We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Art Hostel Rio

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Art Hostel Rio
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

224 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Art Hostel Rio
See the most recent reviews
Showing 29: English reviews
England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

I stayed in a 6 bed dorm for 4 nights over carnival. The room was tiny with just 2 bunk beds each having 3 beds stacked on top... as i was last in I got the top.. the bed would have been quite comfortable, but as they were old everytime someone would move in the bed the whole bunk would... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Love-postcards
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We stayed here over the carnival for nearly 2 weeks. As every hostel in Rio during carnival it was outragously expensive and consequently not good value. The place itself is ok, hot and stuffy inside but it is reasonably equipped with kitchen, computer room with several computers, big TV and common area. There is free wifi and it isn't that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Neil T T
Vitória, Espirito Santo, Brazil
Level Contributor
101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Good place, good location, but rooms.. are not ventilated.

Helpful?
2 Thank Emilia_Brito
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

We arrived in Rio, the first stop on our around world trip. Both of us were nervous first time travellers at the time and arriving in Rio was a really a big leap from what we were use to. The Art Hostel was the perfect place for us to start off. The staff were more than helpful and very friendly.... More 

Helpful?
Thank directinglife
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2011

The nice entrance convinced us to book a night at this place. Unfortunately, the room we paid for was not the room they gave us. Instead of a double room we had to sleep in a dorm room that was made private for us. The ceiling in this room was very low and the equippment was very basic. Since we... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank TravelSisi

Travellers are raving about these Rio de Janeiro hotels

Brasov, Romania
Level Contributor
165 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2011

We got a small room, which was very humid and dark and it had a peculiar smell. The bathroom door was broken and didn't close and there were hairs on the bathroom floor. It was strange, because the hostel's lobby looks really nice and the location is good, so it could be a nice spot for young people going to... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank OliviaPetraComan
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2010

Found this place to be a typical hostel with the worn-in feel and musty smell to it. The rooms are really old and I didn't consider them to be that clean. We got a room with a bathroom on the first floor and found the room to have a damp feel to it. The bathroom is an all-in-one, with nothing... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank wanderlustz
Niteroi, RJ
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2010

I would not recommend that hostel at all. The staff is not helpful, the rooms are dirty and the location is too bad. It´s a bad choice for what you are paying.

Helpful?
2 Thank Mark_Iron
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2010

The place is terrible. Our room was dirty, very noisy and at the hottest summer in Rio there was no airconditioning. Next to the window there was a light with sensor. So every few minutes the light went on, even in the night. When we wanted to leave this hostel, the staff was not helpfull. So my advice: find an... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank emilie s
ArtHostelRio, Front Office Manager at Art Hostel Rio, responded to this review

Hello. We have options for room with AC or not. By paying (at the time you were at our hostel) R$15 per night extra, you could have upgraded to a room with AC. Art Hostel Rio More 

118 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (77)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Hostel Republica
#160 of 707 in Rio de Janeiro
140 reviews
Hostel Flamengo
#282 of 707 in Rio de Janeiro
22 reviews
Hostel in Rio
#30 of 707 in Rio de Janeiro
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Vitoria
#253 of 707 in Rio de Janeiro
36 reviews
Samba Palace Hostel
#61 of 707 in Rio de Janeiro
240 reviews
Centro
Hotelo
Hotelo
#305 of 707 in Rio de Janeiro
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Just 150 meters away from the Catete Metro Station and 500 meters from Flamengo beach in Rio de Janeiro, the Art Hostel Rio offers private rooms with bathroom , A/C , cable TV and free WiFi , with access to the kitchen , lounges and loungers. All our rooms have private baths and thinking in large groups , we also have shared dorms with free wifi, lockers , linens / towels and private bathrooms. The breakfast buffet is served each morning in the dining room and garden terrace. The buffet includes a variety of seasonal fruits, breads, cakes , cold cuts and a selection of hot and cold drinks. The Maracana Stadium is 9 km away , while the center of Rio is just 2 km from the hostel. But the Santos Dumont Airport can be found 3 km away. We speak your language! max capacity. 110 travelers ... more   less 

Additional Information about Art Hostel Rio

Address: Rua Silveira Martins 135 Catete, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22221000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Catete
Price Range: RM76 - RM353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Art Hostel Rio 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Art Hostel Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Hostel Rio Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Art Hostel Rio Rio De Janeiro, Brazil
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Art Hostel Rio staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Private if you can afford it”
 of 5 bubbles ThereseN521, 17 Jul 2014 | Read review
“Recomendo que escolham um quarto com ar condicionado ou com janelas grandes para a rua. A rua Silveira martins é bem arborizada o que proporciona um bom conforto térmico natural.”
 of 5 bubbles DubocBrazil, 10 Jan 2014 | Read review
“The second floor 12 bed dorm has more windows =)”
 of 5 bubbles ashleyt637, 29 Jun 2013 | Read review
“The staff always know where the great parties are so not be afraid to ask”
 of 5 bubbles Joycey27, 1 May 2013 | Read review
“If in a double get an aircon room otherwise you'll melt”
 of 5 bubbles NeilTT_12, 4 Mar 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay