Apa Hotel & Resort Osaka Umeda-eki Tower

Apa Hotel & Resort Osaka Umeda-eki Tower

Traveller (21)
fairly large beds
Room & Suite (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

3.5
#8 of 40 inns in Osaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
Open Feb 1. 2023
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Bar / lounge
Books, DVDs, music for children
Manicure
Rooftop terrace
Paid public parking on-site
Wifi
Rooftop pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Vending machine
Massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
ATM on site
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Room features
Desk
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Hotel links
Special Offer:APA Hotels – Over 700 perfectly located, well-designed hotels across Japan

Location

2 Sonezaki, Kita-ku, Osaka 530-0057 Osaka Prefecture
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Itami Airport
10.6 km
See all flights
Kobe Airport
26.5 km
See all flights
Kitashinnchi
6 minRailway
16Reviews0Q+A3Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1
  • 8
  • 5
  • 2
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
AraleMelbourne wrote a review Jan 2024
Melbourne, Australia
Property's Favourite Review
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This was the first hotel we stayed at in Japan on this current trip. The hotel seemed far from the train station when we first arrived as we were unsure how to get there. However, during our 6 nights stay we found the hotel to be very convenient. There are multiple stations and station entrances within walking distance and you have access to food literally around the hotel. The hotel is near Hanshin Department Store as well as Daimaru Department Store.

The hotel is relatively new and very clean. We had 2 rooms. One is the small double bed room which is 11m2 and the other is the triple room which is 26m2. The triple room featured 3 single beds plus 3 chairs and a coffee table on top of the desk. Lawson Convenience store is on level 4 with the laudromat, gym, spas as well as vending machines.

Having read previous reviews, we were surprised to find the Lawson very well stocked. The laudromat was particularly pleasing as it had 8 washing machines and 8 dryers. We never had trouble getting a machine to use. You can also put in a pin to lock the machine so that no one can open yours. On average we needed 1.5-2.0 hours for clothes to fully dry. We did notice on 2 occasions a sign was a machine where someone has left their clothes for a period time. This tells us the staff are diligent.

I have found the beds to be comfortable and the different size pillows per bed were helpful. Rooms were cleaned well each day. They give you complimentary water on the first day of your stay only.

The lifts were never a problem even during busy times. You are able to see where each lift is which helps with patience level. Taxi was ready available right outside the hotel.

Please be aware that on the side street leading to food often have soliciting after dark. But we've found walking through is still relatively safe.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from 志村 拓哉, オーナー at Apa Hotel & Resort Osaka Umeda-eki Tower
Responded 23 Jan 2024
Thank you for choosing APA Hotel & Resort 〈Osaka Umeda Eki Tower〉. We would also like to thank you for taking your valuable time to post a review. We are glad that you wrote about the good things about our hotel in such detail. We hope that your stay at our hotel was a good one for you. If you have a chance to come to Osaka again, please come visit us. We look forward to seeing you again. Receptionist Maeda
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
David L wrote a review Aug 2023
Sydney, Australia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel probably has the smallest room that I have ever had in Japan. The price is reasonable and that is probably why. We stayed for 6 days and noticed that not a single dish/item changed at the buffet breakfast. May be they dont expect stays of more than 2, 3 days? Big TV in room with free movies is definitely an highlight.
Location is good and easy access to trains, shopping and restaurants.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from 志村 拓哉, オーナー at Apa Hotel & Resort Osaka Umeda-eki Tower
Responded 23 Jan 2024
Thank you for choosing APA Hotel & Resort . We are very pleased to hear that you are satisfied with your stay. We are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with your stay at APA Hotel & Resort Osaka Umeda Station Tower. We have a restaurant, a cafe, a gym, a head spa, and so on. We hope you will visit us again next time. We look forward to seeing you again. We look forward to seeing you again. Front Desk NAKATA
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Khaki Army wrote a review May 2024
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Good location, not far from Osaka Station. Close to food and party streets. Side streets better for food. Younger crowds well suited.
Still ok for family. Onsen was excellent in Hotel.
Perfect for after big day walking around to relax. Good stay
Read more
Date of stay: May 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Check crazy in at 3pm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from 志村 拓哉, オーナー at Apa Hotel & Resort Osaka Umeda-eki Tower
Responded 5 May 2024
Thank you very much for staying at our hotel. We are very honored to hear that you were satisfied with your stay. We will use the opinions we received this time as reference in the future as we strive to improve our services and quality. Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to provide us with your valuable feedback. We look forward to serving you again. Front desk Ishida
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bill s wrote a review Feb 2023
Bristol, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Arrived at the hotel at 1.30. Check in at 3.00 so had to put luggage into the left luggage area. This was done by scanning a QR code after signing into the hotel wi fi, assisted by one of several foyer staff.
Checked the luggage in with my QR code at the desk manned by at least five people.
Then went to get some lunch.On my return there were at least 30 or so guests waiting to check in.
Check in was automated rather like an airport. There were about ten of these machines overseen by another five or so staff on top of the foyer and left luggage people.
3pm the bun fight began with at least every other guest needing assistance with the machines (so much for automation in trying to cut down on staff, remember the foyer and left luggage staff).
It took me 15 minutes to do this, with considerable assistance. Then got my luggage and was shown to the lifts (31 floors) by another member of staff wandering around.
So there were 15 members of staff on top of the automated machines.
I realise automated service is designed to help reduce staff and streamline things but when you have all these staff assisting you could have cut down on that amount by simply having a conventional check in with left luggage with just 50% of the staff they had on duty.
Confused is too simple an adjective for this situation I faced.
“ It gets better”. Got to the room, the size of a shoe box, only to discover an air vent in the ceiling blowing cold air into the room. Unlike the air con, this could not be switched off.With the aid of two Japanese English speaking friends the situation was explained to the hotel. On being told they could not switch it off, they then proceeded to block it off with gaffer tape.
The staff were most attentive (in such a large number) and assisted where possible.
To be frank I found the experience confusing and extremely disappointing and not worth the price paid when you consider the size of the room.
I will not be using this chain again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Go somewhere.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from 志村 拓哉, オーナー at Apa Hotel & Resort Osaka Umeda-eki Tower
Responded 23 Jan 2024
Thank you very much for choosing APA Hotel & Resort . We are very sorry for your disappointment, despite the fact that you chose our hotel among many others. We will share the issues you have pointed out with our staff and work hard to improve. Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We look forward to welcoming you again. Reception NAKATA
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rapha_y_nici wrote a review May 2024
Zurich, Switzerland
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The location is great, convenient for each direction and access to the mainstation and subway towards Dotonbori. The room was as described and as expected and very functional, what we liked. The roof top pool was not open during that period what was indicated beforehand on booking so no problem. Once we thought that the restaurant on the upper floor was closed earlier than indicated. It was indicated that tattoos have to be covered to enter the Spa. Overall, very good location and comfortable, would definitely check again APA hotels in Japan.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from 志村 拓哉, オーナー at Apa Hotel & Resort Osaka Umeda-eki Tower
Responded 21 May 2024
Thank you very much for staying at APA Hotel & Resort . We are delighted to receive your compliments. We will continue to strive for all guests satisfaction. We hope you will stay with us again when you come to Osaka:) Front Saito
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Evalu8 wrote a review Jun 2023
Greater London, United Kingdom
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Situated around a 10 minute walk from both the main Osaka & Osaka Umeda stations the hotel is well located as a base for your travels. It is also only 35 mins from Osaka International airport , which can be easily reached via Osaka Umeda station for as little as 440Yen per person (£2.50/€2.80/$3.20). You don’t need expensive taxis or transfers.

The hotel itself is relatively new (opened in March 2023 apparently), and is well appointed. Their ‘theme’ is efficient and eco friendly design, with compact but well equipped rooms.

Check in is automated, which was a bit of a hassle, but once you’ve done it once it’s ok. You get paper vouchers issued by the machine for breakfast - don’t lose them.

Although small by western standards, the double rooms have most of what you need apart from limited storage. They have the usual facilities, aircon, direct dial phone, high speed secure Wi-Fi via a dedicated room login, hair dryer, kettle and hot drinks, fridge with freezer, shower with integral bath, work desk and plenty of USB and plug sockets (which fit US plugs - even 3 pronged, so no need for adapters.

Our room was interconnected for our family of 4.

The beds and pillows were of good quality, as were the toiletries and accessories. Expect to be provided with hair and tooth brushes, small toothpaste, hair bands and chiton pads and brushes. Bottled water was provided for free.

We did find that it was difficult to dry anything in the room due to the humidity, but the maid replaced the towels daily.

The breakfast on the 3rd floor was impressive in its variety, and the fact that it’s open from 0630-1300 hrs was impressive. So if you like to rise late it’s ideal for a late brunch. It’s buffet style similar to what you get in Dubai , so you can have a main meal with free soft drinks for breakfast if you like.

There is also a well stocked supermarket, laundry/driers/spa and health club on the 4th floor.

Overall the hotel met all of our needs.

Pros

Convenient central location near transport hubs and food outlets/shopping.

Modern and efficient with good Wi-Fi

Excellent breakfast

Cons

Room keys regularly get demagnetised when next to your phone, meaning a trip back to reception.

Limited storage - expect to live out of your suitcase.

Conclusion

Would we stay again -yes

Overall a good stay
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: You don’t need expensive airport transfers, get the metro/train and walk to the hotel Keep your...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from 志村 拓哉, オーナー at Apa Hotel & Resort Osaka Umeda-eki Tower
Responded 23 Jan 2024
Thank you very much for choosing APA Hotel & Resort . We are delighted that you are satisfied with your stay. Our hotel offers a wide range of facilities. Restaurants, cafés, gym, head spas and much more. We hope you will visit us again next time. We look forward to seeing you again. We look forward to seeing you again. Front desk Nakata
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Yavanna wrote a review Apr 2024
Austria
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The first stop to start our journey through Japan

What was positive

- very good breakfast with lots of options
- Staff was very friendly at all times! One time even got a thinner blanket when we got back at 11pm
- they clean your room every third day but if you put the magnet for cleaning in front of your door the room will get cleaned. On days where nobody enters your room you’ll get a bag with fresh towels and other necessities (cups, Q-tips, toothbrush, toothpaste etc) It is also no problem to put your used towels in the provided bag and hang it on the door.
- the location is amazing! Just a couple minutes to Osaka Station. The Sonezaki area with lots of small restaurants, bars etc. is just around the corner!

The only negative things were that the room and the bathroom are very tiny! There is no enough space to open a suitcase so you have to put them under the bed.

- Note that there is a self check in but the staff will help if needed.
- There’s two types of elevators. The ones bring you up to the 19th floor only while the others are going up to the 35th floor
- The coupons for breakfast are dated so definitely check if you have the right one before going to breakfast. You’ll have to scan the QR code
- there’s a convenience store on the 4th floor and a cafe on the first floor
- there’s a Spa
- Hotel pool is not open until June or July
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from 志村 拓哉, オーナー at Apa Hotel & Resort Osaka Umeda-eki Tower
Responded 3 Apr 2024
Thank you very much for staying at APA Hotel & Resort Osaka Umeda Station Tower. We are glad to hear that you liked our breakfast. Thank you for your detailed information regarding cleaning. As our customers have said, our hotel is in a good location and there are many restaurants. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause, but please note that the room has been designed to be compact due to environmental considerations. Thank you for your valuable feedback. We look forward to seeing you again. Receptionist Yuoka
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dylisium wrote a review Feb 2024
Brisbane, Australia
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our second stop in Tokyo. For anyone travellling to Japan make sure you read the room sizes and really understand how small the space will be. This room was very cramped for 2 people in a double and the room size was about 9-11m2. The bed was on the hard side if you’re into that and not very comfortable and the pillows were incredibly average. The price is very reflective of what to expect so I would say it is valued correctly. It feels like you’re on a cruise rather than a hotel.

If you booked here for the gym, pool or to experience the onson don’t bother. You can’t use the gym or onson if you have tattooes not even if they’re covered and you have to book and pay for the use of the gym and it isn’t cheap! The pools are pretty much closed and don’t seem to be heated but also no tattooes. As someone with tattooes who books hotels with gyms for a reason this was a huge let down but it was consistent across all of Japan besides one luxury hotel and so it’s something you need to accept.

The only hotel food we has was breakfast on our second to last day and it was a huge letdown. It wasn’t overpriced at only $20 per person but most to all of it was cold from being out on the beach and lacked flavour. I recommend saving your money and going to any local place where the food is absolutely amazing.

The staff were kind, helpful and friendly. Checkin isn’t until 3pm even though our booking said midday. I recommend the stay for a single person who isn’t fussed on working out and using the gym but if I went back I’d spend the extra each night for a larger space.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from 志村 拓哉, オーナー at Apa Hotel & Resort Osaka Umeda-eki Tower
Responded 3 Mar 2024
Thank you for choosing APA Hotel & Resort Osaka Umeda Eki Tower. Thank you very much for your feedback. We will take into account the opinions we received from our customers and utilize them in future hotel operations. Thank you for taking your valuable time to post this comment. Also, please use our hotel when you are in the area. All the staff are looking forward to seeing you. Reception Mori
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
silverthoughts wrote a review Sept 2023
Hong Kong, China
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We've stayed at the APA chain before and decided to try out their newest one as it opened just this year. Focus was on being eco friendly. Check in by a self service machine. It was quite easy to understand and check in was a breeze. Check out is easy because all you do is deposit the card key into a box. We had a double twin bed room. Room was spacious enough though there was a lack of a closet. You apparently just hang everything on the wall. The bed was comfortable but I wasn't too found of the pillows as they were the memory foam ones. I never understood why people consider those ones more superior? The washroom is super small to the point of ridiculous. You couldn't move around at all. But at least it was well stocked with all the neccessities. The women even had a mini skin care kit. We stayed for 2 nights and unlike past APA chains, this one only gave us water for one night. It was stressed on the website that was the only welcome drink we would receive and they weren't wrong. The fourth floor holds a Lawson's convenience store which I advise to skip it as everyone in the hotel uses it so everything always seems sold out. There are plenty of convenience stores surrounding it so if you need stuff, get it elsewhere. There is also a public bath that is always packed. They do have an indicator on the large tv screen in you room but it is still always full of people! Wifi is excellent. And there is a long LONG wait for the elevator. There are not enough for the amount of floors they have available. There is always a long line for one. It's a 10 minute walk from the Umeda train station. Unsure if I'd return this one again even though I do like APA for its value.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from 志村 拓哉, オーナー at Apa Hotel & Resort Osaka Umeda-eki Tower
Responded 23 Jan 2024
Thank you for choosing APA Hotel & Resort 〈Osaka Umeda Eki Tower〉. We apologize for the inconvenience caused, even though you chose our hotel from among many hotels. We strive to be a better hotel and improve our services based on customer feedback. We look forward to seeing you again. Receptionist Maeda
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
These reviews are machine translated from their original language. Show machine translations?
bouin boushoku man wrote a review Apr 2024
Saitama, Japan
3.0 of 5 bubbles
◾️Check-in
1-second check-in is very convenient

◾️Location
・Good location near Higashi Umeda Station, and there are many izakayas near the hotel

◾️Facilities
・The large bath is equipped with an open-air bath and a jet bath, and there are a fair number of showers
・The large bath is difficult because there is no water cooler, so we recommend bringing your own water
・The soundproofing is poor, and you can hear everything talking in the hallway
・We checked out at 12:00, but you could hear the vacuum cleaners and cleaning staff in other rooms
・There is a convenience store inside the hotel, which is convenient
・The rooms and cleanliness are average APA Hotel
Read more
Google
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Khaki Army wrote a tip May 2024
9 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Check crazy in at 3pm"
Read full review
Evalu8 wrote a tip Jun 2023
Greater London, United Kingdom1,061 contribution434 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"You don’t need expensive airport transfers, get the metro/train and walk to the hotel Keep your room card away from your phone"
Read full review
Bill s wrote a tip Feb 2023
Bristol, United Kingdom62 contributions43 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go somewhere."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Osaka area.
PRICE RANGE
RM 234 - RM 336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
JapanKinkiOsaka PrefectureOsaka
NUMBER OF ROOMS
1,704
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

APA HOTEL & RESORT OSAKA UMEDA-EKI TOWER (R̶M̶ ̶5̶7̶9̶) RM 424: UPDATED 2024 Inn Reviews, Price Comparison and 21 Photos (Japan) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Apa Hotel & Resort Osaka Umeda-eki Tower
Which popular attractions are close to Apa Hotel & Resort Osaka Umeda-eki Tower?
Nearby attractions include Hankyu Umeda Honten (0.4 km), Hep Five Ferris Wheel (0.5 km), and Tsuyunoten Shrine (0.09 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Apa Hotel & Resort Osaka Umeda-eki Tower?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Apa Hotel & Resort Osaka Umeda-eki Tower?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Apa Hotel & Resort Osaka Umeda-eki Tower?
Yes, a parking garage, paid public parking on-site, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Apa Hotel & Resort Osaka Umeda-eki Tower?
Conveniently located restaurants include Umeda Ohatsutenjin Kobe Beef Yakiniku, IPPUDO Umeda, and Yakiniku Gorichan Umeda Honten.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Apa Hotel & Resort Osaka Umeda-eki Tower?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre and a rooftop pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Apa Hotel & Resort Osaka Umeda-eki Tower?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Apa Hotel & Resort Osaka Umeda-eki Tower?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Osaka Castle (2.6 km), Osaka City Central Hall (0.8 km), and Osaka Prefectural Nakanoshima Library (0.7 km).
All Osaka HotelsOsaka Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in OsakaHotels near Apa Hotel & Resort Osaka Umeda-eki Tower
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire