We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
31/12/2017 01/01/2018
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Roatan Backpackers' Hostel

    On the side road next to Roland Hardware | Sandy Bay, Sandy Bay, Roatan 00000, Honduras
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    31/12/2017 01/01/2018
    Are these your travel dates?
    TripAdvisor uses this information to find you the lowest prices for your stay.
    Traveller (98)
    Room & Suite (21)
    Pool & Beach (18)
    Overview
    • Excellent73%
    • Very good20%
    • Average4%
    • Poor2%
    • Terrible1%
    Travellers talk about
    “dorm room” (9 reviews)
    “lizard lounge” (7 reviews)
    “west end” (72 reviews)
    Wifi
    Free Parking
    Pool
    Non-Smoking Rooms
    Airport Transportation
    Family Rooms
    Kitchenette
    Laundry Service
    Breakfast included
    All hotel details
    {"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
    Write a ReviewReviews (239)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    1 - 5 of 220 reviews

    Reviewed 1 week ago

    Mel is wonderful and has so much advice about things to do around the island. She was so helpful before, during and after my visit! Stayed in a single loft room and although it is small, I thought it was adorable and the perfect size....More

    Thank Caroline R
    Response from hostelMel, Owner at Roatan Backpackers' HostelResponded 1 week ago

    Thanks Caroline! It was great to have you here, I hope you'll get a chance to come back this way in the future. Mel

    Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

    We stayed here for a few nights at the beginning of our 7 week Central American trip. Mel is a fantastic host, she is always available if you require anything (even prior to arriving) She has numerous suggestions, tips and advice when you arrive. If...More

    Thank melissajjjjj
    Response from hostelMel, Owner at Roatan Backpackers' HostelResponded 1 week ago

    Thanks for your review- I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, thanks for all the positive feedback. Sorry to hear by neighbour's cat decided to serenade you! I think she was lonely as my neighbour was away for the week- hopefully she stays home from here...More

    Reviewed 2 weeks ago

    We don't usually stay in hostels but we needed a place for one night and the website looked good so we booked a room with private bathroom. Unfortunately there was some confusion and we ended up sharing it which was fine, too. I used the...More

    Thank Nadine S
    Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

    We have the greatest time staying here and love feeling at home around the hostel! Our preteen son loved hanging out with the hostel boys, Auri & Deo. Safety is always a travelers concern and I felt safe staying at the hostel and never a...More

    Thank Melinda R
    Reviewed 4 weeks ago

    I stayed at the Roatan Backpacker’s Hostel for about a week in late October, 2017. It boasts a quiet sanctuary away from the noisy bustle of West End and West Bay. Mel is a wonderful woman who made sure I had everything I needed the...More

    Thank adventureswithboss
    Response from hostelMel, Owner at Roatan Backpackers' HostelResponded 4 weeks ago

    Hi Ryan, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, but very sorry for the theft of your cell phone and debit card (you didn't mention that your card was also gone!). I really don't have any idea how it could have happened, as you reported that...More

    Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
    547 reviews
    #1 of 14 hotels in West Bay
    7.1 km
     
    Paradise Beach Hotel
    699 reviews
    #4 of 14 hotels in West Bay
    6.8 km
     
    Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
    2,116 reviews
    #2 of 14 hotels in West Bay
    6.9 km
     
    Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
    1,292 reviews
    #5 of 14 hotels in West Bay
    6.7 km
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    GreenLeadersGold level
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Pool
    • Free Parking
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Laundry Service
    • Airport Transportation
    • Things to do
    • Pool
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$22 - US$48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Room types
    • Kitchenette ,
    • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
    • Family Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 9
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Roatan Backpackers' Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • Honduras >
    • Bay Islands >
    • Roatan >
    • Sandy Bay
    • Also Known As
    • Roatan Backpackers' Hostel Honduras/Sandy Bay
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (98)
    Room & Suite (21)
    Pool & Beach (18)
    Dining (11)
    Hotel & Grounds (87)
    Family and Play Areas (3)
    Business Centre & Event Rooms (2)
    Bathroom (1)
    Nearby
    Nearby HotelsSee all 42 hotels in Roatan
    Paradise Beach Hotel
    699 reviews
    6.78 km away
     
    Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
    1,292 reviews
    6.71 km away
     
    Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
    2,116 reviews
    6.90 km away
     
    Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
    547 reviews
    7.11 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Blue Bahia Beach Grill
    403 reviews
    1.16 km away
    The Sunken Fish Tree Top Ocean View Bar & Restaurant
    167 reviews
    1.28 km away
    La Dolce Vita Ristorante at Mayoka
    40 reviews
    1.23 km away
    Papa Bone's Pizza
    22 reviews
    1.32 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Carambola Botanical Gardens & Trails
    248 reviews
    .66 km away
    Sandy Bay Beach
    134 reviews
    1.24 km away
    Dolphin Encounter
    185 reviews
    .83 km away
    Octopus Dive School
    287 reviews
    1.17 km away
    Questions & Answers
    Get quick answers from Roatan Backpackers' Hostel staff and past guests.
    Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
    Posting guidelines
    Submit
    Room Tips
    "The CanDo is comfy, novel, and out of the way."
    Read review
    "From dorm to privets, go for the pone you like best."
    Read review
    "Dormitory, Shared or single rooms are available depending upon you needs"
    Read review
    "Single Private Rooms above the main building"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing