We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur

Save
Share
5 Jalan Conlay, Kuala Lumpur 50450 Malaysia
Lowest prices for your stay
US$37
View deal
Free cancellation until 28/01/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (2347)
Room & Suite (663)
Dining (340)

About

#56 of 672 hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Our Kuala Lumpur hotel is the jewel of the Royale Chulan Hotels & Resorts. Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, a luxurious 5-star accommodation, is centrally located in KL’s downtown business district. It has set out to offer its guests the most gracious Malaysian hospitality. As it delivers contemporary facilities and services, our hotel also boasts distinctive architecture that features elements of the country’s unique heritage. For accommodation in the city, location is everything. Our hotel is within the Golden Triangle District and closes to major restaurants, bars, attractions. shopping malls i.e. Pavilion Shopping Centre, Bukit Bintang and Kuala Lumpur Convention Centre. It is a 45-minute drive from Kuala Lumpur International Airport. It was designed to capture the imagination of both tourists and residents.
Read more

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
0Restaurantswithin 0 km
0Attractionswithin 0 km
Contact
5 Jalan Conlay, Kuala Lumpur 50450 Malaysia
Getting there
Kuala Lumpur Intl Airport46 kmSee all flights
Sultan Abdul Aziz Shah Airport19 kmSee all flights
Bukit BintangKuala Lumpur Rapid KL9 min
Raja ChulanKuala Lumpur Rapid KL10 min
See all nearby hotels
2844Reviews48Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,480
  • 894
  • 294
  • 94
  • 82
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Wildcat7400 wrote a review Jun 2021
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia819 contributions256 helpful votes
My partner & I wanted a change of atmosphere & scene from the current Covid-19 pandemic. Besides, we wanted to take advantage of the low prices offered by Hotels during this period. We decided on Royal Chulan Kuala Lumpur for a 2D/1N stay as the price was right & because we had a positive experience in Royal Chulan Damansara, years ago, we thought of checking its other branch which is closer to home. The Hotel parking was deserted & abandoned when we arrived. There were less than 5 cars parked in the basement. We entered the Hotel through the ballroom entrance as the usual Hotel lobby entrance was closed. Check-in was a breeze according to my partner. We were given a room on Level 2 which is the same floor as the gym, swimming pool & spa. Our room was a good size & the interior was somewhat similar to the Royale Chulan Damansara. However, the wood furnishings in the room was the only thing that was different. While the intricate wooden headboard looked grand, it looked dated too. A bed-runner in traditional songket design was laid across the bed. And the white wingchair beside the bed was the same as the one in their Damansara branch. The TV was relatively small for a room of such magnitude. WiFi was complimentary. The room was also equipped with a safe, ironing board & iron. Unfortunately, all other wooden furniture had seen better days. We also had to call Housekeeping for a prayer mat. The bathroom was spacious. There was a separate shower area opposite the bath tub which opens up to the view of the bed through the wooden sliding window pane. A complete range of toiletries were thoughtfully provided inclusive of dental kits, cotton buds, a comb & a shower cap. The bath gel & shampoo were of lavender scent. We ordered room service for our early dinner. I had the fish & chips while my partner had ordered the fried kuew teow & “sup tulang”. Dessert was trio crème brulee which we both had shared together. The food was tasty especially the dessert & presentation was equally as good. Full from our early dinner, we decided to check-out the pool although we weren’t able to use it. We found our way there by going through the Hotel’s apartment side. It was dark & started to drizzle when we arrived. The outdoor pool was surrounded by sun loungers & umbrellas in blue. A wading pool & a children’s pool were also available. The Hotel Spa was also on the same level but we could only see it’s signage. The Telaga Bunga Spa was closed due to the MCO. We went down to the lobby to take a good look at the Hotel. There were huge leather sofas in the lobby. The walls were decorated with glass panels showcasing the traditional Malay weapons called the “keris” of various size & form. A grand marble staircase in the middle of the lobby brought the old atmosphere back into the Hotel. The marble floor was also adorned with a floral motif. Huge chandeliers in a form of a flower & petals came towering down from the ceiling. Wood panelling with intricate designs became some sort of a wall art. The Hotel also has a large glass covered indoor courtyard, surrounded by Malay influences & interior. The tea & coffee making facilities made it possible for us to make some instant mushroom soup with croutons & Quaker Oat mocha drinks just before bed. We had breakfast in bed as well. It was delivered to us at 7:30 am in a Bento set. The coffee house was closed due to the Hotel adhering strictly to the SOP. We were given 3 options to choose from. They were Malaysian, Continental or American Breakfast. I had chosen the American breakfast which comprised of egg omelette, chicken sausages, beef bacon, baked tomato & potatoes. My partner had opted for the Malaysian breakfast which includes either nasi lemak, rice congee or mee siam. The latter was chosen which comprised of fried thin rice vermicelli, served with Malaysian chicken rendang, chili paste, anchovies & other condiments. Both breakfasts came with chilled juice, mixed fruits, coffee or tea. We enjoyed the room til check-out time at noon. It was a short but good break which we badly needed. Overall, the food was delicious & the location perfect. Check-out was smooth & easy too. I would definitely come back in future.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Public Relations, Other at Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
Responded 5 Aug 2021
Dear Guest, Greetings from Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur. Thank you for your glowing and lovely feedback! We are thrilled to find out that you were able to enjoy so many aspects of our hotel. From our unrivalled location and amazing facilities to our spacious accommodations, it is our pleasure to provide you with a convenient and comfortable home base in the heart of kl. In the future, we would love to host you again on another amazing stay in KL, and we hope to see you soon. Stay safe and stay healthy, always. :)
Read more
VikSt85 wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
My fiancé and I had chosen to stay at your Hotel due to the location and distinctive architecture that features elements of the Malaysia’s unique heritage. Being a third party agency here in China, my fiancé can have a local Malaysian heritage and cultural experiences so that he can share his experience with the relevant parties here. In the early morning of 26 January 2020 estimated 08:10hrs, I was about to leave the Hotel for reunion at parents, unfortunately, there was a high threshold between the bed chamber and bathroom, I crossed, slipped and fell down in the bathroom of room 455 due to slippery floor, caused my head to hit the ground injured the back of my head, with a lot of blood rushed out from the injured area. I remained calm and made a call to the operator to inform about my injury while blood was spurting from the wound. My fiancé and I waited for someone from the Hotel to bring us to the hospital for medical treatment, however we were not able to wait any longer as I was seriously injured and my wound was bleeding, time is of the essence, I was conscious and able to walk down to the lobby to seek for assistance. There was someone from the Hotel came and checked on my condition and arranged a car to send us off to Prince Court Medical Centre without someone from the Hotel to accompanying us to further understand the condition. If this incident has happened to someone at my home, I could have been taken further steps to keep her / him accompanied. Being someone in the hospitality and tourism industry for almost 15 years, I truly believe this is very basic and necessary. If there is a threshold installed, the edges should be sloped or have an non-slip surface and be adequately secured to the floor. This is important, as the person would encounter an unexpected, increasing the chances for a fall. Ideally, the floor surfaces should be consistent. If hotel guests understand the dangers of a wet bathroom floor, then hotel management must also know and thus take precautions to protect your guests by placing a rubber mat on the floor of the shower or bathroom to prevent skidding. Slipping in the shower or tub is no laughing matter, bathroom falls typically mean violent contact with hard surfaces, which may result in head trauma, broken bones or even death. I suffered a serious head injury when I fell, I may still be dealing with the after effects such as headache which I do encounter such symptom sometimes. During our stay at your Hotel after this incident occurred, none of the employees from your Hotel taken effort to check on my condition, not even a simple call or to leave a message in the room. When we approached the front desk to call for the duty manager for a meet up, we had been asked by the staffs repeatly what purpose was that for while there was bandage around my head, which I felt it was a total negligence from the Hotel. The response from the Hotel was slow during the follow up process which was due to limitation of movement and documents searches, which I completely understand, nonetheless, it took almost half a year. I thought there would be a fair conclusion after a real long investigation by the agency, unfortunately, the conclusion is “there is no insurance coverage”. None of the insurance agencies had contacted me throughout the 'investigation process" and the case closed just by sending me a message via WhatsApp without an official response via email. We loved the location and ambience of the Hotel and we did considered your Hotel as one of the venues for our wedding ceremony next year, nevertheless, we will not proceed further due to bad experiences.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
King wrote a review Sep 2020
3 contributions1 helpful vote
My checked- in was done less than 5 minutes by Front Office named HAYATI.. she’s really professional & always keep on smiling to guests eventhough during peak hours!!! Thumbs up to this 1st impression gave by Ms. HAYATI. Room was enormous & spotless clean. The downside are housekeeping didnt clear up the minibar, dialled no.1 from room phone to get housekeeping to clear it for me & a male operator working night shift on 4th Sept asked me to clear it by myself (whattt????????) The water conditions during my stay was not really ok. It’s not hotel’s fault. Whole Kuala Lumpur facing water supply problem due to shutdown of main supply tank. A maintenance guy came to checked & told me duty manager (5th Sept 2020 1230am) will come within 10 minutes time to check on my room condition but nobody show up. Pros: 1. Superb front office team (5/5) 2. Breakfast buffet menu (5/5) 3. Maintenance team (5/5) 4. Hotel cleanliness (5/5) 5. Knowledgeable concierge team (5/5) 6. Pool for kids & adults (5/5) Cons: 1. Not alert duty manager (5th Sept, 1230am shift) 2. Poor Operator (4th Sept, 1145pm) Hope you guys have a great time staying in this hotel :)
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Public Relations, Other at Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
Responded 21 Sep 2020
Dear Fadnaz, Greetings from Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are taking note of your feedback particularly with our hospitality, facilities, breakfast and services. Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur is usually known for our attentive, knowledgeable and friendly staff as our topmost priority is our guests. However, we are truly sorry that you felt differently with our duty manager in charge and operator response. Respective head of department has been informed and immediate investigation has been done to avoid any occurrence in the future. Thank you again for taking the time to write and bringing this to our attention. We hope you will give us another opportunity to show you the true Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur hospitality. Kind regards, The Management
Read more
Hanif wrote a review Sep 2020
Sungai Buloh, Malaysia2 contributions2 helpful votes
With the current global situation now (covid19) this hotel offer great discount for the room that i can't afford during normal situation. Just take the chance to stay 1 night. Can be say, it is the good experience to me and my family.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Public Relations, Other at Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
Responded 21 Sep 2020
Dear Hanif Ahmad, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to welcome you again, soon!
Read more
Zara S wrote a review Aug 2020
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia22 contributions32 helpful votes
The staffs at the counter are so slow! All are taking a lot of time to do the check in. We don’t know how the situation will be like when it is during peak season (festive season or school holiday). When we arrived, there was average 4-6 people per line and waited 1.5 hours and still 2 people to go! If it wasn’t because the booking is non-refundable, we would have switched to other hotels nearby!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Public Relations, Other at Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
Responded 26 Aug 2020
Dear b1treaz, Greetings from Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for the shortfall in service delivery especially during check-in process. Your comment have been shared with the team to take immediate actions. Thank you again for taking the time to write and bringing this to our attention. We hope you will give us another opportunity to show you the true Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur hospitality.
Read more
Previous
123456
LOCATION
MalaysiaWilayah PersekutuanKuala Lumpur
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
Which popular attractions are close to Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur?
Nearby attractions include Pavilion KL (0.4 km), Rumah Penghulu Abu Seman (0.1 km), and Starhill Gallery (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur?
Yes, free parking, secured parking, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur?
Conveniently located restaurants include Horizon Grill, Quivo Pavilion, and Prego.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Does Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Chinese, Indonesian, Malay, and Tamil.