We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Geko Hostel Paraty

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Geko Hostel Paraty
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

243 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Geko Hostel Paraty
See the most recent reviews
Showing 68: English reviews
KL, Malaysia
Reviewed 15 February 2015

I was reading all the reviews from the people here and decided to book. Well here's the lowdown - it was Carnival and it cost two person a huge bomb - £50 per night for 12 bed dorm!!!! And there's only one toilet/shower to share. The good: Breakfast buffet by the beach - great selection and nice Kitchen available -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danielwongkaifai
Camila P, Gerente at Geko Hostel Paraty, responded to this review

We are really glad and grateful of receiving you evaluation. We treasure you contact because it’s a valuable source of data about our pros and cons of our work. Our job it’s always headed to 100% cutomer satisfaction. In an environment of increasing competition and higher demands, we only want to improve ourselves to offer you better service. Once again,...

Reviewed 14 February 2015

Geko hostel is a really good place to stay near from the beach and not far at all from the beautiful historic center ! Room are clean and the breakfast is really good ! a spécial thanks to Thaïs and Micaela for their kidness and their Hospitality !!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Manonandjohanna
Camila P, Gerente at Geko Hostel Paraty, responded to this review

We are really glad and grateful of receiving you evaluation. We treasure you contact because it’s a valuable source of data about our pros and cons of our work. Our job it’s always headed to 100% cutomer satisfaction. In an environment of increasing competition and higher demands, we only want to improve ourselves to offer you better service. Once again,...

Reviewed 5 February 2015 via mobile

From a general point of view this is a great hostel to stay at. Some things could get better as the wifi company they hired and also the the lockers that could be bigger.. But it wins on location.. 5 minute walking from the centre and in front of a beach, you have breakfast at the beach. Lots of activities...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roi O
Camila P, Gerente at Geko Hostel Paraty, responded to this review

We are really glad and grateful of receiving you evaluation. We treasure you contact because it’s a valuable source of data about our pros and cons of our work. Our job it’s always headed to 100% cutomer satisfaction. In an environment of increasing competition and higher demands, we only want to improve ourselves to offer you better service. Once again,...

State of Sao Paulo
Reviewed 31 January 2015

Great hostel! The best one I stayed in paraty. Mainly because of the: - great WIFI - great breakfast - really great staff, mainly Iuri and Debora (the blond one). Very useful people and good vibes. Highly recommended!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan M
Camila P, Gerente at Geko Hostel Paraty, responded to this review

We are really glad and grateful of receiving you evaluation. We treasure you contact because it’s a valuable source of data about our pros and cons of our work. Our job it’s always headed to 100% cutomer satisfaction. In an environment of increasing competition and higher demands, we only want to improve ourselves to offer you better service. Once again,...

Reviewed 16 January 2015

Nice hostel, which welcomes you with a free caipirinha at the beach! Good breakfast, also by the beach! Had a little bit of trouble in my room, which first didnt seem to have air conditioning (problem solved by the girls in the other room, the staff didnt care much) and with a very noisy and unpolite family that was in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eduardaa2015
Camila P, Gerente at Geko Hostel Paraty, responded to this review

We are really glad and grateful of receiving you evaluation. We treasure you contact because it’s a valuable source of data about our pros and cons of our work. Our job it’s always headed to 100% cutomer satisfaction. In an environment of increasing competition and higher demands, we only want to improve ourselves to offer you better service. Once again,...

Reviewed 8 January 2015 via mobile

The hostel is in a great location just opposite the beach but breakfast is served in the bar on the beach. I stayed in a 6 bed dorm, the room was pretty small but ok. Friendly staff. Wifi was a bit dodgy at time but worked after awhile. The free arrival drink is great!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ellie Q
Camila P, Gerente at Geko Hostel Paraty, responded to this review

We are really glad and grateful of receiving you evaluation. We treasure you contact because it’s a valuable source of data about our pros and cons of our work. Our job it’s always headed to 100% cutomer satisfaction. In an environment of increasing competition and higher demands, we only want to improve ourselves to offer you better service. Once again,...

Reviewed 16 November 2014 via mobile

This hostel has a very good location in front of the beach, the staff is very nice, they help you with whatever you need. The breakfast on the beach is just amazing!! The rooms are great, and the hostel is very pretty!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Santiago U
Camila P, Gerente at Geko Hostel Paraty, responded to this review

We are really glad and grateful of receiving you evaluation. We treasure you contact because it’s a valuable source of data about our pros and cons of our work. Our job it’s always headed to 100% cutomer satisfaction. In an environment of increasing competition and higher demands, we only want to improve ourselves to offer you better service. Once again,...

Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 19 October 2014 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay here. I was first in the back left 12 dorm room which isn't the best but I moved to the other side which is a lot better. Cleaner, and the air flows a lot better. If only some girls could be cleaner in the bathrooms then they would have been fine, except hair was everywhere. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hen_jack88
Camila P, Gerente at Geko Hostel Paraty, responded to this review

We are really glad and grateful of receiving you evaluation. We treasure you contact because it’s a valuable source of data about our pros and cons of our work. Our job it’s always headed to 100% cutomer satisfaction. In an environment of increasing competition and higher demands, we only want to improve ourselves to offer you better service. Once again,...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

You get what you pay for as always. We were approached by a fellow backpacker working for his board. He gave us a discount for Geko at the bud terminal - I think our bags gave us away! It was 15 minutes through the cobblestone town to the beach. The hostel couldn't be closer to the beach which was great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank megantravels_13
Camila P, Gerente at Geko Hostel Paraty, responded to this review

We are really glad and grateful of receiving you evaluation. We treasure you contact because it’s a valuable source of data about our pros and cons of our work. Our job it’s always headed to 100% cutomer satisfaction. In an environment of increasing competition and higher demands, we only want to improve ourselves to offer you better service. Once again,...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We spent 1 night at Geko Hostel and enjoyed our stay. We had a double room upstairs, the room was spacious and had a nice bathroom, although the TV didn't work. The view to the beach is great from the room, but at night it can be loud with people on the beach partying. We found the staff really nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SPKN1415
Camila P, Gerente at Geko Hostel Paraty, responded to this review

We are really glad and grateful of receiving you evaluation. We treasure you contact because it’s a valuable source of data about our pros and cons of our work. Our job it’s always headed to 100% cutomer satisfaction. In an environment of increasing competition and higher demands, we only want to improve ourselves to offer you better service. Once again,...

83 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paraty hotels
0.1 km away
Chill Inn Paraty Hostel & Pousada
1.1 km away
Hostel Sereia do Mar
Hostel Sereia do Mar
#61 of 232 in Paraty
177 reviews
0.7 km away
Che Lagarto Hostel Paraty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Vibe Hostel
Vibe Hostel
#26 of 232 in Paraty
121 reviews
7.2 km away
Casa Amarela Pousada
Casa Amarela Pousada
#90 of 291 in Paraty
106 reviews
0.1 km away
Pousada Refron du Mar
Pousada Refron du Mar
#111 of 291 in Paraty
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Geko Hostel is everything you need if you are looking for fun: • BEACH-FRONT LOCATION, 5 minutes walking from the Historic Centre,• All for a really LOW PRICE, • Mixed or all-female dormitory style accommodation, and private rooms ALL with an EN-SUITE BATHROOM,• Daily accommodation includes en-suite bedrooms, kitchen, a Free Taxi from the Bus station, friendly environment,• Bilingual services and a great atmosphere, • Geko’s treat, a full Brazilian breakfast with your feet in the sand of the Pontal Beach. • OUR BEACH BAR, Geko Chill, it´s famous for its outrageous parties! Our beers are always icy cold and our barmen make the best caipirinhas on Pontal beach! We also organize barbecues and cocktail parties in our Beach Bar. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Geko Hostel Paraty

Address: Orlando Carpinelli, 5 | Praia do Pontal, Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro 23970000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Paraty
Price Range: RM66 - RM310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Geko Hostel Paraty 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Geko Hostel Paraty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geko Hostel Paraty Brazil
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Geko Hostel Paraty staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Geko Hostel Paraty staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“best location, in front of the beach, lovely stuff, good prices”
 of 5 bubbles ChrisausWien, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Private room”
 of 5 bubbles andrelmsantos, 8 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Don't get a dorm and avoid room 7”
 of 5 bubbles Danielwongkaifai, 15 Feb 2015 | Read review
“There is a double room out the back which is apparently quieter at night.”
 of 5 bubbles SPKN1415, 14 Aug 2014 | Read review
“dorm number 5”
 of 5 bubbles cesarp984, 27 Oct 2013 | Read review
5 of 5