We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sakara

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kyoto
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Sakara
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

79 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sakara
See the most recent reviews
Showing 75: English reviews
Switzerland
Reviewed 14 April 2015

The Sakara in Kyoto certainly is a solid backpacker-spot. Thus all those positive reviews in the past. As Travelers with some expectations on cleanliness and comfort, the Sakara Inn was a disappointment. The whole room and especially the sheets had this rotten smell wich wouldn’t get out of our clothes during the whole trip in japan. We did not feel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank twirlch
sakarakyoto, Manager at Sakara, responded to this review

We always appreciate when guests write a review with comments about their stay, or constructive criticisms, but in this case we were rather hurt and surprised by this review. In messages that you wrote during your stay you expressed thanks but did not voice any concerns. We did not know that you were “not comfortable at all.” We did not...

Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 9 April 2015

We stayed in two rooms here - first the Sakura room and then the Ninja room. Both rooms were great but I would only recommend the Ninja room for those who don't mind climbing ladders - probably not the best room if you worry about falling or are planning to do a lot of drinking (though there is a daybed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mudskippa
sakarakyoto, Manager at Sakara, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about Sakara and post a review. A clarification about the stairs -- I believe you meant to say that the Sakura room would be preferable to those who do not want to use a staircase. The Ninja room has the main sleeping area above the living space, with an open...

Novosibirsk, Russia
Reviewed 29 March 2015

Great apartements in a small market street of Kyoto. Modern and Japanese style accomodation, very clean and just a few steps away from the underground station. Very friendly staff. We would highly recommend it.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank U W
sakarakyoto, Manager at Sakara, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive review. We always do our best to help travellers get the most out of their stay in Kyoto, and it was a pleasure to host you. -mgmt.

Vail, Colorado
Reviewed 9 February 2015

Sakara was a great find. Cute little place in the bustle of Kyoto, the owners were so nice and accommodating. We had the Bamboo room which was clean, cute, and we loved the bath. So nice after a cold day of sightseeing in Kyoto. Be aware that its only warm in the bedroom in the winter, which is typical in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jennypn
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 January 2015

We stayed at the ninja room last December. The location is perfect. Finding our way there was easy and getting to places from there was also easy. We stayed in the ninja room which has a double bed and a single bed. A very handy mod con kitchen complete with utensils. We were there during one of the coldest time...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bibi S
sakarakyoto, Manager at Sakara, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Sakara. We enjoy helping guests to have the best experience possible in Kyoto, and do everything we can to help. The title of your review "creepy mask in Ninja room", could have been different if you mentioned it to us -- that decoration is something that could easily be removed if it...

Modesto, California
Reviewed 20 January 2015

This property was clean and an ideal location close to transportation systems and conviniece shopping. The room had all the amenities we needed for our stay. We did have an issue with the heater which the management handled quickly. We would stay there again!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Deanna v
sakarakyoto, Manager at Sakara, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Sakara. We enjoy helping guests to have the best experience possible in Kyoto, and do everything we can to help. The title of your review "creepy mask in Ninja room", could have been different if you mentioned it to us -- that decoration is something that could easily be removed if it...

Reviewed 14 January 2015 via mobile

We stayed at Sakara for 2 nights in the Hinoki suite (parents + 3 teenagers). It was easy to find (thanks to tripadvisor map of Kyoto) and is located in a little shopping alleyway which added to charm of the area. The room is small but built like a small treehouse with a double bed in the upper level. Overall...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angus H
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 13 October 2014

We stayed in Sakara Gion for a week in early September. The machiya felt very spacious, especially compared to our other lodgings in Japan. We had three adults and two kids in two bedrooms, with a baby crib set up in the hall between the bedrooms. There is also a common space downstairs that has a futon, so there is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
Seoul, South Korea
Reviewed 17 September 2014

This charming 2 storey guesthouse of 5 rooms is located in a local shopping arcade just a couple of minutes walk from Higashiyama metro station. They also have a another property nearby to house larger families/groups. We stayed for 7 days on the Sukura room, which I think is the smallest, but it was all that was available for the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Globerwalker
Newcastle
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Right off the bat I'll say that my only regret about Sakara is that I wish I'd discovered it sooner. My family, 2 adults, 3 children, stayed in Sakara in January 2014. It was, without a doubt, the most comfortable place we've stayed in all 3 of our Japan holidays. Right from the start, booking and staying at Sakura couldn't...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Andrew P
sakarakyoto, Manager at Sakara, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive and helpful review, it was a pleasure to host your family and we are always delighted when someone has a good experience in Sakara and in Kyoto. We constantly try to improve and update the facilities to make the best home away from home for our guests. Just recently we installed a ceiling...

39 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (37)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Eco and Tec Kyoto
#6 of 351 in Kyoto
304 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
City Center
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
#34 of 351 in Kyoto
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Hostel HARUYA Kyoto
Hostel HARUYA Kyoto
#35 of 233 in Kyoto
80 reviews
City Center
Guest House Kyoto Shirakawa
Guest House Ga-Jyun
#16 of 233 in Kyoto
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in City Center

Neighbourhood Profile
City Center
No district of Kyoto is quite as representative of its blended nature as the City Center. By day, the covered shopping arcades along Kawaramachi and Shijo Street bring deal hunters and fashionistas out in droves to peruse the clothing, accessories, gifts, and home goods offerings. When it grows dark, the City Center is a hip spot for nightlife, alive with bars and clubs. A trendy culinary scene and an abundance of local watering holes give the Center its youthful vibrancy. In contrast, the quieter areas of the City Center seem a world away, shielded from noise by the foliage of the public gardens and zen spaces surrounding the area's shrines, castles, and the Imperial Palace. These ancient and sacred spots are seamlessly folded into the scenery, providing a respite from the energy of the city, but close enough to put you directly back onto the pulse of the city when you're ready.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Sakara

Address: 541-2 Furukawacho Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto 605-0026, Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center
Number of rooms: 4
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sakara staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Sakara staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Hinoki suite great for families with older children.”
 of 5 bubbles 438nikkic, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Bamboo Suite is nice for a family with a baby or elderly. Ninja room is nice for young adults.”
 of 5 bubbles homeschoolmom27, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Bamboo Room is ground floor. other rooms do have loft beds as well.”
 of 5 bubbles lindley2016, 26 May 2016 | Read review
“Great for families and for walking to the Kyoto action sites.”
 of 5 bubbles janelH2042WA, 20 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Bamboo room good for families with younger children.”
 of 5 bubbles kta09, 31 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5