We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Barat Tioman Beach Resort

Save
Share
Lot 438 Kampung Juara Juara Beach, Pulau Tioman 26800 Malaysia
Lowest prices for your stay
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
FindHotel
US$34
View deal
Expedia.comUS$43
eDreams
PricelineUS$47
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (312)
Room & Suite (70)
Dining (30)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#11 of 20 hotels in Pulau Tioman
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Located on Juara Beach, The Barat Tioman Beach Resort invites you to stay in air-conditioned comfort in one of our 58 spacious villas, chalets & rooms with modern amenities as well as facilities such as swimming pool, Barat Restaurant & Skybar. The Barat Tioman's Recreation Centre offers nature-inspired adventures such as scuba diving, snorkeling, paddle boards, guided jungle trekking & more for guests to explore
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free internet
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Shuttle bus service
Massage
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Complimentary welcome drink
Boating
Canoeing
Diving
Snorkelling
Water sport equipment rentals
Windsurfing
Darts
Fishing
Taxi service
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Desk
Housekeeping
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Safe
Bottled water
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family Resort
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, Malay, Thai
217Reviews24Q+A34Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 93
  • 71
  • 25
  • 13
  • 15
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Eric Gray R wrote a review 5 Oct
Cyberjaya, Malaysia21 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
Stay from 16 - 19 September 2022 during the Malaysia Day public holiday. Originally I booked Standard Chalet room package inclusive of meals and snorkeling trip for 2 persons but being upgraded to Standard Family Chalet upon checked in for free. Thanks for that. The room is spacious and complete with basic amenities such as aircon, fan, water heater, hair dryer and TV. However, there is no channel available on the TV. Wi-Fi is slow / weak. Menu offered for breakfast, lunch and dinner is limited and their staffs take time to refill it. They should be alert with the number of guests for the day so that they can prepare enough foods. Need to inform / remind the staffs several times to refill the food. Really enjoy the snorkeling trip and having so much. It's worth for the price. They bring to several snorkeling points and lastly relax at the beach before going back. They should add some entertainment / activities during the night at the beach to attract more tourist as there is nothing much to do at night. There is TV in the room but no channel, the Wi-Fi is slow..so what else to do?
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
missykualalumpur wrote a review 5 Oct
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia13 contributions22 helpful votes
Would like to thank the friendly and most accomodating staff at Barat Tioman Beach Hotel for their great service & hospitability. beautiful peaceful beachfront bay. Accesible to snorkelling sites with a some distance , but worth it. Transport service fabulous. Easy communication. Enjoyed the snorkelling trips organised by the resort.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Boon Han Lee, Marketing at The Barat Tioman Beach Resort
Responded 2 days ago
Hi missykualalumpur, thank you for sharing your review with us. Pleased to hear that you have enjoyed our beachfront location, snorkeling trips and our staff's warm Malaysian hospitality. We look forward to hosting you again soon. Thank you for supporting our small local business. Warm wishes, The Barat Tioman
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Titin Dzul wrote a review Sep 2022
Singapore, Singapore4 contributions2 helpful votes
Amazing seafront villa view and clean room. The foods menu is limited. Mee goreng mamak is superb delicious though. The Barat staff is helpful. The Barat can improve on the wifi connection that will be great.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Boon Han Lee, Marketing at The Barat Tioman Beach Resort
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi Titin, thank you for staying with us. Pleased to hear that you have enjoyed our room, food offerings and our staff's warm Malaysian hospitality. WiFi is provided by Unifi and they are unable to supply strong Wifi due to remote location and limited infrastructure. We have reached out to them many times but no change. We look forward to having you back here again soon. Thank you for supporting our small local business. Warm wishes, The Barat Tioman
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Aizat wrote a review Sep 2022
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia2 contributions6 helpful votes
Pros: Plenty of food, comfortable room, efficient services, clear information, functional AC, and clean water Cons: Poor internet connection, lack of online communication for travel arrangements, average food taste, and old bicycles available for rental service Overall: It is a recommended hotel to stay in for a relaxing experience.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Boon Han Lee, Marketing at The Barat Tioman Beach Resort
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi Aizat, thank you for staying with us. Pleased to hear that you have enjoyed our resort facilities, food and rooms. WiFi here is provided by Unifi who is unable to supply strong internet due to remote location and limited infrastructure. We have a website with full information as well as social media channels where enquiries are replied to within 24 hours. It has been a pleasure having you with us and we hope to see you again soon. Thank you for supporting our small local business. Warm wishes, The Barat Tioman
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jayson1228 wrote a review Jul 2022
4 contributions
We went to the barat at the end of June 2022.All the staff are very friendly and polite including the abang who driving us to the hotel. The room is so unexpected because it's very big just like cave. The main point is they provide KTV in the room (only for specific room that no other rooms beside). Apart of playing sports, we can sing together at night. Last but not least, we've enjoy the sky that's full of stars and meteor at Barat Beach.The only part to be improve is the menu and dishes that provide by the hotel, honestly need to review and improve. The only thing to regret was we missed the opportunity to see the baby turtle hatched and let go into the sea. Overall we had a pleasant trip at The Barat. Plan to join your PADI AOW next time. :)
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Boon Han Lee, Marketing at The Barat Tioman Beach Resort
Responded 15 Jul 2022
Hi Jayson1228, thank you for staying with us and for your lovely feedback. Happy to hear that you have enjoyed our beachfront location, resort facilities and our staff's warm Malaysian hospitality. We have provided your feedback on the food to our management for further action. It has been a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thank you for supporting our small local business. Warm wishes, The Barat Tioman
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cheah C wrote a review Jul 2022
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia1 contribution
Hotel room cleanliness is acceptable and environment is OK, but the food is terrible. The services of staff is good. To recommend for low peak season to stay due to the capacity of hotel is unable to support for many visitor.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Boon Han Lee, Marketing at The Barat Tioman Beach Resort
Responded 15 Jul 2022
Hi Cheah C, thank you for staying with us and for your feedback. We have 86 rooms hence we are well equipped to manage group bookings. In terms of food, we understand that taste preference is different for everyone and if there is anything that you would like our chef to improve, please let us know during your stay. We hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you better on your next stay. Thank you for supporting our small local business. Warm wishes, The Barat Tioman
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ShathBask wrote a review Jul 2022
Johor Bahru, Malaysia1195 contributions81 helpful votes
+1
A good hotel with pleasant environment and unique design. What’s Great? 1. Sea view rooms are great 2. Fast check in 3. Friendly front office staff 4. Accessible to many food outlets 5. Provide sea activities like kayaking, snorkelling, etc. 6. Friendly people around the surrounding 7. A long stretch of beach 8. Hiking to a nearby waterfall 9. Beautiful sunrise 10. Ride arrangements (at cost) to/fro Tekek 11. A restaurant by the resort 12. Amazing Hilux ride from Tekek to Juara What Needs Improvements? 1. Quite often power cut 2. Quite pricy for the room size with simple interior and without some basic amenities (e.g. tooth brush) 3. Room make up is only on request 4. No telephone in the room hence you need to go to front office each time you need something
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: 1. Bring toothbrush 2. If you like to enjoy your ride from Tekek to the resort, request...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Boon Han Lee, Marketing at The Barat Tioman Beach Resort
Responded 12 Jul 2022
Hi shathbask, thank you for staying with us and for your lovely review. Pleased to hear that you have enjoyed our beachfront location, rooms, activities and our team's warm Malaysian hospitality. Our electricity is provided by Tenaga Nasional and when their supply is not enough, we will switch over to our generator to ensure there is electricity in our resort. This switch-over takes less than 10 seconds and is not a power cut. As water is a precious limited resource in Tioman, housekeeping is only provided upon request and we hope you will support our water conservation efforts. It has been a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thank you for supporting our small local business. Warm wishes, The Barat Tioman
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cstar88 wrote a review Jun 2022
Singapore, Singapore111 contributions51 helpful votes
+1
We arrived at Tekek jetty and the driver was there ready to fetch us and approximately took about 30mins to reach the resort. The room setting with one toilet, and one bathroom and it is quite convenient if staying with more than 2pax. During our stay, the area of the resort was stink and we discovered it was due to the dustbin located at the center of the resort. The management shall look into it by relocating or to clean up the bin frequently as to provide fresh air. There are also many mosquitoes at the area so remember to bring mosquitoes repellent. The first night of stay, we encountered the power trip at least twice. Believe the power capacity of the resort is insufficient to support during the peak season. The room facilities such as air-cond, toilet bowl tank, and etc shall do periodic maintenance as we encounter issue on it. As for the food, it was served with buffet style and consider not bad. However, we were having the holiday during the peak period and it was crowded with a lot of tourist and causing the dining area overcrowded, and not enough of food to serve. We have told the staff and they required time to prepare for the additional portion. The management shall staggered the dining timing for the guest so that we do not have to que for so long and waiting for the food to be served. The seaside activities such as jet ski, banana boat, parachute and etc doesn't provide in this resort. Only kayak, beach volleyball, beach soccer. We went for snorkeling and spent about half a day for it. Overall for snorkeling was a great experience.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Quiet floor with low cost shall be far side from the swimming pool as people might be hanging...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Boon Han Lee, Marketing at The Barat Tioman Beach Resort
Responded 13 Jun 2022
Hi Cstar88, thank you for staying with us and for your feedback. With regards to electricity, this is supplied by the national electricity company. When supply is insufficient, we switch over to our generators and this takes less than 5 seconds. With regards to the dustbin and room items which require our attention, please let us know during your stay so that we can take action immediately. As Tioman is a marine park, motorised sports such as jetski, parachute etc that you mentioned are not allowed. Thank you for supporting our small, local business. Warm wishes, The Barat Tioman
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TienTien wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
Not enough food provided during the stay. The room I booked and topped up (around RM200+) for part seaview (deluxe room) but got only part pool view. And I have been told most of the deluxe room is pool view, only 2 rooms are with a little seaview which is first come first served. I was wondering my room is similar to standard room (which stated in the information side with pool view), however the staff told me that standard room is far and without pool view, there are garden/hill view. It is a huge misleading information on website and to agent. The staff who served me is not friendly. I do not enjoy the stay, it does not worth for the money I paid.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Boon Han Lee, Marketing at The Barat Tioman Beach Resort
Responded 5 Jun 2022
Hi TienTien, thank you for staying with us and for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that we have not met your expectations during your stay. We have 2 types of Standard accommodation : Standard Room which is located in front of the kids pool with no seaview and Standard Chalet with garden view and closer to the beach. All Deluxe accommodation has pool view as it is location right in front of the big pool with rooms located on the ground floor can access the pool directly whilst rooms on the 1st floor has partial seaview (on a first come first serve basis). These information is clearly stated on our website and we also have a resort map showing the accommodation layout as well as facilities which is shown to you during your check-in. In terms of food provided, we have received reviews stating that food vouchers provided in the packages are more than enough. However, if you did not get sufficient food, do let our Restaurant team know during your stay. We hope you will give us an opportunity to serve you better on your next visit. Warm wishes, The Barat TIoman
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Yew Yong C wrote a review Jun 2022
14 contributions1 helpful vote
Overall place still maintain well after last visit in end Oct 2020. Food still good and staff still helpful and friendly. Snorkeling trip was awesome and the staff very supportive and helpful. No regrets coming back 2nd time. We all have an awesome time and fun 👏👏👍
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Boon Han Lee, Marketing at The Barat Tioman Beach Resort
Responded 5 Jun 2022
Hi YewYongC, welcome back to The Barat Tioman Beach Resort and thank you for your review. Pleased to hear that you have enjoyed our food offerings, snorkeling trip and our team's warm Malaysian hospitality. It has been a pleasure having you with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thank you for supporting our small local business. Warm wishes, The Barat Tioman
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$40 - US$60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
MalaysiaPahangRompin DistrictPulau Tioman
NUMBER OF ROOMS
58
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Barat Tioman Beach Resort
What are some of the property amenities at The Barat Tioman Beach Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Barat Tioman Beach Resort?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Barat Tioman Beach Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and barbeque facilities during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to The Barat Tioman Beach Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tioman Cabana Village, Sunset Corner, and Mawar Beach Resaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Barat Tioman Beach Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does The Barat Tioman Beach Resort have an airport shuttle?
Yes, The Barat Tioman Beach Resort offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Barat Tioman Beach Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Chinese, Thai, and Malay.
Does The Barat Tioman Beach Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.