We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Dar El Janoub

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Dar El Janoub
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

120 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Dar El Janoub
See the most recent reviews
Showing 31: English reviews
Jacksonville, Oregon
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This beautiful property on the brink of the Sahara is the perfect place to watch the sun rise over the red dunes. You can sit on the terrrace with a Moroccan breakfast and endless coffee, and then walk right out past a few palms and hardscrabble into the soft sand. The hotel arranges camel rides--highly recommend at sunset. Though I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Annazonita
dareljanoub, Responsable Reception at Dar El Janoub, responded to this review

Sweet Anna, Firstly ,thank you so much for taking the time to leave your great feedback following your stay with us at The Dar eljanoub Hotel. I was delighted that we met your expecations and I do hope that you enjoyed your holiday abroad. I have passed on your kind words to the team . Please do visit us again...

Milan, Italy
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed here for two nights, standard room. Accomodation is very basic, small room, small bathroom, air conditioning off when arrived, so the foom was a furnace at arrival. It appears to be a big hotel, many rooms, but fortunately during our stay it was not overcrowded given the period. Swimming pool is good, and the overall riad is nice...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Dudygiac
dareljanoub, Responsable réception at Dar El Janoub, responded to this review

Thank's in advance for your positive comments about Dar eljanoub Hotel. I am so pleased that, throughout your stay, you were impressed by the service the Team provided.food,sweeming pool,...ect deeply disappointed reading your nigative comments. Dar eljanoub is an Riad,NOT A BIG HOTEL,we are a small Charm riad of 21 rooms,our clients are specials,looking for a relaxing time,during them stay,...

Madrid, Spain
Reviewed 21 August 2013

The location is perfect and the hotel magnificent. The dinning place has a great view of the dessert and the pool is terrific. The rooms are clean, comfortable and cosy. If we have to pinpoint something, I would certainly like to show gratitude to the staff that helped us beyond their duty.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lore V
dareljanoub, Responsable Reception at Dar El Janoub, responded to this review

Firstly ,thank you so much for taking the time to leave your great feedback following your stay with us at The Dareljanoub Hotel. I was delighted that we met your expecations and I do hope that you enjoyed your holiday abroad. I have passed on your kind words to the team . Please do visit us again in the near...

nyc
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We just got back from our visit to Morocco. We did a camel trek into the dunes, and stayed at this hotel the night before our trek. It is a great place. We were there in low season, and other than the owner who was visiting from Italy, and a few guests from Spain, the hotel was otherwise relatively empty....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank offtracktraveler
dareljanoub, Responsable Reception at Dar El Janoub, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following your recent stay with us at The Dar el janoub Hotel. I was really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the location to your liking.happy to read that you enjoyed the service you received and that we met your expectations,enjoyed sitting on the back patio...

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Driving from Marrakesh to Merzouga in one day took a good 10 hours, but the landscapes you see along the way will keep you going until you reach your point of destination. From then, Dar El Janoub was just what we wanted: a break from the mad rush, noise, etc. The guys there (Rachid, Moha and Ahmed) were extremely friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Freehopper
dareljanoub, Responsable réception at Dar El Janoub, responded to this review

Firstly ,thank you so much for taking the time to leave your great feedback following your stay with us at The Dareljanoub Hotel. I was delighted that we met your expecations and I do hope that you enjoyed your holiday abroad. I have passed on your kind words to the team . Please do visit us again in the near...

Buenos Aires
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Choosing a hotel in Merzouga can be difficult. There are at least thirty of them, but only a few are reviewed. Some are in remote areas, others have no electricity during the day... Dar el Janoub is certainly a great choice and almost a no-brainer: good value, good service and great location/views (the bedrooms and breakfast area overlook directly to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Disfrutator
dareljanoub, Responsable réception at Dar El Janoub, responded to this review

Firstly ,thank you so much for taking the time to leave your great feedback following your stay with us at The Dareljanoub Hotel. I was delighted that we met your expecations and I do hope that you enjoyed your holiday abroad. I have passed on your kind words to the team . Please do visit us again in the near...

Falset, Spain
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We arrived in time for the last of the sunset over the dunes. Spectacular from the roof terrace right on the edge the dunes themselves. Rachid and his team made us extremely welcome. Our room was spacious and clean (no sand ! before we got back from the dunes in any case) with a view of the desert beyond. Our...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank OZinSPAIN
dareljanoub, Responsable réception at Dar El Janoub, responded to this review

Firstly ,thank you so much for taking the time to leave your great feedback following your stay with us at The Dareljanoub Hotel. I was delighted that we met your expecations and I do hope that you enjoyed your holiday abroad. I have passed on your kind words to the team . Please do visit us again in the near...

London, England
Reviewed 4 October 2012

I stayed at Dar El Janoub in 2010 and was driving through Merzouga again and planned to spend some time in Dar El Janoub after a wonderful experience previously. The second stay was to the same standard as I had expected from 2010. I arrived late in the evening, around 10pm, the hotel staff were incredibly hospitable and welcoming and...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Invisible_Shadow
dareljanoub, Responsable Reception at Dar El Janoub, responded to this review

Firstly ,thank you so much for taking the time to leave your great feedback following your stay with us at The Dareljanoub Hotel. I was delighted that we met your expecations and I do hope that you enjoyed your holiday abroad. I have passed on your kind words to the team . Please do visit us again in the near...

Atlanta
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We arrived in Merzouga at 6am via the Supratours bus from Fes. We were meeting our camel trek here so we let ourselves in. Kareem was very helpful and very friendly while we waited for our trek to begin. He allowed us to eat breakfast there and even gave us a room and shower to use while we waited for...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank mrwinfield
dareljanoub, Responsable réception at Dar El Janoub, responded to this review

Firstly ,thank you so much for taking the time to leave your great feedback following your stay with us at The Dareljanoub Hotel. I was delighted that we met your expecations and I do hope that you enjoyed your holiday abroad. I have passed on your kind words to the team . Please do visit us again in the near...

Utrecht, The Netherlands
Reviewed 6 May 2012

A very nice hotel, comfortable and clean rooms. A relaxing swimming pool area. Good food. Very good service. And all that with an amazing view on the sand-dunes. Forget an uncomfortabe camel-ride and desert-camp: just stay in your hotel room and enjoy the view from your comfortable hotelbed.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank k v
dareljanoub, Responsable réception at Dar El Janoub, responded to this review

Firstly ,thank you so much for taking the time to leave your great feedback following your stay with us at The Dareljanoub Hotel. I was delighted that we met your expecations and I do hope that you enjoyed your holiday abroad. I have passed on your kind words to the team . Please do visit us again in the near...

171 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (165)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (43)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merzouga hotels
0.6 km away
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
#1 of 22 in Merzouga
490 reviews
4.5 km away
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal
#11 of 22 in Merzouga
293 reviews
1.0 km away
Haven La Chance Desert Hotel
Haven La Chance Desert Hotel
#4 of 4 in Hassilabied
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Riad Amar
Riad Amar
#1 of 8 in Hassilabied
22 reviews
5.3 km away
Bivouac Sahara Adventures
Bivouac Sahara Adventures
#47 of 85 in Merzouga
5 reviews
1.8 km away
Kasbah Azalay Merzouga
Kasbah Azalay Merzouga
#7 of 83 in Merzouga
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service

Additional Information about Dar El Janoub

Address: Village Hassi-Lbied | BP:22 Merzouga, Merzouga 52202, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Merzouga
Price Range: RM228 - RM256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar El Janoub 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Dar El Janoub reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar El Janoub Hotel Merzouga
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Dar El Janoub staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Toll wenn man ein Zimmer mit Blick auf die Dünen haben kann.”
 of 5 bubbles Carine_Wurstemberger, 26 Oct 2014 | Read review
“A Suite facing the Dunes”
 of 5 bubbles victoriab988, 22 Sep 2014 | Read review
“all rooms are quite and large”
 of 5 bubbles Jean1730, 28 Jul 2014 | Read review
“A room with a view of the sand dunes is a must!”
 of 5 bubbles mlonyc, 27 Jul 2014 | Read review
“We had a very spacious suite with a separate living and sleeping area, and access to a private terrace with stunning views of the sand dunes.”
 of 5 bubbles TheoPols, 5 Jun 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay