We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Panoramas (5)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

950 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
See the most recent reviews
Showing 931: English reviews
Flemington, New Jersey
Reviewed 29 June 2016

Clean rooms. Free parking. Free breakfast and 24 hr shuttle to Metro and Old town is great. Gary rhe shuttle driver, and all drivers, are excellent.Note that shuttle or car is key since trapped by highways.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank scottsO8119IY
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review

Thank for for the great rating on your stay and the drivers. I agree - we have the best drivers. Hope to have you as our guest again.

Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

We really enjoy staying at Hampton Inn, so we thought we knew what we were getting when we booked here. Not the case. This hotel is in desperate need for an update. The carpet and furnishings are really worn down and the room had a strange smell. The shower head was broken so it was like standing under a garden...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review

Lisa, I am very sorry that we did not meet your expectations on your recent stay with us. I hope you mentioned your concerns with the front desk while you were here so that we could have addressed them right away. I hope you will visit with us again.

Frederick, United States
Reviewed 27 June 2016

I booked this hotel for business trip. It was very busy with lots of families and tourist groups. Probably due to summer vacation season. One customer blocked the walkway from handicapped parking to hotel entrance with van and baggage while unloading baggage which made it impossible for those parked in that area to use crosswalk into hotel. Parking in aback...

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donna B
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments about your visit with us. You are right, it is that time of year for summer vacationers visiting the city. I hope to have you as our guest again soon.

Hollywood
Reviewed 25 June 2016

Loved our stay! Except for pool being closed too early and having to wait for a shuttle that had no air conditioning! Overall would definitely stay again! Great room and close proximity to Washington, D.C.!

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Virginia L
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review

Thank you, Virginia, for the great rating on your stay with us. I am sorry that you felt the pool closing at 10:00 pm was too early. I will discuss this with the management. Hope to have you back with us again.

West Chester, United States
Reviewed 23 June 2016

The beds and pillows were super comfy and a welcome sight after travelling and touring during the day! The complimentary van which takes you into Alexandria was priceless! We had dinner in Alexandria and walked around afterwards with our family of four and the van drove us there and back without much of a wait!! Excellent service!

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jeanette D
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review

Thank you for the great comments on your stay with us. The shuttle service is one of the amenities enjoyed by our guests that makes accessing DC so much easier. Hope you will plan a return trip.

Williamsburg, Virginia
Reviewed 22 June 2016

Great stay, however it is tricky to get into, be in the farthest right lane and take service road. This hotel has a wonderful shuttle service to Old Towne. Very friendly and courtesous drivers. Also this hotel changes rates several times a day. Keep calling until you get the rate that works for you. It's kind of like booking a...

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 994rhondas
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review

Thank you for the excellent rating on your visit with us. We really appreciate our guest's feedback and will share it with the rest of the staff.

Cincinnati, United States
Reviewed 20 June 2016

Yep....you read that right. Someone actually took a #2 in the hallway. After the hotel cleaned it up they sprayed powder-scented air freshener in the hallway. It smelled like a dirty diaper for the rest of my stay. Classy joint! Other than that, the hotel is pretty outdated and the common areas appear dingy and rundown. I definitely thought twice...

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cheryl T
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review

I am very sorry about the experiences you noted on your recent visit. We will discuss your comments with the other staff members. I hope you will consider staying with us again when your travels bring you back to the area.

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 20 June 2016

Traveled to DC for a weekend to see the Phillies play the National and the Hampton Hotel was close to the park and also very close to Mt Vernon. The accomodations were first rate and the breakfast was top tier for being complementary. The free shuttle to Old Alexander was a bonus and very efficient. This was first time staying...

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chris H
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your stay. I hope you will visit with us again to go to a baseball game. Also, we are not far from FedEx Field if you are planning a football trip.

Texas
Reviewed 20 June 2016

We recently stayed four nights to explore Washington DC. The staff is very friendly and very helpful. However, we had multiple issues with the hotel. The breakfast was sub-average. They kept running out of things and it took awhile to refill (especially the waffles - a popular item). The were also out of fruit most of the time. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bphpsu
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review

Thank you for taking a few minutes to comment on your stay at our hotel. We appreciate feedback, both good and bad, so we can correct any items promptly and ensure all of our guests receive excellent service and amenities. I will share your feedback with the rest of the staff. I do hope you will visit with us again...

Reviewed 18 June 2016

No charge for parking unlike other Hilton properties in the area an easy access to metro. Had to be at Washington Nationals stadium at 7:15am and was able to get there in 10 mins via the highway right outside the hotel through Maryland. Quick drive to Old Town and the facility was well kept and staff extremely nice. There were...

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Terri L
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the great rating and nice comments on your stay. Hope to have you with us again soon for another baseball game. Go Nats!

386 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (56)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (292)
Viewed
Amenities (81)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (48)
Viewed
King Studio Suite (66)
Viewed
Dining (42)
Viewed
The Hotel (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
Homewood Suites Alexandria
#1 of 53 in Alexandria
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Newly renovated and upgraded two bedded rooms to 2 queen size beds. Free Hot Breakfast Bar each morning. Free shuttle service to Historic Old Town Alexandria and Huntington Metro Station. Meeting and banquet space to accommodate 250 people. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South

Address: 5821 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Price Range: RM607 - RM1,281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South Hotel Alexandria
Hampton Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Hampton Inn
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#14 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#24 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South staff and other travellers.
22 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (22)

Questions? Get answers from Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms quiet despite the nearby highway”
 of 5 bubbles edwardm481, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had 2 rooms joining and the end of hall, near the stairs, worked well.”
 of 5 bubbles 326redb, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“despite being near the highway we've never had noise complaints.”
 of 5 bubbles joebobbilly, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Pick any other hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles JML-JPL, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you avoid road noise...Ask for rooms that face away from the main road, and/or higher floors.”
 of 5 bubbles TA10001, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5