We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Belmont Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
The Belmont Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

55 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 55: English reviews
Wayne, Nebraska
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a very nice stay in the Hotel. It was a very handy location to every thing. The staff was very accommodating. The bar was friendly. We had a nice visit in the morning with the owner! If you want the perfect cookie cutter hotel, do not stay here. It is old and things are different than a Holiday... More 

Helpful?
Thank grebol13
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

Where tis begin?!? You walk into the Belmont and are immediately taken back. The front porch is enormous and lots of tables and chairs. I enjoyed my morning coffee here. The rooms are so inviting. The building itself is incredibly old but newly renovated. I've stayed here several times for work, and since the remodel it is even better. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bmurphy84
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2016

I sought -- and was lucky to find -- shelter at this inn in Abbeville during Hurricane Matthew. I had always wanted to visit Abbeville and this presented the perfect opportunity. When I called the inn, the owner, Renee, was thoughtful and kind about accommodations for those running from the storm, and I decided to make a weekend of it.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sybil F
Sunset, South Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2016

Nice folks, comfortable pet friendly room, allowed our 4 legged family member to stay. Continental breakfast selections minimal, but good coffee!! Thinkers is a small, but very comfortable bar, great service...next time I will pick the burger instead of fish. All in all...good visit and will return.

Helpful?
Thank HappyTraveler201160
Anderson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2016

Although the inn is quaint with a lot of history, our night was awful, due to our next-door neighbor's loud TV at two in the morning. Then, looking forward to an on-site breakfast, we were disappointed to find only grocery granola bars, etc. Overall, a disappointment.

Helpful?
Thank Theresa G
Belmont I, Owner at The Belmont Inn, responded to this review

We regret that your night was not as expected although we do not understand why you didn't call and let us know you had an issue with your room Due to the age of the Inn most folks do not realize how the sound carries. The Inn does state clearly that we are only able to serve a continental breakfast... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2016 via mobile

Just loved the paw spa and restaurant. You can walk through the historic town square. Everyone is friendly in Abbeville. Nothing like the southern hospitality! Ask the staff about the history that has taken place right in the inn. The coffee shop around the corner is a delicious, Christian establishment. Try Nattys if you want a drink or village grill... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lisa A
Belmont I, Owner at The Belmont Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to visit our town. We feel that Abbeville is the best place in the world. You arrive as a guest but leave as family. On your return visit please make time for the Opera House and see a play. Thank you for response More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2016 via mobile

Lovely little find on the square in Abbeville. Lots of character and history. We Love the location. Enjoyed walking around the square. Easy to get to and check in. Very friendly staff. Large, clean rooms. Pleasantly surprised! We felt right at home. We would definitely stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank shelleysewell
Renee S, Owner at The Belmont Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking your time to spend with us Please come again and look at the Opera House Play schedule More 

Patchogue, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2016 via mobile

We had an absolutely wonderful stay at the Belmont! The room was huge and has its own balcony overlooking the square. Everything is clean...I would go as far as saying spotless! The wonderful women that own this hotel are the most gracious hostesses! We always felt like we were coming "home" at the end of the day. I even made... More 

Helpful?
Thank jennifer g
Renee S, Owner at The Belmont Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your response~ we strive to bring everyone "back" home to Abbeville and our goal is to have everyone feel like family!! Here in Abbeville there are always new friends to meet and old friends to reconnect with We all coexist pretty well - unless your a pigeon...... Please come back soon!! More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2016 via mobile

Came here to stay so we could go to the diamond hill mine. Didn't really know what to expect but was very happy with our choice! Very laid back home away from home place. Renee one of the owners was very welcoming and helpful. Great place to stay if you like history. They are refurbishing rooms and adding meeting room... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca S
Renee S, Owner at The Belmont Inn, responded to this review

thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We enjoyed your stay with us and yes its true our small town is closed on Sundays and Mondays. We struggle with trying to keep the small town atmosphere and incorporating main stream activities. Please send us photos of your treasures More 

USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2016 via mobile

This hotel is full of old fashioned southern charm. The decor was spot on. The room was very clean, had a nice view of the town square, and the beds were comfortable. The shower was hot with plenty of water pressure. It's a great place with lots of history. We enjoyed our stay.

Helpful?
Thank Lynn E
Renee S, Owner at The Belmont Inn, responded to this review

thank you so much for choosing The Inn. We so appreciate folks like you- makes all the hard work worth it. Hope to see you guys come back for a play week end! More 

34 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abbeville
20.7 km away
Hampton Inn Greenwood
Hampton Inn Greenwood
#1 of 12 in Greenwood
285 reviews
19.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Greenwood
17.2 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Greenwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 12 in Greenwood
91 reviews
20.1 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Greenwood
18.8 km away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Greenwood, SC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Belmont Inn was erected in 1903. We have 25 rooms. Ranging from double twin, to double Queen, Queen, King and a Suite with its own balcony overlooking The Abbeville Opera House. There are 2 upstairs parlors with Trudys at The Belmont serving in the dining room. On the ground floor Tinkers Alley is a full service bar with a Pet Salon and The Belmont Boutique Our veranda seats 68 as is. We accommodate groups for play packages and our in house Murder Mystery Week Ends as well as weddings and high school reunions. We offer free hi speed wi if and have an Electric Car Charger. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Belmont Inn

Address: 104 East Pickens Street, Abbeville, SC 29620
Region: United States > South Carolina > Abbeville
Price Range: RM378 - RM476 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Belmont Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Belmont Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Belmont Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Every room is beautiful so whichever one you pick you will be comfy”
 of 5 bubbles hello2665, 17 Feb 2016 | Read review
“For groups, there are three rooms that can connect. We loved that!”
 of 5 bubbles JJJJ54, 15 Dec 2015 | Read review
“We had two rooms and both were lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles 589jenniferg, 21 May 2015 | Read review
“Not sure there is a bad room in the whole inn. Haven't been in all of them though. Room 18 looks down into the square just in front of the opera house from the second floor.”
 of 5 bubbles 217ElizabethC, 29 Apr 2015 | Read review
“One of the couples in our group stayed in the honeymoon suite, (the room Jimmy Carter stayed in back in 2003) and they told us the light from the hallway comes through the skylight over the door into the room, and it was difficult to sleep. The other two couples rooms were just fine.”
 of 5 bubbles jgwisdom, 30 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay