We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan

Travellers' Choice award winner
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$59*
US$53*
US$59*
US$59*
US$53*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,130 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 984: English reviews
Start your review of Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
 Click to rate
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

First impressions of the Four Points in Sandakan are actually very good. Clean, airy atrium and reception area but things go rapidly down hill from there. Check in process is relatively seamless so the disappointment begins in the room... Despite requesting an additional bed for a child, (confirmed by email and check in,) the bed was missing. Back down to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MisterB65
Management response:

Dear MisterB65, Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor which we have not taken personally but instead constructively. Thank you for highlighting the situation on the extra bed and towels. Could you please let me know which room you were in so that further investigations can be done. Our sincere apologies are extended for the poor impression on our hotel's...

Rugby
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Very disappointed as had been looking forward to staying at this hotel. The staff were lovely and friendly, but what let it down was the cleanliness of the hotel in general. We were upgraded to a higher floor which was nice but spoilt when our room did not look like it had been cleaned as the floor was dirty, had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Irish-halfpint
Management response:

Dear Irish-halfpint, Thank you for your review on a Tripadvisor. We have indeed taken your comments as constructive as my team and I depend on such reviews to improve on our standards and product. We have informed the respective team members of your disappointment and will take immediate remedial action as it is definitely the last thing on our agenda...

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The rooms and beds are comfortable. In fact, all the facilities (and staff contact) were very much on point. The in-hotel bar is an excellent place to enjoy the sunset. In general, just three or four days is probably a long enough stay in Sandakan. The tourist attractions close to the area are very much worth seeing - the War...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MattyB12001
Management response:

Dear MattyB12001, Thank you for your very positive comments and motivation feedback. We look forward to serving more of your friends and business partners in the near future and certainly to serve you again. Hospitably yours, Peter Padman

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for one night before catching a flight home. perfectly adequate and value for money. Very comfy bed and spacious room. A soulless hotel, but then, that's to be expected from a chain... Worth noting that the AC didn't work in our room, an engineer was sent and claimed that he had fixed it - but hadn't. Food and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank C_Harrison26
Management response:

Dear C_Harrison26, Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at our hotel in Sandakan. We are pleased to note of the positive comments that you have appreciated while you were here. We are however sorry that the technician did not really do a good job with your air conditioning. Our staff are usually very competent but we seemed...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After diving in Sipadan Mabul Borneo Diver's Resort, i moved Sandakan to see Orangutans and Proboscis Monkeys! And I found this secret treasure! View? Perfect! Swimming pool? Awesome! Room Service? wonderful! especially Call center was amazing! Shirly - she was call center staff, checked my all asking about wifi, room service, and more questions! i never thought somebody takes care...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank eddyphdhong
Management response:

Dear Mr Eddyphdhong, Thank you for your comments which were indeed very complimentary and motivating from your recent stay. We are especially pleased that certain of our staff members have been noticed and identified for their outstanding services. Both Shirly and Sharahadin have been complimented individually for the special attention given. Thank you once again for having chosen us and...

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here overnight prior to a 3 day river safari. We obviously wouldn't have travelled to sandakan to visit this resort (indeed we wouldn't have travelled to sandakan period) but if you are here as a stop over prior to a safari then quite simply it is the best hotel you can possibly find. The rooms are clean, comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dubai_Spy
FPSandakan, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this review

Dear Dubai_Spy, Thank you for choosing our property and for taking the time to review us! We are very glad that you have decided to explore this part of Borneo, Sandakan! Also very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed all the leisure facilities including the fact that we are attached to mall. We look forward to...

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The location is beautiful - on the beach with lovely views of the city and the sea. Rooms are OK but not great as per expectations from a Sheraton. Towels look old ... Breakfast was OK too though not many choices... Fitness is really a room so not much to do there so I prefer the infinity pool which is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Romario1257
Management response:

Dear Romario1257, Thank you for your comments on your recent visit. We hope that the recent experience will not deter you from returning as some of the points mentioned are beyond what we can do especially regarding the size of the gym and pool. We however thank you for the comments on the towels and selection at breakfast which we...

Cheshire, UK
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for one night and found the hotel to be the best in the local area. The location is right by the shoreline and attached to the local shopping mall. There plenty of food outlets close to the hotel and taxis are easy to reach. We stayed planning to go to the Orangutan Sanctuary. Taxi to there takes about 30...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MALEST1980
FPSandakan, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this review

Dear MALEST1980, Thank you for choosing our property and for taking the time to review us! Thank you for the full 5/5 star rating! Very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay in general and enjoyed the access to all the excursions, as we are to some of Sandakan's best excursions. We look forward to welcome you and your...

Eltham North
Reviewed 1 week ago

Highly recommend this hotel. The location is very central, the amenities are excellent and the staff are very pleasant and accommodating. Some of the attractions are within walking distance and it is easy and convenient to get a taxi to see other sights that are further away. The pool and gym are also very good, with an excellent view of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beth H
FPSandakan, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this review

Dear Beth H, Thank you for choosing our property and for taking the time to review us! Thank you for the full 5/5 star rating! We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay in general and enjoyed the central location, and yes the Sandakan Heritage Trail which features some of Sandakan's renown heritage are within walking distances....

perth
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed 2 nights, 1 before & 1 after jungle tour, 1st one organized at last minute, hotel was more than accommodating, surroundings interesting for short stay but may offer little for longer period, pool closed 1st stay but open on return, a great swim, club room offers place to relax with great view, cocktails excellent value for happy hours, buffet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lezPerth
FPSandakan, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this review

Dear lezperth, Thank you for choosing our property and for taking the time to review us! Thank you for the full 5/5 star rating! Very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay in general and enjoyed the swim and sea view club lounge. We look forward to welcome you and your loved ones again soon. Regards, Jacqueline Rowena, Guest...

853 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (830)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (114)
Viewed
View from Room (118)
Viewed
Room/Suite (128)
Viewed
Dining (84)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (117)
Viewed
Bathroom (38)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (227)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandakan
1.3 km away
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
#3 of 32 in Sandakan
519 reviews
19.1 km away
Sepilok Nature Resort
Sepilok Nature Resort
#1 of 2 in Sepilok
578 reviews
19.1 km away
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Sepilok Jungle Resort
#5 of 32 in Sandakan
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
NAK Hotel
NAK Hotel
#7 of 32 in Sandakan
317 reviews
3.1 km away
Borneo Cove Hotel
Borneo Cove Hotel
#14 of 32 in Sandakan
62 reviews
0.1 km away
S'kan Styles Hotel
S'kan Styles Hotel
#6 of 32 in Sandakan
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The Eatery
The Eatery
Cuisines: International, Asian, Malaysian
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan is right on a scenic waterfront pedestrian promenade overlooking the Sulu Sea, part of the Sandakan Harbour Square, which offers an indoor marketplace and retail shopping mall within the new Sandakan CBD. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan

Address: Sandakan Harbour Square, Sandakan 900000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Price Range: RM214 - RM286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points By Sheraton Sandakan Sabah
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan staff and other travellers.
17 questions
Ask a question
Singapore, Singapore
10 months ago

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go for corner rooms to get the best views”
MALEST1980, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“The view from our room was over the harbour and very nice.”
860BethH, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“prepaid breakfast is a good deal”
WenL_12, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“Go for sea-view room. It is worth the money.”
594mukundc, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“take sea view on a higher floor”
  • View
  • Room
kmittag, 11 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
US$53* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$59
Hotwire.comUS$53
Hotels.comUS$53
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates