Dorsett Kuala Lumpur

172 Jalan Imbi Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur 55100 Malaysia
Traveller (1130)
Residence Suite - Open Lounge / Kitchen / Dining Area
Room & Suite (474)
Windows Café and Lounge at the Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
Dining (113)

View prices for your travel dates

RM 273
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#92 of 503 hotels in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Dorsett Kuala Lumpur is located in the heart of Kuala Lumpur's Golden Triangle, a stone's throw away from Malaysia's finest shopping malls, eateries, tourist and entertainment spots. A short 5 minutes' walk will take you to the doorstep of Pavilion, Starhill Gallery, Fahrenheit 88, Lot 10, Sungei Wang, Berjaya Times Square and Low Yat Plaza. The KL Convention Centre and Petronas Twin Towers are also within walking distance from the hotel through an air-conditioned link bridge.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Car hire
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Doorperson
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, Malay

Location

172 Jalan Imbi Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur 55100 Malaysia
2,068Reviews92Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 607
  • 820
  • 405
  • 134
  • 102
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Dineshin N wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the Dorsett in January for 7 nights and were extremely pleased with the service, rooms were very cozy , comfortable beds and hotel is very well located in the city center. Staff was very friendly and welcoming. I want to thank Mr Victor for the great service and attending to all of our requests. This hotel is highly recommended and value for your money.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dorsett Kuala Lumpur, Guest Services / Front Office at Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
Responded 31 Mar 2020
Dear Mr Dineshinn, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback and observations, which are useful for our continuous improvement. On a positive note, we are glad that you've had an overall enjoyable stay with us. I am also greatly appreciative of your lavish praise on Mr Victor, our Director of Operations, which I look forward to share with him and all our colleagues as it will certainly motivate them to the highest level. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back in the time to come to make your return visit a more enjoyable one. Thank you & warm regards, Suzanna Amin Front Office Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
dotabd wrote a review Nov 2023
Birmingham, United Kingdom14 contributions8 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for the first time in October with the family. Although the location is very good and central, there were a few negatives.

1) Hand towels are only provided upon request. Also only 1 toilet roll is provided. We were a family of 5 that had booked 2 rooms so some forethought by Dorsett housekeeping would have been useful instead of us having to call them frequently to ask for hand towels and extra toilet roll.
2) The breakfast is decent overall but not of much variety
3) The rooms are basic but do the job for a comfortable stay
4) Room lighting is a bit dim
5) The hotel didn’t have a weighing scale to measure the weight of luggage (something i think should have been provided by a hotel claiming to be 4 star)

Overall decent hotel because of the location but otherwise I would any stay here again. I would say this is more of a 3 star hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from David Wong, General Manager at Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
Responded 7 Nov 2023
Dear Sir, thank you for staying with us and your valuable feedbacks provided for our improvements. We wish to apologize on the inconveniences caused, particularly on the housekeeping issue. Please rest assured that we will look into the issues highlighted and improve accordingly. We hope to serve you better in the near future. Warm regards. David Wong, Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
hhtebaz wrote a review Oct 2020
Singapore, Singapore317 contributions136 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is fairly modern and adequate but with the price point there are definitely alot of of choices in the area. I chose this property because of its 2 Bedroom residences to better accommodate my family, while the apartment looks large and new. I think housekeeping can be improved, i have cigarette butts in my balcony upon check in and more each day.

The breakfast was a disaster because it was a small restaurant area with cramped seats. The choices are not fanciful but adequate.

Nevertheless, there is any major issues with the property.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
nur wrote a review Jan 2020
Singapore, Singapore6 contributions7 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Had a very bad experience at their Residence. we booked under their hotel, they couldn’t provide 2 main keys for entrance and lift tap, only 1 for each apartment. We have 2 rooms in the apartment with 4 people!So when 1 went outside, the rest have to stay in room?? Hotel asked us to let the security tap for us anytime but this security dont want to tap for us by giving so many excuses! i’m a regular to their hotel and this is how we got treated!whats so difficult to give 2 main keys??

Receptionist named Erna is grumpy. She attended to us as if we are asking for her money! Told her i have a membership account which every visits, usually they will just include my membership account to my bookings through agoda so i could check out at 2pm as i’m a silver member. But she is not helpful at all by saying, “no we could not do that as u didn’t booked direct to the hotel”🙄 i’ve never had any issue with linking my membership to agoda bookings. I lost my membership account no. So i did asked her to track the number through my email. She said she could not find at all and did not even try to check and get back to me🙄🙄🙄 so i had to track my own email to get the account number. Such attitude for a receptionist!

Apartment residence is not in a good condition at room 2802! Hall toilet door is spoilt! We couldn’t open/close the door unless with full force! Remote control for the tv have to be shared for the room and hall. We came with a very dirty apartment like its not been cleaned especially their floors! So we called the cleaner to mop till the floor is not sticky. There’s no small light for the rooms. 2nd room closet is too high to even reach for their hangers! What were they even thinking when making the closet?🤦🏻‍♀️🤦🏻‍♀️ and its super dirty i didnt even put my clothes/things there.
It’s such a disappointment as the apartment looked nice though.

The only good about their people is their bellboys. Very helpful and courteous. Always made our days with their smiles, warm welcome and greeted everyone too.

I’ve been staying here (hotel) from the past 2 years but never been treated like we are their regulars there. We’ve tried from a 3 stars hotels to 5 stars hotels, this is the worst kind of treatment we got for a members. I really hope the management can train all their receptionist for customer service skills!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tour828470, Manager at Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
Responded 27 Jan 2020
Dear Nurputeri, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are very sorry to learn that we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay with us, and for this I apologise. We have noted of your feedback of the lack of access card, and the less than favorable interaction you have encountered with our associate, I have further shared this feedback with the Front Office Manager to review our process, and to look into the training of the associates so as for us to deliver a better stay experience for our guests. I have also further shared the feedback on room cleanliness with the Executive Housekeeper to address the concerns highlighted accordingly, to deter this from happening and as for us to evolve and improve. Kindly let us know if there is anything we can do. Thank you once again for your feedback. I can be reached at victor.hiew@dorsetthotels.com. Best regards, Victor Hiew Director of Operations
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Amaal WM wrote a review Jul 2020
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia12 contributions11 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
ROOM : 1805
Check In : 18 July 2020

Too Freaked Out to even take photos of the small roaches in the room and bathroom. j understand, due to the breakdown and no occupancy for months...Maintenance must be Done daily...Not a a Single Notice if the room(s) at the Hotel have been Sanitized. Broken Faucet Shower Switch and Broken Study Table Lamp

Reason for Not Highlighting the issues is because we were so Tired. Asked for Mineral Water after Midnight (Charged and we understood), the staff in charge just hung up the phone without even giving my husband to just say TQ n so on)

Never had a Single thing to Complaint about the Hotel before this but this is the First time and the Worst Experience Ever
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Adultbackpacker wrote a review Oct 2022
London, United Kingdom41 contributions11 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Dorsett KL is actually two hotels next door to each other- one is the hotel and one is the residences. Despite booking direct with the hotel site this wasn’t clear- facilities are different to the pictures and some facilities are shared. Also caution looking at reviews on TA- there’s multiple listings for the residences and separate one for the hotel.
Our experience… we stayed in Residences… it was just rubbish and the quality in no way reflects a 4* hotel. The room had a major damp problem and was very smelly, sofa had cigarette burns all over, the wallpaper was peeling off the wall, balcony door wouldn’t close properly or lock so was very noisy. Despite being out all day and leaving the “make the room up” sign, on returning day one at 6pm no one had been, and on day 3 no one had been when we got back at 430. The hotel did not care on any of these issues.
Breakfast is in a shared hall with both hotels. There is an inadequate amount of space or tables for the number of people. The choice was varied but no one was replenishing when items ran out (which inevitably they did with that many people) and when I tried to ask for more of an item I was firstly ignored then made to feel like a pest sent back to my table without said item.
There are no towels provided for the pool, despite this being in the booking details, and basic items you would expect of a 4*, such as hand towels and hot water, were missing
For the money it is appalling and we will not be using the Dorsey brand again
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dorsett Kuala Lumpur, Guest Services / Front Office at Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
Responded 1 Nov 2022
Dear Theadultbackpacker, We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with such candid feedback of your stay. We apologize for the inconvenience you had. Your experience definitely does not meet the standards we have set for ourselves. All your comments are essential to educating our staff about good and bad service. We will ensure your feedback will be given to all. Please note that your concerns have been passed on to our Housekeeping and Outlet Section for immediate rectification and improvement. We do hope you give us another chance as we will definitely improve our services. Regards, Lim Hwai Min Front Office Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TWSbox350900 wrote a review Feb 2023
Solna, Sweden19 contributions15 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The Dorsett KL location is great. Walking distance to Bkt Bintang and surroundings. The hotel itself is very old and needs renovation. The room in the Residence stay is equipped with all you need with excellent service, as we needed extra towels and paper - it was delivered immediately. But the room is very old, abit dirty as well. Request for view towards KL and not the backyard which overviews construction works. The breakfast is very basic - you wont miss anything if you decide to eat elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dorsett Kuala Lumpur, Guest Services / Front Office at Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
Responded 12 Feb 2023
Dear TWSbox350900, Greetings from Dorsett Kuala Lumpur! Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your constructive feedback. Please be assured that we take your feedback with priority, and have shared it with our manager to investigate and address wherein applicable. We hope you won't let this isolated oversight keep you from booking with us again. Your next stay is certain a pleasant and comfortable. Best regards, Henry LOO Director of Operations
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Travel-D wrote a review Mar 2023
3 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
serious problem with the hotel
1. Long checkin 2. Plastic shield ( Covid) shield between reception and guest and receptionist has peculiar body language, you have to bend and try to catch her what he/she says. 2. Over charging -?when objected she corrected after a 15 min call 3. Physically noting down my credit card number!! 4. After checkin no one guides of lifts I took a wrong lift to end up in parking ( a very small note on the lift button) 5 room is pathetic a. Yea coffee is most basic even mugs are not the same b. No hand towels c. Bath towels kept very close to toilet bowl you piss and chance is that you may spoil the towels d. Dustbins are without plastic covers . Huge cost cut at every point including quality of staff ! Good luck to them . Probably my last stay with them
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Read my comments before you decide
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dorsett Kuala Lumpur, Guest Services / Front Office at Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
Responded 23 Mar 2023
Dear Flyer30474917194, Thank you for staying at Dorsett Kuala Lumpur and taking time write review to our attention. We apologize if the service interaction with our team member did not meet your expectation an otherwise enjoyable stay. Because this sort of lapse in service is not typical for our staff, we're confident you'll enjoy the friendly service and warm hospitality you deserve if you stay with us again. It's our pleasure to welcome you anytime! Regards, Henry LOO Director of Operations
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Janet M wrote a review Feb 2020
5 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Dorsett KL was very close to shopping malls and all the sights to be seen; the accomodation was very comfortable, friendly staff; the great Chefs there went out of their way to cater to my many dietary intolerances....one was Chef Fuad but there was another who was equally talented. Regardless of your budget you could find a shopping experience to suit...I was very surprised to find out that we could have walked under cover and in air conditioned comfort from the hotel to the twin towers but we ran out of time. Again the Tourist Incentive Tours driver/guides were very friendly, but professional with intimate knowledge of the area, being locals. We enjoyed our final night at a dinner and show which featured music and dances from the various cultures of multicultural Malaysia!, inviting audience participation...a lot of fun
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Moo Chen Hiew, Other at Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
Responded 2 Mar 2020
Dear H123CBjanetm, Greetings from Dorsett Kuala Lumpur. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Through your feedback we are able to continually improve our product and service offerings, as we strive to exceed our guest’s expectations. We truly value your comments and very much hope to welcome you back for an even more enjoyable stay with Dorsett Kuala Lumpur in near future. Best regards, Victor Hiew Director of Operations
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MRSZZ_10 wrote a review Dec 2022
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam121 contributions29 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed in this hotel recently for 8 nights. We stayed in dorsett residence ,2 bedrooms -one queen size bed and 2 single beds for 4 adults. This room is big enough for more than 4 pax, with all the facilities in the room including automatic washing machine +dryer. Location,walking distance to pavillion,star Hill lot 10 etc etc.Very convenient place sto stay. Swimming pool also available.
Check in was smooth and also check out.
Will stay in again next time.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dorsett Kuala Lumpur, Guest Services / Front Office at Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
Responded 16 Dec 2022
Dear MRSZZ_10, Greetings from Dorsett Kuala Lumpur! Thank you to receive a perfect rating as well as a kind review from you and sharing with others. It is our pleasure to learn that you had a pleasant experience stay with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon to Dorsett Kuala Lumpur. Regards, Henry LOO Director of Operations
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
We do not have any Smoking Floor as entire hotel is a Non Smoking
Answer from traveler_tp24
Taipei, Taiwan21 contributions46 helpful votes
Hi there, sorry about my late reply. Unfortunately, I don't have an answer to your question. Maybe you could ask the hotel directly? Sorry I'm not of much help here.
Answer from Najouamae
London, United Kingdom38 contributions32 helpful votes
The WiFi was great (no issues). We had access to the residence WiFi and the receptionist also gave us access to the hotel WiFi which is separate from the residence, just in case we needed to use it whilst within the hotel grounds.
Belinda wrote a tip 9 Apr
Jakarta, Indonesia12 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t need to rent car while staying here, everything is pretty much walking distance/easy to catch Grab Car"
Read full review
Passport23923294925 wrote a tip Mar 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Find Mister Alexster he will help you with anything. 😁"
Read full review
Santhi S wrote a tip Dec 2023
3 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Arrive as close to check-in as possible. Ensure payment matters are fully acknowledged by the front desk to avoid misunderstanding "
Read full review
Aaron Y wrote a tip Dec 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"They have a pool. "
Read full review
Tour02691225808 wrote a tip Dec 2023
2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The parking gets full so remember to take grab/public transportation if not have to pay the open parking which can be inconvenient at times."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kuala Lumpur area.
PRICE RANGE
RM 263 - RM 364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
dorsett regency kuala lumpur hotel kuala lumpur, regency kuala lumpur, kuala lumpur regency
LOCATION
MalaysiaWilayah PersekutuanKuala Lumpur
NUMBER OF ROOMS
322
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

DORSETT KUALA LUMPUR (R̶M̶ ̶2̶9̶7̶) RM 225: UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews, Price Comparison and 1,262 Photos - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
Which popular attractions are close to Dorsett Kuala Lumpur?
Nearby attractions include Pavilion KL (0.3 km), Rumah Penghulu Abu Seman (0.3 km), and Flight Experience Kuala Lumpur (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Dorsett Kuala Lumpur?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Dorsett Kuala Lumpur?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Dorsett Kuala Lumpur?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Dorsett Kuala Lumpur?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Dorsett Kuala Lumpur?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kampachi Pavilion, Iki Omakase, and OGA Tea & Dining.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Dorsett Kuala Lumpur?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Dorsett Kuala Lumpur have airport transportation?
Yes, Dorsett Kuala Lumpur offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Dorsett Kuala Lumpur?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Dorsett Kuala Lumpur offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Dorsett Kuala Lumpur?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Chinese, and Malay.
All Kuala Lumpur HotelsKuala Lumpur Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Kuala LumpurHotels near Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire