We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Jalan Angsoka Off Jalan Nagasari, Kuala Lumpur 50200 Malaysia
StayForLong
Vio.com
Trip.com
eDreams
Agoda.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (199)
Room & Suite (208)
Dining (27)

About

#3 of 635 B&Bs / Inns in Kuala Lumpur
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Welcome to Orange Pekoe (formerly known as The Nest), our award-winning guesthouse in downtown KL. Located on a quiet side-road in the Golden Triangle area. Orange Pekoe is the perfect starting point for your KL adventure. Bukit Bintang's shopping district, famous Jalan Alor with its countless local restaurants and the hip bar strip of Changkat Bukit Bintang are all just a 5 minutes stroll away. Free Wifi in all rooms, daily change of towels and safe boxes (Sup., Deluxe, Family Rooms) are all elements of the feel-good accommodation that we offer our guests. We accept Visa/Master/Amex.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Budget

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
500Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
49Attractionswithin 0.5 km
817Reviews10Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 379
  • 329
  • 83
  • 13
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
RICA R wrote a review Sep 2017
1 contribution
Its our first time visiting KL, the hotel is great. Even though its cheap we are assured that we are safe and the room is enough for us. Also,it is near to the bus stop, train station and shopping malls. Thank you also to the friendly staff especially Ms. Bernadette for assisting us ☺️ God bless!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jmcdeguia, Manager at Orange Pekoe Guesthouse
Responded 27 Sep 2017
Dear Rica R, Thank you for staying with us and having time to have your review here! We are glad to hear the positive comments and looking forward on welcoming you back here! :) Cheers, OP Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Svetlana_Petrienko wrote a review Aug 2017
Moscow, Russia92 contributions58 helpful votes
I booked a double room in this hotel for 5 nights at the reasonable price) but at the last moment realized - that my room has outside bathroom - for my own use only but nevertheless(( Hotel Administration were very kind to me and in 2 nights let me move to the room with attached bathroom. AC, hot water, comfortable bed and great city center location!!! Breakfast was poor (continental) every day the same)) but you have a big choice of different cafes close by. The only point I would recommend to the hotel management - to improve rooms cleaning quality: floor, bins, toilets... looks like room boys have just been not trained how to do this properly. But in general I spent a good time there. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Thank you for my good vacation
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jmcdeguia, Manager at Orange Pekoe Guesthouse
Responded 2 Sep 2017
Dear Svetlana_Petrienko, TFirst of all we thank you for staying with us! We appreciate your kind words and some advice you have given to me whilst you were here. It was sure a big help. Regards with your observation it is duly noted and we will look and act with that matter. We are looking forward on welcoming you back here with improve service and cleanliness. Warm Regards, OP Team :)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paul H wrote a review Aug 2017
106 contributions73 helpful votes
A good value place to stay close to transport, shopping and food outlets. Staff were helpful and friendly, a simple basic help your self breakfast a bonus, facilities and room were clean. a nice firm but comfortable bed and pillows suited me well. The only negative was the amount of noise caused by the surrounding locals and eateries early in the morning starting around 6am and only because of this unfortunately I would most probably not stay again as I like my sleep in times on my holidays
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jmcdeguia, Manager at Orange Pekoe Guesthouse
Responded 23 Aug 2017
Dear Paul H, First of all thank you for staying with us! We appreciate your positive feedback and as per the noise we wish that you tell us as soon as you were not comfortable with the room and noise so that we can address your concern. Nonetheless, we do hope that we can welcome you someday soon! :) Warm Regards, OP Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Vactio wrote a review Aug 2017
Aberdeen, United Kingdom30 contributions26 helpful votes
After reading loads of great reviews for this place I was excited that I was getting such a great deal (cheap price) for staying in so close to the city centre. Unfortunately, I was very disappointed with this guesthouse and we couldn't even stay one night. Pros - The location is incredible, it's a 15/20min walk to the Petronas Twin Towers, the Bukit Bintang SkyTrain is a 5 min walk (up a hill) and the Pavillion shopping mall which has hundreds of shops and great places to eat is also 5mins walk. The room is very spacious. It is very homely, you have to remove your shoes on entering, there is a communal living room with a tv and a communal kitchen which is very big and has a kettle and fridge for use by the guests. The staff are extremely friendly and gave us a map and
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jmcdeguia, Manager at Orange Pekoe Guesthouse
Responded 21 Aug 2017
Dear Vactio, I was very disappointed to read of your experience during your stay with us. WHilst an apology will regrettably not alter the outcome of your experience on this occasion, I do extend it with all sincerity. I certainly empathise regarding the points you mention in your review, especially the noise you experienced in your room and the poor service you received as a result. This is level of service is certainly not acceptable and will be addressed with concern. As of now, we already did out monthly pest control and outside they did fumigation so we believe that everything falls back to place. Even though the surrounding doesn't seem charming, it is harmless and friendly. As this incident happened we look forward on welcoming you back here with the better condition rooms! Warm Regards, OP Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Linsey S wrote a review Aug 2017
2 contributions1 helpful vote
We stayed for 3 nights in here. This is a great place with excellent staffs and service. The place is very clean with great atmosphere. Perfect location. The rooms are great, comfortable and cozy. We really loved in here. We will return on our next trip. Highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jmcdeguia, Manager at Orange Pekoe Guesthouse
Responded 21 Aug 2017
Dear Linsey 6, Thank you for staying with us and taking time to have your review here! We are very happy to hear that you were satisfied with our service during your stay as it is our mission to provide everything that we can from cleanliness of the room up until providing information about the city. :) We look forward to welcoming you back here! Cheers, Your OP Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Manoj D wrote a review Jul 2017
Faridabad, India1 contribution
I stayed with my family for four night in June, 2017. Compact GH. Atmosphere is cool and calm. Neat and clean rooms. Wonderful dining hall. Excellent wifi. Courteous staff. Though it is in bylane of the city but stay in the GH was very comfortable. You get everything at a very reasonable price in the surroundings. GH pricing is a little expensive than many 3 star hotels in the city but stay here was worth every single penny spent. Full marks to the owner and the staff.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jmcdeguia, Manager at Orange Pekoe Guesthouse
Responded 21 Aug 2017
Dear Manoj_Diwakar, Thank you for staying with us and taking time to have your review here! We are very happy to hear that you were satisfied with our service during your stay as it is our mission to provide everything that we can from cleanliness of the room up until providing information about the city. :) We look forward to welcoming you back here! Cheers, Your OP Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alex P wrote a review Jul 2017
Oakland, California64 contributions19 helpful votes
This is a very cute place and everything was exactly as pictured/described. Our room was very clean and the a/c worked well. The staff is kind and attentive. The location is central and it was a good home base for the the things we wanted to explore. The breakfast is simple, cereal and bananas, but just fine! We'd stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jmcdeguia, Manager at Orange Pekoe Guesthouse
Responded 21 Aug 2017
Dear Alex P, Thank you for staying with us and taking time to have your review here! We are very happy to hear that you were satisfied with our service during your stay as it is our mission to provide everything that we can from cleanliness of the room up until providing information about the city. :) We look forward to welcoming you back here! Cheers, Your OP Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jon B wrote a review Jul 2017
Cardiff30 contributions8 helpful votes
Stayed here for one night for a night out in Changkat before flying out to Sarawak the next day. Location was perfect, although it was a little difficult to spot from the street (taxi driver drove past it the first time). It's just on the corner - a single door that leads upstairs. For the price it's great for a night or two. I was a little concerned from the outside, but inside it's clean, welcoming staff, wifi, tea and coffee etc. All very nice. Everyone has to go past reception on entrance so feels quite secure. Room is what you expect for the price. Air con worked well, shower was small but warm (in a small wet room). They also organise airport taxis at reasonable prices which was handy for us the next day.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jmcdeguia, Manager at Orange Pekoe Guesthouse
Responded 21 Aug 2017
Dear Jon B, Thank you for staying with us and taking time to have your review here! We are very happy to hear that you were satisfied with our service during your stay as it is our mission to provide everything that we can from cleanliness of the room up until providing information about the city. :) We look forward to welcoming you back here! Cheers, Your OP Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
trevar wrote a review Jul 2017
Canberra, Australia363 contributions130 helpful votes
I stayed four nights here with my daughter. From the outside, it looks terribly delapidated, but the rooms are clean and the air-conditioning works. We did have rats keeping us awake in the roof a little, but they didn't bother us really, and we're not the squeamish type. Overall, good value for a convenient location.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jmcdeguia, Manager at Orange Pekoe Guesthouse
Responded 21 Aug 2017
Dear trevar, Thank you for staying with us and taking time to have your review here! We are very happy to hear that you were satisfied with our service during your stay as it is our mission to provide everything that we can from cleanliness of the room up until providing information about the city. :) We look forward to welcoming you back here! Cheers, Your OP Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ruth C wrote a review Jul 2017
Bristol, United Kingdom47 contributions9 helpful votes
Great location right next to a bustling street market. Staff are very helpful and even arranged our taxi to the airport for us. You can print documents if you need to at 50c a piece. Would definitely recommend a visit.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jmcdeguia, Manager at Orange Pekoe Guesthouse
Responded 21 Aug 2017
Dear Ruth C, Thank you for staying with us and taking time to have your review here! We are very happy to hear that you were satisfied with our service during your stay as it is our mission to provide everything that we can from cleanliness of the room up until providing information about the city. :) We look forward to welcoming you back here! Cheers, Your OP Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PRICE RANGE
US$186 - US$198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the nest hotel kuala lumpur
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Nest
LOCATION
MalaysiaWilayah PersekutuanKuala Lumpur
NUMBER OF ROOMS
17
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ORANGE PEKOE GUESTHOUSE: See 635 Reviews, Price Comparison and 421 Photos (Kuala Lumpur) - Tripadvisor