We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Cinnamon Citadel Kandy

Show Prices
#10 of 62 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Panoramas (16)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,161 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,716: English reviews
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I was in Sri Lanka on Holiday in November and stayed in Cinnamon properties in Kandy, Beruwala and Colombo. Of all of these Kandy was the best experience. Maybe it is the Kandyian hospitality. The hotel is located in a tranquil location next to a river and offers peaceful walks by the river as well as boat-rides on the river.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ravikanth K
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

What a haven of peace and tranquillity by the side of the Mahaweli river. Great views from the rooms over the river and forest. Panoramic restaurant area - allows great views at breakfast. Pool is great too. I used the fitness room - small, but nicely laid out, with exercise bike, and AC. Rooms are spacious, modern, well-kept. Bathrooms very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark D
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Having driven from Habarana and stayed a previous Cinnamon group hotel we were disappointed with our stay here. The river view room was okay but overlooked the terrace restaurant below and whilst not noisy it blurred the view from the balcony looking down onto the roof. The bathroom was basic and the shower with dark black tiles throughout & no... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bridget P
Murfad S, Resident Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First and foremost I would like to thank you for sharing your comments on your recent stay with us . We do regret the inconvenience caused during your stay with us .I do assure you that we always strive to maintain the highest level of standards .Your constructive feedback is highly appreciated and we have investigated on all... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Hotel is situated ca 20min by car to Kandy town, which is an advantage as it is surrounded by beautiful nature not by crowds and traffic. However it takes some time to get to neares restaurants. Hotel has a beautful view on the river, open air lobby where in the evening there is live music and quite big swiming pool.

Helpful?
Thank Joanna O
FowmeIBRAHIM, Assistant Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review

Dear Happy Guest. Thank you for giving us a perfect rating and for recommending our hotel to other travelers. I’m sure our entire hotel staff enjoyed catering to your needs as much as you enjoyed your stay. Take care! More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great value for money. One of the most picturesque places to stay in Kandy. The food and the service is just mindblowing. The food and beverage staff are very kind and courteous in their approach. Chef Khan and his Indian delights are a sumptuous treat for the food lovers . I must mention a chef called irin she is the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Benny T
FowmeIBRAHIM, Assistant Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We highly appreciate your review of the Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are simply delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay and sincerely thank you for your words of praise on our services and facilities. We continue to be committed to provide you and all our guests with the highest standard of service in the industry and... More 

Knebworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for two nights on a tour around Sri Lanka. Not as good as other Cinnamon hotels. Décor tired, nasty smell in the bathroom which was a blocked sink. Sorted out when I told reception. All the Rooms overlooked the river which was good. Food not as good as Cinnamon Lodge. Needs a revamp, décor etc. Service not good,... More 

Helpful?
Thank easylacer
Murfad S, Resident Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us. Our key priority is to provide the highest level of friendly and courteous service. While it was a pleasure having you here as our guest, your feedback regarding your experience in our hotel is highly appreciated. Please rest assured that... More 

United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at this hotel as we toured round Sri Lanka. It has the most beautiful views over the swimming pool to the Lake. The rooms were clean and well presented. The staff were polite and attentive. Lovely food with plenty of choice.

Helpful?
Thank Tirre
FowmeIBRAHIM, Assistant Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We highly appreciate your review of the Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are simply delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay and sincerely thank you for your words of praise on our services and facilities. We continue to be committed to provide you and all our guests with the highest standard of service in the industry and... More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The moment we stepped out of our Van the ever friendly and courteous staff took full charge to make our stay comfortable and memorable in there breathtakingly beautiful layout of chalets and restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank Nandini H
FowmeIBRAHIM, Assistant Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are indeed pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. While thanking you for staying with us, we certainly hope to welcome you back at our resort for yet another memorable stay. More 

Wiltshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed 2 nights here having come from Cinnamon Lodge Habarana on a tour of Sri Lanka. Having had an excellent experience at the previous hotel we have found this one doesn't live up to expectations. The room was lovely and a very pretty position overlooking the river. However on the first night there was an hours wait to get... More 

Helpful?
Thank DeezineWiltshire
Murfad S, Resident Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your valuable comments on Tripadvisor. We do regret that the service levels during meals were not up to your expectations .I do assure you that we always strive to maintain the highest level of standards .Your constructive feedback is highly appreciated and we have investigated on all areas mentioned by you for our betterment.... More 

Devon
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were on a four day tour and stayed at this hotel for two nights wished we had longer only beautiful place and staff are so lovely. Could not fault this hotel. The views and food. Would like to return back to the hotel even if I just wanted a relaxing break.

Helpful?
Thank Aggett
FowmeIBRAHIM, Assistant Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are indeed pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. While thanking you for staying with us, we certainly hope to welcome you back at our resort for yet another memorable stay. More 

1,691 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1488)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (229)
Viewed
View from Room (125)
Viewed
Room/Suite (214)
Viewed
Bathroom (41)
Viewed
Dining (126)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (281)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
2:15
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (463)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (194)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (31)
Viewed
Pool (34)
Viewed
Dining (47)
Viewed
Superior Room (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
14.7 km away
Madulkelle Tea and Eco Lodge
5.7 km away
Earl's Regency
Earl's Regency
#8 of 62 in Kandy
1,687 reviews
2.8 km away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#12 of 62 in Kandy
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Theva Residency
Theva Residency
#5 of 62 in Kandy
518 reviews
2.9 km away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#11 of 62 in Kandy
573 reviews
2.3 km away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
#13 of 62 in Kandy
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sweeping green hills, the longest river in the country, misty mornings and the fresh outdoors, are just a few things that naturally come together here to make the perfect holiday. Just 2 1/2 hours from the Sri Lanka's Capital City Colombo, Chaaya Citadel Kandy has reinvented itself taking into account the needs of holidaymakers around the world. Replete with a sense of history, serenity and majesty, the hotel offers guests the opportunity to experience the amazing Kandyan history, the culture and the arts that play a big role in the lives of the Sri Lankans. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cinnamon Citadel Kandy

Address: 124, Srimath Kuda Ratwatte Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka (Formerly Chaaya Citadel Kandy)
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Price Range: RM429 - RM1,059 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Citadel Kandy 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Cinnamon Citadel Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Citadel Kandy Hotel Kandy
Chaaya Citadel Hotel Kandy
Kandy Chaaya Citadel Hotel
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kandy
#4 Family Hotel in Kandy
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cinnamon Citadel Kandy staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Cinnamon Citadel Kandy staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Riverside has a good view. Plenty of opportunities to see humming birds and bats.”
 of 5 bubbles DeezineWiltshire, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room number 286 has a noisy AC. But if you are taking 2 rooms, 285 and 286 can be handy, as they have interconnected door.”
 of 5 bubbles sohams87, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms are quite close to the road although they all face out towards the river. We were aware of some road noise from about 07:00.”
 of 5 bubbles O7050TLrobertm, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Choose river facing rooms”
 of 5 bubbles rebelinpree, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Pay for a suite and ask for a room with a river view, you won't regret it!”
  • Beautiful view in my complimentary bathrobe and slippers!
 of 5 bubbles Kayleigh327, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay