The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort

The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort

The bar at sunset, taken from the pool
Traveller (3782)
Pool & Beach (905)
Room & Suite (550)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Sun, 2 Jun
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
RM 1,838
Fully refundable before Sun, 2 Jun
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
RM 1,581
Breakfast included
No fees just great deals
RM 1,511
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#1 of 9 resorts in Pulau Redang
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
The enchanted resort bestows a contemporary barefoot luxury experience with warm Asian hospitality that creates a magical experience for those who seek it. We welcome you to one of the most beautiful islands in Malaysia and having nature at its best, it is surrounded by one of the most spectacular seas in Asia. Indulge yourself in mother nature’s most natural creations; the powdery white sandy beaches, it’s crystal-clear waters and tropical rainforest.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Diving
Kids stay free
Books, DVDs, music for children
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Yoga classes
Yoga room
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary welcome drink
Happy hour
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Hiking
Raquetball
Snorkelling
Water sport equipment rentals
Windsurfing
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Karaoke
Table tennis
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Children's playground
Indoor play area for children
Kids pool
Highchairs available
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Executive lounge access
Gift shop
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Private beach
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bidet
Dining area
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, Hindi, Malay

Location

Kampong Ulu, Pulau Redang 20928 Malaysia
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 39 out of 100
39
Sultan Mahmood Airport
46.2 km
See all flights
1 Attraction
within 10 kilometers
2,200Reviews138Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,072
  • 675
  • 253
  • 119
  • 82
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Lawrence wrote a review Aug 2020
Bath, United Kingdom38 contributions46 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The experience began as we disembarked from our boat at the pier and were met by staff from the hotel, who then drove us to the resort. The island is small and the drive was quick. Everything seemed to be so well organised and well managed initially, one of our rooms were even upgraded so that we could be closer together (but not connecting).

The location of the hotel is beautiful, set in front of a beach with crystal clear water. The place has clearly been left in a relative state of neglect, with a lot of areas around the hotel looking like they could do with some love and care. The rooms themselves were decent- large, clean and well equipped, however, dated and in need of a revamp. Having a bath in the room (as opposed to in a bathroom) works as a couple, but if travelling as a family or friends, more a novelty and best to be avoided.

The real let down of this place is the staff, it’s obvious many of them are seasonal workers and have not had anywhere near enough training. They try their best, but fundamentally, they have no clue what they’re doing. First day ordering food on the beach - half the ingredients on the menu were left out of the meal, when asking the waitress to fix this, she had no clue what to do. The service in the restaurant in the evening was ridiculously slow, the family next to us ended up walking out. The food itself, not great but not bad - definitely not worth the price (for Malaysia anyway). The management were very helpful when we needed to resolve an issue regarding flights on our last day, but more training is obviously needed for the bulk of the staff.

Resort has a lot of potential, but with the issues surrounding food and service, you feel like you’re in a 3* hotel and not spending 3000rm/room/night. If you really want an amazing beach and don’t care about the service, this place is a good shout. If you don’t mind chilling in the pool and would rather have amazing service, would probably recommend the better value resorts in Langkawi.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Maya Kaur, Marketing at The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
Responded 2 Aug 2020
Dear Lawrence, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While we thank you for your kind compliments, we are very sorry to hear of your dining experience which may not have been to your liking. We received many good compliments but at the same time we understand that different guests have different choices and we wish to share with you that we are able to cater to your dining preference should you require something apart from our existing buffets and a la carte menus which is displayed at our restaurant entrance. We have also taken note of your comments and we assure you this is not our usual standard and we take this matter very seriously. We have shared your feedback with the departments in-charge for their attention and further improvements. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, we can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of and hope to welcome you back to our hotel again. Sincerely, Maya Kaur Marketing Communications Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Grace wrote a review Aug 2020
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia7 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We would like to say a thank you and well done to Kara and her operations team for their hospitality and taking care of us during our stay.

Everything was seamlessly from water, flight and ground transfer from the day we arrive and depart vv Merang jetty and Subang Airport; to checking in and out from the rooms of Cliff Premier Suite, Garden Suite and Cliff Hill Deluxe, and meals include a BBQ dinner serve accordingly.

Redang beach is clean and mesmerizing.
We are happy and have enjoy the activities from diving and the other recreational activities of Turtle Discovery Snorkeling, Kayaking, SUP board and Chartering a boat for snorkeling.

We appreciate the arrangement for the open yoga space in the morning pranayama and yoga; as well the yoga room for the evening meditation and yoga.

Looking forward to another retreat in the near future.

Namaste,
Grace, Yoga Teacher; together with other 23 yogis.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Maya Kaur, Marketing at The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
Responded 23 Aug 2020
Dear Grace, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Maya Kaur Marketing Communications Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
coachles87 wrote a review Aug 2020
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia37 contributions29 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is in a super location, the beach and sea are clean and very accessible for snorkelling and swimming. We did have some interaction with sand flys, which is always annoying, but stay off the dry sand and avoid the beach in the late afternoon and you may be ok.

The hotel is right next door to the beach where tour guides come to feed and attract the turtles.

The room we had was large enough for 2 adults and 1 child and had everything we needed.

The staff are very helpful and any requests we had were quickly dealt with.

The food and beverage is expensive for Malaysia. I appreciate that the hotel is at the end of an extended supply line, but so are many others off the east coast and their food and drink is much cheaper. Having said that, the quality of food was good overall and there was sufficient choice of fresh salad, which must be a challenge. Very little seafood on offer, which may be a sign that the local area has been overfished in the past?

Breakfast was somewhat chaotic as the hotel was full and there were a lot of people in the restaurant at the same time. A few of the breakfast F & B crew were not so happy! Others (Maks and Jacob) were delightful and helpful.

The dive centre is well run, I will leave a separate review.

On the whole, a marvellous place to stay, but the pricing in 5* and the experience probably 4*.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Maya Kaur, Marketing at The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
Responded 23 Aug 2020
Dear coachles87, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are very sorry to hear of your unpleasant experience during your stay with us. We wish to share with you that we are able to cater to your dining preference should you require something apart from our existing buffets and a la carte menus. The food and beverages are priced accordingly due to accessibility and availability on the island. To provide a comfortable dining experience for our guests, we have recommended the designated non-peak dining hours during breakfast. We have also shared your feedback with the departments in-charge for their attention. Nevertheless, we hope to welcome you back to our hotel again. Sincerely, Maya Kaur Marketing Communications Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Johno E wrote a review Jul 2020
33 contributions69 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This is quite a nice resort. The beach and water are really nice, and it's amazing to be able to swim with the turtles so close.

The place is very 'resorty' and you're packed in with loads of noisy families and kids so it's not a particularly peaceful hotel.

The food is reasonable quality but a bit pricey for what it is. The service ranges from really pretty good to quite inattentive, it just depends how lucky you are on the day. It seems like they're gearing up again after the MCO so we were happy to wait a little longer at times but it does seem like they're a little understaffed. Regardless of the actual speed of delivery, the staff were always friendly and smiling.

The worst thing for me was how there were loads of posters about reducing plastic usage but every day the room was refilled with small plastic water bottles and single use toiletries. It would be great if they could add some water dispensers and move away from tiny plastic toiletries (would probably save them money too).

The arrival and departure transfers to the jetty were also quite badly organised and we repeatedly had to chase up our rides despite them (seemingly) being confirmed by the hotel.

Overall, it's not a bad place but not really worth the price as it currently stands.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Maya Kaur, Marketing at The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
Responded 16 Jul 2020
Dear Johno E, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While we thank you for your kind compliments, we also thank you for your feedback which we have shared with the departments in-charge for their attention and further improvements. We wish to share with you that the items are priced accordingly due to accessibility and availability on the island. Nevertheless, we hope to welcome you back to our hotel again. Sincerely, Maya Kaur Marketing Communications Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MayaBayu wrote a review Jun 2020
Singapore, Singapore11 contributions29 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The location, beach and sea are absolutely beautiful.
The resort spoils it all.
I still can't believe the price I paid for such an mediocre place.
The room is merely an average hotel room, with a view on trees, no sight of the sea from the room. Aircon is old and extremely noisy, as well as the ceiling fan. Locker and fridge did not work when i checked in and I had to get them fixed.
The service is minimal.
The breakfast spread is below average.
The buildings are ugly, with no effort made in style and finitions. They spoil the view from the bay.
We were told we did not need to pre-book the diving and we could just check upon arrival. But when we went to the dive center, we were told we could not dive the day after because it was fully booked. We soon got to know that because some VIPs were there, all the dive masters had to attend to them. So basically there is not enough staff if some VIPs are around.
Food at the beach café has very limited choice (a few pizza and a couple of burgers) and is pretty bad (but expensive of course).
We did not even want to try their dinner after that and went outside of the resort every night, which was a much better option.
There are so many great places to stay in Malaysia for this kind of price, I am surprised it gets such good reviews since it is a total rip-off.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Maya Kaur, Marketing at The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
Responded 2 Jul 2020
Dear MayaBayu Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We tried to message you to request for your room number to conduct further investigations as we were unable to trace your name in our booking system. While we wish you had a better experience, we are very sorry to hear of your unpleasant experience during your stay with us. We assure you this is not our usual standard and we take this matter very seriously. We have shared your feedback with the departments in-charge for their attention immediate improvements. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, we can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Sincerely, Maya Kaur Marketing Communications Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A T wrote a review Aug 2020
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia15 contributions10 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed in Taraas resort, Redang, with my two daughters. I was disappointed by the garden room: very small, damp (I had an allergic reaction). The kids playroom was very cold and again damp with no windows: not the place you want to leave your little ones. Finally, the buffet could really be improved. The bar on the beach is the best spot for snacks and food.
On the positive side, the beach is gorgeous! I would recommend renting a kayak and going with your snorkeling gear to check out the turtles around the cliff on the right. Kids enjoyed the billiard, and ping pong as well as the swimming pool.

My review is a balanced one as I could compare the level of service, rooms, food and location of another resort on the island: laguna resort. We stayed for another 2 nights there. It is not sold as a luxury hotel but it turns out their rooms are much larger, services are well organized, the buffet was well organized in covid times and the food was good. Snorkeling gear was much cheaper and the beachfront much more lively, relaxed and still as beautiful. Rates were much lower.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Maya Kaur, Marketing at The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
Responded 9 Aug 2020
Dear A T, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While we thank you for your kind compliments, we are very sorry to hear of your unpleasant experience during your stay with us. We assure you this is not our usual standard and we take this matter very seriously. We have shared your feedback with the departments in-charge for their attention and further improvements. We have also taken note of your dining experience which may not have been to your liking. We received many good compliments but at the same time we understand that different guests have different choices and we wish to share with you that we are able to cater to your dining preference should you require something apart from our existing buffets and a la carte menus which is displayed at our restaurant entrance. May we also recommend that you visit us during our off-peak season the next time you visit us. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again. Sincerely, Maya Kaur Marketing Communications Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
HuiChoo wrote a review Sept 2020
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia14 contributions4 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Where do I start. The food is bad. The seafood was not fresh. The crab was mushy. The dessert was horrible. Clearly it was made with cheap ingredients. We were quite shocked with the quality of the food given that this is supposedly a high-end resort. The price certainly is. We were also told by the hotel staff that only "some" of the seafood are not fresh. How is that acceptable? Unfresh seafood is really a health hazard. So it's ok if "some" of patrons fall sick?

The condition of the room and the hotel is old and dingy. It clearly needs an upgrade. We could see the wooden funitures are chipped and the cushions are stained. We asked for wine glasses for our room and we were given plastic wine glasses with were sticky and full of scratches. So was the water cups served at the beach bar, by the way.

The only saving grace is the beach and the view. That's amazing. It is really a shame that the hotel can't live up to the standard of it's breach, and not only that, it charges really high price for the quality it provides.

We tried the Spa as well and it was nor great. My friend's masseuse was a trainee and did a bad job. I don't think it's acceptable to ask a trainee to provide the service given that you are charging at a premium price.

Final take away, if you still want to come, manage your expectations. Enjoy the beach but forget about everything else.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Maya Kaur, Marketing at The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
Responded 23 Sept 2020
Dear HuiChoo, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While we thank you for your kind compliments, are very sorry to hear of your dining experience which may not have been to your liking. We received many good compliments but at the same time we understand that different guests have different choices and we wish to share with you that we are able to cater to your dining preference should you require something apart from our existing buffets and a la carte menus which is displayed at our restaurant entrance. We also wish to clarify that our seafood served are always fresh. We also are very sorry to hear of your unpleasant experience during your stay with us. We assure you these are not our usual standards and we take these matters very seriously. We have shared your feedback with the departments in-charge for their attention. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, we can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Sincerely, Maya Kaur Marketing Communications Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Adrian Lee wrote a review Oct 2020
Semenyih, Malaysia7,191 contributions512 helpful votes
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Mesmerizing and fantabulous stay at the hotel with awesome room over looking the breath taking beautiful blue sea with white sandy beaches. Great ambience to dine and hang around the bar over looking Mother Nature beautiful sea while chilling. Rooms we just great and well kept at the Cliff Premier Twin Room.

However, a little disappointment to know some of at the staffs at the bar place didn’t follow SOP of wearing mask, as we are still in RMCO, aren’t they suppose to follow wearing mask at all time? Moreover, majority of the people here never wear mask, hanging around everywhere without taking into consideration of their health and the safety of others during the Pandemic situation. It is sad to know that the management of the hotel taking this pandemic lightly and allowing their guest to walk around the hotel premises without wearing mask. This is truly sad and is a bad reputation for the image of the hotel.

Moreover, what even sadden most is to know that the foods in the hotel is totally craps, below expectation and could be worse than a mamak serving their food that taste even better. With much respect, we do understand that due to the certain pandemic situation and being on the island with limited accessibility to foods and resources coming in, however the management should look into improving the chef of the kitchens and their selection of foods preparation, if others hotels besides Taaras, in other island of redang could provide good quality standard of foods preparation, we don’t see why is an excuse not to prepare good quality foods dining for the people at your hotel, as the foods too when served was cold and tasteless. Thus, heavily OVER PRICE for such cold foods served. Please look for alternative ways to improve the food preparation and in serving high quality standard of warm good taste, edible food that humankind could eat.

Some part of the hotels, looks more like a flat. Where the management allow the guest to hang their cloths outside the hotel’s room balcony. It is really disappointing and demoralizing to see such 5 star hotel allowing quests to hang their cloths like in the low cost flats. Making them look so cheap, and untidiness with unhygienic way of the hotel view.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Maya Kaur, Marketing at The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
Responded 8 Oct 2020
Dear Adrian, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are thrilled to read about your amazing stay with us and glad you found our room comfortable and enjoyable. Our sincere apologies that your stay fell short with regards to the SOP in place. What you described certainly does not meet the standards we set forth. We have since informed our F&B Manager directly to ensure this does not happen again. Our Front Office team has also been alerted once again to remind our guests we wear their masks and stay safe at all times while in the resort. We ensure you that the healthy and safety of our guests is our utmost priority. We’re so sorry that your dining experience did not match your expectations. We have thus brought your comments to the attention of our Executive Chef for further improvements. Your feedback certainly helps us get better. We are looking into the issue of clothes drying in the balcony and hope to resolve it promptly and accurately. We would love to make things right if you give us another chance as we hope to welcome you back to our hotel again. Sincerely, Maya Kaur Marketing Communications Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Praveen R wrote a review Jun 2020
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia18 contributions7 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at the Taaras beach resort from 20th June 2020 till 24th June 2020.
The reservation staff that handled my booking were friendly and very patient. Shoutout to Ms Izatul for diligently coming back to me.
The front office staff Adilah, Cara, Michelle and the rest were extremely helpful and mist importantly friendly. My appreciation to the front office manager Wan for assisting on my request and seeing it through. The GM, Mr Pravir approached all the guests and chatted briefly and consistently during our stay. Great networking and kudos for the personal touch.
The beach was very clean, water was very clear, great view, especially from the gym. The accommodation was extremely large for the both of us but no complaints.
Food was a bit on the high side in terms of pricing which may surprise some but the quality of food served especially the buffet with crabs, nasi dagang, mutton soup, char kueh teow, catch of the day with fresh seafood were outstanding! Hence we decided the prices were worth paying for. Even the diavola pizza was superb. I did miss ordering Indian food as we heard the Indian chef was amazing. Oh well, next trip then.
Corals were missing at the shallow area of the beach and one would have to snorkel a little further or take the excursion packages. The turtle center was very interesting and we saw a baby turtle which just hatched.
Beyond that, nice relaxing resort to chill out, go for a nature walk or just lazying around the beach to pass the time.
We flew directly from Subang airport to redang so saved quite a bit of time.
Only wish I had was to see the Bayu Bar open till a little later so that more of us could enjoy the seaside breeze.
Overall, an outstanding resort, great people, accommodation and food. The direct flight to Redang is definitely a plus point.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Maya Kaur, Marketing at The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
Responded 26 Jun 2020
Dear PraveenR910, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We also thank you for the kind compliments extended to our staff and management, of which we will give them a special recognition. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Maya Kaur Marketing Communications Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
aaronkxc1 wrote a review Oct 2020
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia11 contributions21 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked “room assigned upon arrival” via Agoda for 4 nights. Our expectations were low after reading unfavourable reviews on trip advisor. Upon arrival, we were assigned with the garden deluxe room (this room category is not on their website and I suspect it is specially reserved for 3rd party websites or travel aggregator websites). The room was okay but definitely not worth the rm 1000 a night that I was charged for. Decent sized room but it feels quite dated. Bathroom and aircond was leaking so had to called the maintenance team to come. They were unable to fix the bathroom leakage as it was from the upper unit. To my surprise, Auni, the front desk manager offered us a free upgrade to the garden suite as they happened to had a cancellation! (I do inform her that I was travelling with a young kid and a pregnant wife - kudos to her extraordinary service!) The garden suite was at least 3 times the size with a separate living hall and huge toilet. This time the room was much better and it’s living up to Taaras’s 5 star resort claim. We’ve enjoyed the room throughly.

The beach as everyone mentioned is calm, serene, clean and beautiful. Food is okay but abit on the pricier side (cheapest on the menu is rm 50 a meal without drinks). Bfast was surprisingly not bad given what others had reviewed recently. Other than bfast, we spent most of our time eating outside the resort (there are 3 restaurants within 200 meters walking distance) - much cheaper and decent as well.

We were lucky to be as there were turtle hatchlings ready to be released back to the sea so my daughter enjoyed that. We also took a short excursion to the turtle snorkelling right in front of the resort and had a good time (you can try to kayak there yourself - it’s not too far). There are also lots of fishes near the rocks on the left corner of the beach.

The swimming pool is nothing special, just regular pool but sufficient for kids.

The staff were tremendous throughout our stay. Always smiling and helping guests out. My wife went to the reception to asked for a bandage due to a small cut while the GM happened to be there. He was so overly concerned and setting such a good example for his staffs.

Overall we’ve enjoyed our stay throughout and will be back for the perfect beach and great hospitality of the staffs.

Remember, It is worth it to pay for the nicer suite rooms which are much better than the “rooms assigned on arrival”

Thanks Auni for the considerate upgrade!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Maya Kaur, Marketing at The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
Responded 7 Oct 2020
Dear Aaron, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We truly appreciate it and will certainly extend your gratitude to our General Manager and Ms.Auni. At the same time, we regret to hear of your unpleasant experience upon arrival but we are happy to know that it was quickly resolved by Ms.Auni. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Maya Kaur Marketing Communications Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Elena U
2 contributions2 helpful votes
For us It was perfecto now, may be too much relax becouse ramadan It was ok for us May be in Augusto too crowd But the hotel is perfecto justo un front of the beach with the turtled
FH2 asked a question Jan 2023
London177 contributions2 helpful votes
Hi - are there any restaurants and shops near to the hotel?
Answer from Allerano A
15 contributions4 helpful votes
Yes there are few restaurants outside of the resort
Kyeyuin asked a question Sept 2020
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia102 contributions43 helpful votes
Understand the hotel is located remotely , is there any convenience stores or mini mart selling snacks ?
Answer from PaperStoneScissors
Grand Baie20,176 contributions109 helpful votes
The hotel has a shop for basic things like crisps/potato chips.
Answer from TinieBP
Cyberjaya, Malaysia34 contributions5 helpful votes
September is kinda high tide. The boat travelling will be very rough and you might not enjoy the nice beach at all.
Carolina40Malaga wrote a tip 24 May
Malaga6 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Snorkeling, diving, turtles... wonderful people, transparent waters, complete happiness"
Read full review
Shuangkai S wrote a tip 21 May
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Better arrange the transport to the island in advance"
Read full review
srikanth g wrote a tip 18 May
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Excellent hotel, very good Hospitality, highly recommended. "
Read full review
Zhour Y wrote a tip 6 May
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I recommand staying at Taaras! It’s amazing "
Read full review
Saliman Z wrote a tip 5 May
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you want privacy and a great break with family, this is the place for you."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Pulau Redang area.
PRICE RANGE
RM 1,594 - RM 1,988 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
berjaya redang resort - malaysia hotel pulau redang, berjaya redang beach hotel, berjaya redang beach resort, hotel berjaya redang beach
LOCATION
MalaysiaTerengganuPulau Redang
NUMBER OF ROOMS
125
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE TAARAS BEACH & SPA RESORT (R̶M̶ ̶2̶,̶0̶4̶9̶) RM 1,693: UPDATED 2024 Reviews, Price Comparison and 3,808 Photos (Pulau Redang) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
Which popular attractions are close to The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort?
Nearby attractions include Redang Island (2.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and free instant coffee during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Aima Grill Fish Restaurant, Hazeme Seafood Restaurant, and Summer Point.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and yoga classes during their stay.
Does The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort have airport transportation?
Yes, The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Chinese, Hindi, and Malay.
All Pulau Redang HotelsPulau Redang Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Pulau RedangHotels near The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire