We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

57 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan
See the most recent reviews
Showing 47: English reviews
Sungai Petani, Malaysia
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed in the cheapest room and even then it was spacious and clean. If you are a Malaysian government servant, bring your work tag along and get a big discount on you room rate. Check in and check out was swift and the staff were friendly. They also provided airport transfer for RM25/room. Didn't have a huge selection for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mad_format
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 20 August 2013

This is my first time I'm knowing there was such a lady who never show as professional to her customer. She is never give proper respect and talk in manner to us when we query on restaurant stuff. Our business to them seems like not important and they not appreciate to deal with us. This kind of service is horrible...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Max H
DrEdwin, Owner at Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan, responded to this review

Hi There Max H, First and foremost thank you for your stays in our Best Western Sandakan Hotel & Residence. We are sorry on the late reply to your review as we are in the mist of re-organizing our administration. On behalf of Best Western Sandakan Hotel I would like to apologize to you on your unpleasant experience in the...

Henty Australia
Reviewed 18 August 2013

This hotel is in a light industrial area, so we expected something quiet after 5 noisy days in a Kota Kinabalu hotel. The staff were great, the room was really spacious and clean. The rooms are around an interior 1st floor balcony, accessed from an arcade which has no doors so the public can freely walk up the interior stairs...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jim R
DrEdwin, Owner at Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan, responded to this review

Hi Jim R, Firstly we thank you for your stay in Best Western Sandakan Hotel & Residence. Thank you for your precious review in our properties, as your opinion and review are important for us to further improve ourselves. We are truly sorry on your poor quality of sleep, this has been a problem to us as well. As our...

Albury, Australia
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Great big room, very clean. The ridiculously loud karaoke that even drowned out the tv in our room, was truely horrible. 2 nights in a row, sat & sun. They offer a free shuttle into the city centre which is handy. Staff were ok. Overall, would not reccomend.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Clam77
DrEdwin, Owner at Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan, responded to this review

Hi There Clam77, I would love to thank you for your stays in Best Western Sandakan Hotel & Residence. On behalf of the management i would like to apologize to your poor quality of sleep during your stay in our hotel. The karaoke is owned by 3rd party which we have no control over their operations. However we had from...

malaysia
Reviewed 6 July 2013

This hotel is an intergral part of the new commercial and entertainment area and therefore many shops are not opened yet. We booked a van which we collected from the airport and it only took us 10 minutes to reach the hotel. This hotel was not my first preference but I had to go along with my group of friends....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank yellowie8
Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, Malaysia
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Been staying here for 3 days 2 night. We book for suit with 2 rooms. The design is so modern and I like it so much. However, get a bit disappointed for the hotel which not really function well althought we has call for the housekeeping for the room maintanence. The breakfast is just simple and don expect much on...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Kingpark
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We stayed here for three night's,we were offered a lovely cool drink as we checked in. Our air con was not working & we were transfered to a beautiful suite, with a queen size bed & lovely soft pillows.Breakfast was included in the very cheap price & there was a very good selection.The area the hotel is in is all...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 18Marion
LloydGan, General Manager at Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan, responded to this review

Dear 18Marion, First and foremost, on behalf of the team at Best Western Sandakan would like to thank you for staying with us and providing valuable feedback. We have noted your feedback on the air conditioning system, and will look into the matter but hope that your requests was handled in a prompt manner. We have also scheduled air cond...

Anchorage, Alaska
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We stayed here one night in March, 2013, while we were between transfers. This place was excellent! The hotel staff picked us up at the airport, helped us with our luggage, and then gave us a complimentary roundtrip ride into town so we could do a little shopping. You really can't beat that. Our room was wonderful......probably the best in...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank mikeyfish
LloydGan, General Manager at Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan, responded to this review

Dear Mikeyfish, First and foremost, on behalf of the team at Best Western Sandakan would like to thank you for staying with us and providing valuable feedback. We were pleasantly surprised with your review and hoped that you have enjoyed yhour experiences in Sandakan, albeit being here for only one night. At our Hotel, we continually strive to provide a...

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 8 March 2013

A brand new hotel with no lift. Need a car to travel around as it's located in a quiet area. We stayed in a 2-bedroom spacious family suite. There are two types of shower head in both bathrooms - rain & traditional shower. However the rain shower in the master bathroom caused flooding due to poor drainage. Good staff service....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 78Mandy
LloydGan, General Manager at Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan, responded to this review

Dear 78Mandy, The team at Best Western Sandakan would like to thank you for staying with us and providing valuable feedback. One of our hotel features is the Rain Showers and as you pointed out, water out flow is a structural issue in our Hotel. Our team is consistently monitoring and dosing the outlet pipes with scum remover to ensure...

Sofia, Bulgaria
Reviewed 2 March 2013

The hotel is brand new. The location is not near the city centre, but 15 mins drive away. It is also 10-15 mins away from the airport. Since there is not much to do in the city we enjoyed our stay and rented a small car to move around the area. The room was very big and new. Bathroom too....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PeterDran
LloydGan, General Manager at Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan, responded to this review

Dear PeterDran, First and foremost, the team at Best Western Sandakan would like to thank you for staying with us and providing us valuable feedback. I have noted your comments on the Air Cond in the reception area and we have rectified the temperature at our reception. With regards to the car rental, I am in complete agreement with you...

36 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandakan hotels
5.2 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
4.9 km away
Borneo Cove Hotel
Borneo Cove Hotel
#9 of 32 in Sandakan
61 reviews
2.3 km away
The Mark's Lodge
The Mark's Lodge
#8 of 32 in Sandakan
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
S'kan Styles Hotel
S'kan Styles Hotel
#7 of 32 in Sandakan
122 reviews
3.8 km away
Hsiang Garden Hotel
Hsiang Garden Hotel
#13 of 32 in Sandakan
32 reviews
4.2 km away
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
#3 of 32 in Sandakan
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Best WESTERN Sandakan Hotel and residence is now affiliated to RCI, THE only RCI hotel in Sabah. We have added 32 New hotel rooms and now we have a total of 80 rooms. We have mine 2 Bedrooms family apartment , 1 handicap Room, 1 honeymoon suite and 69 standard, superior and deluxe rooms.We have a new banquet hall capacity for 600 pax Fully air condition., suitable for marriage function, annual dinner, meetings , concert etc.. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan

Address: Lot E-1-G, Bandar Letat Jaya, Mile 4 Lorong 3, Sandakan 90000, Malaysia (Formerly BEST WESTERN Sandakan Hotel & Residence)
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Price Range: RM107 - RM272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan Sabah
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms on the corner suits are large and quieter”
  • Living room area
  • Room view
 of 5 bubbles mymedia08, 14 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Room 101& 102”
 of 5 bubbles KathiravanM, 23 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Make sure your room is away from the club/karaoke!”
  • Twin Room
 of 5 bubbles L440JPalexp, 16 Oct 2014 | Read review
“Avoid Room 101 for non-smokers”
 of 5 bubbles tommacau, 10 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Our room was facing the outside, not the courtyard, so I believe it will be quieter at night when the club is operating again.”
 of 5 bubbles wizardofwallstr, 12 Jun 2014 | Read review
5 of 5