We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

662 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
See the most recent reviews
Showing 645: English reviews
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Reviewed 17 September 2014

I recently stayed at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Old Town Alexandria for 2 nights. The hotel is in need of renovation as it smells musty and old and the beds are not quite up to standard.. There was a fire alarm at 3 a.m. one of the mornings. they were aware I was handicapped as they had taken me to my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank urcinnamongirl
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear urcinnamongirl, Thank you for your comment on your recent stay with us. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We're sorry you did not get a good night's rest due to the inconvenience you suffered from the false alarm so early in the morning....

Cupar
Reviewed 15 September 2014

Great hotel. Couldn't fault anything although I had to report no hot water for shower. Turned out to be a fault with the 6th floor pump. Staff moved luggage to alternative room without any fuss whilst we were in DC and left vouchers for free breakfast for inconvenience. Rooms immaculate beds comfy all amenities in room including microwave. Buffet breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rod W
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Rod W, Thank you for your complimentary review of our hotel. We are happy that you were please with your accommodations, location and service. We love knowing we have accomplished our goal of providing you with a great overall experience. We're happy to know you would return, we look forward to it.

Reviewed 14 September 2014 via mobile

Hotel staff is GREAT; honestly some of the best staff members I've ever meet!!! They definitely made our stay everything it was. Front desk staff had AWESOME hospitality especially Peter, Roland and Obed (you could tell they loved their job). Those three made sure everything we needed was taken care of and went above and beyond to make our stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maybelline J
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Maybelline J, We appreciate the great comments. We take pride in your positive name recognition of our staff, feedback on our services and hotel. It is our utmost pleasure to have served you. It is our goal to provide our guest a great overall experience. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and anticipating you returning to serve you...

Orlando
Reviewed 10 September 2014

So many things to say about this hotel. Price: Fantastic, my husband and I stopped here on our way to Connecticut without any reservations and the King Bed room we were given was only $100. Staff: The woman who assisted us at check-in was polite had a wonderful smile and was extremely helpful. She asked if we planned to visit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JenLK07
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear JenLK07, Thank you so much, for your comment we always look forward to hearing from our guest on where we can improve. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. Glad we were able to provide you with a service that was accommodating, affordable, clean...

Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed 2 nights here as part of an escorted tour of the NE USA. The hotel is located about 7 miles south of Washington DC and was the base for our trips into the capital. The rooms were clean and spacious and the beds were comfortable. The hotel lies on the flight path into Reagan National airport so there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thrombeldinbar
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Thrombeldinbar, Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our pleasure to serve you. We're really happy to know you had a wonderful experience that exceeded your expectations. We are glad you found the rooms to be clean and spacious, our staff friendly, and that our location was perfect for you...

Reviewed 23 August 2014

Th staff was very polite. The room smelled as if someone was smoking in it, but very clean. The elevators had an urine odor. The bed was very comfy and the bathroom was very clean. The hotel is located near eateries and shopping.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chesty L
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Chesty L, Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We are glad you found our rooms to be comfortable and clean and our location convenient. We apologize you had issues...

Pittsburgh
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Location - directly on Mt Vernon Trail.  Great breakfast spot across the street (called Extra Perks).  8 blocks to King Street and wharf.  2 blocks to Giant grocery store and Holiday Inn where Crowne plaza guests have access to pool. Stop at holiday inn front desk, present Crowne Plaza room key and they will give you guest pass to access...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mquest
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear mquest, Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel. We are glad you were pleased with our location perfect for your itinerary. Glad you enjoyed the bikes too. You definitely made the most of your time with us. Sounds...

Midwest
Reviewed 20 August 2014

First, this hotel is very convenient to Old Town and not far from the airport. Service was your typical DC-area service: competent but not at all friendly (I know, I'm stereotyping, but it's what I've come to expect here). Rooms are comfortable enough. However, there were crumbs on the desk when I arrived and they never got cleaned the two...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dwg51357
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear dwg51357, Thank you for you feedback and comments on your experience at our hotel. Your experience is important to us. We strive towards the goal that each guest has a great overall experience. We regret we did not obtain that goal in your instance. We apologize you had issues that took away from you having an exceptional stay. We...

Hsinchu City, Taiwan, Republic of China
Reviewed 11 August 2014

服務差得不得了。辦理入住登記的職員竟不知道白金卡會員應有的特別禮遇,旁邊提醒他的主管竟然還將左腳翹起來。雖然負責退房的職員人很好,但也不太專業。房間清理做得也不理想,我進房時不僅發現桌子沒有對齊,第二天回來時更發現其中一個枕頭被放在地上,即便我離開時所有枕頭都是在床上。旅館的網路系統顯示要求付費,櫃檯人員也僅是口頭承諾最後不會在帳單上出現。另外,前往DCA機場的免費接駁車晚上10:30後就沒有了。 Service in this hotel was horrible. The check-in agent didn't know that Platinum members should receive benefits, and the manager who reminded him didn't have his left foot on the floor. Although the check-out agent was very nice, she is not very professional, either. The hotel also didn't do a good job cleaning the room. When I first entered,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ernestnywang
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Ernestnywang, Thanks for the observations and the feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Your comments are vital in helping us to continue to assert improvements where it is necessary. We apologize that you were not pleased with your experience with us. It our goal, that all of our guests would have a great overall...

Reviewed 9 August 2014

I stayed here 1 night between a business trip and personal trip. I was flying out of Reagan National so I chose it due to price and convenience to the airport. They have a free shuttle to the airport that runs on the half hour. Room was on the 9th floor over looking the Potomac and could see the US...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James C
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear James C, Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We're happy that you were more than pleased with our staff, the clean and comfortable accommodations and in particular your room...

174 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (120)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Colony Inn Alexandria
#17 of 53 in Alexandria
585 reviews
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 53 in Alexandria
1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to our New Old Town Alexandria Hotel You'll enjoy a convenient location and top-quality amenities when you stay at the newly renovated Crowne Plaza of Old Town Alexandria. Our hotel is only two miles from Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA). Located near Washington DC, our Alexandria, VA hotel is in close proximity to many attractions. We're only eight blocks from the shops and historic homes on Old Alexandria's revitalized waterfront. Walking tours of the city of Old Town and Potomac River Cruises of the nation's capital's monuments begin just a few miles from our Alexandria hotel. Our hotel near Washington, DC is also ideal for business travelers because we're a short drive from many corporate offices, like Robbins Gioia, International Association of Chiefs of Police, the Pentagon and the many museums, bureaus and government offices of Washington, DC. We also offer the convenience of eight meeting rooms, a 24-hour business center and high-speed, wireless Internet access. While lodging in Alexandria, Virginia, hotel guests can enjoy a relaxing setting with our fitness center, Sleep Advantage program with new, comfortable beds and spectacular views of the Potomac and city from many rooms. From our hotel restaurant, Chequers, to our complimentary shuttles to the airport, Metro/Subway and King's Street, a convenient stay awaits you at the Old Town Alexandria Crowne Plaza. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Address: 901 N Fairfax St, Alexandria, VA 22314-1501 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Price Range: RM545 - RM1,276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Alexandria
Alexandria Crowne Plaza
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were able to see the river from our room, so that was nice.”
 of 5 bubbles wendyo854, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“""The suites are breath taking with the water view, very spacious, warming and great for a intimate get away or large families""”
 of 5 bubbles ameellahi, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The upper floor with a scenic Potomac river view room was our choice, photos attached.”
 of 5 bubbles Donald988, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for room facing the water”
 of 5 bubbles Sharonladybug, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Hotel offers a great view of the Potomac River”
 of 5 bubbles westwill18, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5