We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Nature Lodge Sepilok

Save
Share
Jalan Sepilok Off Mile 4 Jalan Labuk, Sandakan 90000 Malaysia
Expedia.com
eDreams
Snaptravel
ZenHotels.com
Agoda.com
StayForLong
View all 8 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (121)
Room & Suite (27)
Dining (4)

About

#7 of 39 Speciality lodging in Sandakan
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Located along Sepilok Road, this property is within 1km from the world famed Sepilok Orang Utan Rehabilitation Centre, Sandakan Rainforest Discovery Centre and Borneoan Sun Bear Centre. We have chalets (ensuite with hot water shower facilities) and dormitory rooms. A full service restaurant is within our compound. Ample of parking spaces.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Free breakfast
Hiking
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Taxi service
Convenience store
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Bottled water
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Malay
130Reviews8Q+A8Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 85
  • 30
  • 10
  • 3
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Craddav wrote a review May 2020
Coulsdon, United Kingdom21 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
After a lot of research we decided to stay here for 1nt on our travels around Borneo. ..Superb 9.0 was its rating. Let me assure you this accommodation is far cry from what was promised!! On arrival we had to drag our luggage up a huge steep stairway with no assistance. The place was characterless, the adjoining shop was closed, the restaurant was closed just a very desperate looking place, but hey-ho 'only for 1nt'. Checked in and shown to our room which again was another great slog of uneven steps. When we got to the room I could not believe what we were confronted with..the place was a building site immediately outside our room...please look at my photos.. unbelievable!! We checked out and sought another hotel. Receptionist agreed room wasn't acceptable and would authorise a refund which we will have to acquire through hotels.com which is the biggest disappointment of all, as it has taken 3months of calls and all they are willing to do is offer a voucher.. so no refund even though it was not fit for purpose. We found alternative accommodation at Sepilok Forest Edge and it was superb.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Xenie67 wrote a review Apr 2020
London, United Kingdom113 contributions85 helpful votes
We picked to stay here as it is strategically placed to wildlife places we wanted to visit. Our double room was spacious and clean, a jug of water was in the room upon arrival which was welcomed, it was a really hot day and long journey to get there. Outdoor shower was fun, good water pressure and hot water. Breakfast was ok. Staff at the cafeteria and reception were friendly and welcoming. They managed to book us on a guided night walk at RDC when we asked about it at check in. After the walk we had a dinner at the cafeteria, it was quiet but food was good. Next day we visited the Orangutan Centre and Sun Bear Sanctuary. It is a good base if you want to explore the area for a few days.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Stefanie W wrote a review Feb 2020
Karlsruhe, Germany8 contributions
The dorms were clean and very comfy. The staff was nice and very helpful. Also the food was OK and breakfast was included. Bathrooms and toilets were also clean and even thought you had to wait for a certain time to get warm water it was completely fine!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Alexander Yee, General Manager at Nature Lodge Sepilok
Responded 18 Mar 2020
Thank you for your positive feed back. Do have a safe onward travel. Regards
Read more
tanya c wrote a review Feb 2020
East Preston, United Kingdom28 contributions5 helpful votes
Arrived here from a lovely stay in KL and initially it was a bit of a shock especially when they only had a double, instead of twin, for the 1st night. Beds very comfy and facilities clean. Very good air con. Other disappointment was building works going on which started at 7am, so no lay in. Breakfast is very basic if you dont like eggs, but heard that that is norm for the area. Staff were very helpful with organising trips etc if needed and always smiling and happy. Cereal and yoghart for breakfast would be great as well as more chairs (hammocks) in an outside space for relaxing. Also a ramp access to main building for people who can not do steep stairs. Overall for area, it was a good choice for the price.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Alexander Yee, General Manager at Nature Lodge Sepilok
Responded 18 Mar 2020
Thank you very much for your feed back. We will look into the alternative breakfast choice and the restaurant access. Regards
Read more
Craig C wrote a review Feb 2020
Portishead, United Kingdom27 contributions5 helpful votes
After travelling 19 hours from uk we arrived at our destination- Nature Lodge Sepilok with two young children, hot, tired and very thirsty. We were stunned to be told that they had double booked our room and we had nowhere to stay, they did however book another lodge down the road for us but some advance notice would have been nice & some choice on where we stayed instead of being told on arrival and having no alternative. We had booked this 4 months in advance and booking was confirmed over email. Very poor customer service.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Alexander Yee, General Manager at Nature Lodge Sepilok
Responded 18 Mar 2020
We do apologise for the poor experience. Understandably you were up set.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$40 - US$61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
MalaysiaSabahSandakan DivisionSandakan
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Nature Lodge Sepilok
Which popular attractions are close to Nature Lodge Sepilok?
Nearby attractions include Sepilok Orangutan Rehabilitation Centre (1.2 km), Bornean Sun Bear Conservation Centre (0.2 km), and Sandakan Rainforest Discovery Centre (RDC) (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Nature Lodge Sepilok?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Nature Lodge Sepilok?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Nature Lodge Sepilok?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Nature Lodge Sepilok?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Lake Bistro and Bar, Banana Cafe, and Kedai Roti Thiam.
Does Nature Lodge Sepilok have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Nature Lodge Sepilok offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Nature Lodge Sepilok?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Malay.