We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Hilltop

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Hilltop
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

565 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 398: English reviews
Pune, India
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Kandy is a small town with not much to see around. Hilltop is located amidst a busy street. The drive up hill is steep and since it is isolated at the top, there isn't much noise at Hilltop. We stayed there for a night. 4 of us got 2 sharing rooms, 1 was big with 3 beds and a sitting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fatema R
Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed in this hotel for a night. I went there on a package trip. Bit costly for travelers, but if you don't mind spending, then, this is an excellent place. Food is excellent and the staff are very nice and cooperative. Ambiance is really good. Best place for couple who are on honeymoon. If you are going for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SrikanthSrinivas
Nipuni S, Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We are glad to see that you have chosen Hotel Hilltop for your holiday and thank you very much for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate your keenness in sharing your sincere thoughts with us and also thank you very much for the applause given as well. We hope that you would give us...

Chennai
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Four families stayed here, close to the city center and station. Friendly staff and good views. The kids loved their play area and the swimming pool. The food spread is great for non vegetarians and ok for vegetarians. They had a moving live band performing for xmas eve. Live food counters were also good. Would recommend for a family break.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ShekarTalkies
Nipuni S, Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for selecting Hotel Hilltop as your holiday destination and staying with us. We are grateful for your time and trouble taken to share with us your endorsements. Trust that you would come back to Hotel Hilltop to spend another great holiday with us. We assure you our best services at all times. Yours...

kochi
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very average place to stay.An old hotel.The bathrooms are not modern enough.But a word for the staff.Very warm . Not recommended if you are used to good mid range hotels that are there these days. Had too many guests ,so the breakfast area was packed and the service was poor. Rooms too close to each other.I could hear the guest...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mugdha M
Nipuni S, Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We are glad to see that you have chosen Hotel Hilltop for your holiday and thank you very much for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate your keenness in sharing your sincere thoughts with us. Thank you for the constructive criticism shared with us, we shall incorporate all your sentiments, wherever possible. We hope...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed 2 nights. Thanks to our trip advisor reviewers, I knew many things before arrival reg. the hotel. Pros: The staff was very helpful and good, average room quality, nice pool, closer to city(but steep way up). good breakfast Cons: Very noisy so avoid if you travel to relax,very expensive al a carte menu which was not tasty, no lift,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank najeeraw
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We a family of five initially reserved the hotel for 2 days for a holiday . It was very very disappointing. Poor accommodation , poor food . Only good thing was the people ! They were nice and caring. I will never visit this place again . Checked out in days time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank watuduraanuradhad
Nipuni S, Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We are glad to see that you have chosen Hotel Hilltop for your holiday and thank you very much for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate your keenness in sharing your sincere thoughts with us and we truly regret that the experience as not exceptional. Thank you for the constructive criticism shared with us,...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I am gutted we only got one night here! The pool is lovely, the rooms are spacious and comfortable and the staff are great too. It's up the hill so make sure you buy supplies before you get there! And DO NOT eat at the pub down the hill.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Corinne A
Nipuni S, Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for selecting Hotel Hilltop as your holiday destination and staying with us. We are grateful for your time and trouble taken to share with us your endorsements. Trust that you would come back to Hotel Hilltop to spend another great holiday with us. We assure you our best services at all times. Yours...

Chennai (Madras), India
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed with my friend here for a night. Check in was faster and reception was good. Room gives a good view of the city if you have the right room. If you take a walk down, you will find lot of shops to spend your time. It's almost in mid of the town. You can reach within 15-20 mins...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Prakash_Jay
Nipuni S, Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for selecting Hotel Hilltop as your holiday destination and staying with us. We are grateful for your time and trouble taken to share with us your endorsements. Trust that you would come back to Hotel Hilltop to spend another great holiday with us. We assure you our best services at all times. Yours...

Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 9 December 2016

Located above the city level gives a nice view of Kandy town. Can navigate your way from the hotel to town without much difficulty. As I was on my honeymoon, the hotel had prepared the room accordingly complete with complimentary chocolates which was a nice touch. Some room for improvement: 1. Staff could be more pleasant and engage in small...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melinda Y
Nipuni S, Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for selecting our hotel as your honeymoon destination and we are glad to see that you have received an amazing experience. Many thanks for your valuable suggestions on the staff service; we shall take necessary actions to enhance the service at all times. Please do pay another visit to us to gain another...

Chichester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed just for one night. Breakfast was amazing. Waffles and chocolate sauce mmmm 😍 Was sad we didn't have a chance to use the pool etc. Good views out the windows. Only downside is the prayer calls early in the morning and generally loud traffic.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tiddles333
Nipuni S, Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for selecting Hotel Hilltop as your holiday destination and staying with us. We are grateful for your time and trouble taken to share with us; please accept our apologies on the inconveniences caused. Please note that the hotel is situated in the middle of the city center of Kandy; hence the noise is...

358 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (329)
Viewed
Room/Suite (56)
Viewed
View from Room (28)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (64)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Other (105)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.8 km away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#18 of 63 in Kandy
1,123 reviews
1.7 km away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#12 of 63 in Kandy
739 reviews
0.7 km away
Kandy City Hotel
Kandy City Hotel
#27 of 63 in Kandy
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#9 of 63 in Kandy
613 reviews
1.0 km away
Queen's Hotel
Queen's Hotel
#37 of 63 in Kandy
941 reviews
1.7 km away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#21 of 63 in Kandy
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Hotel Hilltop

Address: 200/21 Bahirawakanda | Peradeniya Road, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Price Range: RM268 - RM523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hilltop 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Hilltop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Kandy
Top Hotel Hill
Kandy Top Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Hilltop staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
1 month ago
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Hilltop staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best views as this is on top of the hill.”
 of 5 bubbles SrikanthSrinivas, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“do not get rooms below the restaurant .”
 of 5 bubbles najeeraw, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Choose the room to look around the city view”
 of 5 bubbles Prakash_Jay, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Avoid rooms under the restaurant.”
 of 5 bubbles varunprithvi1484, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Please ask for a valley view room”
 of 5 bubbles Panini87, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay