We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Istana

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Istana
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,406 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Istana
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,914: English reviews
Singapore
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We booked 2 rooms...one of it has KL Twin Towers view from a distant! We loved the interior decor and it has good breakfast spread - fresh and tasty! However the television was the old "Box Squarish" model...its been a long time sinced we saw hotels with such television as most now has changed to LCD models! Our room has...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SofyRudy
HotelIstana, General Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review

Dear SofyRudy, Thank you for your feedback. I am glad that you liked our breakfast and the room. Please do accept our sincere apologies for the shortfalls, however, I like to take this opportunity to update you on some of the new initiatives that we have taken to upgrade the product. With regards to TV, we are in the process...

Courbevoie, France
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Location: top, very convinient to reach everything by foot in the center service: efficient Design: looks like having not beeb renovated since 30 years Strange smell is in the rooms, i had to change 3 times the room to avoid the allergic reaction Clean Breakfast: horrible, no way to choose the tea and yet you have to ask 2 times...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Aurcka
HotelIstana, General Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review

Dear Aurcka, Thank you for your latest stay and feedback on trip Advisor. I have taken note of it and shared your valuable comments with respective department heads and I assure you every action will be taken to fix these issues. Thank you again for your stay at Hotel Istana and we are looking forward to your stay in near...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Stayed at The Istana ion my way back to Melbourne, from a visit to family in The UK. Impressive lobby, check-in was fast and efficient, although my pre-booked room wasn't ready, owing to early arrival, I was quickly offered an alternative, and the need for sleep help my decision to take the one offered!! The room was a tad tired,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BazzaCrewe
HotelIstana, General Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review

Dear Bazzacrew, Thank you so much for choosing to stay at The Hotel istana. Thank you also for taking the time to post your Trip Advisor review. I am glad that team was able to offer a room to you despite the fact the arrival was early in the morning. We keep updating our product from time to time and...

Tokyo, Japan
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We have stayed Istana more than 5 times, this is the best stay as ever. To our big surprise, the room was upgraded to Junior Suite as I booked just Club room. The room was big enough for 2 of us, so we could very relax to chat and drink. Hotel staff was really nice and friendly, helped us a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Junko K
HotelIstana, General Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review

Dear JUnko K, Reading your review just made mine and my team's day. Thank you so much for your loyalty to Hotel Istana. We are very happy that you gave us 5 stars on the review. Thank you again Looking forward to your return to Hotel Istana - your home in Malaysia Warm Regards Aamir Khan General Manager

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 14 August 2014

The location of the hotel is very central close to Pavillon , Petronas Tour,Bukit Bintan. The staff are very kind but when the resort is full the service became complicate no more KING BED ROOM and they close the swimming pool early because they organize a big events , so it s good to ask about it before the booking....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank claudia s
HotelIstana, General Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review

Dear Claudia s, Thank you for your feedback as we all appreciate it very much. We are so sorry about pool being closed early during your stay. I hope this did not cause you much inconvenience. Looking forward to your return on your next visit to KL Warm Regards Aamir Khan General Manager

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My third visit to the Istana. A touch of class in the architecture and the rooms, impeccable staff and service. Very clean, comfortable and ideally located. My only disappointment was the buffet breakfast. Yes it was fine, probably better than many others, but not nearly as good as it was on my last visit a couple of years ago. At...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ouestmj
HotelIstana, General Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review

Dear Ouestmj, Thank you so much for a wonderful feedback and giving us 5 stars on the review. We are happy that you really enjoyed everything. We appreciate your loyalty and are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Thank you again Aamir Khan General Manager

Bergen op Zoom, The Netherlands
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This hotel is perfect for your stay in KL. We were with 3 persons and got the Club Suite. The room was really very big, with two bathrooms and even a separate living room. When staying in either the Club Room or the Club Suite, you may use the Club Lounge. There you can get koffie/thee/soft drinks all day long,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christel8
HotelIstana, General Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review

Dear Crystal8, Thank you so much for giving us 5 stars on your review. You have summarized our product and services really well. Indeed, our other guest will definitely benefit from reading it. Please come back soon as we are looking forward to welcoming you back again. Warm Regards Aamir Khan General Manager

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Apart from being an old hotel with badly needed renovation for some of its rooms, it is still a hotel that is considered as a value-for-money hotel. Some of the good points about the hotel is its spacious room and bathroom. It is also just 10 minutes by foot to the popular shopping district of Bukit Bintang. The only downside...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SearchSG
HotelIstana, General Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review

Dear SearchSG, Thank you for a short and positive review of your stay. Indeed, our location being the centre of the city, and our spacious rooms and bathrooms are just to name a few great features of our product. Our biggest asset though is actually our Associates who are not only friendly and passionate but a true reflection of Great...

Broome, Australia
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The location of this Hotel is great, central to Shopping, Eating Places, Nightlife and Local Attractions. The Staff were very Professional and helpful when asked for advice. They also remind you to keep your Handbags safe when walking around the City. The Housekeeping was good and the Rooms were comfortable and clean. The large Lounge near Reception is ideal for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Amanda H
HotelIstana, General Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Amanda, Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback about the Hotel and its services. We all really appreciate and I personally liked the title of the feedback. We are continuously improving our product and whilst we have major renovations plans in near future we are always updating our product with new amenities. We have just installed 100Mbps...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Unfortunately our daughter kicked off her shoes when we first arrived in our hotel room and cut her foot with broken glass that had been embedded in the carpet. We called to have the room vacuumed and then noticed two other pieces so requested a change of room. The second room didn't have a safety deposit box, so we then...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank j9g
HotelIstana, General Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First let me apologize very sincerely for all the inconveniences you had during your stay. It is so unfortunate that we could not get the opportunity to fix those issues whilst you were still staying with us. Rest assured, I have taken serious note of it and appropriate actions are taken with all concerned in order to ensure...

1,541 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1197)
Viewed
Dining (88)
Viewed
Bathroom (131)
Viewed
Room/Suite (220)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (247)
Viewed
View from Room (67)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (55)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (378)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (332)
Viewed
Adult Pool (5)
Viewed
Amenities (41)
Viewed
Children's Pool (5)
Viewed
Club Suite (34)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (26)
Viewed
Deluxe Room Twin (24)
Viewed
Presidential Suite (72)
Viewed
Dining (65)
Viewed
The Hotel (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.3 km away
Invito Hotel Suites
Invito Hotel Suites
#22 of 333 in Kuala Lumpur
884 reviews
0.2 km away
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
#26 of 333 in Kuala Lumpur
449 reviews
0.1 km away
PARKROYAL Serviced Suites Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel
0.6 km away
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
#30 of 333 in Kuala Lumpur
2,940 reviews
0.8 km away
The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
#24 of 333 in Kuala Lumpur
2,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Food & drink at the hotel
Taman Sari Brasserie
Taman Sari Brasserie
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, French, Malaysian
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about Hotel Istana

Address: 73 Jalan Raja Chulan, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: RM253 - RM403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Istana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 515
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Istana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istana Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Istana Kuala Lumpur
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#16 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#21 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#23 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#25 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Istana staff and other travellers.
29 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (29)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Istana staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose rooms on higher floor & city view”
 of 5 bubbles mysticmuni01, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“ask for room facing the KLCC.”
 of 5 bubbles akublues, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“room number 921 is great with klcc view”
 of 5 bubbles Shaayyum, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for city view, otherwise you'll be seeing the back alley of KL”
 of 5 bubbles andripratama, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Higher Floor”
 of 5 bubbles Ultim8holiday, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay