We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

AVANI Pemba Beach Hotel & Spa

Show Prices
#1 of 4 Hotels in Pemba
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
AVANI Pemba Beach Hotel & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

87 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for AVANI Pemba Beach Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 63: English reviews
Surrey UK
Reviewed 3 March 2015

Stayed at hotel 18-20 feb on business check in ok after changing room to ensure double bed instead of larger room but 2 single beds. Wifi only worked in bar and main part of hotel so pretty much useless as had to work in bar area for wifi, not the end of the world but annoying. Bed was hard as...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank petrol1967
Jonathan P, Executive Assistant Manager at AVANI Pemba Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear petrol1967, Warm greetings from AVANI Pemba Beach Hotel & Spa. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent visit to our hotel. I appreciate your feedback regarding experiencing some connectivity challenges with the WIFI in certain areas of the hotel, I would like to assure you that we are presently in the process of...

Maputo, Mozambique
Reviewed 1 March 2015

Internationally maybe not really a 5-star hotel, but for Pemba it is. I have been there several times every year since they opened in 2001 / 2002 and it is a very charming place. They have been growing very much since the Gas sector took off in Pemba, some 5 years ago, but is still a very nice place. Quality...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Nicolandia
Jonathan P, Executive Assistant Manager at AVANI Pemba Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Nicolandia, Warm greetings from the recently re-branded AVANI Pemba Beach Hotel & Spa. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent return visit to our hotel. I appreciate your feedback relating to the internet which we recognise is a key service to our valued guests and particularly business travelers. Unfortunately during the earlier part...

doha
Reviewed 28 February 2015 via mobile

Well after travel all Mozambique from Maputo till the north stoping in major cities Pemba resort was like reaching even. That pool without end the starts at night, the room and the personnel made those 10 nights unforgettable...did my PADI open water there...with a instructor British lady...no words. Need to come back some day

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Renatocosta
Jonathan P, Executive Assistant Manager at AVANI Pemba Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Renatocosta, Warm greetings from AVANI Pemba Beach Hotel & Spa. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your visit to our hotel. Unfortunately at this time we do not have diving available, please feel feel to share your feedback with me directly; jpayne@minorhotelgroup.com Please feel free to contact me when you wish to return it...

london
Reviewed 21 February 2015

Some areas are a little tired,but overall a great hotel. Nautical restaurant does amazing sea food at a reasonable european price. But its not cheap due to the amount of oil and gas traffic in pemba at the moment. Its a bit isolated but great views out into the indian ocean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank catfordtourer
Jonathan P, Executive Assistant Manager at AVANI Pemba Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear catfordtourer, Warm greetings from AVANI Pemba Beach Hotel & Spa. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent visit to our hotel. Clube Naval our signature restaurant and Quirimbas restaurant offer hand line caught fish and a great variety of other local seafood from calamari to lobster & crab. Pemba is one of the...

Libreville, Gabon
Reviewed 2 January 2015

My wife and I spent our honeymoon at this luxurius hotel. Apart from the shacks in the back ground the world class foods( crab and rice), the scuba diving and the sparkling infinity pool with a prestine white sand beach in the background sets a tropical scene for a tremendous vacation and on budget. South Africans who venture north will...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tsareviews
Jonathan P, Executive Assistant Manager at AVANI Pemba Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear desouthafrican, Warm greetings from AVANI Pemba Beach Hotel & Spa. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent honeymoon, congratulations on your nuptials - on behalf of the entire team we wish you a lifetime of happiness together. Northern Mozambique is a charming destination, culturally rich and has some of the finest seafood such...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 December 2014

I was looking for the perfect end to my friend's run across Africa, somewhere beautiful that would be worth filming, and I found it at Avani. The entrance is impressive, the reception (which Emma ran through) is beautiful and the sea front (where she finished) is gorgeous. The staff were very helpful, welcoming Emma and guiding her through the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AyshaK
Jonathan P, Executive Assistant Manager at AVANI Pemba Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear AyshaK, Warm greetings from AVANI Pemba Beach Hotel & Spa. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent visit. Your friend's epic run from the Atlantic coast of Namibia to the Indian Ocean coast of Mozambique in Pemba was an incredible feat and we are very happy to have been able to host your...

Reviewed 12 December 2014

the hotel is very nice and typical, the staff is friendly, the structure is very special. An unfortunate event had happened. But after the clarifications with Executive Assistant Manager, the problem was solved. Only professionalism, kindness and caparbiety's some people can bring harmony in relationships.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Massimiliano B
Jonathan P, Executive Assistant Manager at AVANI Pemba Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Massimiliano B, Warm greetings from AVANI Pemba Beach Hotel & Spa. Thank you for your recent review, it is very pleasing that the issue has been resolved to your satisfaction and we look forward to your next visit. Please feel free to contact me directly when you wish to return, it will be my pleasure to assist you. Kind...

Centurion, South Africa
Reviewed 22 November 2014

I spend some time in this hotel and enjoyed it immensly!! There are some many positive things about this hotel that I don't know where to start, the view from the rooms is stunning! The rooms are great, nice and spacious and each with a lovely balcony. Inside the rooms all the services and facilities one expect is available, a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jacob312613
Jonathan P, Executive Assistant Manager at AVANI Pemba Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Jacob312613, Warm greetings from AVANI Pemba Beach Hotel & Spa. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent visit. I appreciate your feedback pertaining to the size of the bath towels and this will be reviewed by our Executive Housekeeper. It is very rewarding to know that you had such a memorable experience while...

Reviewed 19 November 2014

What a beautiful hotel! I loved the Arabian design and the 'open-ness' of the reception and public areas. My room was in the courtyard section with fab views of the Indian Ocean. The room was well-maintained and very comfy. Delicious breakfasts and dinners are served in the main hotel restaurant which overlook the gardens and ocean.There are 2 pools to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GotPassportWillTravl
Jonathan P, Executive Assistant Manager at AVANI Pemba Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear GotPassportWillTravl, Warm greetings from AVANI Pemba Beach Hotel & Spa. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent visit. I am pleased to learn that you had enjoyed your stay with us and that you had the opportunity to experience some of the many highlights of this beautiful hotel steeped in culture. Please feel...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 12 November 2014

Staying at Pemba Beach hotel right now. There was no electricity from 8h30 to 15h30 and there is no water. It is now 17h30. is this a 5 star hotel????? Not at all. Service is slow, towels smell badly, wi fi works up and down, etc. The so called manager is not friendly at all. Please AVANI, come and take...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DanaPrista
Jonathan P, Executive Assistant Manager at AVANI Pemba Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear DanaPrista Warm greetings from AVANI Pemba Beach Hotel & Spa. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your current stay with us. After reading your comments I am pleased that I had an opportunity to meet you in person and apologise for any inconvenience incurred, while also providing us with an opportunity to reinstate your...

46 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (40)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pemba
2.0 km away
Nautilus Hotel
Nautilus Hotel
#2 of 4 in Pemba
43 reviews
14.5 km away
Ulala Lodge
Ulala Lodge
#1 of 2 in Murrebue
101 reviews
12.0 km away
nZuwa Lodge
nZuwa Lodge
#2 of 2 in Murrebue
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Raphael's Hotel
Raphael's Hotel
#3 of 4 in Pemba
37 reviews
0.0 km away
Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort
Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Quirimbas Archipelago
151 reviews
31.8 km away
Diamonds Mequfi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A prime location, just minutes from town, is naturally beautiful, set on the headland between Pemba Bay and Wimbe Beach. Explore the ancient port town of Pemba and then relax at our striking hotel, designed with African and Arabian architecture, manicured lawns and towering palm trees, against a stunning Indian Ocean backdrop. Combining the efficiency of a business hotel with exotic splendour and a warm welcome, AVANI Pemba Beach Hotel & Spa is the perfect place to gather for executive business meetings, enjoy superb leisure facilities and soak up lazy beach life. If you're looking for more action, try out thrilling ocean sports, island hop in the Quirimbas Archipelago and safari in the wilds of the Niassa National Reserve. ... more   less 

Additional Information about AVANI Pemba Beach Hotel & Spa

Address: Avenida de Marginal, Pemba, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Cabo Delgado Province > Pemba
Price Range: RM943 - RM1,222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — AVANI Pemba Beach Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, South African Hotels, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Agoda, Hotel.de and Travelocity so you can book your AVANI Pemba Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pemba Beach Hotel Pemba
AVANI Pemba Beach Hotel & Spa Mozambique
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from AVANI Pemba Beach Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from AVANI Pemba Beach Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“choose beach front view rooms”
 of 5 bubbles christopherbarryw, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for special rates as hotel is not busy so good prices to be had”
 of 5 bubbles terencec473, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms have great views”
 of 5 bubbles yusufs515, 8 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for beach front facing rooms. Best view and soothing sea breeze”
 of 5 bubbles Aashish2210, 11 Apr 2016 | Read review
“If you have issues with stairs then ground floor is a good idea. The stairs are not well lit. Otherwise, ocean front is the way to go.”
  • view of the beach and neighbor's balcony from my balcony
  • porch outside room
 of 5 bubbles jadedtravelista, 14 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5