We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Ambassador Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
Panoramas (16)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

712 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 258: English reviews
Renkum, the Netherlands
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is situated in a quiet street, not too far from all kind of attractions. The rooms are okay, the breakfast middle of the road and the service fine. The restaurant in the glass cupola on top of the building is a nice extra with beautiful views over the city.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Klaas S
Olga K, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest! Thank you for staying with us! We appreciate your kind comments about rooms, breakfast and location. I believe these three positive moments are enough to come to us again! You are the most welcome! With best regards, Olga Kazantseva GR manager

Athens, Attiki, Greece
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A classic, clean, no thrills hotel in Saint Petersburg. Nice spacious, warm rooms with all the appropriate amenities. Big clean bathroom. The breakfast was grand and rich, served on the top floor of the hotel offering a magnificent view of the City. The srvice was typical Russian (average). I stayed in room 336.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Akarepis G
Olga K, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest! Thank you for staying with us and for kind words about hotel. I can only sorry that you’ve described our service like an average one. However it gives us a proper signal to improve our stuff training. Hotel was open 10 years ago and taking into consideration that it is actively exploited we need some renovation. We have...

Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone. You really don't get what you pay for. The rooms are so old fashioned with scratches in the wooden furniture everywhere. I didn't have breakfast included so cannot comment on it. But the worst thing about this hotel are the 'leisure facilities'. I've never heard of a hotel that boasts about it's pool...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ALs888
Olga K, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest! Thank you for staying in our hotel though it was disappointing for you. You are right saying that some of our rooms need renovation. We have already started to do it but did not manage to make renovation on each floor for a new tourist season. We are planning to continue this work. Sorry that you did not...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights on recent trip. Hotel has very nice ambience and staff are very helpful and friendly. The hotel lobby bar is very nice for coffee, tea and drinks and some of our party enjoyed the food here too. Otherwise there are two restaurants on top floor and we did try the a la carte one one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara H
Olga K, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest! Thank you for choosing our hotel. We appreciate your kind words about stuff and ambience because hotel does a lot to create the atmosphere of friendliness and comfort for our guests. Your words prove that we are on the right way. A few words about bright lighting in the restaurant When we exercised with the light making it...

Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

Hotel room is spacious and suited our purposes, although it would be nice if the heating could be turned down. A notice states that in winter the temperature and air conditioning cannot be reduced below 21C - not an ideal situation if you don't like the heat. The main problem is on the catering side. We were booked into the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roe B
Olga K, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest! Thank you for your comment on our hotel. I dare write a few words to clarify some of your remarks. Room temperature: in the hotel we have a system of fan coil. Our engineering service trying to keep room temperature not less than 23 degrees. If room temperature is discomfortable it is always easy to correct it. I...

Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

We've had a wonderful day at the Ambassador. Our friends married on top of the Helipad. That gave such a wonderful view over Saint Petersburg. The service was good just like the food. If you want to have a beer, take your time because that will take a while.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Olaf K
Olga K, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest! Thank you for kind words about hotel! Unfortunately your stay with us was a very short one but there is a good pretext to come to us for a longer period. Promise to take personal care about you. You are the most welcome! With best regards, Olga Kazantseva GR manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 October 2016

The rooms are modern and every bit as good as western equivalents with all the facilities a traveller needs. It was also well maintained and everything worked. Many rooms look into a central area which not very scenic but is quiet. The gym and swimming pool are buried in the basement and are perhaps not particularly inspiring places to exercise....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
Olga K, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest! Thank you for your detailed description of our hotel and kind words which were found for us. I feel really sorry that our meal for dinner was disappointing for you. I dare comment this remark: the choice of food fully depends on the budget we are given by travel agency. If you have ordered your meal a la...

Tehran Province, Iran
Reviewed 28 September 2016

We didn't use subway, but it wasn't very close to the hotel location, Our rooms were very far from the elevator, Beautiful place for breakfast located at top level of the hotel, but the quality of food was medium, Not enough plugs were in the room, Our room was very cold, although the air conditioner was off, but my friends...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nnoouu
Olga K, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you that you’ve found time to write about your impressions on the hotel. Unfortunately you were not satisfied with the room temperature but it could be easily solved if you had informed us. Our maintenance service is really trying to be helpful to guests and the problem of room temperature is easily served. We will be glad...

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 September 2016

Situated in a side street near to a park, it does not at first glace, seem like the perfect place to stay. However, walk through the door and opinions soon change. It is luxurious in a sparkly sort of way. Every member of staff (and there are lots of them) we came across was superb and approached guests with an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Monteleone10
Olga K, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest! Thank you very much for your extremely positive and flattering comments about our hotel. What surprised me the most – style of your letter. Very few people possess a gift of epistolary genre. Your letter is a good example to follow. I even do not know what to answer you because you’ve mentioned almost everyone and everything like...

Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

Very clean and centrally located. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Restaurant and breakfast is very good and reasonably priced by Western standards. Breakfast was Great with large variety. Recommended!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael425643
Olga K, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest! Thank you for your extremely positive comments and recommendations for our future guests. Hope they will follow your advice and be our guests. If you happened to come again to our city we will be happy to host you. With best regards, Olga Kazantseva GR manager

579 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (218)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (48)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (79)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (348)
Viewed
Amenities (64)
Viewed
Demi Suite (30)
Viewed
Economy Room (29)
Viewed
Pool (12)
Viewed
Dining (42)
Viewed
Standard Room (30)
Viewed
Studio (33)
Viewed
Suite (45)
Viewed
Superior Room (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Rossi Boutique Hotel & SPA
Rossi Boutique Hotel & SPA
#26 of 319 in St. Petersburg
697 reviews
Vasilyevsky Island
Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge
Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge
#41 of 319 in St. Petersburg
1,185 reviews
Liteyny
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tchaikovskogo
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tc...
#6 of 319 in St. Petersburg
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Peterhof Hotel
#1 of 8 in Peterhof
332 reviews
Admiralteisky
Petro Palace Hotel
Petro Palace Hotel
#27 of 319 in St. Petersburg
1,015 reviews
Grand Hotel Emerald
#110 of 319 in St. Petersburg
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ambassador Hotel is located in the historic center of St. Petersburg, a 7-minute walk away from Sadovaya (Sennaya Ploschad’) Underground Station. St. Isaac and St. Nicholas Cathedral, the Mariinsky Theatre, and the Yusupov Gardens are all in the immediate vicinity of the hotel and you can visit them while you take a walk.There are 251 comfortable rooms at the hotel, including the rooms of the following categories: Economy, Standard, Superior, Studio, Demi-Suite, Suite, as well as the Rimsky-Korsakov and Presidential Apartments. Each room is equipped with air-conditioning, Internet access, a direct international and inter-city telephone line, interactive and satellite TV, a mini-bar and a safe.All rooms are decorated in tranquil pastel shades with comfortable furniture upholstered in elegant fabrics and luxurious curtains. Bath rooms are equipped with big mirrors and somewhere are decorated with mosaic. All the rooms have a beautiful view on the historic city center, cozy courtyard or Rimsky-Korsakov avenue.According modern standards, the hotel has comfortable rooms equipped for physically handicapped guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: Rimskogo-Korsakova Ave., 5/7, St. Petersburg 190068, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Price Range: RM244 - RM818 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel St Petersburg
Ambassador St Petersburg
Ambassador Petersburg
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in St. Petersburg
#34 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#37 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#46 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#65 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ambassador Hotel staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Istanbul, Turkey
Waterloo, Canada
Landrum, South Carolina
over a year ago
Indiana
2 months ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Ambassador Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Quieter rooms overlook the central area, those on higher floors have better views.”
 of 5 bubbles AndrewG710, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Upper floors at the rear”
 of 5 bubbles Monteleone10, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Best views are from rooms facing north”
 of 5 bubbles DeanMurphy2020, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Our air condition did not work,we open a window and got mosquitoes!!!”
 of 5 bubbles ViajeraBerkshire, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
“I am sure they don't have bad rooms”
 of 5 bubbles Malco123, 6 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay