We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Rio Dolphin Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rio de Janeiro
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Rio Dolphin Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

107 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 92: English reviews
Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Just stayed In the dolphin inn for 22 days during the World Cup and had a great time The dolphin inn is quirky but in a nice way it is in a little gated and safe area with shops, restaurant s and a metro station just mins away. Our hostess Elaine was great she gave us a little walking tour...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Adamlaes
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We had a great experience at Rio Dolphin Inn and highly recommend it. We stayed here for 4 nights at about US $130 per night. John was traveling, so we did not get to meet him, but his friend Elaine was there and she was a great hostess. She took us around the neighborhood, explained how to get to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marinochka2
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed at Rio Dolphin Inn for about five days in early August 2013. We had an excellent time staying here and wholeheartedly recommend it. The hosts, John and Cindy, were extremely helpful, friendly and gracious. This groovy little place was way way better than staying at a larger, more impersonal and more expensive hotel. There are many positives, here...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Craig45
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 24 September 2013

You can't go wrong with over 100 5* reviews and it's hard to say what hasn't already been said! Although, cliche, you DO feel like you're visiting an old friend! The location is fantastic, you have an abundance of food choices and you're right in between Copacabana and Ipanema Beaches so it's easy to take your pick and arrive at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank poymeetsworld
Longwood
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Thanks to a creative décor that mixes surfer-beach themes with Old Rio touches, plus a modern hot, powerful shower, my stay at the Rio Dolphin Inn scored five stars. Tucked in a cozy block at the point where Ipanema and Copacabana just about meet, the inn was close to both beaches—minutes away. With access to the kitchen, I was able...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patricia L
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The best location - a beautiful and peaceful place hidden like a pearl. 10 walking minutes from both beaches. You are both in the city with all kinds of nice restaurants nearby - and at a beach. It works perfectly well wandering between those two worlds. Very generous and supportive hosts who will show you around, help out with maps...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frankenwein
Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We stayed in rio dolphin inn for carnival. We are backpacking around south america for 5 months and planned to be in rio for carnival. After a lot of research before we left, I booked rio dolphin inn. Was it the right choice? Most definitely yes! The inn is located in a very secure street with gated access. We felt...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank AimeeC186600
JohnMaier, Owner at Rio Dolphin Inn, responded to this review

We just want to thank everybody who takes the time to comment on the Rio Dolphin Inn, and to let all our friends and guests know that our beloved Dalmation Genki, who was mentioned in several reviews, is now in doggy heaven frolicking with his friends and family.

Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewed 23 February 2013

My comment comes a bit late, but since we got back in January I was too busy to find the right words to describe the Rio Dolphin Inn ambiance. We did expect quite a lot from the Rio Dolphin Inn given all the good reviews found on TripAdvisor. So if you expect a lot you can also be disappointed, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claudia D
Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

The reviews sited previously are quite misleading. Travelers beware. Prior positive reviews appear contrived. Positives: The location of this place was convenient, and safety was no concern. Downside: The room was subpar and the bathroom tiny. The bathroom attached to our room was small, and open to the outdoors. The only thing separating the bathroom from outside was a rudementary...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank JimmyWorldWide
JohnMaier, Owner at Rio Dolphin Inn, responded to this review

Aloha friends, Wow, how do you respond to something like that? This  was only  our second three-star review  out of nearly 100 so we take it quite seriously. Normally  we do not reply to reviews because we think  everybody is entitled to their opinion but in this case the reviewer made such outlandish and spiteful remarks  we feel we  have to...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 23 December 2012

No better place to stay if you are looking for a great location and an inkeep who has a wealth of knowledge. John could not have treated us any better if we were his friends. Rio Dolphin Inn is a place I have recommended to friends of my own. My husband and I would definitely stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ranmontana

44 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (42)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Atlantico Palace Hotel Residencia
Atlantico Palace Hotel Residenci...
#158 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
67 reviews
Copacabana
Ibis Copacabana Posto 5
Ibis Copacabana Posto 5
#26 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
478 reviews
Copacabana
BEST WESTERN Premier Arpoador Fashion Hotel
BEST WESTERN Premier Arpoador Fa...
#30 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
South American Copacabana Hotel
South American Copacabana Hotel
#113 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
451 reviews
Ipanema
Aparthotel Adagio Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
Aparthotel Adagio Rio de Janeiro...
#122 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
615 reviews
Copacabana
Copacabana Rio Hotel
Copacabana Rio Hotel
#56 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Copacabana

Neighbourhood Profile
Copacabana
The rowdy Copacabana is one of the most traditional and old areas from Rio de Janeiro. This neighbourhood is a blend of Brazilian soul - crowded, rowdy and traditional. This neighbourhood has a bit of everything: bars with music, pubs, street fairs, chaotic streets, and many shops. All these things and more live side-by-side. There are options for all price points and tastes. However, the most powerful draw in Copacabana is still the fantastic view of the coast and the incredible beaches.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Rio Dolphin Inn is a top quality yet quaint and cozy home on a quiet cobblestone street on the border of Ipanema, Copacabana and Arpoador beaches. You will not find a better location: you can actually see the beach from the entrance, the metro station is a block away and the main city bus lines pass right in front of the gate. This exclusive home has 2 bedrooms, both of them comfortable suites with modern bathrooms, air conditioning, fans, new comfortable beds and large bright windows. It's the perfect spot for couples, families, friends and single travelers. The inn is acclaimed as one of Rio's best bed and breakfasts. It is rated 5 stars and was winner of Trip Advisor's Excellence award in 2012 and 2013. We pride ourselves in taking care of our guests and helping them get the most of their visit. Check out our reviews on bedandbreakfast and TripAdvisor. We were closed for renovations but opened in April of 2014 with new lower rates starting at US$120. World Cup dates still available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rio Dolphin Inn

Address: Rua Bulhoes de Carvalho 480 Casa 6 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22081-001, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Price Range: RM533 - RM711 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Rio Dolphin Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Rio Dolphin Inn Rio De Janeiro, Brazil
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rio Dolphin Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Rio Dolphin Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had the dolphin room wich has a on suite facility's”
 of 5 bubbles Adamlaes, 15 Jul 2014 | Read review
“I stayed in the Little Prince Room - it has 2 two beds so we used the extra bed to lay out our clothes :)”
 of 5 bubbles poymeetsworld, 23 Sep 2013 | Read review
“The Dolphin room had a view of the street.”
 of 5 bubbles 391patricial, 3 Sep 2013 | Read review
“The Dolphin room looked cute and we were tempted by the en suite bathroom. But we chose the slightly bigger Little Prince room and were very happy with the big bath room even if it meant leaving the room.”
  •                   View from Little Prince room to the other side
  •                   View from Little Prince room to the other side
  •                   View from Little Prince room to one side
 of 5 bubbles Claudiad685, 23 Feb 2013 | Read review
“there are only 2 rooms. one with a bath in the room and the other without a bathroom attached.”
 of 5 bubbles ranmontana, 23 Dec 2012 | Read review
5 of 5