We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

LUX* Saint Gilles

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
LUX* Saint Gilles
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,214 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for LUX* Saint Gilles
See the most recent reviews
Showing 261: English reviews
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed 3 October 2016

We had the pleasure of travelling to Reunion Island for our honeymoon. From the moment we arrived, all the staff were very friendly. We used the concierge desk to arrange a couple of things during our short (4 full days) stay. She did a great job and we managed to get a good feel for this incredible island in our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JeneceAfrishots
LUXReunion, Directeur général at LUX* Saint Gilles, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for taking time to express your feelings about your stay at our hotel. First of all, we would like to present you our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you have met during your stay with us. We feel very sorry as it seems we have not met your expectations. Your review is really important for us,...

Munich, Germany
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

Very good sunset beach location with snorkeling for kids and adults. Best protected boogey board and surfing spots at the towns nearby. Excellent service from all the staff. In particular, the concierge girls Chantal and Patricia, have gone out of their way to help us and will you their undivided attention. Their recommendations were excellent. Wonderful island to explore.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rahel L
LUXReunion, Directeur général at LUX* Saint Gilles, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for taking time to express your best feelings about your stay in our hotel LUX* Saint-Gilles on Trip Advisor. It is a real pleasure for our team to note that you had a great stay at our hotel enjoying its direct access to the lagoon and its “very good sunset” beach. Indeed,...

Reviewed 23 September 2016

Honeymoon trip of a lifetime, but disappointed with this hotel from the start. Transfer dropped us off at correct time, but no-one to greet us. Hotel under-going refurb and we had to wander for about 10 minutes looking for the temporary reception. Staff members could not even find it for us intially. Room was lovely, clean, house-keeping staff 5*, resort...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah_Paul_Ed
LUXReunion, Directeur général at LUX* Saint Gilles, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to express your feelings about your stay in our hotel. We would like to sincerely apology for the different inconveniences you have met during your stay with us. We are truly sorry for not being able to meet your expectations while you were celebrating your honeymoon in our establishment. We have considered...

Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

We had a lovely time when we stayed here for our honeymoon after spending a week in Mauritius. The hotel looks like a 5* hotel but there a few things which let it down. Good bits: Our standardroom was large and comfy and we had a view of the sea which we didn't expect. Breakfast buffet was lovely. The beach...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LMaia88
LUXReunion, Directeur général at LUX* Saint Gilles, responded to this review

Dear Guests, We would like to thank you for the time you spent on writing a review on Trip Advisor following your stay at LUX* Saint-Gilles. First of all, thank for choosing our establishment for such an important event in your life: your honeymoon. All our teams are glad to read that you had a “lovely time” with us and...

Istanbul
Reviewed 18 September 2016

My 2 days stay in Lux Saint Gilles made me feel the luxury and living in nature both. The sandy beach, the nice preserved garden and the hole ambience of the hotel helps to feel relaxed and pampered. The large and comfortable rooms, the quality of the bed worth all the money I have payed for. Excelent!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HBHIstanbul
LUXReunion, Directeur général at LUX* Saint Gilles, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you very much for writing a review on TRIP ADVISOR following your stay at LUX* Saint-Gilles La Réunion. We are really happy to read that you felt “relaxed and pampered” after you experience with us thanks to general ambience created, mixing the luxury while preserving the beauty of the nature. Our hotel provides...

Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

Hotel definitely needs an urgent upgrade not only for the rooms and buildings but also with the staff. The hotel specifically caters only for the French , would be great if staff were friendlier . We used the Lux hotel for an incentive trip for my staff and would not be able to compare with some of the other resorts...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
LUXReunion, Directeur général at LUX* Saint Gilles, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay in our establishment. First of all, we would like to present you our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you may have met during your stay with us. We feel very sorry as it seems we have not met your expectations. Your review is really important...

Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewed 13 September 2016

It is a very nice hotel, but it needs some work. E.g. painting of the outside walls. (During our stay, they started in the reception area). The staff was very nice and helpful. We had buffet style dinners in various restaurants, with good food and a lot of choices. Saint Gilles is well located for various excursions, e.g. Cirue de...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank regemorw
LUXReunion, Directeur général at LUX* Saint Gilles, responded to this review

Dear Guests, We would like to thank you very much for writing a review on TRIP ADVISOR following your stay at LUX* Saint-Gilles La Réunion. Our teams are happy to read that their helpfulness contributed to make you have a pleasant stay with us. We are glad that you appreciated the “good” food of our restaurants. The breakfasts and buffets...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 13 September 2016

The staff were amazing at this hotel. Always helpful and friendly. The resort was beautiful with a reef right on the doorstep for amazing snorkeling. The breakfast was nice without being amazing. It was a nice place for families with a great pool, tennis court, table tennis court and other facilities. The rooms though were small and pokey. They reminded...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank david_ela_alexander
LUXReunion, Directeur général at LUX* Saint Gilles, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the time spent on writing this review following your stay with us. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your time in our establishment, using our facilities such as the restaurants, the swimming pool, the tennis court, the table tennis court and others. You are right; our hotel is located directly next to the...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 September 2016

This is a beautiful hotel right on the beach with attractive colonial style buildings. The staff was very helpful and looked very attractive too in their saris (different colours on different days) The rooms were smaller than the hotels in Mauritius where we had just arrived from but were very comfortable. The food was worthy of mention. During our stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kalikome
LUXReunion, Directeur général at LUX* Saint Gilles, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for the time you spent on sharing your experience at LUX* Saint-Gilles La Réunion on Trip Advisor. It has been a pleasure to host you for a couple of days and we are pleased to note we have encountered your expectations. Our goal is to make you celebrate life so our team is happy to see...

Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 7 September 2016

Great season to go to the Reunion Island (August): not too many tourists, great weather. The hotel is gorgeous, there are 3 different restaurants which have diverse offerings - prices normal for a 5-star hotel! The staff is amazingly sweet, very helpful. The hotel is located on a lagoon - which is the only place you can swim in, in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Justine O
LUXReunion, Directeur général at LUX* Saint Gilles, responded to this review

Dear Guest, On behalf of the whole team, we would like to thank you for the time you spent on writing a comment on TRIP ADVISOR following your stay at LUX* Saint-Gilles La Réunion. Our teams are happy to read that they met all your expectations and that their helpfulness contributed to make you have a “fantastic” stay. We are...

1,260 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1041)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (202)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (169)
Viewed
Room/Suite (109)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
View from Room (34)
Viewed
Dining (50)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
2:29
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (451)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (219)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (31)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Other (119)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
2.4 km away
Hotel Le Recif
Hotel Le Recif
#3 of 20 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
1,131 reviews
2.2 km away
Akoya Hotel & Spa
Akoya Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in La Saline les Bains
288 reviews
6.4 km away
Le Saint Alexis Hotel & Spa
Le Saint Alexis Hotel & Spa
#6 of 20 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Relais de l'Hermitage Saint-Gilles
Relais de l'Hermitage Saint-Gill...
#10 of 20 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
730 reviews
3.9 km away
Hotel Boucan Canot
Hotel Boucan Canot
#4 of 20 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
274 reviews
2.3 km away
Hotel Les Creoles
Hotel Les Creoles
#2 of 20 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on the western coast of this lush volcanic island, LUX* Saint Gilles (formerly LUX* Ile de La Reunion) faces a shimmering expanse of aqua-blue waters, fringed by a stretch of immaculate sands. Tucked away in acres of beautiful tropical gardens, Creole villas sit in the shade of coconut palms and filao trees, just steps from the coral-sheltered lagoon at L'Hermitage. ... more   less 

Additional Information about LUX* Saint Gilles

Address: 28 Rue du Lagon | L'Ermitage (après le Leader Price), Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains 97434, Reunion Island (Formerly LUX Ile de La Reunion)
Region: Reunion Island > Arrondissement of Saint-Paul > Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
Price Range: RM839 - RM2,905 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — LUX* Saint Gilles 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Orbitz so you can book your LUX* Saint Gilles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux Ile De La Reunion Hotel Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
LUX* Saint Gilles Reunion Island/Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
#1 Business Hotel in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
#1 Family Hotel in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from LUX* Saint Gilles staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from LUX* Saint Gilles staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The rooms to the left of the main buildings if you are looking out to sea are definitely the best!”
 of 5 bubbles Andreap800, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“It seems that the rooms further away from the reception and restaurants are more quite.”
 of 5 bubbles TWald_77, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Go for one of the rooms right on the end facing onto the garden - room 170 or above. This is away from the reception area more private.”
 of 5 bubbles TakiTraveller, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room far from the main reception area and bar”
 of 5 bubbles Sarah_Paul_Ed, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
“stay in a junior suite really worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles W6797ZMmarkc, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay