We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Gamboa Rio Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Gamboa Rio Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

75 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 10: English reviews
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 June 2015

Nice hotel in central Rio De Janeiro. Excellent food served in the restaurant. Also a small bar and restaurant across the way, which is very good. Many small shops within walking distance where you can buy food and drinks. Hotel staff are great but don't speak any English. However, most speak Spanish and that was good enough for me. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amanda2010
Ronnie A, Gerente at Gamboa Rio Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, It´s very nice to hear that you spent a good time with us. That's our main goal and we are glad to hear that we achieve it. Thank you for your avaliation. It help us to meassure our service. We hope host you again in your next time in Rio. Best regards. Ronnie Arosa.

Edinburgh
Reviewed 18 May 2015

Although the staff are nice and kind, the place is located in a horrible area, which is not safe at night. I did not feel comfortable sleeping there, with people shouting in the street. A man stands in front of the hotel the whole night and looks very much like a body guard.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paperopazzo
Ronnie A, Manager at Gamboa Rio Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, I would like to thank you for your TripAdvisor's report. Our staff will be very glad to hear that you aprove our services. Our street has been reinaugurated this week, and many things have changed in the environment. I would like to invite you to come again to our hotel, and see the new area and enjoy the...

Rome, Italy
Reviewed 17 May 2015

We felt very unsafe to walk there at night. We always had to get a taxi, and even the taxi drivers were feeling uncomfortable driving in the area. Plus, the area is quite noisy and breakfast is poor. The staff are nice but do not speak English.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Martax82
Ronnie A, Manager at Gamboa Rio Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We appreciate to receive your comments regarding your stay at the Gamboa Rio Hotel. We are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express our sincerest apologies. The fact that our street is in works, during your stay, makes the area seem dirtier and more dangerous than it is really. Those works...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 6 February 2015

To be honest, I was a little scared about staying at this hotel after reading some reviews. I pictured a lone hotel on some abandoned street. The truth is that the street is really ugly, but just a block away is a major industry where white collar workers in ties and some in suits walk morning and night. Another block...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jeffrey W
Ronnie A, Gerente at Gamboa Rio Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, We appreciate your comments and your time writing about us in TripAdvisor. It will help us to improve our services. We are very glad to hear from you, that you had a nice stay with us. We are looking forward to hosting you again in your next visit to Rio de Janeiro. Best regards. Ronnie Arosa.

Staten Island, New York
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Honestly, considering where it is located (downtown Rio), it was surprisingly adequate. I agree with other reviewers that the breakfast was OK and the rooms are decent. It's the location that influences the first impression. Once you get past that, it's OK. It's a little noisy, and there is no view of anything. I've been to Rio many times. Normally...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank G5GUY
Ronnie A, Gerente at Gamboa Rio Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience and we hope have your visit again in the future. Kind Regards, Ronnie Arosa.

Pasadena, California
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Me and my fiancé came to Rio recently for the World Cup and found this hotel very last minute. First arriving at The Gamboa Rio Hotel it seemed to be in a questionable neighborhood, but we were pleasantly surprised at what a great value this hotel was. We were shocked to find a huge bath tub and sauna in our...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Emily Faith S
Ronnie A, Gerente at Gamboa Rio Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We appreciate to receive your comments regarding your stay with us. We are glad to hear from you that you had got a nice stay with us. Thank you again for sharing your experience and we hope have your visit again in the future. Kind Regards, Ronnie Arosa.

Rome, Italy
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Pro: Breakfast was good. Minibar prices are cheap. The room is quite large and comfortable. There are also a hot tub and a sauna, but I didn’t use them. Against: Almost none of the staff knows English. The room was very dirty. The staff cleans the rooms only if you ask to clean it. The hotel is placed in a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank doct1985
Ronnie A, Manager at Gamboa Rio Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for sharing your opinion about your experience at Gamboa Rio Hotel. Be assured that we're aware of those issues and that we're taking the appropriate measures to solve them: Is quite difficult to find English speaking in Brazil, so Rede Rio Hoteis (our brand) decided to offer English lessons to the staff, specially frontdesk. Some of...

MN
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Good: The breakfast was ok, served in the room because their dining room is under construction. The minibar prices are reasonable. The room was spacious, and we enjoyed the jacuzzi. There is also a sauna, which we did not use. Bad: None of the staff speak English. The location is a bit dicey, north of Centro. We happened to be...

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank LCDaMan
Ronnie A, Gerente at Gamboa Rio Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We've received your review. All the staff from Hotel Amazonas are very glad to hear that you had a good stay with us. As you included in your comments, most of our staff don't speak English. It's quite difficult to find English speaker professionals, so we decided to give English lessons to our staff. They'd started on 24th...

Edinburgh
Reviewed 3 March 2012

4 rooms adjoining underground car park, unattractive-looking area, intended primarily for short stay, trouble with mosquitoes, wouldn't order me a taxi. Very poor value. 

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank TheBigStick
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Please do yourself a favourite and don't stay here. Seriously you should already be looking for something else. This is a place in the ghetto where couples walk in off the street to have sex. You can get rooms in 4 hour blocks. The guy at reception was drunk. Our room was basically a dungeon within the car park on...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank OzzieBognut
Ronnie A, Manager at Gamboa Rio Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We appologize that you didn't find what you were looking for. All the information in TripAdvisor, and other travelling sites about the hotel are completely true. Photos of the rooms are also reliable. There are 4 rooms in the ground floor but they had the same security as the rest of the hotel's rooms. They are quite big...

284 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (51)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (16)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (212)
Viewed
Double (38)
Viewed
Quadruple (41)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
Superior (50)
Viewed
The Hotel (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Hotel Pompeu
#230 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
114 reviews
Hotel Pouso Real
#181 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
121 reviews
Hotel Carioca
#139 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Sao Cristovao
#226 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
13 reviews
Centro
Hotel ibis budget Rio de Janeiro Centro
Hotel ibis budget Rio de Janeiro...
#142 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
2,824 reviews
Ibis Rio de Janeiro Nova America
#49 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Concierge
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Gamboa Rio Hotel has 56 rooms with LCD TV, minibar, private bathroom and air conditioning. Located in the area of the project "Marvelous Port", which includes the development of the projects museum MAR (Art Museum of Rio), or where the Museum of Tomorrow (designed by Spanish architect Santiago Calatrava) will be, the Pier Maua, the new headquarters of the Bank of Brazil, the new Trump Tower Rio, the headquarters of Tishman Speyer (the British architect Norman Foster), among others. The reception and lobby that were inaugurated in 2013, offers more confort and services for our guests. The entire hotel has Wi-Fi connection to connect to the Internet. Close to subway station Presidente Vargas and located near several bus stops, the strategic location of the Gamboa River Hotel allows you to have easy access to the main tourist attractions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gamboa Rio Hotel

Address: Rua Alexandre Mackenzie 122, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20221-410, Brazil (Formerly Hotel Amazonas)
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: RM138 - RM316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gamboa Rio Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Gamboa Rio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gamboa Rio Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Gamboa Rio Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Gamboa Rio Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Cheap but of poor quality”
 of 5 bubbles paperopazzo, 18 May 2015 | Read review
“Choose an upper floor. There's not much of a view from any room, and not much to see anyway.”
 of 5 bubbles LCDaMan, 21 Jan 2013 | Read review
2 of 2
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay