We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Motel 6 Austin - Midtown

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Motel 6 Austin - Midtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

42 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 40: English reviews
Start your review of Motel 6 Austin - Midtown
 Click to rate
Toronto
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I'm always thankful to Motel 6 for allowing pets and having clean rooms and good prices, but this is the second Motel 6 in as many nights where the lack of working WiFi was met with a helpless shrug by the staff. It's 2017, y'all! I shouldn't have to crouch outside the motel office in the rain with my computer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christopher C
6Team, Brand Experience Team at Motel 6 Austin - Midtown, responded to this review

Dear Christopher, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We strive to deliver a great guest experience, but it sounds as though we did not perform to our usual standards in this case. Please know the various issues you describe are an exception to our guest commitment and as such, we apologize. We encourage you to contact...

Reviewed 28 September 2016

What an awful experience. Stayed in the room for about 20 minutes before I made the decision to just leave the hotel and find a new one. The room was completely disgusting. First of all it was a non-smoking room, but the room smelled of cigarettes. There were stains on the sheets and bed covers, flies in the room, paint...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank daniel p
danny p, General Manager at Motel 6 Austin - Midtown, responded to this review

Hi Sir. Sorry for the inconvenience caused during the stay. We did reach out to you but it went to voicemail and it said it was full.

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 7 September 2016

My Husband and I traveled to Austin for a weekend getaway. We booked this hotel as it was not to far from the city center and close enough to the outdoor activities we planned on participating in. The first red flag was the empty, fenced off swimming pool with a picnic table randomly placed within it. We arrived at our...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank ecgoudeau
danny p, General Manager at Motel 6 Austin - Midtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. We here at motel 6 value your opinion. You are right. We do not have Refrigerator , microwave or iron-ironing board (available on request ) in the rooms. Microwave Is available in the office 24*7 .Wifi is free at the property. Sometime when too many people are connected at once, it might be little slow....

New York City, New York
Reviewed 8 December 2015

This place is utterly disgusting. We woke up to bugs in our room. I posted a picture. We alerted the manager and his only suggestion was that we find another hotel that might be better! Expedia quickly relocated us. To add insult to injury: The towels are for two year old and very hard Lots of strange people traffic -...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jackie D
Austin, Texas
Reviewed 28 September 2015

Prostitute's knocking on my door. Not safe to park your car there. Non-smoking room smell like smoke. I step in to the shower and the soon as I put my first foot into the tub I wipe out. Wasn't able to get off the floor for thirty minutes. When I was able to walk to the front dest to report...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank josephg582015
Poulton, null, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 June 2015 via mobile

This motel was just okay. Everywhere was booked up because of the X games so we were forced to travel out of town to stay here. We were grateful to the lovely staff who were able to give us a last minute booking. But that was about it. I think there were people here who actually live in this motel....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jade M
Memphis, Tennessee
Reviewed 28 May 2015

I have been consistently pleased with Motel 6, as simple as they are, until this place. Easily the worst hotel room I have had in the U.S. Mold in the shower, gunk on the bathroom walls, sheets wouldn't stay on the bed. I was travelling with friends, and their room was no better. No amenities, but could purchase those little...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank FLPK
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Austin - Midtown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure in delivering on the commitment during your recent stay. Please know that the conditions you describe are atypical to Motel 6 standards for quality, and we apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. Motel 6...

Olathe, Kansas
Reviewed 13 April 2015

Went to Austin to watch the Motorola GP races and didn't want to spend a fortune on the room. The further south we looked the higher the price so we choose this based on price. The place is in what appears to be a bit of a run down area. It also looks like there may be some rooms being...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank goldwingpilots
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Austin - Midtown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure in delivering on the commitment during your recent stay. We strive to provide a comfortable night's rest and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory due to the comfort issues you describe. We encourage you...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 19 February 2015

Rooms look newly renovated. Service at front desk as friendly. But everything was just a little... off. Cold water knob in the shower didn't work, so I had to call the front desk about that. They sent up maintenance promptly and he fixed it within 15 minutes of calling. Shower curtain hung poorly because fixture wasn't screwed in right. No...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank EqLiu
danny p, Manager at Motel 6 Austin - Midtown, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your valuable opinion. We are sorry for the not so good experience. We always try to make sure that our guest are happy. About the amenities in the room - we only have soaps. We do carry shampoos , toothpaste, toothbrush etc, but its in the vending machine located inside the front lobby. We don't...

Reviewed 18 September 2014 via mobile

The worst place I've ever been too. Toilets were clogged. Towels and wash clothes are dirty, dust in closets, under renovation, checked in at night was not informed of it. Wouldn't let me use bathroom in main entrance when I informed them my toilet was clogged. Unfriendly Staff. Had a bad interaction with Neeley and was told that they'll talk...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Dominique M

45 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (27)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
Econo Lodge North Austin
#143 of 197 in Austin
321 reviews
Americas Best Value Inn
#163 of 197 in Austin
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Roof Inn Austin North
#150 of 197 in Austin
146 reviews
Days Inn Austin Crossroads
#159 of 197 in Austin
509 reviews
St. Johns
Orangewood Suites
Orangewood Suites
#138 of 197 in Austin
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Motel 6 Austin Midtown is located off I-35 at St Johns Ave within 5 miles of U.T. Austin, LBJ Library, Texas state capitol and governor's mansion. 6th Street Entertainment is only 5.5 miles away. Free Wi-Fi available in all modern guest rooms. POOL IS CLOSED FOR REPAIRS. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Motel 6 Austin - Midtown

Address: 7100 North I-35, Austin, TX 78752 (Formerly Baymont Inn & Suites Austin North)
Region: United States > Texas > Austin > St. Johns
Price Range: RM310 - RM687 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Motel 6 Austin - Midtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Motel-6 so you can book your Motel 6 Austin - Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baymont Inn Austin North / Austin Highland Mall Hotel Austin
Austin Baymont Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Motel 6 Austin - Midtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Infested with bugs - Beware”
  • More Waterbugs
  • Room view
 of 5 bubbles 199jackied, 7 Dec 2015 | Read review
“I don't think there are any "good" rooms”
 of 5 bubbles goldwingpilots, 13 Apr 2015 | Read review
“They all seem to be great with new paint and amenities throughout the entire property.”
 of 5 bubbles MitchJ374, 27 Jul 2014 | Read review
“Stay at a different hotel!!”
 of 5 bubbles Cjdblt, 15 Apr 2014 | Read review
“Run away from this horribly managed motel. (I have many TripAdvisor reviews & 99% are positive.)”
  • Mildew in bowl AFTER I partially cleaned it.
 of 5 bubbles jrdtsta, 9 Mar 2014 | Read review
5 of 5