We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Novo Mundo

Traveller (319)
Room & Suite (273)
Dining (60)


Opened in 1950, Hotel Novo Mundo is part of the history of the city and life of the Cariocas, offering incredible views of the Sugar Loaf and the Guanabara Bay. It was a meeting point for the elite of Brazilian politics when the Catete Palace was the seat of the federal government and has now been completely reformed in order to harmonize the modern with the traditional, keeping intact the Carioca spirit that has always accompanied it. The hotel is 3 minutes walk from the beach. This 4-star hotel is located in an exclusive area of ​​Praia do Flamengo, close to Catete Palace and just 400 meters from Catete Metro Station. Delicious breakfast is served free of charge in the Flamboyant Restaurant. Drinks can be enjoyed at the Grand Prix Bar & Coffee Shop. Feel free to use the New World conference facilities and work out at the on-site gym. The hotel is just 1.5 km from the center of Rio de Janeiro, where you can visit several historical monuments, museums and the Sambódromo. Santos Dumont Airport is 2.3 km away, while Galeão International Airport is 19.5 km away. Flamengo is a great choice for travelers interested in tourist attractions, nature and landscapes.
Read more
Property amenities
Room service
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Breakfast included
Banquet Room
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Public Wifi
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Great View


Full view
Praia do Flamengo 20 Flamengo, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22210-030 Brazil
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Santos Dumont Airport3 km
Internacional Airport14 km
Catete5 min
Glória9 min
See all nearby hotels
30Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 180
  • 348
  • 180
  • 36
  • 28
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We had booked at the this hotel for 3 nights and on the third night we had to leave early and asked them if we can pay half price but they refused saying that it's after 6pm. Despite that it was our first stay in the hotel and the country and we had asked for a better view. The
Read more
The hotel looks a bit shabby however the reception staff were friendly and efficient. Following registration, the initial pair of lifts we were directed to were very dated and only one worked. Operation was very rickety and erratic and did not instil confidence. We subsequently
Read more
This is a very old hotel. I had a ac wall unit. Bed was extremely bad. Terrible lighting and the bathroom sink was cracked. I had to check out 2 hours after my check in. The hotel has an old decor. Elevators are old. Staff is friendly. Enough said.
Read more
I have never been treated worse in the 24 years that I travel to Brazil then in this hotel. I was constantly discriminated by the staff. No one carried my bags to the room, none of the staff greeted me when I said hi, I asked one of the staff if he could clean the dirty table
Read more
Response from paulo p, Gerente geral at Hotel Novo Mundo
Responded 12 Nov 2018
Hi Mr. Peter, We appreciate your honest review and apologize for the delay in responding. Your oponion is very important so that we can improve our services more and more , ok? We're sorry you had this inconvenience. Our intencion would never be to cause negative experience. Please be assured that this is not the standart service for our hotel. These were isolated cases and once again we sincerely apologize for all this discomfort . If you return to Rio de Janeiro, contact us. We put ourselves at your disposal to receive you again, in a totally new experience , and much more pleasant . We are sure that if you give us the oportunity , we can change this first impression . If you have any questions regarding compensation, please send us an inbox. We are at your disposal to help you. See you later! Bset Regards Paulo Perfetti General Manager
Read more
We stayed in hotel for three nights, was initially not very happy, very old linen and curtains, shower is leaking and there is no coffee in the room. It is also very noisy, the aircon is old and is loud but you get use to it. One night at 3.30 they were playing football across
Read more
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachBusiness Centre & Event RoomsFamily and Play Areas
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorHotel Novo Mundo
The Deluxe with Ocean View at the Hotel Novo Mundo
Vista de um apartamento que estava reformando no 7º andar.
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorHotel Novo Mundo
The Ocean Suite with Balcony at the Hotel Novo Mundo
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorHotel Novo Mundo
The Executive Suite at the Hotel Novo Mundo
Photo provided by managementHotel Novo Mundo
Hi, The subway is literally around the corner. Just be mindful it operates later in the morning on Sundays
1 vote
Show all answers
Unfortunately not. The laundry service is the conventional one, offered by most hotels. You separate the clothes and request the service through the accommodation phone. From what we've seen, we understand that all the accommodations have safes inside the closet.
1 vote
Show all answers
Olá, Daniel 2. Recomendo pegar um táxi de cooperativa (existem várias e que não precisam de cadastro prévio) ou usar o aplicativo do uber quando chegar no aeroporto via hotel. 2. Para chegar ao sambódromo a prefeitura habilita alguns táxis, somente, por isso, seria o ideal que você já deixasse agendado, pois é um número limitado e é um serviço caro, mas seguro. Não recomendo metrô, nem ônibus. Para maiores informações visite o site da prefeitura do Rio de Janeiro. Boa viagem! An@
0 votes
Show all answers
Do the twim rooms have a seaview?
Good morning!!! Only the Deluxe Twin rooms has a seaview.
0 votes
Show all answers
"Definitely have a superior room with a view to the front (beach view)."
"Rooms on the south side will have a view of Sugarloaf."
"Higher level rooms better view, ask for sea view rooms"
"Ask for a quiet room with good views."
"The SUITE MAR (sea suite) has an expetacular view of the waterfront"
US$51 - US$126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
novo mundo hotel
BrazilState of Rio de JaneiroRio de JaneiroZona Sul (South Zone)Flamengo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing