We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Rio Hostel & Suites Santa Teresa

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Rio Hostel & Suites Santa Teresa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

290 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 91: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2016

I stayed at Rio Hostel & Suites for 4 nights during the 2016 Olympics and really enjoyed myself. Although I didn't spend much time in the hostel other than in the mornings and late at night to rest, it met my expectations. I would say the highlights of this hostel are its breakfast with real Brazilian coffee (not instant-coffee!) and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Estevan A
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

Excellent hostel with great facilities. Staff spoke English which was great for me. The views across centro Rio were amazing, especially at night when it was lit up. The hilly street it was on is a great contrast to Copacabana and you should really try Santa Teresa as you get a different view of Rio. The short walk into Lapa... More 

Helpful?
Thank tomalley4
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2016

I stayed there for a month , the service was great ! Staff are always willing to help you with anything to make your visit in Rio something you will never forget, and make you feel at home on the first day! The room was beautiful and air conditioned I loved my stay , the food was great and is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Evan F
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights. Good points: 1) They let us check in many hours earlier than the normal time of 2pm 2) Good English spoken by front desk staff who were friendly and helpful 3) Can book tours (we did the Day Trip and it was great) and they ordered in pizza for us! Things to improve on: 1)... More 

Helpful?
Thank Henna D
Rennes, France
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2016

I traveled a lot in Brasil and I've been in a lot of hostels. And, I can say that this one was the worst ! Firstly because there is no place for everybody. There is times for air-cooling system, from 8PM to 10AM. Yes, if you want to relaxe during the day wich is in between 35 and 40 degrees... More 

Helpful?
Thank lalilulelo
juvfernandes, Gerente at Rio Hostel & Suites Santa Teresa, responded to this review

Hello Gilles, We think it's a big mistake... we were looking for a reservation under your name in our system but it doesn't exist... Also, we don't have wash machine service and we have any complain about 'disappearing things'. We believe you stayed in other hostel. More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2015 via mobile

Such a great hostel for many reasons: 1. Staff: friendly, helpful, went out of their way to help us book tours, order food late at night and generally answer all the many questions we had. Also, every tip they gave us was perfect for what we wanted to experience in Rio. 2. Location: Santa Teresa seems like the perfect location.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jakob J
juvfernandes, Gerente at Rio Hostel & Suites Santa Teresa, responded to this review

Thank you Jakob!! Hope to see you again next time in Rio :) Kind Regards Rio Hostel Team More 

Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 December 2015

Brilliant location, not far from the Lapa attractions, although you'll need to be prepared for a walk up hill if on foot. Pretty central in Rio for all the attractions and the metro. Everything in place for a good stay. Bunk mattresses could do with upgrading, as they are well used and the kitchen areas could be a little cleaner.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stuart M
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2015

The staff here were very lovely (especially Anna) and very welcoming which immediately creates a good impression. When I arrived I was told that even though I had booked online, that someone else had also booked online and they no longer had a private room for me the first night. I stayed in a dorm room for the first night... More 

Helpful?
Thank Everlong12
Maastricht, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 17 November 2015

Plus: -Location (close to Lapa, close to the metro station, nice view) -Clean -Personel (kind, helpful, 24 hour available) -Dorms and private rooms -Kitchen Negatives: -None This is a very nice hostel to stay in the busy city of Rio de Janeiro. People range between 20 and 50 years old. Guests socialize with each other but also respects each others... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ralph1990
Saint-Julien-en-Genevois, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2015

good location to see the all town but be prepared to walk up a lots of steps. the master suite is really nice, really big and offers privacy. the pool is small... but the rooftop is nice. feels a little away from the center but safe and quiet.

Helpful?
Thank lauranne74

114 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (89)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (9)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
1:39
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Santa Teresa
Santa Tere Hostel
Santa Tere Hostel
#2 of 707 in Rio de Janeiro
288 reviews
Santa Teresa
Bossa in Rio Hostel
Bossa in Rio Hostel
#9 of 707 in Rio de Janeiro
390 reviews
Santa Teresa
Sante Hostel
Sante Hostel
#18 of 707 in Rio de Janeiro
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Teresa
Terra Brasilis Hostel
Terra Brasilis Hostel
#51 of 707 in Rio de Janeiro
80 reviews
Santa Teresa
Rio Forest Hostel
Rio Forest Hostel
#8 of 707 in Rio de Janeiro
230 reviews
Manga Hostel
#25 of 707 in Rio de Janeiro
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Santa Teresa

Neighbourhood Profile
Santa Teresa
Santa Teresa is a bohemian enclave hosting many local artists’ studios. The narrow, winding streets of this neighbourhood were revitalised years ago, and visitors can now stroll through this area to view magnificent mansions dating back to the late 19th and early 20th century. A highlight not miss: Museu Chacará do Céu, a former mansion turned museum which houses works by prominent Brazilian modern artists.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rio Hostel Santa Teresa is more than just a guesthouse, it is a nest of authentic Brazilian coziness dressed in a hippie chic style.Within a five minute walk from the busy center of Rio de Janeiro and the most electrical nightlife of Lapa.Up the hills in the green Santa Teresa and the biggest urban rainforest in the world, you are at the most convenient location to get to the Christ, the Redeemer. This youth hostel is the perfect choice in a city of millions of people and a great deal of charm and swing, with unforgettable dashes of samba and soccer, lust and rest, summer and Carnival. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rio Hostel & Suites Santa Teresa

Address: Rua Joaquim Murtinho 351 | Santa Teresa, RJ, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20241-320, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Price Range: RM353 - RM884 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rio Hostel & Suites Santa Teresa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Rio Hostel & Suites Santa Teresa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Rio Hostel & Suites Santa Teresa Rio De Janeiro, Brazil
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rio Hostel & Suites Santa Teresa staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Rio Hostel & Suites Santa Teresa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Individual rooms better than Dormitorys”
  • Rio Hostel view
 of 5 bubbles stuartwmontrose, 7 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Private rooms are ofcourse better than the dorms.”
 of 5 bubbles Ralph1990, 17 Nov 2015 | Read review
“master suite really nice”
 of 5 bubbles lauranne74, 11 Oct 2015 | Read review
“The single room (nr 8) is excelent for getting some rest.”
 of 5 bubbles Holland030, 7 Dec 2014 | Read review
“all rooms are good ;-)”
 of 5 bubbles 554oliverf, 24 Sep 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay