5 Twenty at Ampang Hilir

5 Twenty at Ampang Hilir

Albakri Court 12-14, Persiaran Ampang Hilir Taman U-Thant, Kuala Lumpur 55000 Malaysia
Traveller (31)
Pool & Beach (9)
Breakfast
Dining (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#10 of 241 small hotels in Kuala Lumpur
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
We provide short term accommodation as a guesthouse with housekeeping services. We believe in providing "value for money" type of rooms to suit different type of travellers especially in the prime property of Ampang Hilir aka The Embassy Row. Many of the foreign embassies are within walking distance or a stone's throw away. Surrounded by lush greenery in the middle of the city centre, we are less than 10 min's drive to the iconic Petronas Twin Tower or KLCC. Each of our 3 storey townhouses has 4 bedrooms with individual attached bathrooms. It also comes with a fully equipped kitchen, dining and living room. If you enjoy peace and tranquility, we are definitely the place for you.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Airport transportation
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Secured parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Shuttle bus service
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Kitchenette
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Filipino, Malay

Location

Albakri Court 12-14, Persiaran Ampang Hilir Taman U-Thant, Kuala Lumpur 55000 Malaysia
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 50 out of 100
50
Kuala Lumpur Intl Airport
46.5 km
See all flights
Sultan Abdul Aziz Shah Airport
20.1 km
See all flights
Dato' Keramat
14 minKuala Lumpur Rapid KL
65Reviews7Q+A9Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 44
  • 17
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Jarski2015 wrote a review Feb 2015
Helsinki, Finland1 contribution3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Good location, great friendly hostess and other personnel too. Nice big pool. The hotel is close to the city center but still on nice quiet area. This was one of the best hotels we have ever been, we felt almost like home there :)
Read more
Date of stay: February 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Pool side rooms very quiet, street side some car noises, even though it is quite small street
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
melakaG1234 wrote a review May 2015
Melaka91 contributions96 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Needed to go to the US embassy and thus decided to look for a nearby place to stay. This place is a great little place, at Al bakri Court, a gated and guarded townhouse with a few units being used as hotel. Easy to find, bout 10-15 minutes walk to the embassy. Driving is actually more troublesome than walking there.
I like it as it is better than a hotel. You could park right in front of the doorstep. The rooms were clean and well maintained. We rented a twin bed room for the night on agoda. Bout Rm 180 per night but weekday rate. Apparently if you emailed the person in charge Esther directly, you might even get a better deal.
Our room was on the 3rd floor. The house we stayed was actually a linked-3 storey house. We had an attached bathroom. Other common facilities were shared with other guests. The kitchen was fully equipped with microwave, oven, fridge, toaster, kettle, induction cooking hob, pots and pans, plates, cups, forks and spoons all for guests to use. The 1st floor living room oversees the swimming pool, which was also for guests to use. There were also bbq facilities that you can request for use. Staff was there until 8 or 9 pm only but were friendly and helpful.

You however would need to travel a bit for food. However, 5 min drive out you'll reach many restaurants all around the area.

Nice quiet neighbourhood at night with light traffic along the road. Not too bad for us although you might want to get the pool facing room to avoid facing the road.

Great little place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2015Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mahiramazlan wrote a review Jan 2018
kuala lumpur19 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The building from the outside itself oozes serenity.Expect it to be the same inside. With plenty of plants - i enjoy the sight of even a bit of nature in this saturated concrete-jungle modern days.warm, friendly courteous caretakers, u will feel very much welcome.

I initially booked a room with no tv and upon checking in the staff quickly pointed it out and suggested having 2 kids along that i must be needing a tv which is TRUE :) im so glad she suggested an upgrade to premier (which is just few extra RM) one ought to really read the room description before booking. It was a silly mistake on my end im grateful for the staff’s kind assistance. This place is worth every penny and its near to city centre (klcc,pavilion,bukit bintang)
Read more
Date of stay: January 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Salihah Simone wrote a review Jul 2017
Sant Pol de Mar, Spain86 contributions50 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This was introduction to this shared accommodation also known as Zen Premium. I arrived at KUL to a message asking if I found their driver. After looking around for someone with my name on a sign I resigned myself to buying a SIM card. The number I was provided was in Jakarta not KL. After being put on hold for ten minutes my credit ran out. I purchased more only to be told "the driver said something is wrong with his car he's not coming." After a harrowing Uber ride in a car with no shocks I arrived at the address only to call the hotel number and revive a message that it was no longer in service. After some back and forth with the guard and driver I was handed an envelope. With a key. It was now 1:30am I had arrived at the airport at 9pm. Stumbling up the stairs with my bags and little light I found my Spartan room. No TV, no wifi codes and a door to the balcony that only half opened. The dead sunflower in a vase next to the bed with for dirty pillowcases sealed it. I wanted to leave. I was shown at 6:30am to the cackling of eight women watching TV and eating breakfast in the common area. I presently left the hotel for my meeting and checked in someplace else.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from 5TwentyAmpangHilir, Hostess at 5 Twenty at Ampang Hilir
Responded 4 Jul 2017
Hi Yana, First of all, I am sorry to hear of your unfortunate experience. We do take pride in keeping our guests comfortable. We have checked your booking and would like to state the following based on your review. 1. Your pick up service was not arranged by us at all. We only received your booking from Zen with check in and payment details. We do not even have your email address for correspondence, let alone arranged any transport for you. Likewise, Agoda only allows us to reply to guests recently this year. Previously we do not received any contact details of guests. 2. We are a guesthouse and not a hotel. Our reception closes at 9.00pm but all guests checking in after 9.00pm will receive a folder with their keys. In the folder, there's a welcome letter with your wifi password and further information of the guesthouse including breakfast order , should required. This folder is placed at our 24 hour guardhouse for collection upon the the guest's arrival. We have been practising these since we opened 2 and a half years ago. Registration is only done the next morning. 3. If the contact number given to you by Zen is correct, we have been using this number since we opened and is still active. 4. We do not display real flowers in the room. That was a stalk of decorative Gerbena flower in a small vase, both bought from Ikea to add colours to the room. 5. We do not have TVs in the standard room as the televison set is installed at the living room. Having said that, our Premium rooms do have television sets, minibar, sofa, writing table, walk in wardrobe and double sink bathroom with a separate shower cubicle. Anyway since you left without even informing us, we weren't even sure who you were. We just reported to Zen as per their procedure. Zen is a 3rd party booking engine and we may review our agreement with them. However the best method is to always read about the place you want to stay or book with the property directly to have a clearer expectation. Warm regards. Esther
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
flipflopfiles wrote a review Oct 2017
Amsterdam, The Netherlands309 contributions118 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just perfect and you should go! You'll love it!!
It started with perfect email and whatsapp communication. Fast responds, polite and perfect English.
As I arrived I had a warm welcome, they organized it well. Information, offered a drink, showed me the room and gave me a print with the wifi password and all the information you need. For questions, just go to the reception and they love to help.
It's a small set up guesthouse with a huge pool in a quiet area. You can feel safe as there's a gate around it and 24/7 friendly guards. Inside you'll feel relaxed. The room was just fantastic! It has a balcony (for the smokers: you are allowed to smoke there), Pool or Petronas tower view. Bed is very comfy and lots of pillows, sheets and duvet. You need it if you use the AC. The bathroom is clean, spacious and with all toiletries (shampoo, bathsoap, toothbrush, showercap, soap, razor). Fresh towels every day. Daily cleaning if you prefer. 2 huge closets, small tables and electric kettle with coffee and tea.
The building has a nice (2 stories) set up around the pool. Breakfast (really good!) is at the balcony on the first floor in 'your house'. It seems like small apartments attached which makes the building. So you'll have a fully equipped kitchen (really everything is there!) on the ground floor, first floor is a living room. There are 4 rooms per house. I had a lot of privacy. Wifi is in the room :-) So just sit back and relax at your balcony and enjoy!
Like in a 5 min walk there are bars, restaurants and convenient stores. Also the busstop which takes you to the city centre in 5 min (1 RT). So don't be affraid you're to far away. It's fast and easy to go to the centre and you'll enjoy the neighbourhood! Trust me on this one :-)
Airport is a 45 min drive away. Take a GRAB-car (the way to move around in Malaysia) and will cost you 73 RT (including toll)
Esther is very hospitable and will make your stay unforgettable. Cheers to Nora (brought me to Chinatown) and Mary at the reception. All lovely hosts.

To be short: THIS IS THE PLACE TO BE WHEN VISITING KL
Read more
Date of stay: October 2017
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: I loved the poolview room with balcony. All rooms are good!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steveo wrote a review Jul 2017
Rockhampton, Australia62 contributions43 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed in a four bed townhouse in a group of 8. Overall I was very happy with this place and would recommend without hesitation. Its definately not 5 star the kichen in particular is a little dated (dishwasher out of order) and the wi-fi slow at best.
However the positives are....the space, the pool, the staff (thankyou for your nice welcome Esther) and the location in a quiet area but close to KLCC about 30 min stroll or 5 mins in taxi.
There is a supermarket within a short walk and a few eating places there also.
If you are looking for a place for a family gathering or to meet a group of friends 5 Twenty is a great alternative to a hotel. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brunglite wrote a review Jun 2017
Gundagai82 contributions80 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Having transited many times through KL we have stayed both at the Airport and in the inner city. This trip having a full 24 hours with no sightseeing or shopping planned we decided to look for somewhere a little different to the usual high-rises to relax, laze around a pool and eat delicious local food.
I can echo every positive review about 5 Twenty and from now on it will be our go to KL residence. The main reason is the staff...from Francis who collected us from the airport to Honey in Reception and our wonderful Housekeeper (from Luzon in the Phillipines) we were at all times treated to exceptional service with genuine hospitality extended during our stay. Honey in particular went to extraordinary lengths to assist us in "sorting" an issue with our midnight flight back to Australia which was eventually resolved at the Boarding gate.
Staff can make or break a stay no matter how congenial the suroundings and those at 5 Twenty deserve the highest praise from their employer. They provided us with a true boutique experience and it was just perfect.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from 5TwentyAmpangHilir, hostess at 5 Twenty at Ampang Hilir
Responded 4 Jul 2017
Hi Brunglite, Thank you for your kind comments. We are just happy you had a comfortable stay with us. Your feedback encourages us to continue with our commitment to provide a comfortable stay for all our guests. We hope to see you back in Kuala Lumpur soon. Warm regards. Esther
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MJF22 wrote a review Apr 2017
London79 contributions37 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for 3 nights, it was decent. Rooms a little tired. Location quiet, great cable tv channels and Mary at check in is kind & considered.

I think it needs some painting and decorating a little tired, but lovely pool.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2017Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from 5TwentyAmpangHilir, Host at 5 Twenty at Ampang Hilir
Responded 4 Jul 2017
Hi MJF22, Thank you for your kind review. Your feedback has been noted. We are in the midst of upgrading and changing some furnitures. Linens and towels are also being replaced. We hope we'll be able to greet you with a fresh new look, the next time you are back in Kuala Lumpur. Warm regards. Esther
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lovefood786 wrote a review Mar 2017
Birmingham, United Kingdom62 contributions23 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked a 5 bed house for a 5 night stay here. The house was clean and tidy and the stay was pleasant. There is a functional kitchen and dining area, the staff allow themselves in every morning into the kitchen to set the table and serve breakfast, this might be an issue for some families. Breakfast is good for the price and staff are accommodating with requests. The pool is nice however the gymnasium is very stuffy and Ill equipped.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2016Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from 5TwentyAmpangHilir, Host at 5 Twenty at Ampang Hilir
Responded 4 Jul 2017
Hi Lovefood786, Thank you for your kind comments. The townhouse is ideal for groups of 6-8 people. We try to keep our breakfast set affordable for all despite the challenges of rising cost. The various breakfast sets with cut fruits is only priced at RM15 nett. We have started to introduce bigger portions of breakfast sets at a higher price to cater for those who prefers more. We apologise for the condition of the gym as it is not managed by us. It is managed by the property management who is responsible for the public area. However your feedback will be forwarded to them. Warm regards, Esther
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
fense wrote a review Oct 2016
12 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Nice outlook from picture.
Poorly maintained property, broken pools tile, broken room part, dust always on the floor. Good and friendly house keeping person.
Nicely prepared breakfast but taste is not as expected.
Management argued as they are guesthouse, can not expect as hotel. Value of money is not worth. Not for local, not for small family with child.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2016Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from 5TwentyAmpangHilir, Host at 5 Twenty at Ampang Hilir
Responded 12 Nov 2016
Dear Sei F, Thank you for your comments. We have indeed advised you to cancel your reservation with us at least 2 weeks before your arrival. We also offered to waive the cancellation fee since you booked the standard room with basic non-refundable rate. You do not want the higher category rooms as well . Being a local Malaysian, it is easy to book a room anywhere in Kuala Lumpur especially with a 2 week's time frame. You even threatened us with a lawsuit if we cancel the reservation. Despite being unhappy with our facilities before you even check in and refusing to cancel, we knew you have ulterior motif in staying at our guesthouse. Anyway we wish you well and may you find a comfortable place to stay, the next time you visit Kuala Lumpur. Warm regards. The Management.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from afifah8
1 contribution
hi..you can take airport train KLIA Transit or KLIA Express from KLIA airport or KLIA2 airport and go straight to KL Sentral station.The price is same for both express and transit which is MYR55(adult/one-way) and MYR25 (Child/one way). Then from KL Sentral you have to transfer to another train (putra LRT) towards Ampang Park station. from there you need to get a taxi which is 5 min ride to the hotel. However, for me if you go there more than 2 person, it is more cheaper if you take a taxi /airport limo straight from the airport to that hotel. you also can take an airport bus straight to KL Sentral with price of MYR12 per person instead you take an airport train which is overprice.
Answer from 5TwentyAmpangHilir
Kathmandu, Nepal
Hi Omarlene, We are terribly sorry we did not reply earlier. We only received a notification today. We definitely could prepare breakfast for only RM15 per person. You may choose either Continental, American, Malaysian or Pancake. Breakfast is at your own time as well - anytime is fine with us. Do let us know if you require any other information. Thank you . Warm regards. Esther
Answer from 5TwentyAmpangHilir
Kathmandu, Nepal
Hi Ellen, Since there are 4 persons,I would suggest take either a metered taxi or Grab car, a very useful apps which can be downloaded from the phone. The grab car will cost you less than 28 ringgit from bus terminal to our guesthouse. A metered taxi is less than RM40. Otherwise you need to walk over to the next building to take the train to Ampang station, not to be confused with Ampang Park station. Then take a cab from there. Let me know if you have further queries. See you soon. Warm regards. Esther
woganmog wrote a tip Feb 2019
London, United Kingdom134 contributions143 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pick a room facing the pool"
Read full review
flipflopfiles wrote a tip Oct 2017
Amsterdam, The Netherlands309 contributions118 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I loved the poolview room with balcony. All rooms are good!"
Read full review
shadhiya77 wrote a tip Jan 2017
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia9 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"quiet environment all around premises & nearby city centre"
Read full review
Steve Y wrote a tip Jun 2016
Portsmouth, United Kingdom110 contributions41 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"All the rooms were OK."
Read full review
Kanwal Z wrote a tip Jun 2016
Islamabad, Pakistan2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"pool view rooms with balcony are the best so far."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kuala Lumpur area.
PRICE RANGE
RM 122 - RM 192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
MalaysiaWilayah PersekutuanKuala Lumpur
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

5 TWENTY AT AMPANG HILIR (R̶M̶ ̶2̶2̶3̶) RM 185: See 40 Reviews, Price Comparison and 51 Photos (Kuala Lumpur)

Frequently Asked Questions about 5 Twenty at Ampang Hilir
Which popular attractions are close to 5 Twenty at Ampang Hilir?
Nearby attractions include Hauntu (1.1 km), The LINC KL (1.0 km), and LUTH Building (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at 5 Twenty at Ampang Hilir?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at 5 Twenty at Ampang Hilir?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at 5 Twenty at Ampang Hilir?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to 5 Twenty at Ampang Hilir?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sausage KL Cafe & Deli, Burger & Sushi, and Antipodean Tan & Tan.
Are there opportunities to exercise at 5 Twenty at Ampang Hilir?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does 5 Twenty at Ampang Hilir have airport transportation?
Yes, 5 Twenty at Ampang Hilir offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at 5 Twenty at Ampang Hilir?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at 5 Twenty at Ampang Hilir?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Malay, and Filipino.
Are there any historical sites close to 5 Twenty at Ampang Hilir?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Kuala Lumpur City Gallery (4.1 km), Rumah Penghulu Abu Seman (1.6 km), and Istana Negara (7.3 km).
All Kuala Lumpur HotelsKuala Lumpur Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Kuala LumpurHotels near 5 Twenty at Ampang Hilir
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire