We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Milano Tourist Rest

May 7 May 8
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Milano Tourist Rest
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

440 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 261: English reviews
Start your review of Milano Tourist Rest
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A nice place which is in a great location for visiting the key sites here. The garden is a real benefit and was a nice place for dinner; the restaurant serves good food and the menu is extensive. We found the people working here really helpful and friendly, and they were very upfront about telling us we should only stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ruderies
Nimal_K_Weragoda, Front Office Manager at Milano Tourist Rest, responded to this review

Dear Sir/ madam, Many Thanks indeed for your review on TripAdvisor. I offer my sincere apologies for not cleaning your room during your stay. Hotel Policy is not to open the Guest's rooms at their absence for House Keeping unless the Guests make a request. Sincerely, Nimal

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We'd originally tried to book at the sister-establishment, Melbourne Tourist Rest, but they couldn't accommodate the 6 of us for 2 nights. In the end we were so pleased we stayed at Milano! Great rooms, beautiful garden and our host was the best: so welcoming and accommodating. We spent 3 nights here and rented bicycles from Milano to explore Anuradhapura....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PearlnDen
Denpasar, Indonesia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Attentive staff, great restaurant, clean room, and good travel advise. Just what you need. However, trip advisor says that I need to type more characters as that was only 91. So I am not sure what to add.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
Nimal_K_Weragoda, Front Office Manager at Milano Tourist Rest, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Your 91 words say 100% of your experience. Thank you very much for taking time to review us on tripadvisor.com while traveling. Sincerely, The Management of Milano TR

Sarasota, Florida
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nimal, the hotel manager, was warm and helpful, offering me travel tips. He was also great in communicating with me via email before my arrival. I requested Sri Lankan breakfast which was tasty curry with big chunks of fish, as good as dinner! The hotel offers free accommodation for accompanying drivers, which is another good reason to choose this hotel.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Megumi F
Kongens Lyngby, Denmark
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were showed a room downstairs near the kitchen. Avoid it, small, smelly. Stuffy air. Upstairs we had a big, more expensiveclean room with good and silent AC. Breakvast included, good value for the money. The internet was slow. When I complained, it became faster. They said: because it is at the end of the month. We complain to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ivar_Denmark
Nimal_K_Weragoda, Front Office Manager at Milano Tourist Rest, responded to this review

Dear Sirs, Thank you for coming and staying couple of days with us. I am really happy I was able rectify the slow Internet Connection in consultation with the Service Provider soon after I received your complaint. Your timely complaint was helpful for us to serve better not only to you but for all Guests staying with us. Sincerely, the...

Reviewed 17 March 2017

We stayed here for two nights in March 2017 and the room was quite small and had quite a few insects inside (ie, not the cleanest). Friendly staff and they have bikes fo rent which is helpful. But the hotel is also too expensive compared to other places (in my opinion).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas M
Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the Milano for 2 nights. Clean rooms and amazing service from the whole team. Their terrasse is like a little oasis Plus side : food was really good. Go for the Sri Lankan breakfast instead of the average continental one.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Réda L
Weligama, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 1 March 2017

Arrived from the Anuradhapura Train Station with a Tuk Tuk driver. Warm Welcome from the night shift Front Office Staff and room number 105 was available. Difficult to access the room without getting wet on a rainy day. Good Compact Room with Private bath Room , mini fridge, TV and Free WiFI in the Room. Toured in the ancient city...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ricardoalign
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 13 February 2017

We stayed at this hotel for 2 days while visiting the ancient city. On arrival we were given hot face towels and a glass of cordial. The manager and staff were fantastic and organised our 2 trips very efficiently. Our room was clean and comfortable and very quiet as the hotel is off the main road. We ate at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bea D
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 February 2017

We just ate at this hotel as our hotel in the old town didn't sell alcohol . We went there to eat and the food was fantastic and the service was excellent . Had a great night and made our visit to that area as our hotel was not very successful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank susan_byrne54

69 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (63)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
May 7 May 8
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anuradhapura hotels
1.3 km away
Rajarata Hotel
Rajarata Hotel
#2 of 14 in Anuradhapura
423 reviews
1.3 km away
The Lakeside Hotel at Nuwarawewa
4.2 km away
Heritage Hotel
Heritage Hotel
#3 of 14 in Anuradhapura
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Melbourne Tourist Rest
Melbourne Tourist Rest
#7 of 125 in Anuradhapura
114 reviews
1.5 km away
London Palace
London Palace
#9 of 125 in Anuradhapura
172 reviews
0.8 km away
Little Paradise Tourist Guest House and Holiday Home Anuradhapura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Established in 1993, Milano Tourist Rest hotel is an oasis of calm in the heart of the historical city of Anuradhapura and is the perfect base to explore the region.It has spacious, comfortable rooms with all the latest facilities including air conditioning satellite television and wifi facility.The Hotel has two restaurants and well stocked bar, where guests can enjoy a drink and relax after a busy day exploring the historical area. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Milano Tourist Rest

Address: 596 /40 , Stage 01, Anuradhapura, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Anuradhapura
Price Range: RM128 - RM167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Milano Tourist Rest 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Milano Tourist Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milano Tourist Rest Hotel Anuradhapura
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Milano Tourist Rest staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Milano Tourist Rest staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you are a Single traveler, don't get Double room for Double Price. 105 and 106 good for solo travelers like me.”
ricardoalign, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are good.”
B181walk, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are alike.”
indikaliyanahewage, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“the hotel is situated in a very peaceful place”
aracelisanz, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Too noisy for ground floor rooms. Difficult to rest. Better get a room from up-stares.”
Thiranya, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
TripAdvisor
* /night
View Deal
Expedia.com
Hotwire.com
Hotels.com
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates