We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Tourmaline Hotel

Show Prices
#24 of 62 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Tourmaline Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

327 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 252: English reviews
Vanløse, Staden Kobenhavn, Denmark
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I visited the hotel with my wife and two year old son. We arrived tired after a three hour drive from Sigiriya. When we arrived there was some kind of tea ceremony, which we found a bit odd and awkward. It lasted for about 30 minutes, even though we would've preferred to be shown to our room. We've booked four...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian T
Reviewed 2 November 2016

Stayed for one night in this hotel and enjoyed every second, thanks to the incredible views, food, staff and room! Very good hotel. Not noisy.from check in to check out it was great stay .good pool.clean rooms.service is good.always smile faces.give all info what u need.value for your money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dananjaya A
Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

In terms of guest reception the hotel is amazing, with the candle lighting ceremony and courteous staff. The view from the reception area windows is delightful. And at first glance the room was lovely. And then you really take a look. The water pressure in the shower is terrible. The beds are terrible, and I got a bad backache. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yael H
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Reviewed 9 October 2016

We stayed for 2 nights here. Extremely courteous staffs. They welcomed us at the hotel by lighting up the candle tray and at the request of the lady at the reception the same was lighted by my daughter. The hotel is away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Excellent views from the room ( deluxe ). Breakfast had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rahul46329
Poznan
Reviewed 16 September 2016

First te positives. The staff are excellent and the service is impeccable. The hotel is spotlessly clean. The breakfast is good with lots of fresh fruit. However, the place is in need of modernization and really looks tired. The rooms had everything you need but well...everything just looked like it needed a facelift. My other gripe was the evening buffet....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul N
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

The place had a good location for the most part it feels like you're on top of the country kind off like a mountain top. We never really got a chance to see the swimming pool. However the food was ok but too expensive for our taste. Although the manager of the restaurant was really friendly. For the most part...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yousef Q
Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 17 August 2016

The check in was abit slow, but the reception was very pleasant and apologetic...most recording seem manual... Can do with some modern age computerization. We had a suite with two bedrooms. The rooms were spacious and nice...comfortable beds. Food at the restaurant were acceptable, but can do with some variation ...eg even for breakfast the fruits can be varied everyday...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Glenda W
Anura B, General Manager at Tourmaline Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for posting review on trip advisor about your experience at The Tourmaline. We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your stay and that we succeeded to make your stay a true memorable one. we have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and...

Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 August 2016

We were a little wary as we have travelled to Sri Lanka several times but just booked this via the internet before we travelled. We were pleasantly surprised. The staff were very good from reception to the dining room staff. The room had one of the best views I have ever had form a hotel window. We ate of the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sarah m
Anura B, General Manager at Tourmaline Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for posting review on trip advisor about your experience at The Tourmaline. We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your stay and that we succeeded to make your stay a true memorable one. we have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and...

Reviewed 5 August 2016

We stayed here for 2 nights, over looking view of the city and not too far from the city proper. They gave us a very warm welcome with their candle lighting ritual and a much needed cup of tea for a cold weather. The room was good, also the food but the staffs were the highlight of this hotel. Mr....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Gerlyn Mae D
Anura B, General Manager at Tourmaline Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for posting review on trip advisor about your experience at The Tourmaline. We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your stay and that we succeeded to make your stay a true memorable one. we have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and...

Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewed 10 July 2016

Oh where to begin with the bucket of awful that is this hotel and its sister hotel, The Topaz, where I will also post this review! A chronology of claptrap: We made a booking for The Tourmaline Hotel though Agoda and paid in full for five adults for a seven night stay. We received a confirmation and the money was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jay M
Anura B, General Manager at Tourmaline Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, We are always concerned of the convenience & satisfaction beyond value for money of our valued guests & it is revealed by the reviews published on this forum. However we regret that it has not been the same with you due to a booking which came across to us through "Agoda" even whilst they were informed in writing...

190 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (183)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (68)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.2 km away
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
#14 of 62 in Kandy
324 reviews
1.9 km away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#11 of 62 in Kandy
578 reviews
1.9 km away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#12 of 62 in Kandy
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#21 of 62 in Kandy
895 reviews
1.2 km away
Kandy City Hotel
Kandy City Hotel
#26 of 62 in Kandy
252 reviews
3.7 km away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#5 of 62 in Kandy
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Refurbished in 2009, Hotel Tourmaline has evolved over the years to portray a resort lifestyle that caters to the discerning traveler. With painstaking attention to detail—from its elegant exterior, cuisine and ambience, the hotel is ideal for both the business as well as leisure traveler. The natural scenic beauty that surrounds the hotel creates the perfect relaxing atmosphere to help you unwind and enjoy the many modern amenities that make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tourmaline Hotel

Address: Aniwatte, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Price Range: RM396 - RM844 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tourmaline Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Tourmaline Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Kandy
#10 Spa Hotel in Kandy
#13 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tourmaline Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Tourmaline Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Deluxe rooms have decent view of the hill”
 of 5 bubbles rahul46329, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Nothing I can say, I think they were all tired looking.”
 of 5 bubbles PaulN256, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“we had a twin room facing away from the city”
 of 5 bubbles sarahmL5237AB, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Just don't bother. Basil Fawlty School of Hotel Management Graduates.”
 of 5 bubbles JayM579, 9 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Room 106 and 107 combination is best suited for families and friends circle”
  • View from second floor room
 of 5 bubbles tjjohn, 8 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay