We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Goodtime Beach Hostel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Koh Tao
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Goodtime Beach Hostel
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

153 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 134: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Staff are very friendly and helpful and cute (especially the bar tender). The rooms are clean and have a hot shower (one of the best I've used in SEA). Close to many good bars and restaurants. I ended up extending my stay and staying longer than planed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Abby F
Mae Sai, Thailand
Reviewed 1 week ago

I loved the staff. They made the stay wonderful. They are sweet and very helpful. I had a problem with one of the beds and they made sure to accommodate me with a different room. I enjoyed the bar downstairs. Fun times.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank deegeta2484
Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

On the beach!!!! Best location. Next to the rock bar so wonderful for partying. Super loud if you're not partying but with some ear plugs you should be okay!!!! It was nice being next to many food options and boat tour operators so a motorbike isn't necessary unless you want to explore the mountain! The staff are all so helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aubrey S
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Hostel is next to a great bar so if you are not there to party then you aren't going to get any sleep. The rooms were newly painted when we got there. That day we had all started to notice little bugs crawling around the beds and the next day we woke up covered head to toe in bites! The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hsr612
Valerie A, Manager at Goodtime Beach Hostel, responded to this review

Repainting wood and air out the mattresses? All this doesn't make any sense as we had never done any of above. How you can even take air out the mattress??? It is just ridiculous. Pictures that the following guest provided don't look like taken at our hostel, we have absolutely different type of floor coating and bed sheets. Regarding this...

Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights and that was definitely enough. The room was nice I thought, and we were lucky to get two bottom bunks next to each other and the doors so we got a view. I like that they had events for each day and that the communal area was big and served lovely food at discount! The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah K
Timsahb, Owner at Goodtime Beach Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Sarah, Thanks for the nice review, those beach side dorms are very nice and the views are amazing. I am sorry for the smell from the water, this is a common thing on the islands dude to the use of septic tanks. Once our staff where informed we emptied the tank the next day. The noise has been an...

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

After considering reviews on here and Hostelworld I went ahead and booked 3 nights here, after 1 I couldn't wait to move. Receptionist not welcoming on arrival or giving much info; I had to ask to check in after 5 mins of sitting there while she ignored me and carried on her chat with a friend...so much for the atmosphere...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank peachiepagan
Timsahb, Owner at Goodtime Beach Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and sorry for your disappointing stay. Just to clarify your points: Was the receptionist chatting to her friend or another customer? Its rude to ignore people, I agree with you, but its also rude to demand attention... The beds are custom made and very stable, not sure what you mean there. The plastic is because travelers...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

There is a saffa here that is amazing she sorted me out with a free upgrade and the wifi is amazing you defo should stay here her name is Emily she's awesome I have to write more so I will add the sun set bar is full of women that are swimming naked so get your self there in swim...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ridgerz14
Timsahb, Owner at Goodtime Beach Hostel, responded to this review

Sounds like you enjoyed yourself!!

Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

Fab stay, great location and lovely manager! Only downside was one member of staff came across so rude everytime we asked her for any help or advice and was just useless (apparently despite living their she knows nothing about the island). She made us feel like we were interrupting her breakfast and wasting her time. Which isn't the kind of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Felicity M
Timsahb, Owner at Goodtime Beach Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and I am sorry about the rude staff member. This is something we did not realize for a while, but this person now no longer works for us. Hopefully Val, the manager made up for it. Cheers.

Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

The place itself is clean with a nice view and a large beach, the beachbar has a happy hour from 5 till 9. Self brought alcohol and food is not allowed... The double bed bungalow was clean and a hammock was in front of it, so very chilld. Staff was friendly and helpfull, they offer laundry and scooter renting.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan P
Timsahb, Owner at Goodtime Beach Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, sounds like enjoyed your stay :-) Just to clarify (and this is also briefed to you at check in); we do no allow any food or drinks in the dorm rooms as people leave their trash around creating smells and at its worst - ants. You can eat or drink anything you want from anywhere sitting...

Thirsk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

Worst hostel I have stayed in Thailand I'm afraid. The bathroom in our dorm absolutely stunk of sewage and the toilet was very brown, we had to make sure the door was closed at all times to not stink the room out. Beds were fine, air con ok but only hostel thus far when I haven't been given a towel,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cj922012
Timsahb, Owner at Goodtime Beach Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, sorry to hear you think our hostel is so bad... sorry about the location, the view, the uncrowded dorms with internal bathrooms and AC. I am also sorry about the cafe, the adventure and dive center discounts that we offer as part of your stay. Sorry the negative was in such focus to crowd out the...

68 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.0 km away
Woodlawn Villas
Woodlawn Villas
#10 of 50 in Koh Tao
422 reviews
0.0 km away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 50 in Koh Tao
581 reviews
0.0 km away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#4 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Sairee Cottage Resort
Sairee Cottage Resort
#6 of 122 in Koh Tao
548 reviews
0.0 km away
Seaview Resort and Restaurant
0.0 km away
Indie Hostel
Indie Hostel
#12 of 122 in Koh Tao
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Goodtime Beach Hostel is centrally located on Sairee Beach, close to bars, restaurants and shopping areas. The hotel offers deluxe beachfront doubles, triples with a private balcony, AC and TV included. There are also roadside triples and quads with AC and TV, with all rooms on the second story. The hostel is in location with Goodtime Adventures, the beach cafe and bar. The hostel itself is located in the heart of Sairee beach that is famous by it's bustling nightlife and is popular amongst people who love to laze on the beach by day but like to dance the night away! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Goodtime Beach Hostel

Address: Sairee Beach, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Price Range: RM84 - RM186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Goodtime Beach Hostel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Goodtime Beach Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“beach view”
 of 5 bubbles deegeta2484, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“choose the deluxe dorm so you have a balcony to hang your towel ect”
 of 5 bubbles 890daphnet, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
“C4 dorm has a nice balcony with the best ocean view.”
 of 5 bubbles ozlemo652, 5 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Pick a sea view, there's very nice balcony and you can perfectly watch sunset and listen to music from nearby bars outside.”
 of 5 bubbles yingt575, 20 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Go for the luxury dorm as the view is amazing!”
 of 5 bubbles StephanieEll, 17 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5