms :) So, we need to do it one by one and of course it will take a time. We are very happy if you and all of our guest understand about it because we are strive to give the best services to all of our guest. All of your comments we accepted and we will take necessary actions on it. Last but not least, we hope you will come again to our hotel and give us a chance to serve you better next time. Thank you for your support.
Read more
Edders88 wrote a review Aug 2018
Penang, Malaysia83 contributions16 helpful votes
The price of the hotel is quite expensive for an accommodation like this. The rooms are alright. Cleanliness is about average and the size of the hotel room is small. There were no breakfast included and you have to actually pay extra if you would want breakfast. Parking is fine, there are quite a number of spaces behind the hotel which is free for guests.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
nik n wrote a review Jun 2018
17 contributions7 helpful votes
I stayed here for 1 night over the weekend. It was an unexpected stay in Kuala Terengganu as we were visiting someone in the hospital. I stayed with my husband and 2 small children. We decided on this hotel as it was very close to the beach and hospital. Its situated in a renovated shop lot, so you do get restaurant and convenience stores nearby. They also have their own parking lot out back so it makes it easier rather than parking at the curb. Pros The receptionist was friendly over the phone and in person. He accomodated our request for very late check in and the check in process went smoothly Bed was soft and comfy and the air conditioning was working well, so my night was not too bad. Hot water was working and they had a mineral water dispenser in the room. Cons However, the toilet seat in my room was dirty. Which to me is totally unacceptable! This is not a public toilet! To come to your own hotel room and be greeted with a dirty toilet seat totally spoilt my mood. And there were lizard droppings at the corner of the washroom that again, made for a very distasteful stay. Esp considering I had small children with me. All in all, it wasnt my worse hotel experience, and we only stayed overnight for about 8 hours so it was bearable but I definitely would not recommend the place. Maybe if management put a little more effort on cleanliness the place would be better, but as it is, it was a little of a let down.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mingstar-hotel, Front Office Manager at Hotel Ming Star
Responded 2 Jul 2018
Dear Nik, First of all we would like to apologize about the issue that you are facing during your stayed. As per our responsibility, we will check about this issue and will take action immediately. Our housekeeping supervisor will find out what is the problem with the chambermaid that duty during that time. By the way, we advised, if you are facing the problem upon check in, please immediately informed our receptionist so they can settled your problem straight away for example change the room (if necessary). We are very happy if you can give us second chance to serve you better next time. Thank you for your support. From Fara Yusof
Read more
Caroline O wrote a review Apr 2018
Singapore, Singapore51 contributions14 helpful votes
Is a clean budget hotel for just one night before heading elsewhere. Mosque will sound at 5.40am for long time everyday ! Not a lot of shops but at least two decent cafe below. Is near town, but is a dead town. Is near beach but te beach is very dirty. Not recommanded for tourist but is good for the local tourist.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mingstar-hotel, Front Office Manager at Hotel Ming Star
Responded 2 Jul 2018
Dear Caroline, Thank you for choosing to stayed with us during your vacation. We are very happy to heard that our hotel is clean even though we are only budget hotel. For your information, our state formerly known as Islamic state so, the sound that you heard from mosque it's called "Azan" or recite the Quran. This sound is normal for us but may be not for you, we understood. But may be you can put this culture as your most valuable experience during your travel. Thank you for your support.
Read more
Tan S wrote a review Oct 2017
6 contributions2 helpful votes
Booked via Expedia. Average RM90+ for a room with two single beds, without breakfast. Stayed here for 4 nights. No problem with air con, TV, bed, water heater. We're happy with the room space to put our stuff. There's also a spacious work desk with drawer and comfortable chair which we found very useful. Service was good, the staff took action on our complaint about the bathroom. It was resolved when we got back in the night. They also allowed us to print important docs that we needed for our exhibition and responded to our queries about where to get frozen keropok lekor. The car park is just behind the hotel where there's a door to the lobby. Secret Recipe and Uncle Chua Signature restaurant are on the same row as the hotel. Manhattan Fish Market and Cottage Chicken can be seen opposite the hotel, within 2 min walking distance. Chinatown is also nearby. Overall, good one!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mingstar-hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Ming Star
Responded 28 Oct 2017
Dear Sir/Ms, Thank you for your comments and we are very appreciated. We hope you will come again to our hotel and being one of our regular guest. We will promise to give the best service whoever came to our hotel. Many thanks for your support. Ming Star Hotel Management Team
Read more
Julian K wrote a review Oct 2017
Düsseldorf, Germany46 contributions29 helpful votes
+1
My wife and me stayed at this place because it didn’t seem too expensive but ok from the ratings. Now that we stayed here we can’t understand how some people rate it so high. We payed 120 Myr for one superior(!) room. Breakfast should be included as the booking referenced. The room: it is small, sticky and very dirty. The room only has one small window (see the picture) and one side of the window is nailed with a wooden plank. Totally strange. The A/C is from another decade far away and doesn’t work properly. It just pours out smelly, sticky air. Everything looks so used up and the mattresses are hard like stone. I also found hairs from a former guest in mine. Really disgusting. If you look at the bathroom it is disgusting too. The floor has just been painted over with some waterproof paint to seal it. But it looks like a 5 year old has done that. There is fungus in every corner and it also smells strange. In our room (superior room!) there was a WiFi password sticker on the table but no WiFi available in that area. The staff: The stuff is just there to do basic things. Give you the keycard and that’s it. No warm welcome, no information on anything. When we went to breakfast they didn’t have our room on their list. Quiet strange. That’s why we decided to leave this place quick. Our recommendation: if you like paying money (even a small amount of) for a dirty, smelly, used up and disgusting room and don’t want any assistance from the staff then the Hotel Ming Star is your choice. We will never stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Mingstar-hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Ming Star
Responded 29 Oct 2017
Dear Sir, First of all, we would like to apologize to you regarding issue that you are facing. Based on your comments we are accepted and will take necessary actions after we investigate it further. Regarding the breakfast, as per we checked, your booking is under Online Travel Agent (Expedia) so there is no breakfast provided, but you still can bought the breakfast at RM12 per pax. Regarding the room is small, we admitted that the Superior room only different 2 sqm size from the Standard Room, so next time, we advised you to request to take a look the room before you check in and if you feel that the room not suitable, you can upgrade to others room (with charge) if not same room type. We also would like to advise, if you are facing many issue in the room, you have a right to complain directly to the receptionist on the same day and we will take action immediately. We admitted sometimes there is an issue, but it's rarely. By the way, we hope you can give us a chance to serve you better next time. Once again we apologize and thank you for your support.
Read more
Mohammed S wrote a review Sep 2017
Cedarburg, Wisconsin, United States195 contributions54 helpful votes
At the recommendation of one of the contributors here on TripAdvisor, I chose this hotel on my visit to the one of the most conservative states of Malaysia in the northeast. As a political observer, I was also interested in exploring the ethnic conflict that has lately led to some trouble in the southern four provinces of Thailand which are Malay speaking and are predominantly Muslims. As the post-colonial borders have not always followed the facts on the ground, the peoples have been divided between two separate countries when their kin have ended up in another. There are many examples in the world where the colonial authorities mainly England and France have thus sown the seeds of discord and conflicts that continue in our modern times. Before I went there, I made sure that the security situation was stable and I also intended to take the Jungle Railway that originates in this area traversing the Malaysian highlands through the thick tropical forests all the way south to Singapore. Unfortunately, the trains only ran at night and therefore, since I would have missed the scenery I decided to abandon the idea. Unfortunately, the info that is available on the internet turned out to be wrong. While I tried to be at the northern terminus, going to Terengganu turned out to become a disappointment. Since I had already traveled by bus on the East Coast expressway from Kuala Lumpur for almost eight hours, I had no choice to spend the night at Terengganu, only to head back and go to Singapore the next day. The hotel is hardly clean and given the amenities, it was overpriced. It also needs a newer touch because it is too old with peeling paint and generally unpleasant atmosphere. The bathrooms need some heavy duty cleansing to get the shine of the amenities back or should be outright replaced. Too many repairs have been done and now is the time to install newer toiletries. The atmosphere was spartan and just basic. It looked like the housekeeping had forgotten to clean the bathroom. I found old soap wrappers in the soap dish and the garbage under the sink had not been emptied. I found hair on the bathroom floor and the fittings were disgustingly unclean. With no individualized containers, large shampoo and conditioner bottles graced the ledge in the shower stall which the guests were expected to share with others who came before them. The bottles were all guncked up and I felt like I was taking a shower in a communal bathroom, rather than in my own, albeit in a hotel room for which I paid a rather generous amount that it did not deserve. For a while, I thought the sheets may not have been changed but after making sure that they were, I decided not to complain. As compared to what I got for my money in Kuala Lumpur, this place was far too expensive for the amenities provided. The price that the hotel deserved should have been the third of what I paid. After checking in I went to an outdoor restaurant across the street to have some delicious Malay food. Having dinner at a place where the locals ate, was the only highlight of my stay in town.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
zaki a wrote a review Sep 2017
5 contributions
Spend one night (hello kitty room) with my family of 3kids, room quite spacious. Plenty of Shops ( 7eleven, food stall) within walking distance. Beaches within 15 minutes drive. Book with agoda for rm140.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$23 - US$28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
MalaysiaTerengganuKuala Terengganu
NUMBER OF ROOMS
41
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Ming Star
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Ming Star?
Nearby attractions include Batu Buruk beach (1.1 km), Penarik Beach (0.4 km), and Al-Muktafi Billah Shah Mosque (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Ming Star?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Ming Star?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Ming Star?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Ming Star?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Ming Star?
Conveniently located restaurants include Gossip Kitchen, Uncle Ng Restaurant, and Fauzi Nasi Kerabu.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Ming Star?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Malay.