We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Poblado Kimal

Booking.comUS$146*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$190*
US$146*
Great Deal
US$190*
US$190*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Poblado Kimal
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

346 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 99: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Poblado Kimal
 Click to rate
Australia
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Was impressed by the standard achieved,the staff were exceptional, even providing a breakfast hamper wh r not I had to go out on a very early tour t o the geysers. I also ate breakfast there,it was excellent. What was nice was to come come back to a lovely warm room Wifi was free

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MaggieAu
Mississauga, Canada
Reviewed 20 February 2017

I am traveling a lot and this is hotel was very disappointing.For 200 USD/night you would expect more. Hotel is very noisy,no airconditioner,windows that you can't fully open,dust from the street. No TV,uncomfortable bed. Breakfast was ok-no complains,friendly waitress,but that's it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zuza83
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

The 20 cabins are built with natural materials, which include a private porch. Staff are friendly and helpful, especially at the Paatcha Restaurant. This hotel is very close to the main drag, Caracoles, so noise levels on the Saturday night can disturb light sleepers. Overall, we had 6 pleasant days in this relaxing and charming hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MazV
Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 6 February 2017

Our room was small and quite bare. With two single beds on one side and a small shelf on the other, there was not enough space to spread out our bags, backpacks and things. There was no TV, and the fridge was not working. The only place we could sit was on the bed. Everything was dated. The bathroom was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A L
pobkim, Director Comercial at Hotel Poblado Kimal, responded to this review

In response to your feedback: your booking was for a twin room which means a room with 2 large single beds; the aesthetic style of the hotel rather than "dated" would be better described as "hand-built/rustic" and of a design in keeping with the local environment using traditional building materieals and techniques - appreciation of such things is of course...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

Unlike all other places we stayed at in Chile, this hotel is to be avoided. Stray dogs from the town enter the hotel day and night and will make their deposits right outside your room. Very noisy place right in the centre of town and on top of that staff are difficult to deal with and not service oriented at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Oliver S
pobkim, Director Comercial at Hotel Poblado Kimal, responded to this review

Oliver, I´m very surprised to read your comments about stray dogs in the hotel. Perhaps it´s not a fair thing to extrapolate a general rule from an - albeit unpleasant - one-off experience you had. I can assure future guests that it is by no means a fair description of Kimal to suggest that dogs are roaming around day and...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

There was a DJ playing at the bar next door during our stay. Our room was right next to the DJ's stage and the very loud music went on all night. We didn't get any sleep and left very disappointed and sleep deprived.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anne_travel1
pobkim, Director Comercial at Hotel Poblado Kimal, responded to this review

It was most unfortunate that the one-off event in a neighbouring restaurant disturbed your sleep. There are supposedly strict municipal restrictions regarding noise leveles in the urban centre of San Pedro but apparently that night they were not applied. However it is a fact that bars in the centre close at 1am week days and 2am weekends.

Cotia, SP
Reviewed 20 December 2016

We had stayed four nights at Poblado Kimal, in two different rooms, both were clean and comfortable, fine to rest after visit beatiful places in Atacama region. The restaurant (at Kimal, in front of Poblado, same street) has good options in menu. Crew are friendly and ready to help in any situation.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gilberto M
Reviewed 4 December 2016

This hotel looks great on the pictures and I guess you might have great experience if you are a single traveler/a couple that is promptly spending money at the hotel as they would want. It should be avoided though at all cost. I have arrived at the hotel on Monday with my wife and kids and I checked in without...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank smallmouse
pobkim, Director Comercial at Hotel Poblado Kimal, responded to this review

This is indeed an unfortunate respresentation of things. 1. First the reservation was made online for a DOUBLE room with no mention of any children. Our child policies are very clearly exhibited online with our other booking conditions and it states clearly that up to one child under 5 years can stay with their parents in a double room. This...

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 4 December 2016

As I was doing a tour into Bolivia I decided to stay at Poblado Kimal. I liked the set up of eco-friendly hotel and the cabins are quite cute. The interior is practical and clean. The price however suggested a bit more chic. The staff was friendly and the breakfast was very good. Although they should start serving it an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kluane
Fairfield, California
Reviewed 18 November 2016

I stayed three nights at the Poblado Kimal. The rooms are clean, bathrooms also. The rooms are in individual yurt type of cabins. The environment is rustic and charming. Bed was very comfortable. Reception staff is very helpful. Wifi works well. I early enjoyed my stay and would definitely come back. The "excursiones" through Kimal were excellent. We did Valle...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Monica R

173 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (153)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (47)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro de Atacama hotels
0.2 km away
Lodge Andino Terrantai
Lodge Andino Terrantai
#6 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
622 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Kimal
Hotel Kimal
#12 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
319 reviews
0.9 km away
Altiplanico Atacama
Altiplanico Atacama
#8 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
La Casa de Don Tomas
La Casa de Don Tomas
#10 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
706 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Cumbres San Pedro de Atacama
Hotel Cumbres San Pedro de Ataca...
#9 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
703 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Noi Casa Atacama
Hotel Noi Casa Atacama
#7 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Just off the main street, the 21 charming wood and adobe cabin-like rooms with terrace, distributed amongst the fruit trees and shady paths reminiscent in its arrangement and calm, of an ancient settlement – is Hotel Poblado Kimal. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Poblado Kimal

Address: Domingo Atienza esquina Caracoles | Centro Histórico, San Pedro de Atacama, Chile
Region: Chile > Antofagasta Region > San Pedro de Atacama
Price Range: RM623 - RM920 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Poblado Kimal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Poblado Kimal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Poblado Kimal San Pedro De Atacama, Atacama, Chile
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro de Atacama
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Poblado Kimal staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hotel Poblado Kimal staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms have same shape”
Munhoz_Gil, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Avoid at all cost if you have a family or the management would sense you have money”
smallmouse, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I enjoyed room #41”
monicar895, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms are quite equivalent. Unfortunately all of them will be reached by the noise coming from the street bars and restaurants.”
dvts2016, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms to the back south side of the hotel will avoid you hearing the sound of other guest dragging their trolley suitcases.”
Taotenui, 23 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$146* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$190
Orbitz.comUS$190
TravelocityUS$190
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates