We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
No 35 & 37 Jalan Pudu, Kuala Lumpur 55200 Malaysia
Vio.com
StayForLong
Agoda.com
Etrip
ZenHotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (27)
360
Panoramas (3)
Room & Suite (48)

About

#4 of 640 B&Bs / Inns in Kuala Lumpur
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
There are two things we are proud of here at Step Inn. First, is our excellent location. We are situated in the well-known Golden Triangle of Kuala Lumpur, where everything is easily within walking distance. In this area is the busy China Town(10 mins), street food heaven Jalan Alor(10 mins), the best bar street in town Changkat(10 mins), shopping central Bukit Bintang(15 minutes), and the famous Petronas Towers(30 mins). We are also a few minute walk to the local metro(LRT), airport shuttle(Star Shuttle), and one of the central bus terminals(Pudu Sentral), so you can easily plan your next destination. The second thing we pride ourselves in, is our hospitality. We do our best to establish, a warm homey environment. The moment you walk in the door, you are considered part of the family. We provide a free map and enjoy giving tips on the city, so you can fill your few days or maybe many days, with lots of things to do. Our knowledgeable staff can also give suggestions for your continuing journey out of Malaysia's capital city. For being a budget guest house we do provide a couple perks that you won't find in many places, in the Golden Triangle. We have many types of rooms' available, double-ensuite, double, single, family, and dormitory beds. All rooms are clean, with a window and fan. On check in we provide you with a fresh towel & free roll of toilet paper(for single, double, en-suite, & family rooms only). In the morning, there is a free simple breakfast, with all day coffee and tea, that will help you get started so you can begin your tour of this great city. We provide 24 hour reception and free WiFi in every room, so you can stay connected at all times or get help at any hour. So, if you are looking for a homey budget guest house, with an excellent location, great knowledgeable staff, and nice facilities, please Step Inn. ***We offer special prices for walk-in and email customers*** ***Now if you book 3 days or more with any of our booking sites, you are eligible for a free meal at our restaurant TG's Nasi Kandar.***
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Wifi
Vending machine
Shared bathroom
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Malay

Location

100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
108Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
16Attractionswithin 0.5 km
463Reviews5Q+A46Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 223
  • 156
  • 52
  • 16
  • 16
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Michael S wrote a review Mar 2020
2 contributions
We booked 3 nights here and then we ended up staying for a whole week here, the staff is the highlight of this place, the manger is very informative and helped us with lots of tips about the city. We booked a double AC room, our room was pretty big very comfy bed and lots of space to keep our bags, AC worked fine. Showers/toilets are nice and clean and we never had to wait for the shower because they have showers on every floor. Recommended to backpackers.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Double AC room is good
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
John-B wrote a review Sep 2019
2 contributions
Wonderful staff, everyone was so helpful and polite, we had some issues with our bed sheets they changed them immediately, they gave us a free map on arrival with lots of city tips, all in all we had a very nice time here.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Double room with air-condition is perfect
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Satish v wrote a review Aug 2019
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Beds are not at all good, Except that remaining are fine. But I have given low rating because When I informed manager Malik about geyser not working then he replied in a rude way stating "shall I refund your money so that you can go to other hotel" I was shocked with his answer. After observation I understood that he doesn't like Indians and he shows discrimination among Indians and whites. Very careless towards indians. Are they getting business only from whites?? This hotel is overrated. We can get good hotels at the same rate in the same area.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Step Inn G, Manager at Step Inn Guest House
Responded 4 Sep 2019
Hi Venkata Varanasi, Thank you for your feedback, first of all you did not informed me about the geyser, you were harassing our new girl staff about it, when she told you that it will be fixed soon you just kept going about it and then I have to jumped in to tell you that calm down and if you are not happy you can stay somewhere else, we don't like rude guests doesn't matter where they from, you behavior was very rude towards our staff and other guests in your dorm and there were other Indians in your dorm and they didn't liked you either. Its a backpacker hostel and we have guests from around the world and we respect everyone here. If some guest is rude we are happy to ask them to leave. No need to play the race card when you know there were other guests here from your country and every one was happy here. All the best for your journey ahead.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
samaaron123 wrote a review Aug 2019
1 contribution
One of my friend recommended this hostel and i booked 1 night and after the nice experience I extended for 4 nights, when I arrived the building looks a bit old from outside but the rooms are recently renovated and the beds are comfy. Staff is very friendly and helpful and they give lots of nice tips about the city. Manager Malik is very helpful and he provided lots of info about where to go in Malaysia and how to get there. I met really nice fellow backpackers and it was a great experience all in all. Dorm prices are very cheap and this place also have cooking facilities. Recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: AC dorms are very nice.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
BlrTravR wrote a review Jul 2019
Bengaluru, India778 contributions163 helpful votes
Great location close to public transport in the city centre of Kuala Lumpur, all the major attractions in the city are walking distance. The prices are affordable with friendly staff and guests from many countries.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Sumesh wrote a review Jul 2019
3 contributions
I recently stayed in the step inn guest house a few days ago, alone on a business trip, Super cheap and affordable and also not to mention comfortable beds which are clean. A really homely place and also a great place to make new friends. Friendly staff, I give it 9/10.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Adam King wrote a review Jun 2019
6 contributions
what a great experience! Step Inn is the perfect place if you are an open minded traveller and want to meet beautiful people! Five star to the welcome from the staff: they will take you to a tour of the entire place that have a nice open air common area where you can chill out (my fav!), shared kitchen computer room (if you are a digital nomad this is your quiet room!). Step Inn also offer a basic breakfast that you will enjoy, free coffee and tea all day long and a shelf full of books. Rooms are small with essentials: bed and clean bedsheet, that's all you need anyway! Toilet/shower are 2 per floor (plus an extra shower room) and I tell you, I never had to wait to have a hot shower. The staff is always available if you need the toilet to be clean so you don't have to worry about the "nightmare of shared bathroom". Step Inn has everything under control. And, last, price that you pay is really cheap for what you get back: a clean and safe place to sleep, a colorful hostel where you will meet interesting people, a perfect location that will allow you to reach Chinatown, Central Market, Majhid Jamek, Petronas Towers, Bukit Bintang by walking. Thank you Step Inn, it's been a blast!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
PtitAngeSun wrote a review May 2019
Paris, France36 contributions28 helpful votes
tldr; GIANT. FCK*. BED. BUGS. (that they tried to blame on us) It took me litteraly two months to write this review, as I would get really angry everytime I tried to type something. This place is the most disgusting one I have been in a year of travel. There is mold everywhere, cockroaches, the towels they gave us were NOT CLEAN with a yucky thing on it (funny thing: we gave it back for washing the minute we got it, and guess what still unclean towel we were given the very next day?) the showers were broken, the paint on the walls fell on the bed, the floor of the room was "sticky", and, as I learned the hard way, there were bed bugs. We wanted to leave the minute we arrived (and we definitively should have!). Do NOT trust the pictures from them. I woke up in the morning with 250+ bites (yes, you did read that right, more than TWO HUNDRED AND FIFTY bites). I asked for a refund and to leave immediatly, as I was allergic to the bites and was starting to swell. They refunded the nights to come, but not the one with the bed bugs. They proposed to wash some of our clothes, but since they only had cold wash (and that doesn't kill bed bugs) we went elsewhere to wash our stuff. We did come back in the afternoon to ask for a big bassin and hot water to wash (ourselves!) our backpacks, and were met with extremely unfriendly comments (i.e. that the bed bugs came with us, that the proposition to wash our stuff was a one time thing, etc). We had to insist and get angry to just get the bassin and hot water (and wash our bags ourselves in the showers!). Our guess is that they just didn't want us to hang around to tell people that I was swelling up and red because of bed bugs bites. Since there was both full grown adults and larvae in the mattress (see beautiful picture attached), they must have been in the room for quite some time. I ended up needing to go to the doctors for anti-histaminic tablets (a WEEK LONG treatment!) BTW, their cat Simba is extremely cute but has flees; and those also can also been found on the couchs, into your clothes, and into your bed. Feel free to PM for more disgusting bed bugs pictures!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Be careful of the flees in the sofa!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Step Inn G, Manager at Step Inn Guest House
Responded 3 Jun 2019
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry to hear about all your bad experience, we wish you all the best for your journey ahead. Thanks and Regards, Step Inn Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jaypee_17 wrote a review May 2019
Cebu City, Philippines87 contributions44 helpful votes
It's not about how cheap our accommodation is but it's how staff treat us the time we enter the property and step inn guesthouse has this one, very affordable and amazing people very friendly and knowledgeable about the area from money exchange, place to eat and places to go 😁 wonderful experience.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Step Inn G, Manager at Step Inn Guest House
Responded 12 May 2019
Dear Jaypee, Thank you so much for your amazing feedback, we are always happy to make all our guests happy, we wish you all the best for your travelling ahead and you are always welcome here if you ever need a bed in KL. Thanks and Kind Regards, Malik
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Arvind Sony wrote a review Mar 2019
New Delhi, India444 contributions204 helpful votes
This hostel is closed to pudu Sentral bus stand and pudu Ganesha temple. But this is an average hostel. There is no AC and bedsheets are dirty. They have complimentary breakfast (tea,coffee, bread and butter) It’s good for 1 or 2 days only.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Step Inn G, Manager at Step Inn Guest House
Responded 26 Apr 2019
Dear Arvind, Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us, as you have booked a fan room that's why there was no AC in the room, we do have AC rooms in our hostel. We have 24 hours reception and we are always happy to change or fix rooms if guests are not happy with their rooms. All the best for your journey ahead and hopefully see you in the future. Kind Regards, Step Inn Team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$11 - US$13 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
step inn guest house hotel kuala lumpur
LOCATION
MalaysiaWilayah PersekutuanKuala Lumpur
NUMBER OF ROOMS
23
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

STEP INN GUEST HOUSE: See 385 Reviews, Price Comparison and 142 Photos (Kuala Lumpur) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Step Inn Guest House
Which popular attractions are close to Step Inn Guest House?
Nearby attractions include Sin Sze Si Ya Temple (0.4 km), The Deceased (0.5 km), and St. John's Cathedral (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Step Inn Guest House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and laundry service.
What food & drink options are available at Step Inn Guest House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Step Inn Guest House?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Step Inn Guest House?
Conveniently located restaurants include LOKL Coffee Co., Nam Heong Chicken Rice Chinatown, and Pampas Reserve Steakhouse.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Step Inn Guest House?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Malay.
Are there any historical sites close to Step Inn Guest House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Kuala Lumpur City Gallery (0.9 km), Rumah Penghulu Abu Seman (1.7 km), and Istana Negara (3.6 km).