We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sampa Hostel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Sampa Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

231 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 59: English reviews
St. Moritz, Switzerland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed there for two nights and were happy to be able to park our car inside the area without surcharge. The staff is ok. it they don't do too much.... in general it's not a hostel for socializing. When it gets cold outside there is no space where you can feel comfortable, you just can go into your dorm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicole K
Adriana S, Gerente at Sampa Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Nicole, thanks on your comments We´re sorry you didn´t get to know many people. We wish you had talk to us, so we could have pointed some event nearby the hostel. Hope to see you again and make your staying much better.

Stuttgart, Germany
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I spent three nights here and had a good time. The hostel itself is not the newest, the breakfast is ok, bread cheese some fruits, standard. The stuff was very friendly and they have a nice common area with hammocks and a tv were we spend some evenings watching movies. The area of Vila madalena is perfect to stay. A...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank marlene_zaiger
Adriana S, Gerente at Sampa Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Marlene, Many thanks on your comments. We´re very glad you had such a good experience, felt safe walking around and enjoyed our common areas. Hope to see you here again, so we can make your staying even better!

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 September 2016

I loved the Sampa hostel - it was just what I was looking for. I booked an ensuite private room for three nights. Check-in was great, very friendly and welcoming. My room was large and comfortable with the only caveat being that it was a little cold (but there were blankets) and I had to pull the bed out to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanne H
Adriana S, Gerente at Sampa Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Joanne, many thanks on your comments. We´re really glad that you had such a good experience with us! Hope you come back and we´re going to try to make your stay even more pleasant!

Reggio Calabria, Italy
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

Luckily I was in Sampa Hostel just for a night. I could not have my shower because the bathroom was very dirty. The pillow was spotted of I don't know what. The breakfast was included but was a very poor breakfast. They have a chicken where you can cook. You have to adapt to stay in it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Turistareggina
Adriana S, Gerente at Sampa Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Reggina We´re very sorry that you had a bad impression of the cleaness of the hostel. We try to keep the bathrooms as clean as possible. We wish you had talked to us about the pillow, cause we would have change it immediately. About the breakfast, we consider it to be within the standard for a hostel, we offer...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 8 September 2016

We stayed here early August. Stayed in a 4 bed room, with good size lockers which could fit your whole backpack if needed. Bathrooms were okay, only the outside bathroom seemed to have hot water for a shower. Breakfast was pretty standard compared to other hostels. Location was good with lots of bars and restaurants within a 5 minute walk....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy G
Adriana S, Gerente at Sampa Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Amy, thank you on your comments. We´re sorry you had problems with the shower, we wish you had talk to the staff, so we could try and fix the problem with the hot water. About the quietness, August is always a calmer month, it´s winter here. Hope you will find a more festive environment next time! Hope you come...

Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewed 31 August 2016

I travelled alone Sao Paulo and I stayed at Sampa Hotel for almost one week. The service was so good, everyone one was kind with me. It is near from the subway and the place were is located is one of the most beautiful and secure places in Sao Paulo. They have variety about rooms, i liked that the rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathya R
sampah2014, Gerente at Sampa Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks Kathya for your review, it was nice to have you here with us, hope to see you again! Best regards, Sampa Hostel

Reviewed 26 August 2016

I really liked this place, very kind cause it has a nice staff crew and rustic decor. Easy location, very easy to find it and it is in a good neirbourhood, very nice atmosphere, comfortable and cozy. I recommend it. Don´t worry, it´s a nice choice, do it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jassá a
sampah2014, Gerente at Sampa Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for your words, we are very happy that you had a good time here at Sampa Hostel! Hope to see you again around here! Best regards, Sampa

Fortaleza, CE
Reviewed 24 August 2016

Hostel nice , welcoming , cozy and affordable value . Provide information about the city and events that take place in the period. Rooms are comfortable and can be cleaned when the guest request .Nice

 Report
Helpful?
Thank evellabastos
sampah2014, Gerente at Sampa Hostel, responded to this review

Hello! Thanks for your words, we are very happy that you had a nice time here with us! Best regards! Sampa Hostel

Reviewed 20 August 2016

The staff at Sampa Hostel were very welcoming and helpful. Upon check-in they provided a metro map of the city and a smaller map of the neighborhood with highlights marked. We stayed in a private two person room, which was simple and comfortable. The hostel provided a ride form the airport which was great after to days of travel from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank schumak2
sampah2014, Gerente at Sampa Hostel, responded to this review

Hello! Thanks for your comments, we are glad that you had a nice time here! Hope that everything was ok in Rio! Hope to see you again here at Sampa! Best regards, Deborah

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

We are travelling around South America as a late twenties/early thirties couple and we stayed in Sampa Hostel in a private room for two nights. Sampa Hostel is in the Vila Madalena district which is really cool with plenty of restaurants and bars and good transport connections. I can only assume this is how they justify the £45 a night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank El_Viajero_Ingles
sampah2014, Gerente at Sampa Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, how are you? Let me explain some misanderstoods in yours comments that maybe were not clear at the time that you stayed here with us. We don´t charge for living the bags after check out, we charge if you leave your bags more than one day after the check out day, as a luggage storage for the bags while...

75 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (42)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
2:46
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Consolacao
Ibis Budget Sao Paulo Paulista
Pinheiros
Hostel Brasil Boutique
Hostel Brasil Boutique
#44 of 536 in Sao Paulo
68 reviews
Consolacao
Bee.W Hostel
Bee.W Hostel
#4 of 536 in Sao Paulo
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cafe Hostel
#15 of 536 in Sao Paulo
116 reviews
Vila Mariana
Brazilodge All Suites Hostels
Pinheiros
O de Casa Hostel
O de Casa Hostel
#28 of 536 in Sao Paulo
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Pinheiros

Neighbourhood Profile
Pinheiros
Exploring Pinheiros, a neighbourhood known for cozy restaurants and cafes, you will notice a youthful energy. Several cultural centres and institutes surround the area and even its main church, Calvário, hosts a traditional Brazilian “Festa Junina” - a celebration with traditional music, dance, and food during the months of June and July. On the weekends, residents gather at Benedito Calixto Square, a loud and crowded area where people enjoy live music drinks alongside the antiquities fair.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The perfect place for people with young spirit who look for an environment of integration, with an affordable price and safety as if they were in a hotel.Sampa Hostel is part of Hostelling International and is located in the center of Vila Madalena, a super cool neighborhood full of bars, clubs, restaurants and art galleries.Offering single, double, couple and family rooms and also dorms, Sampa Hostel has a 24 hour reception, personalized service and bilingual staff ready to provide full information on what to do in the city, where to go and how to arrive.Sampa Hostel is certificated as one of the Quality Hostels from HI.We are waiting for you to show the largest city in South America, in a totally different way that you have never seen so far. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sampa Hostel

Address: Rua Girassol 519 | Via Madalena, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 05433-001, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo > Pinheiros
Price Range: RM63 - RM249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sampa Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Sampa Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sampa Hostel Sao Paulo, Brazil
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sampa Hostel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Sampa Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Just visit it u won't regret! :)”
 of 5 bubbles mgerasima, 1 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Take the Room number 6, it has a privative bathroom, best Room.”
 of 5 bubbles t_liob856, 2 Feb 2016 | Read review
“It is a very quiet place.”
 of 5 bubbles evermondo, 23 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Private room is fantastic”
 of 5 bubbles Melbourns, 27 Nov 2015 | Read review
“The rooms in the back are more quieter, but the rooms in the front is more spacious”
 of 5 bubbles 90quinv, 26 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay