We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Pirwa Hostel Machu Picchu

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Pirwa Hostel Machu Picchu
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

234 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Pirwa Hostel Machu Picchu
See the most recent reviews
Showing 88: English reviews
Chateauneuf de Grasse, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2015

We stayed in Pirwa Cusco and the hotel was pretty good, so without checking it, we reserved in Aqua Caliente trusting that it would be comparable. Our first nigt was great, in a 4 beds with bathroom, but then they changed us to a 5 bed without bathroom and that was not even human. It smelled awfull of stagnant humidity,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Elisabeth S
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2015

We stayed here because it was the sister hostel of a place we'd stayed in Cusco, that wasn't bad. This version was not as good; the hostel is very bare, and was still having building work done to it (on the top floor) when we stayed. The rooms are pretty bare, although there were some handy hooks on the walls.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy T
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2015

We enjoyed the hotel, great location, with very clean room.The staff are friendly and helpful. The breakfast at 4h30 in the morning, perfect for those who will go up to sunrise/sunset at Machu Picchu. We recommend this hotel - We did the travel to Machu Picchu with the Pirwa Travel all good. Thanks Pirwa Hostels and Pirwa Travel.

Helpful?
1 Thank Scheddi B S
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2014

Perfect location, just a minute walk from the busses up to Machu Picchu, its right off one of the main streets with all the bars and restaurants. The actual hotel is beyond disgusting, mold all over the shower curtain, we ended up washing our feet with soap and water after getting out of the shower because we were scared of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Akiki S
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2014

Great location, 10min from the train station and very close from the market, restaurants, main square and thermal baths. Breakfast include since 4am (fruits, yogurt, bread, coffee,milk). Have a kitchen where you can cook and a little store in front of the hostel. The rooms are comfortable and the rooms in the first floor are bigger than the others. Free... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank ximena7
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2014

Aguas calientes is a tourist town and the hostels are all overpriced and average. However, Pirwa hostel is a great place to stay for one night. The hostel is very close to the bus stop to Machu Pichu and they pick you up from the train station! There is storage space and they let you hang around (and use the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank IsaIsa22
Zagreb, Croatia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2014

Recently I stayed at Pirwa Hostel in Aguas Calientes in Peru, together with 3 my friends. Unfortunately, we had very bad experience, as we were robbed during the night while sleeping in the room. All our money was stolen. We tried to contact with manager, but neither manager of Pirwa hostel in Aguas Calientes or in Cusco did not want... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank Zdenka_Zagreb

Travellers are raving about these Aguas Calientes hotels

Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2014

we stayed there for only one night there wasnt hot water and one room smell so horrible that we couldnt get inside linen wasnt fresh as well.. thet gave us different room but still water wasnt really warm.. we skipped breakafast - had a sip of coffee only everybody were rude in this place

Helpful?
Thank Katbba
Trujillo, Peru
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2014

We got robbed in the same line of this hostel in Aguas Calientes, Pirwa Backapackers. Someone got into the room while we were sleeping and cash money from me and 3 other friends. Owner never came to face us or hear what happened, never show any interest. We only talked to a lady, administartor called Sachenka Mendivi, in this hostel... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Fioredy
Pirwa H, Gerente at Pirwa Hostel Machu Picchu, responded to this review

4 people traveling together, stayed alone in a 4-bed dorm, and alleged that while they slept, roughly US$1150 was taken from their collective backpacks, all left outside the security lockers. They didn’t wake, no one inside or out of the dorm noticed any intrusion, nor did reception. Due to these claims, all other hostel guests had to be disturbed &... More 

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2014

I booked online thinking this was more of a standard Hostal, but they only have a charmless backpacker facility in Aguascalientes anymore. We did have private room with bath, but it was kind of dingy. They wanted payment upon arrival and charged a premium for using Visa, even higher for Mastercard. The breakfast was ready at 4:30am as advertised, but... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth K

45 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (32)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aguas Calientes hotels
0.0 km away
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
#6 of 23 in Aguas Calientes
918 reviews
0.5 km away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#3 of 23 in Aguas Calientes
803 reviews
0.5 km away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 23 in Aguas Calientes
1,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Ecopackers Machupicchu
Ecopackers Machupicchu
#3 of 41 in Aguas Calientes
327 reviews
0.4 km away
Casa MachuPicchu Hostel
Casa MachuPicchu Hostel
#5 of 41 in Aguas Calientes
76 reviews
0.3 km away
Adelas's Hostel
Adelas's Hostel
#2 of 41 in Aguas Calientes
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Pirwa Hostel Machu Picchu

Address: Tupac Inca Yupanqui 103, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Price Range: RM63 - RM170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pirwa Hostel Machu Picchu 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Pirwa Hostel Machu Picchu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Pirwa Hostel Machu Picchu staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The location was great to since it was my first time in Machu Picchu (Aguas Calientes).”
 of 5 bubbles brandob314, 8 Oct 2015 | Read review
“The breakfast was at 4h30 in the morning, perfect for those who will go up to sunrise at Machu Picchu.”
 of 5 bubbles starwarss, 2 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Just don't stay here.”
 of 5 bubbles JimN626, 22 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Great location”
 of 5 bubbles johnjC4990KP, 22 Jun 2015 | Read review
“make reservation with anticipation. The hostel is always full.”
 of 5 bubbles ximena7, 10 Dec 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay