We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Matsui Honkan Ryokan

Expedia.comUS$217*
View Deal
Ryokan 
Certificate of Excellence
27/06/2017 28/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$250*
US$217*
US$250*
US$250*
US$217*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
Matsui Honkan Ryokan
Matsui Honkan Ryokan
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

145 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 74: English reviews
Start your review of Matsui Honkan Ryokan
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

First time staying in a ryokan, thank you for the wonderful hospitality. Friendly and caring staff, very clean. We had dinner and breakfast served in the room, the food was excellent. The sashimi was the best we've had. The public bath was very nice too. One con is that our bathroom had a funky smell, it didn't go away after...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hezypub a
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked our room thru Hotels.com. Was supposed to get large room with an in room shower/bath as shown on the website. Unfortunately that's not what we were given. The room that was shown on the website was actually at their sister facility and not at the inn we were staying. We were given a smaller room with no shower/bath. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 954Jointdoc
Matsui-inn, マネージャー at Matsui Honkan Ryokan, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your stay ! We are very sorry for causing these trouble and making your stay unpleasant. Soon after your stay, we have tried to corrected the explanation and the picture of Hotels.com. Now, they indicate that room which you mention has no shower. Thank you very much for your understanding and evaluation message. MATSUI HONKAN

Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

We spent 5 nights here. The room was very spacious by Japanese standards. Clean, nicely appointed in a Japanese sort of way. Toilet separate from the bath/shower which was nice but toilet ran frequently so we had to call for help. Onsen baths were very nice and pretty and temperature of water was perfect. We had the breakfast and dinner...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steven H
New York City
Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

Staff are very nice and pleasant though last day we were there a male staff worker walked into our room twice without ringing bell or knocking. Maybe something lost in translation but was weird. Overall this place is hugely popular for Japanese families, not really foreign tourists it seems. Biggest disappointment was the place is seriously dated and frankly cheap...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Engee
Kuwait
Reviewed 4 April 2017 via mobile

We loved our experience in this Ryokan! Very clean, floor beds, very traditional. We didnt know (but it wasnt that bad) that the showers are shared females showers, shared males showers! Group showering haha! Not sure if they have rooms with private showers so remember to ask if you care. The only thing we little struggled with, is their staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fatima J
NYC
Reviewed 31 March 2017 via mobile

For a real Ryokan experience with luxury touches in the center of everything, this is one the best places to stay in Kyoto. It's a 5 minute walk to the market, which is an experience In Itself and where you can have little bites of odd and wonderful food typical of the region. Back to the Ryokan, it's a nondescript...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Stickyfingers01
Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

This ryokan is not cheap but the value you get is excellent! Located very centrally and with easy access to the subway, this ryokan combines the best of traditional and modern. Small gestures like tea and sweets on your arrival or mini-gifts like chopsticks and cozy socks are a nice touch. It even has a private onsen on site that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simona C
The Netherlands
Reviewed 29 January 2017

This ryokan is quite expensive so, being ours a low cost trip, we only booked one night. Well, it was amazing! the room was huge with typical Japanese beds, service perfect, we didn't try any food, very good location as well. The onsen downstairs was nice and relaxing but a must is..the shiatsu massage!! really don't miss it, it's not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cicciester
Bergamo, Italy
Reviewed 19 January 2017

The location is really beautiful, a traditional Japanese Inn in the heart of Kyoto. The rooms are large, clean and quiet, essentially furnished with very relaxing colours. The onsen are was also really nice: spacious, clean and peaceful. The staff was the kindest I've ever met, the price is high but that's what you pay in Japan to stay in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank valetta97
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 11 January 2017

The room was large and very comfortable. It was really clean. All guests were also quiet and we roughly enjoyed our 4 nights there. The whole place, even public areas was clean, quite and peaceful. Enjoyed the bath as well. All guests should try it!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sheila380

446 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (165)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Other (90)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (244)
Viewed
Amenities (51)
Viewed
Japanese Western Room (54)
Viewed
Special Room (Matsui) (45)
Viewed
Special Room (Sakura) (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (23)
27/06/2017 28/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Matsui Bekkan Hanakanzashi
City Center
Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo
Shinkyogoku Shopping District
Watazen
Watazen
#43 of 366 in Kyoto
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gion Hatanaka
#31 of 366 in Kyoto
316 reviews
Western Kyoto
Arashiyama Benkei
Arashiyama Benkei
#5 of 366 in Kyoto
278 reviews
Gion
Yuzuya Ryokan
Yuzuya Ryokan
#71 of 366 in Kyoto
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Shinkyogoku Shopping District

Neighbourhood Profile
Shinkyogoku Shopping District
Those who delight in shopping and cuisine will find themselves at home in Shinkyogoku. Lauded and visited by locals for its Nishiki Market, where baskets of fragrant spices, dried fish, and just-fried foods are piled high along the snaking streets of its enclosed outdoor shopping spaces, Shinkyogoku is not only a hub for fresh fare, but also for fast fashion fixes. Trends-in-the-making can be spotted in the tall windows of several one-of-a-kind stores featuring local labels and modish boutiques. Arcades, outdoor concert spaces, mega department stores, and small, enchanting cafes have sprung up to accommodate the increasing traffic. Whether looking for souvenirs and kitsch on Shinkyogoku Street, or scoping out the massive food court and restaurant floor at Takashimaya Department store, there's something for every wallet or purse, and a buyer for every item.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about Matsui Honkan Ryokan

Address: 405 Izutsuyacho Nakagyo-ku | (Yanagino Banba Rokkaku Sagaru), Kyoto 604-8113, Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shinkyogoku Shopping District , Kawaramachi / Karasuma / Shijo Omiya
Price Range: RM1,004 - RM2,555 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Matsui Honkan Ryokan 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Rakuten, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Matsui Honkan Ryokan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matsui Honkan Ryokan Kyoto
Matsui Honkan Ryokan Hotel Kyoto
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Kyoto
#20 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Matsui Honkan Ryokan staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Matsui Honkan Ryokan staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“take one of the traditional rooms. there is no side which faces any noise.”
  • the chairs for the breakfest table (normal chairs are also in the room)
  • the room was comprised of two seperate spaces. living room and bedroom.
  • vary high tech showering area
ron190, 20 Feb 2016 | Read review
“quiet neighborhood. close to nishiki market, ippudo and high end shopping area.”
cheriisheriiie, 17 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Our room is a bit small so best for 2 to 3 people although I think they may have larger rooms to offer.”
xuej2015, 7 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Our room on the second floor had its own little outdoor garden area - I am not sure whether rooms on other floors have this feature.”
373katherinen, 21 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Go for the higher floors with windows towards the outside/balconey?”
Dhuds, 29 Jan 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$217* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$250
Orbitz.comUS$217
Rakuten TravelUS$250
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates