We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Pousada des Arts

Show Prices
#52 of 113 Hotels in Salvador
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Pousada des Arts
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

164 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Pousada des Arts
See the most recent reviews
Showing 48: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

The pousada is located in a beautiful building in a very nice neighbourhood just above the pelourinho. However, the nice location and the arty atmosphere was spoiled by quite incompetent staff. Check-in and check-out were cumbersome and lengthy, we didn't get our room cleaned after the first night, nor the trash bin emptied (which one might argue is quite important...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank NiccoloDurazzi
Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I visited the hotel during the World Cup and was very pleased with the choice. The pousada has a relaxed vibe and was a nice place to hang out, with a large comfortable lounge with terrace. The breakfast was good and the staff were excellent. Free wifi. The owner was friendly. The location is excellent, near the old town. Good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PatrickSH
EricGougui, Propriétaire at Pousada des Arts, responded to this review

Thank you very much for this nice review . It has really been a pleasure to receive you, We hope to receive you again, Best regards, Eric

Paris, Texas
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The pousada is ideally located in a charming and colourful street just 5 min walk from the overcrowded pelourhino but not in the pelorino which makes all the difference! The place is very well decorated, the staff is friendly and helpful and the breakfast is AMAZING!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carole P
EricGougui, Propriétaire at Pousada des Arts, responded to this review

Thank you very much, It has been a real pleasure to receive and share our passion for Bahia with you

Graz, Austria
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Pousada des Artes is a nice Pousada in the historical city center of Salvador. The staff there is very friedndly and helpful - but unfortunately most of the people there speak no English. So - without Portugues I won't go there. The breakfast is middle-class. The pousada itself is very unique and wonderfully decorated. The cleanliness is OK but can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nana_Graz
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We spent our final night of our 2 week honeymoon here and although the building and the rooms are absolutely gorgeous, I thought it was a little overpriced for what it was. It's also a little far out from the main historic centre, so we felt a bit nervous walking home in the dark. But apart from that, it's a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kally B
EricGougui, Propriétaire at Pousada des Arts, responded to this review

It is a lie, Nobody roobed you in your room. There are cameras to prove it, the only key stayed with you. On the way in you booked an airport transportation with us, with fixed price and refused to pay it when you arrive.... You said you spent nothing in Salvador and told me you went to the Bambara club,...

Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Love it, love it, love it.  You have to make this your base for Salvador.... Stunning place, really nicely decorated with every detail thought about. Super friendly staff full of lots of tips and hints about the town.  It is the love and attention they put into everything which shines through -  arranged a super friendly collection from the airport,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thesmilingscot
Sydney
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Nice comfortable place with welcoming staff. Comprehensive breakfast. Great views of the coast and shipping that comes and goes. It's worth it just for these views. I re-confirmed our airport pick-up transfer a couple of days before arrival but still waited 45 min in the airport arrivals area for the guy to turn up - the nice ladies at tourist...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CyclistSydney
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 October 2013

As many have said, the location, decor and charm of this pousada can't be beat in Pelhourino. It is located in the centre of the action, but enough off that path that you don't have Olodum banging away right in front of your window. The rooms are rustic and colourful and if you appreciate naif art, then you will find...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank emiana
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We enjoyed very much our stay in Pousada des Arts. The place is beautiful, tastefully decorated and very well located, very close to the Pelourinho. Eric, the owner, is a great source of information and the staff is very helpful. The rooms are charming and the decoration is very original, colorful and transmits you a lot of the Bahian spirit....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Travellersamanta
sweden
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This house really stands out from others with its beauty and colours! We were impressed by the interior when we arrived as well as with the service. Nicely decorated all over! Beautiful terrace and day room where one can relax and enjoy the bay view or watch tv since the rooms don't have one. Our room on the top floor...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LolaSweden

97 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (69)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salvador hotels
Solar do Carmo
#64 of 113 in Salvador
193 reviews
Pousada Villa Carmo
#91 of 113 in Salvador
52 reviews
Pousada Colonial
#42 of 113 in Salvador
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pousada do Pilar
#57 of 113 in Salvador
132 reviews
Santo Antonio
Pousada Casa Vila Bela
Pousada Casa Vila Bela
#24 of 113 in Salvador
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Cultural centre with art gallery and panoramical view on the bay,Excellent tropical breakfast. Free wi fi. Ecoturism activities ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pousada des Arts

Address: Rua Direita De Santo Antonio, 90 | Alem Do Carmo, Salvador, State of Bahia 40030-080, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Price Range: RM241 - RM482 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pousada des Arts 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Pousada des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Des Arts Salvador, Bahia, Brazil
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Pousada des Arts staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Pousada des Arts staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a view of the ocean, if possible”
 of 5 bubbles Luke_and_O, 11 Feb 2016 | Read review
“The ones with a sea view are extra special, but there is love and care in every detail in this pousada”
 of 5 bubbles Thesmilingscot, 19 Dec 2013 | Read review
“Noisy top floor rooms if raining. Otherwise beautiful!”
  • Outside the room/stairs
 of 5 bubbles LolaSweden, 4 Aug 2013 | Read review
“All rooms on the upper floors are GREAT.”
 of 5 bubbles karine2013, 10 Feb 2013 | Read review
“Double bed is tiny”
 of 5 bubbles Abu555, 30 Dec 2012 | Read review
5 of 5