We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Americas Best Value Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Americas Best Value Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

38 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 38: English reviews
Argyle, Texas
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The best thing about this place was that it was a suite and much larger than normal rooms. The fold out couch that our kids slept on was a joke. The "breakfast" was even less than the standard yogurt and fruit. We were happy to have an affordable place to stay on short notice but I wouldn't stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jme0
abviathenstx, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We thank you for providing us with the reviews of our services and facilities. The review will help us make major improvements. We apologize if you had unpleasant experiences during your stay with us. We sincerely apologize for all the trouble you had to go through. We will take this feedback seriously and take appropriate steps to improve...

Ontario
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our room was very clean...and I am fussy.....breakfast was nothing....shouldn't even bother really....we were the only ones in the place...that felt Wierd....read reviews of others after the fact....wouldn't have gone there...but have chosen worse places and got a refund and left.....parking lot was full by 10 o'clock....but for the bar attached....that concerned me...although no probs.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank retireeOntario
abviathenstx, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We sincerely thank you for providing us with the review of our services and facilities. We also thank you for your positive remark about our services and facilities. We are delighted to know that our services and facilities pleased you. We hope to see you again in future. Also, we hope you will recommend us to your friends...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Copied from my Yelp review. I wish I had looked here before we stayed :( American Horror Story should book this location NOW for their next season!!!! We stayed at this horror motel a couple of weeks ago for our first trip to Canton Trade Days. I asked the front desk person if the room was non-smoking (my son has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lysa H
abviathenstx, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We thank you for providing us with the reviews of our services and facilities. The review will help us make major improvements. We apologize if you had unpleasant experiences during your stay with us. We sincerely apologize for all the trouble you had to go through. We will take this feedback seriously and take appropriate steps to improve...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

this place is disturbingly disgusting! the room were filthy, there were roaches everywhere, and the furniture had holes all in it. a bed was literally missing out of the room! do not stay! you are better off sleeping in your car or on the side of the road.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Georgana
abviathenstx, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for staying with us. I apologize that some aspects of the hotel didn’t meet your expectations. We take real pride in providing a pleasant guest experience, and I regret that we let you down. We take the guest experience seriously and hope you will give our friendly staff another chance to satisfy you in the future. Sincerely,...

Texas
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was the filthiest room I have ever stayed in! Smelly with spiderwebs in ceiling. The bathroom was moldy & stained. Wet nasty towels under the sink. Dead roaches in the carpet. The filter in the ac was gross. We killed 4 roaches with one in the bed. We had no choice to stay, the room was prepaid. The breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mountainfever513
abviathenstx, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments. I’m terribly sorry that a few issues detracted from your stay with us. We take real pride in providing the best possible guest experience and regret that you were not entirely satisfied. The bug bites are unlikely to have happened here and more likely to have happened at a local park or recreational venue....

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

I'm guessing this was a swinging place in the 60's, but not so much now. The clerk gave us an occupied room.  Thank goodness we noticed the blinds were open and we could see the occupants inside before we opened the door. We were given a different room. The room was clean, but not the bathroom. I found a live...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank K D
Houston, Texas
Reviewed 18 June 2016

The staff was new and not trained. I was given wrong information and they wanted to charge me for their error. 1st room was soooo hot that I'm sure Satin himself lived there. They made me stay saying that it would cool if I tucked the curtain, 3hours later it was still smoldering because the ac was only blowing low...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TravelingEducator2
Montgomery, Texas
Reviewed 9 March 2016

Myself and a friend traveled to canton for the weekend, when we arrived at our room it was still dirty. There were several black hairs in the shower, black hairs in the bed, and beer bottles laying on the ground outside of our door. When we called up to the front desk to ask for the wifi password I was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank psewell8204
abviathenstx, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Americas Best Value Inn and Suites - Athens TX for your recent stay in our area. Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken: • Front desk staff received additional training in the language, courteous, helpful manner in which they...

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 23 November 2015

Nice location. Very close to downtown. It is very quiet. very nice and big property. We (Myself and my family) enjoyed a lot while travelled from Houston. Kids love to stay at this Motel. I, definitely would recommend my friends. We will looking for future stay at this motel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bharat B
NEW YORK
Reviewed 30 August 2015

I booked a room this past week, as other properties in the area were either far more expensive, or weren't available all three nights, or both. I crossed my fingers and hoped for the best. A pleasant greeting at the front desk helped my optimism. And it turns out, the complaints in the other reviews were largely not my experience....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank David W

19 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Athens
1.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express - Hotel & Suites
2.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Plus Royal Mountain Inn & Suites
30.3 km away
Comfort Suites Near Cedar Creek Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.4 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Gun Barrel City
31.9 km away
Days Inn Gun Barrel City
Days Inn Gun Barrel City
#2 of 2 in Gun Barrel City
87 reviews
2.6 km away
Super 8 Athens TX
Super 8 Athens TX
#3 of 7 in Athens
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Americas Best Value Inn is situated in Athens. Guests are served a complimentary breakfast. In addition to an outdoor pool and self parking, Americas Best Value Inn features air conditioning in public areas. Complimentary wireless Internet access is available in public areas. Guest parking is complimentary. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 716 E Tyler St, Athens, TX 75751-2112 (Formerly Spanish Trace Inn)
Region: United States > Texas > Athens
Price Range: RM266 - RM466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Athens
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Americas Best Value Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't stay here until it's cleaned up!”
 of 5 bubbles Mountainfever513, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay at this motel if you expect comfort”
 of 5 bubbles johnandpam2015, 25 Mar 2015 | Read review
“don't wait until late to get a room. slim pickings!”
 of 5 bubbles 705marilynl, 28 Sep 2014 | Read review
“There are 2 hot tub suites.( one is heart shaped)”
 of 5 bubbles ricknixon, 9 Sep 2014 | Read review
“no positive comment.”
 of 5 bubbles lisacZ7044BW, 5 Aug 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay