We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil

Travellers' Choice award winner
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

790 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 142: English reviews
Start your review of Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil
 Click to rate
Estados Unidos
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room problems, noise, bad towels quality and maintenance. Eve with previous and specific room and floor request the front desk didn't accomplish that and didn't had the intension to fix the problems with the room, key or light problems

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christian R
Sonesta H, General Manager at Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for your comments and truly apologize for all the inconveniences that you had in our property, I would like to confirm to you that right now we are taking the right measures, our principal goal is that you have a really pleasant stay in our hotel. We really hope to have an...

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very large and comfortable rooms. Service was good. My credit card had a chip which for this hotel, meant I had to charge my card for any purchase. I couldn't bill anything to my room. That was kind of a bummer.; Hotel front desk staff was hit and miss, mostly miss. There was one very tall young lady that was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
Sonesta H, General Manager at Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for writing us, your opinion certainly assists us through our continuously process of service improvement. Your comments are extremely important and we would like to offer a truly apologize for all the inconveniences that you had in our property. The very tall young lady her name is Alexandra Valle and our bellboys could be Raúl LLangari...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lobby is on the second floor and no one greets you in the entrance door. Front desk team are not very friendly. Rooms are good and service and attention from the other employees is great. Do not recommend the food and the sushi place on the top.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Luis V
Sonesta H, Director General at Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It is a pleasure for us receive every single comments to continue our process improvement. Please acccept our sincere apologies for all inconveniences caused, we always training our staff to highlight our quality service and basic standards such as greet our guests all the time with a kind smile, the attention and food in our Restaurant must be...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I used to love this hotel but the quality has significantly decreased. I don't know what happened but it was a big disappointment and I was embarassed that I had recently recommended this to a friend.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank williamfZ4426TD
Sonesta H, General Manager at Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We regret the discomfort that you may have had, we would like to know specifically what disappointed you, in order to take corrective measures. It is very impotant for us to know how was your stay with us. We are looking forward to see you soon, if you have any question, suggestion or additional request, please do not...

Cuenca, Ecuador
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

OKAY but not great. we went for the location next to the mall, but reception and the beds were not as great as before. Three (3) couples, we booked direct with Sonesta and the reception people had no idea what to do, said we could not use Sonesta Travel pass, they wanted a deposit (it was already booked AND paid)...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
Sonesta H, General Manager at Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Please accept our sincere apologies for this time we were unable to fulfill the service you were expecting. We will be trained to front desk departemn with more details about the reservations made through website and the proper use of the Sonesta Travel Pass program, since in our country Ecuador is managed differently from other countries. We will...

Miami, Florida
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lobby of the hotel is on an upper floor, nobody greats you on the street level entrance. Checkin was ok but not great. I booked an executive floor room with breakfast included, there is nothing special about the executive floor only the price I paid, 180 plus tax for a room which smelled humid and a bathroom without hot water..I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DonquijoteII
Sonesta H, General Manager at Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It is a pleasure for us receive every single comments to continue our process improvement. Please acccept our sincere apologies for all inconveniences caused, we always training our staff to highlight our quality service and basic standards such as greet our guests all the time with a kind smile, assist in any problem that is detected with the...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I arrived in Guayaquil from my Galapagos trip. After I left the luggage claim area, I was trying to catch up a hotel shuttle bus to Sonesta as it advertised an airport hotel. There was none. I called the hotel. The receptionist told me if I didn't request for a shuttle bus pick up 24 hours in advance, there would...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank stephensM5117DF
Sonesta H, General Manager at Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We regret having failed to communicate clearly and visibly through the hotel website about the free airport-hotel-airport transfer service 24 hours in advanced. Please accept our sincere apologies for this situation that was presented with the receptionist who answered your call. We will be taking the respective measures and we have informed to our Revenue Manager for the...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 April 2017

For the price I pay to stay in this hotel I was expecting a bit more I have stay in so many 5 start hotels around the glove and in my opinion this hotel is a 3 start hotel and not 5 start! the swimming pool is very small and very dirty! there is also lots of work going on...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank byroncmartinez
Sonesta H, General Manager at Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for letting us know about your perception of our services. Believe me it is a pleasure for us to receive your comments and to provide us with ideas for improvement, we apologize for all the inconveniences caused. It also promises us to look for more innovative ideas both for our facilities and for our overall hotel...

Japon
Reviewed 10 April 2017

Whenever I visit Ecuador, I always stay at this hotel in the recenet trips because the location of the hotel for business should be perfect if we compare this with other hotels in this area and I this the hotel provide the good price for value.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank hiroshio257
Sonesta H, General Manager at Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for preferring Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil, your comments are extremely important because help us to continue providing the best service that our guests deserve. Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil is always at your service. We sincerely want you to come back soon. If you have any question, suggestion or additional request, please do not hesitate to contact us. On...

Duffel, Belgium
Reviewed 20 March 2017

The Sonesta hotel was advised by a company I was visiting. The service and friendlyness of the staff impecable. For my first visit to Ecuador, it certainly helped in my first appreciation, of the country and its people. The swimming pool is a bit small but let that be a minor remark, in a for the rest a good stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank eddypost1
Sonesta H, Manager at Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are grateful for having the time to let us your pleasant comments. It is very important for us to know how was your stay with us. Your evaluation will help us to continue providing you a high service that our guests deserves. We hope to see you soon, if you have any question, suggestion or additional requests,...

104 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (72)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guayaquil hotels
3.1 km away
Wyndham Guayaquil
Wyndham Guayaquil
#1 of 60 in Guayaquil
842 reviews
1.4 km away
Holiday Inn Guayaquil Airport
1.0 km away
Hilton Colon Guayaquil
Hilton Colon Guayaquil
#10 of 60 in Guayaquil
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil
4.2 km away
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
#4 of 60 in Guayaquil
647 reviews
4.4 km away
Grand Hotel Guayaquil
Grand Hotel Guayaquil
#6 of 60 in Guayaquil
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil

Address: Joaquin Orrantia Av. and Leopoldo Benitez Street | (next to Mall del Sol), Guayaquil 090150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Guayas Province > Guayaquil
Price Range: RM413 - RM688 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Guayaquil
#1 Spa Hotel in Guayaquil
#4 Business Hotel in Guayaquil
#7 Romantic Hotel in Guayaquil
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
NY
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I'd try and get a room as high up as possible. Seems to be lots of activity at street level”
JimS967, 7 May 2017 | Read review
“Request a room on top floors”
mariaaH4543BI, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for everything before get surprised!”
jackoec, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Look for a room at the points of the almond shaped floors. They are the quietest.”
11StephenP11, 13 Aug 2016 | Read review
“don't face airport”
318marka, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$102* /night
View Deal
HotelQuicklyUS$154
TripAdvisorUS$102
PricelineUS$102
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates