We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia

Traveller (395)
360
Panoramas (11)
Pool & Beach (90)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Melina Beach Resort is a family friendly eco-resort with a focus on personal service. Situated on a secluded beach with comfortable and rustic accommodation, we provide a peaceful atmosphere surrounded by nature. Melina Beach is surrounded by primary rainforest and is blessed by a healthy coral reef just off the beach. We enjoy the simple pleasures offered by nature and the company of those around us, promoting an environment of relaxation for our guests to take in the natural surroundings.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Internet
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Airport Transportation
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Concierge
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room features
Air Conditioning
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Family
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
Contact
near Paya Halfway between Kampong Paya and Kampong Genting . Guests should exit the ferry at Kampong Paya., Pulau Tioman Malaysia
Getting there
Sultan Ismail Intl Airport136 km
See all nearby hotels
353Reviews
682Photos
13Q+A
90Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 191
  • 99
  • 41
  • 13
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
+21
This is a great resort in Tioman Island if you want a quiet experience with a private beach. There are no neighbouring resorts and the nearest village is about 20-minute walks away. I don't think the resort is accessible by car or even motorbike. Only boats. The water at the
Read more
Response from pjhtiomanPaya, Manager at Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia
Responded 8 Sep 2017
Dear Iszuddin, Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed you visit. Thankfully there are no roads on this Island so cars and motorbikes can not intrude on our solitude, I really hope this Island can remain like this for years to come. I have passed your comments to the kitchen for their consideration and improvement where possible, as you saw during your stay the kitchen is completely open and most of the staff are local, should you return in the future please speak to us about your meal requirements and we will be happy to prepare local dishes to your style. Best regards, Patrick.
Read more
I was after a nice place to stay on a good beach for a week to relax, do a bit of diving and sun bathing etc. I got the nice beach part. We stayed in one of the Garden Bungalows. I since believe some of the Beach view rooms are a bit more modern and nicer, but this review is
Read more
Response from pjhtiomanPaya, Manager at Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia
Responded 8 Sep 2017
Dear Andy, Thank you for your review although I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your visit, on the specific points I can respond as follows: There are a range of rooms available to rent at the resort ranging from 350MYR to 1000MYR ( per night for 2 persons), you chose a garden room at the lowest rate. The Garden rooms are small and as the name suggests do not have a beach view. That said, they are usually regarded as value for money and those looking for more space and privacy can opt for the more expensive chalets. Housekeeping is provided daily and I apologise if you found the service inadequate, we would never consciously allow stained linen in our rooms irrespective of the room category. Bathrooms in the garden rooms were upgraded in 2015 and are in my opinion very good for the price level. I cannot understand why you would have a smell in the room, this is not usual and had you have reported it we would have either rectified the problem or changed your room. Water pressure can be inconsistent not just in Melina but throughout the Island, it reflects the lack of modern infrastructure throughout but in reality this is to be expected in an Island such as this. We offer safe keeping at reception which is manned 24 hours daily, rooms do not have their own safes. Wifi is free at the resort but per my earlier comments it is basic, sufficient for e mailing but little else. On reflection perhaps Melina was not the best choice for your holiday, a more modern central hotel might have better suited your requirements. Best regards, Patrick.
Read more
We stayed for a week at Melina for our Babymoon and had a brilliant time. It was quite quiet after monsoon season had just finished so it was peaceful and the resort is really friendly. The team at Melina are wonderful and really look after you quite personally so we felt very
Read more
I'm speaking on behalf of my colleagues who went snorkelling at Melina's reef, and then later also rented boat to go to other reefs. They said Melina's reef is better than where they went by boat which are in front of Berjaya and Paya village. And snorkelling gears are free
Read more
We had great family time! The internet is down, the weather is great, the kids having fun exploring the natural playground... hermit crab, squid, baby shark, kittens, beds of corals .... everything is just right!
Read more
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining Family and Play Areas
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorMelina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia
The Beachfront Chalet at the Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorMelina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia
The Beachfront Chalet at the Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorMelina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia
The Two Bedroom at the Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia
Suite room-sea view
PreviousNext
12345657
I am not from the hotel. But I went there with my 4-yo, 8-yo and 12-yo. I think they'll do just fine. They even have some toys for making sand castles ready for kids. Melina is not one of those resort that is exclusive to adults only.
0 votes
I was there. And they do. Ask the front desk to book your trip. And the beachfront itself is a great snorkeling spot.
0 votes
PreviousNext
123
"5 unit Suite room sea view"
"Beachfront rooms"
"A beach room has great access to the beach and is worth it"
"We had the most expensive Beach Chalet "Frigatebird" it was horrible, I don't want to know what the rest looks like."
"Beach front chalets enjoy stunning view on the private lagoon, and are great for family with 2 kids with a king size bed and bunk beds."
PreviousNext
12345618
PRICE RANGE
US$89 - US$222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
melina beach resort pulau tioman malaysia hotel pulau tioman
LOCATION
MalaysiaPahangRompin DistrictPulau Tioman
NUMBER OF ROOMS
21
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing