We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

West Mountain Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
West Mountain Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

354 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for West Mountain Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 353: English reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2016

The Three Mountain Inn almost feels like hoe away from home; the staff is a group of friendly people...breakfast and dinner are served; and the rooms are charming. During spring summer and autumn the scenery is beautiful. There are many outdoor activities--the staff can tell you 'what' is 'where'.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 737viktord
Jackson, New Jersey
Reviewed 15 October 2016

A beautiful old home that is lovingly and meticulously cared for. We were greeted by the warm and helpful staff. Incredible dinner, cheese and fruit platter afterward, and breakfast the next morning. Amazing view from the front lawn. Best sleep we had in years. Visit the alpacas next door! We definitely will be coming back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JJ2105
Anaheim, California
Reviewed 13 October 2016

This was such a charming property and staff was very friendly. It reminded me of the movie White Christmas! They had it decorated really cute for fall. We ate dinner in the dining room and the food was good. There is no TV in the room but they have one in the living room area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PJMitt
Oregon City, Or
Reviewed 11 October 2016

We booked two adjoining rooms at the beautiful West Mt. Inn as one stop visiting Vermont on a birthday road trip! Because the trip was in celebration of our 70th birthdays, we were up-graded to Wes's Suite and the adjacent double room. The rooms were well-appointed and beautiful. The staff was more than helpful showing us the inn and cheerfully...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andiatmeadowmew
WestMountainInn, Front Office Manager at West Mountain Inn, responded to this review

I'm so glad you visited the Inn again and had another great time! We are always honored to be the chosen spot for a special celebration. Hope you don't wait another 30 years before you come back!

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 26 September 2016

We booked a room at the West Mountain Inn as part of a three day get away. We chose this particular Inn based on prior reviews which were mostly favorable. The positives are the location and the food. Our room overlooked a mountain and the breakfast which was included was the best I have eaten. Now the negatives: while the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kate0101
WestMountainInn, Front Office Manager at West Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, both positive and negative. I've looked back at our reservation book and I believe I know which room you are in. I was very concerned about the "peeling wallpaper" so I went up to inspect the room. I could not find any peeling wallpaper, but I did notice some of the seams were showing. It's...

Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

This was our third B&B in as many nights during our short trip to Vermont and unfortunately this one came in a distant third in comparison. The staff was rather disinterested, the room was clean but had no TV and an overworked A/C window unit, the shower head almost came off, the breakfast was uninspired, and the whole place could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen D
amiebe, Owner at West Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Dear Kathleen, I am so sorry that you were disappointed in your stay here at the Inn. I appreciate your feedback and do take it very seriously. I think the most distressing comment to me was that you felt our staff was disinterested. I am here at the Inn on many nights and am always interested in all of our...

Woodstock, Illinois
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

What a beautiful Inn. We enjoyed sitting in the library reading and drinking tea, sitting on the mountain top watching the moon rise and walking around the house and garden. Our room, the Ethan and Ira Allen room was just my style...rustic with barn wood walls and antique furnishings. We considered going to town for dinner, but after seeing the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank laurals
WestMountainInn, Front Office Manager at West Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. I'm glad you were able to relax...we like to say that we are a little "peace" of Vermont!

Indian Rocks Beach, Florida
Reviewed 9 September 2016

We chose to have a quiet weekend to ouselves rather than a big Anniverary party. I called and reserved two nights at West Mt. Inn. When we arrived we were told we had the Honeymoon Suite! Absolutely beautiful room. Each morning we were treated to menu ordered meals of choice. Scrumptious. Breads, jams,eggs, french toast, omelettes and more. All organic...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joanjimc
WestMountainInn, Front Office Manager at West Mountain Inn, responded to this review

We feel honored to be the place you chose to spend such a momentous occasion! Congratulations on 50 years together!

baltimore, md
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

I was expecting to love this place but found myself disappointed on several levels. One, they charged $17 additional dollars per night for each of my two kids. One child is two and the other eight. This is not well advertised on their website, if at all. When I called before booking they had said for kids two and under...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rddysum
amiebe, Owner at West Mountain Inn, responded to this review

I am so sorry that you were disappointed in your stay here at the Inn! Our goal is for every guest to have a wonderful stay and a terrific Vermont experience. Regarding the charge for the children, I am very sorry for the poor communication on our end. Since our rates include breakfast, we do charge for children and extra...

Phoenix
Reviewed 28 August 2016

Must say that the staff and team were great. We were all set for a outside wedding, but the heavens opened and it rained like cats and dogs. The staff kept everyone dry , helped move locations (the Barn) and help create a wonderful a day afterall. the hotel was quaint and pretty.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BigDogAz
WestMountainInn, Front Office Manager at West Mountain Inn, responded to this review

When you say "the heavens opened up" you were surely not exaggerating!!! I'm glad you had a good time anyway. It was a beautiful ceremony even if it was plan B.

128 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (81)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
2:15
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (47)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arlington
13.0 km away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 15 in Manchester
234 reviews
17.6 km away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 15 in Manchester
539 reviews
18.9 km away
Hampton Inn Bennington
Hampton Inn Bennington
#1 of 8 in Bennington
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
The Ira Allen House Bed and Breakfast
1.2 km away
Arlington Inn
Arlington Inn
#5 of 8 in Arlington
136 reviews
21.6 km away
Four Chimneys Inn
Four Chimneys Inn
#1 of 9 in Bennington
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Visitors to the West Mountain Inn are surrounded by spacious, antique-filled guest rooms, fantastic views, and 150 acres of gardens, lawns, and woodlands. Guests can explore miles of trails, visit alpacas, walk our labyrinth, flyfish or canoe the Battenkill River and relax in the Adirondack chairs on the front lawn. The Inn’s wood-paneled dining room provides the perfect setting for the lavish breakfasts and sumptuous 5-course dinners created daily by our award-winning chef. ... more   less 

Additional Information about West Mountain Inn

Address: 144 Mountain View Dr, Intersection River Rd and Rte 313, Arlington, VT 05250-9116
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Arlington
Price Range: RM793 - RM1,248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — West Mountain Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your West Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Mountain Hotel Arlington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from West Mountain Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
1 month ago
Belmont, California
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from West Mountain Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are great, but try the Daniel Webster Suit, it has been renovated and is very cozy.”
 of 5 bubbles kathleensV7330PN, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Every room is unique.”
 of 5 bubbles mysticalfoodie, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We like the second floor.”
 of 5 bubbles gretagirl2016, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The accessible room is on the first floor; it is large and has an accessible shower.”
 of 5 bubbles 737viktord, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a remodeled room. Be aware that your voices may be overheard by your neighbors.”
 of 5 bubbles Kate0101, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5