We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

249 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 243: English reviews
Start your review of Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I came for one night positively- the hotel should be closed. The blonde guy at the reception was totally unfriendly- this was an omen once in the room the WI Fi totally inaccessible despite my calls for assistance- I had legal work to send that was affected- they did not care- the TV was not working- they did not care-...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pagan L
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake, responded to this review

Pagan, first and foremost, I would like to offer you my apologies for the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay with us. Our team's first priority is making sure that every guest has a comfortable stay, and this time we really missed the mark. We regret that our staff not able to resolve the issue while you were here....

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When my, baby, and I arrived, there was nobody at the front desk for an extended period of time. There was a sign up with numerous 1st grade level grammatical errors (pictured). Behind the front desk was a large TV screen flashing the word SECURITY. when a housekeeper saw that we were not being helped, she yelled some inappropriate choice...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sadoll6360
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake, responded to this review

I was so disappointed to read your experience. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience you experienced. This is not the type of service our hotel is known for, and I am taking incident this with my team members to check what went wrong and to ensure this never happens again in future. We hope you will give us an...

Cupertino
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Business trip, few minutes walk to Hyatt, close to good restaurants and any destination in Austin heartland about 10 bucks by Lyft or Uber. Excellent night life on Congress Ave by the night and Bats at The Statesman (bridge) is a stone throw away. Positives END there. At check-in desk, there was nobody when I went. Had to wait almost...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Murali R
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake, responded to this review

Murali, thank you for your evaluation. We regret that our hotel and amenities did not meet your expectations. Our hotel is designed for guests staying a week or more at a time, who prefer a home-like living experience. So we certainly understand why you may have found our facilities different than traditional hotels. Having said that, we apologize for the...

Regina, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Let me start by saying that I loved my room and the location of the hotel. It is, 5 minutes walk from the spectacular trails along the lake, 5 minutes from the Congress Ave Bridge (bat bridge, 15 minutes walk from the restaurants and bars on 4 west, and 20 minutes walk from 6 east, and right on the edge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NamedePlumes
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake, responded to this review

Namede, thank you for choosing our hotel. We are pleased to know you loved our convenient location. Our goal is to maintain the highest standards, and we apologize for falling short. We appreciate you letting us know how we can improve as well as what we are doing right. We look forward to seeing you again and have the opportunity...

Fountain Hills, Arizona
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

The price is right but in this case you get what you pay. Run down and a bit dirty. Not terrible but noticeable. Not everything fully functional but ok. All was pretty good till we discovered the cockroach in the bathroom. Wouldn't recommend this facility because of that alone.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cliff K
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake, responded to this review

Cliff, thank you for being a guest at our hotel. We sincerely apologize for the cleanliness issues you encountered which resulted in a disappointing stay. We are working with our Housekeeping team to reiterate the importance of our daily checklists to make sure this isn't repeated. I will share your feedback with appropriate individuals, as we begin formulating plans for...

Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewed 8 March 2017

The hotel is located within fairly long walking distance of downtown and the capitol area in one direction and of the interesting SoCo (South Congress) area in the other direction, but that's about as much good as we could say. We arrived early and were told we could leave our bags and check in at 2:30, but were given a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank palekh
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing details about your stay. Please know that your experience is not representative of our usual performance, and we truly regret falling short of your expectations. We will discuss the issues you mentioned at our future team meetings and will focus on ways to improve in these areas. On a positive note, we are happy our location...

Colorado Springs, CO
Reviewed 6 February 2017

We were scheduled to stay at this property for two nights, arrived, parked the car easily and when we went through the main doors I noticed that the carpet was dirty, the doors needed to be painted and as we approached the front desk, there was a screen announcing that we were being recorded. Is this area not safe? The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LaViajera007
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake, responded to this review

Thanks for being our guest and taking the time to share your review! It is obvious from your comments that we didn't live up to your expectations. Please accept my apology for the inconvenience you experienced. I will be working with staff diligently so we are more consistent in our service delivery. We encourage you to try us again in...

Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

The worst room service to clean the room based on the fact you are staying overnight and it is the next step from a Austin crack house and they need to to do better. As a business owner from houston I will ever come back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackie A
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake, responded to this review

Jackie, Thank you for selecting our hotel for your recent visit to Austin. I am sorry our hotel services and amenities did not meet your expectations. Our housekeeping team is dedicated to providing clean suites for our guests to enjoy. I will follow up to determine where the failures occurred and will set a plan to ensure the team is...

Navi Mumbai, India
Reviewed 10 January 2017

This property is located just south of colorado river and one of the best location if you like to be at quite place for spending a night. There are plenty of restaurants around this property all at walking distances. Lady bird lady lake, 1st street bridge, The Long Center for the Performing Arts, zilker park, all are just 5 mins...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vishak2000
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Extended Stay America- Austin - Downtown - Town Lake and for recommending us online. It’s nice to know you found your room to be comfortable and our location in the heart of Austin was perfect for your needs. We appreciate you mentioning us to be a great value and...

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 25 November 2016

We stayed two nights at this great centrally located accommodation. It was quiet, comfortable and included a grab and go breakfast of muffin, muesli bars, coffee/tea/hot choc and oats. Kitchen facilities were good and room was spacious. Everything we needed was there. Easy walk to the city and along the Lake was lovely. Lots of food trucks and restaurants nearby.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fmckay
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for your fabulous review! We are thrilled to read you enjoyed a comfortable stay with us at Extended Stay America -Austin - Downtown - Town Lake. Thank you for your wonderful comments about our convenient location, spacious suites with an added convenience of a kitchenette, and the ease and variety of our grab-and-go breakfast. Our goal is to...

32 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
Downtown
Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St.
Hyatt Regency Austin
#18 of 200 in Austin
1,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake

Address: 507 S 1st St, Austin, TX 78704-1207 (Formerly Homestead Studio Suites)
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Price Range: RM537 - RM1,223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Extended Stay, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Studio Suites Austin - Downtown -Town Lake Hotel Austin
Extended Stay America Austin
Homestead Suites Austin
Austin Homestead Suites
Homestead Austin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay in another hotel for better rooms.”
MURALIR_13, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The back of the hotel backs on a creek, and is very quiet. The west side of the hotel is on a major street, so I would avoid those rooms.”
NamedePlumes, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you ask for kitchen gear before you go to your room--nothing is provided ahead of time!”
LaViajera007, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We stayed on ground floor opposite car park and it was fairly quiet, but it was a Monday/Tuesday. Might be noisier on the weekend.”
fmckay, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Preview the room before accepting it?”
464hansp, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5